new marantz sr7002, sr8002 receivers - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 5089 Old 11-11-2007, 03:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfgaze View Post

One Call is Authorized

Yes, and they are currently having a sale on all receivers. It is a call in only promotion for a deep discount and a free HDMI cable. I have bought from them and they are one of the best internet etailers.

CD

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 5089 Old 11-11-2007, 04:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmcdayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cdog

Can you [;ease post the prices over in the found deals forum?

Its not just a hobby, its a 401K reduction plan.
dmcdayton is offline  
post #273 of 5089 Old 11-11-2007, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't know the prices just got an email about the promotion...call, they have a toll free #, and they are not a high pressure organization so you don't have to worry about sales tactics.

CD

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #274 of 5089 Old 11-11-2007, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rynberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jive Turkey View Post

I went to demo the 7002 today, but the dealbreaker was that it can't set individual speaker array setups for each input. It's global only. I want the multichannel analog inputs to be 4.1 (phantom center channel) for SACD and DVDAudio, because a hard center channel screws up soundstaging, in my opinion. I've been able to do this for years with my B&K Reference 30, and thought having to change it globally each time I want to go from movies to music, is a step backwards.

That doesn't make any sense. If you are using the multi-channel analog inputs, then you should be setting the speaker array setup on your SACD/DVD-A player, not the receiver.
rynberg is offline  
post #275 of 5089 Old 11-11-2007, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: good old USA
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by rynberg View Post

That doesn't make any sense. If you are using the multi-channel analog inputs, then you should be setting the speaker array setup on your SACD/DVD-A player, not the receiver.

There's a thought. I hadn't considered that....let me check the Marantz Universal Player I have and see if that would be the answer. I've been using the Matrix format on the Ref 30 for the multi-channel analog output.

See ya. Dave

"High Fidelity audio has been like a dog chasing his tail. High Fidelity in my marriage has been much more rewarding cause she knows where I sleep."
Jive Turkey is offline  
post #276 of 5089 Old 11-11-2007, 05:22 PM
Member
 
Baron-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So does anyone here have one of these yet? I'm buying a receiver in the next month or so, and I've almost decided on the Pioneer Elite VSX-92TXH. Is the Marantz 7002 or 8002 in a different league? I'd like see some type of review/feedback of these new Marantz before I purchase the Elite.

So far as I've seen from the Marantz website, the 7002 would do pretty much all I need in my setup. I actually like the fact that its video upscaling is limited, as I'd rather have my Pioneer 5010 do the upscaling anyway.
Baron-Rex is offline  
post #277 of 5089 Old 11-11-2007, 06:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Humanoid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron-Rex View Post

So does anyone here have one of these yet? I'm buying a receiver in the next month or so, and I've almost decided on the Pioneer Elite VSX-92TXH. Is the Marantz 7002 or 8002 in a different league? I'd like see some type of review/feedback of these new Marantz before I purchase the Elite.

So far as I've seen from the Marantz website, the 7002 would do pretty much all I need in my setup. I actually like the fact that its video upscaling is limited, as I'd rather have my Pioneer 5010 do the upscaling anyway.

I'll have my 7002 on Tuesday. It's replacing the 7001 that is a very good receiver. I'll try and post some info with pics soon.
Humanoid1 is offline  
post #278 of 5089 Old 11-11-2007, 06:37 PM
Member
 
JayJervey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron-Rex View Post

So does anyone here have one of these yet? I'm buying a receiver in the next month or so, and I've almost decided on the Pioneer Elite VSX-92TXH. Is the Marantz 7002 or 8002 in a different league? I'd like see some type of review/feedback of these new Marantz before I purchase the Elite.

So far as I've seen from the Marantz website, the 7002 would do pretty much all I need in my setup. I actually like the fact that its video upscaling is limited, as I'd rather have my Pioneer 5010 do the upscaling anyway.

Yes, I just got an SR-8002 on Friday. So far I am very impressed. My system came alive. The imaging and dynamics are absolutely in another league. For the price this is as close to class A separates as I could get with an integrated A/V receiver. I think it's actually worth more than what they are asking. Some observations:
  • Night-and-day improvement in imaging detail, clarity, and dynamics (most important in my opinion).
  • Every possible decoding mode you can imagine and 100% support for 7.1. All PCM 7.1 issues resolved and fully supported on the status display (vs. 8001).
  • Audessey calibration is top notch and makes a huge difference. By comparison the Yamaha auto-calibration I had was bush league (I had a Marantz 7000 for years, then "upgraded" to a Yamaha RX-V861 a few months ago...big mistake).
  • It drives my 4 ohm Mission fronts effortlessly...it barely gets warm. I've been waiting YEARS to find a A/V receiever that could do this without taking out a second mortgage.
  • My only criticism is a lack of consumer features like power-on initial volume, onscreen status display inline with video output (not on a separate dedicated output), more full-featured analog-HDMI upconversion.

