new marantz sr7002, sr8002 receivers - Page 162 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4831 of 5089 Old 11-24-2010, 06:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bryan_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Charlottesville, aka UVA
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hormoz View Post

I just tried to do what you were asking, and it seems as if it can't. In my case, HDMI from FIOS DVR to 8002, and then output to TV. No picture when the receiver is turned off. Picture is back ON when the receiver is turned ON.

Would appreciate any comment if someone has been able to get the "pass-through" working!

Yeah I tried messing around with it after that post and I don't think it's capable. Every setting I thought might have something to do with pass-through did something else instead. Oh well!
Bryan_P is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4832 of 5089 Old 11-24-2010, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
motogp34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ont. Canada
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone know what fuse is in the SR8002 ?
motogp34 is offline  
post #4833 of 5089 Old 11-28-2010, 06:55 AM
Member
 
ZachF88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My buddy is moving and he wants to sell me his Rotel 985 MKII 5 channel amp. Would this be beneficial to my set-up (sr8002, b&w 5.1 speakers).
ZachF88 is offline  
post #4834 of 5089 Old 11-28-2010, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZachF88 View Post

My buddy is moving and he wants to sell me his Rotel 985 MKII 5 channel amp. Would this be beneficial to my set-up (sr8002, b&w 5.1 speakers).

Unless you listen to ear-bleeding levels and you already tirpped the protection circuit in your 8002, I'm not sure what it will buy you. Also, if you hear distortion, then you're running out of headroom and extra boost in power will help. Other than that, it'll just end up being another power sucking alien.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #4835 of 5089 Old 11-28-2010, 09:13 AM
Member
 
ZachF88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post

Unless you listen to ear-bleeding levels and you already tirpped the protection circuit in your 8002, I'm not sure what it will buy you. Also, if you hear distortion, then you're running out of headroom and extra boost in power will help. Other than that, it'll just end up being another power sucking alien.

This is what I was thinking... but my buddy was telling me differently... go figure! Thanks for the advise!
ZachF88 is offline  
post #4836 of 5089 Old 11-28-2010, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
llep64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody here compared the 7005 with the 8002???? .Thanks..
llep64 is offline  
post #4837 of 5089 Old 11-28-2010, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by llep64 View Post

Has anybody here compared the 7005 with the 8002???? .Thanks..

I had asked a similar question(anyone gone from a sr8002 to the 7005).Never got a response.But curious in knowing this as well.
rocky1 is offline  
post #4838 of 5089 Old 11-28-2010, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dont think thats fair comparing the sr8002 to a 7005/7055 combo.Was thinking sr7005 to the sr8002 originally.
rocky1 is offline  
post #4839 of 5089 Old 11-28-2010, 08:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
llep64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think we all just want to know if the "sound" of the 02 line is in the 05 line, let me tell you that I tried a sr6003 for a while and the sound was totally different than the sound of the 7002 , I got rid of the 6003 fast. the 6003 is not detailed and the sound stage is very narrow.Just my opinion!.
llep64 is offline  
post #4840 of 5089 Old 11-29-2010, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
zork52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: N. Central Mass.
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was in BB tonight and looking at some of the new Marantz receivers and I put my hand on top of the SR6005 and it was VERY hot. It also kept shutting off. I suspect the BB racks with little to no ventilation didn't help.

I remember putting my hand on top of an Anthem 700 just in the front area and it only felt warm NOT hot like the Marantz.

Any opinions?
zork52 is offline  
post #4841 of 5089 Old 11-29-2010, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by zork52 View Post
I was in BB tonight and looking at some of the new Marantz receivers and I put my hand on top of the SR6005 and it was VERY hot. It also kept shutting off. I suspect the BB racks with little to no ventilation didn't help.

I remember putting my hand on top of an Anthem 700 just in the front area and it only felt warm NOT hot like the Marantz.

Any opinions?
My 8001 and 8002 never really got uncomfortably hot. However, I never listened to it at ear bleeding levels. I'm not even sure I would use the word "hot" to describe, to tell you the truth.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #4842 of 5089 Old 11-29-2010, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats the first time i ever heard marantz being "hot".I've owned many marantz rec's and none were what i would call getting hot.Including my sr8002 which is on all day long.
rocky1 is offline  
post #4843 of 5089 Old 12-04-2010, 03:38 PM
Newbie
 
hinkleid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received the 8002 receiver. I am still in the process of setting up. Encountered a problem trying to get the sub to work. It is the BIC F12 that I have had in the box for a few months.

I checked and have the latest firmware, h39.

RCA cord from purple SW out to line in on sub.

When checking tones, no sound for Sub.

Audyssey does not detect sub.

Did a system reset, still no sub sound.
hinkleid is offline  
post #4844 of 5089 Old 12-04-2010, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
llep64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so......has anybody compared the 7 and 8002 to the 6005 or the 7005???
llep64 is offline  
post #4845 of 5089 Old 12-05-2010, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by llep64 View Post

so......has anybody compared the 7 and 8002 to the 6005 or the 7005???

