How to set-up Yamaha RX-V661 to get lossless 7.1 with my brand new blu-ray ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-30-2007, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My question is besides choosing 'TrueHD' on the disc "what do I set on my Yamaha" ??

I finally picked up a blu-ray player and got my first rental disc. It is ghost rider which I'm not super excited about the movie but the audio and visual should be great on my 1080p dlp.
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-30-2007, 06:30 PM
Member
 
Spylake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it connecting with an HDMI cable?

Your receiver should be set to multi-channel PCM.
Spylake is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-30-2007, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes...HDMI from Blu-Ray to receiver then another from receiver to t.v.

Could you elaborate on how to set it to that? I only see MULTI CH IN on remote and that leaves me with no video or audio since I'm hooked up via HDMI.

Thanks so much Spylake.
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-31-2007, 04:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Make sure that the HDMI on the receiver is set to on. The Multi Ch IN is for using analog cables, such as those for using for SACD/DVD-A or the analog outputs from a another source. The HDMI cable alone will carry TRUE HD and all other sound formats. You will then see multi-channel pcm on the display on the receiver. Also have to make sure that player is set up properly. I don't have blu-ray so I don't know what settings it uses, but with my HD-DVD it needs to set up as PCM in the setup menu. Hope this helps.
phantom52 is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-31-2007, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I watched last night and chose 'Striaght' on the remote for my receiver and 'TrueHD' on the blu-ray player. My receiver showed PCM on screen so I think it was true 7.1
All I know is it was damn loud and that disc is very cool looking in HD.
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off