I haven't heard the Pioneer so I can't compare but consider the SR-8002's audiophile-grade torroidal power technology. That may be Marantz's secret weapon that makes the 8002 the holy grail of A/V receivers (at least for me).
JayJervey is offline  
post #279 of 5089 Old 11-11-2007, 07:44 PM
Member
 
Baron-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JayJervey - Thanks for your input! I appreciate all of your info. I'm definitley going to consider either the 7002 or the 8002 before I purchase the Pioneer.

And Humanoid1, I'm looking forward to your thoughts on the 7002!
Baron-Rex is offline  
post #280 of 5089 Old 11-14-2007, 07:37 AM
Newbie
 
gurahamu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will "pre-out" my front channels to my integrated amp to drive my front speakers. Do you think it worths to pay the extra money to get SR8002 over SR7002? Apart from the power supply and the chassis, anyone know if the preamplifiers are the same?
gurahamu is offline  
post #281 of 5089 Old 11-14-2007, 04:10 PM
Member
 
darcraver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm seriously considering getting one of these. I currently have an Onkyo DS797 that has served me very well over the years (yes, I upgraded the chip), but I now have a lot of HDMI devices and need something a little more powerful to drive my Totem 4 ohm speakers.

I was seriously considering the Onkyo 805 or the Denon 3808ci, but now I think I'm leaning towards the Marantz. I know of a local store selling both the Onkyo and the Marantz so I'll be taking them for a test drive sometime in the near future although I won't be buying until after Xmas.

I don't need any fancy video scaling as most of my input devices are 1080i and my Panasonic plasma seems to do a pretty good job of scaling anyway.

My only concern is the low weight of this device compared to the Onkyo. And why on earth do all the manufactures insist on having all those composite inputs and outputs?! I'd be more than happy with the following inputs: 5+ HDMI, 4 optical, 4 coax and 2 of each (max) for the older devices.

I'll also be buying a HD-DVD player very soon, so I'll be checking out a few threads in the appropriate sections on here.
darcraver is offline  
post #282 of 5089 Old 11-14-2007, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcraver View Post

I'm seriously considering getting one of these. I currently have an Onkyo DS797 that has served me very well over the years (yes, I upgraded the chip), but I now have a lot of HDMI devices and need something a little more powerful to drive my Totem 4 ohm speakers.

I was seriously considering the Onkyo 805 or the Denon 3808ci, but now I think I'm leaning towards the Marantz. I know of a local store selling both the Onkyo and the Marantz so I'll be taking them for a test drive sometime in the near future although I won't be buying until after Xmas.

I don't need any fancy video scaling as most of my input devices are 1080i and my Panasonic plasma seems to do a pretty good job of scaling anyway.

My only concern is the low weight of this device compared to the Onkyo. And why on earth do all the manufactures insist on having all those composite inputs and outputs?! I'd be more than happy with the following inputs: 5+ HDMI, 4 optical, 4 coax and 2 of each (max) for the older devices.

I'll also be buying a HD-DVD player very soon, so I'll be checking out a few threads in the appropriate sections on here.

One thing that is very very annoying with Marantz units....no way to install FW updates as an end user.

My 8001 is in the shop for the second time to get the updates.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #283 of 5089 Old 11-14-2007, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Victor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD, USA
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post


My 8001 is in the shop for the second time to get the updates.

Just curious, did you get anything useful in this two updates?
Victor is offline  
post #284 of 5089 Old 11-14-2007, 05:42 PM
 
expresso712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i just ordered my SR7002 today - i hope it sounds as good as everyone says it does - i wasnt able to really listen to it

if they have it in stock from NJ - i will get it in 4 days or so - or else 7 - 10 from Cali -- ups -

for now i will use it as 2 channel stereo with Klipsch older model classics - and later upgrade to KF 7 fronts - and mix and max the rest from Klipsch for a 5.1 setup and bi -amp the fronts with the remaining 2 channels - thats my goal

does anyone know the Distoration level ? and i belieave the units are rated with all channels - i read someone on here say they are tested with only 2 channels driven to come to the rated wattage ?

is that true - ? i am used to a 200 watt a channel amp i have now which i cant even play past 3 or 4 on the volume max - anyone have pictues of the inside of these units ?

thanks -
expresso712 is offline  
post #285 of 5089 Old 11-14-2007, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Victor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD, USA
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by expresso712 View Post

does anyone know the Distoration level ? and i belieave the units are rated with all channels - i read someone on here say they are tested with only 2 channels driven to come to the rated wattage ?
thanks -

What kind of distortion level? Distortion on X ohm resistor or on real loudspeakers? The first doesn't matter for any real life use . The second will be different for different loudspeakers. You won't be able to drive 7 x 110 watt channels consuming only 750 watt, so claim that it only delivers rated wattage into 2 or 3 channels looks very believable.

Here are some pics of what's inside: http://avplaza.co.kr/shop/bbs/photo_...=44&db=columns
Victor is offline  
post #286 of 5089 Old 11-14-2007, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Victor View Post

Just curious, did you get anything useful in this two updates?

Let's hope so. I started with H42, then was bumped up to H44. I asked why they didn't go up to H52 and they said "this is supposed to be the latest"

I was trying to stop the HDMI from losing sync every so often, and making sure that LPCM was being treated right. We'll see how it goes.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #287 of 5089 Old 11-14-2007, 10:54 PM
Newbie
 
djcaliban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: san francisco
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And what a piece of crap. The specs are all about "4-in, 2-out" HDMI. That's not true, apparently. What they really mean is "4-in, 1-out via your choice of two plugs".

That's right, the "2-out" are either/or, NOT parallel. Totally ruined the budget on the project I'm installing right now.
djcaliban is offline  
post #288 of 5089 Old 11-15-2007, 01:31 AM
Newbie
 
wayneco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it's true that the two HDMI outputs can't both be active at the same time, ideally to view two different sources, what is the point of saying the unit has a 4 in x 2 out HDMI configuration?

I consider this a formative flaw both HDMI outs can't be used at once -- and if true, why on earth would anyone buy this over the Denon 4308? At least the Denon 4308 has two live HDMI outs even if it is hamstrung to have the same source to both HDMI outputs.
wayneco is offline  
post #289 of 5089 Old 11-15-2007, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
efjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 1,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didnt the 8001 allow output on both HDMI outs at the same time? I thought that was mentioned in the x001 thread.
efjay is offline  
post #290 of 5089 Old 11-15-2007, 06:46 AM
Newbie
 
gurahamu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SR7002 is more than 20% cheaper than 3808. I would connect the 2 HDMI outputs to my LCD TV and projector. I can choose to output my HDMI sources with the remote. I don't need to use LCD and projector at the same time.
gurahamu is offline  
post #291 of 5089 Old 11-15-2007, 07:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That would be a relly nice upgrade if it were possible. Make it so both output the same video source at the same time. One or the other makes more sense in an HDCP world though.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #292 of 5089 Old 11-15-2007, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Victor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD, USA
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by djcaliban View Post

And what a piece of crap.

There are $100 HDMI splitters available from monoprice, BTW.
Victor is offline  
post #293 of 5089 Old 11-15-2007, 09:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by djcaliban View Post

And what a piece of crap. The specs are all about "4-in, 2-out" HDMI. That's not true, apparently. What they really mean is "4-in, 1-out via your choice of two plugs".

That's right, the "2-out" are either/or, NOT parallel. Totally ruined the budget on the project I'm installing right now.

Your calling it a piece of crap because it works the way it was intended to?
I think you need to re-evaluate your stance and wording.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #294 of 5089 Old 11-15-2007, 10:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

Your calling it a piece of crap because it works the way it was intended to?
I think you need to re-evaluate your stance and wording.

what you are saying is both HDMI outs are not active at the same time? either u can watch OUT 1 or out 2?
zoro is offline  
post #295 of 5089 Old 11-15-2007, 12:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

what you are saying is both HDMI outs are not active at the same time? either u can watch OUT 1 or out 2?

yes, this is how most two outs work with HDMI and HDCP.... I mean if it goes to two at the same time? The HDCP has to get funky.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #296 of 5089 Old 11-15-2007, 08:25 PM
 
expresso712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
anyone have inside pictures of the SR7002 and SR8002
models to compare internals ??
expresso712 is offline  
post #297 of 5089 Old 11-16-2007, 03:36 AM
Newbie
 
trake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rome - Italy
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by expresso712 View Post

anyone have inside pictures of the SR7002 and SR8002
models to compare internals ??

Try this link, is in Korean but the are some interesting pictures:
hxxp://avplaza.co.kr/shop/bbs/photo_view.php?pno=44&db=columns
trake is offline  
post #298 of 5089 Old 11-16-2007, 06:45 AM
 
expresso712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by trake View Post

Try this link, is in Korean but the are some interesting pictures:
hxxp://avplaza.co.kr/shop/bbs/photo_view.php?pno=44&db=columns

thanks - those are nice pictures - i would assume the 7002 looks the same inside except for the Transformer - i hope the 700 is as clean inside as these pictures - i would have liked to see the Marantz name on the 7002 Transformer
but in the end - whats the big deal - never going to look inside - its the sound i will hear i was concerned how the Transformer was shielded in the 7002 since i just ordered one - looks to be just fine -
thanks for that link - if you have any more - please post
expresso712 is offline  
post #299 of 5089 Old 11-16-2007, 06:51 AM
Member
 
06TL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For those interested 6ave.com is doing special pricing on the SR8002.
If your interested call 877-684-2831 ext 8632 0r 8609
06TL is offline  
post #300 of 5089 Old 11-16-2007, 07:45 AM
Newbie
 
trake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rome - Italy
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by expresso712 View Post

thanks - those are nice pictures - i would assume the 7002 looks the same inside except for the Transformer - i hope the 700 is as clean inside as these pictures - i would have liked to see the Marantz name on the 7002 Transformer
but in the end - whats the big deal - never going to look inside - its the sound i will hear i was concerned how the Transformer was shielded in the 7002 since i just ordered one - looks to be just fine -
thanks for that link - if you have any more - please post

You're welcome!
Unfortunately I've no more pictures for you.
I've ordered the 7002 last week, next week i will receive the product.

Ciao
trake is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr7002 Surround Receiver , Marantz Sr8002 Surround Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off