This or the like has been asked several times and still no responses on the matter.
rocky1 is offline  
post #4846 of 5089 Old 12-05-2010, 04:54 PM
Newbie
 
hinkleid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is the 8002 so great, but have so many problems trying to power a sub?
hinkleid is offline  
post #4847 of 5089 Old 12-05-2010, 05:23 PM
Member
 
Bilbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: So California, USA
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There are a couple of places in the on-screen set up that the Sub W needs to be set to yes. Also be sure to use the sub out on the pre out panel. I had no trouble with the connections, but I did at first use the wrong SW port. page 49 of the manual has the info for the BASS MIX/Both option that will also cause confusion for some.
Bilbo is offline  
post #4848 of 5089 Old 12-08-2010, 06:23 AM
Member
 
dr bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any issues with running my video 1080p HDMI's through this unit? Or, should I skip the 8002 all together and run my HDMI video direct from the PS3/bluray direct to the projector?

What I don't want to do is lose picture quality/resolution by running the video signal through the 8002. In other words, does the 8002 support 1080p or will it downgrade the signal to 1080i?

Thanks for your input!
dr bill is offline  
post #4849 of 5089 Old 12-08-2010, 10:43 AM
Member
 
Meatbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do the preouts on an SR8002 bypass the xover. I am toying with using 2 small subs with the fronts which are set to Small and crossed out @ 80HZ,and then having the subs filling out the bottom in stereo.Or is this a stupid idea?Speakers are Monitor Audio RS6s and I have a Paradigm sub for the LFE.
Meatbird is offline  
post #4850 of 5089 Old 12-08-2010, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr bill View Post

Any issues with running my video 1080p HDMI's through this unit? Or, should I skip the 8002 all together and run my HDMI video direct from the PS3/bluray direct to the projector?

What I don't want to do is lose picture quality/resolution by running the video signal through the 8002. In other words, does the 8002 support 1080p or will it downgrade the signal to 1080i?

Thanks for your input!

It wont do any processing at all,so you'll be fine.
rocky1 is offline  
post #4851 of 5089 Old 12-09-2010, 05:55 AM
Member
 
black321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an fyi...If you enjoy the pure direct mode (which i think really enhances the midrange and vocals), but don't enjoy losing the low ends and lfe/subwoofer, connect the L/R pre outs to the sub inputs...this gives you a subwoofer channel in pure direct mode. If you want to keep your lfe line active also, use a Y cable going into the L input of the sub (have the L pre out and sub/lfe out from the receiver go into the Y with the other end go into the L input of the sub). edit- i was just told there may be issues with this (having two inputs), and to use a A/B switch...or just use the preouts, and set speakers to large with no sub.

Also, I've been trying to contact marantz to get a firmware update (i have version 33), but getting nowhere. Anyone have any tricks to get a response? I havent had any problems with my setup, but I dont have a bluray player and I know that's where the software version has issues. My warranty is up at the end of the month. Thanks.
black321 is offline  
post #4852 of 5089 Old 12-09-2010, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
llep64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is strange, I got the 7002 and the 8002 and I prefer the 7002!, to me it sounds more dynamic and better sound stage with 2 channel music!, I know it must be my room and speakers, there is noway the 7002 is better.......
llep64 is offline  
post #4853 of 5089 Old 12-10-2010, 05:34 AM
Member
 
dr bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post

It wont do any processing at all,so you'll be fine.

Thanks!!!
dr bill is offline  
post #4854 of 5089 Old 12-10-2010, 01:40 PM
Member
 
adestin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All....picked up the sr8002 from Amazon. Still shopping for speakers...so not using yet. Also, shopping for cabinet/furniture/rack. Manual indicates the sr8002 needs 8" of clearance around it.....does this mean it should not go in one of those furniture-style HDTV cabinets that hold up the TV? Concerned because the space in those is a bit tight...compared to the less elegant racks or more open glass set-ups. Will it get too hot and shut down if it sits on a shelf under the TV in one of those furniture-style set-ups?
adestin is offline  
post #4855 of 5089 Old 12-11-2010, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by adestin View Post

Hi All....picked up the sr8002 from Amazon. Still shopping for speakers...so not using yet. Also, shopping for cabinet/furniture/rack. Manual indicates the sr8002 needs 8" of clearance around it.....does this mean it should not go in one of those furniture-style HDTV cabinets that hold up the TV? Concerned because the space in those is a bit tight...compared to the less elegant racks or more open glass set-ups. Will it get too hot and shut down if it sits on a shelf under the TV in one of those furniture-style set-ups?


You can always use a triggered power and stick a PC fan on top of the receiver.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #4856 of 5089 Old 12-22-2010, 04:15 AM
Newbie
 
didjit86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question re sr7002 Custom Sound Profile. I want to set up a profile the turns off the SW, goes into 2CH Stereo and uses Rear Speakers only. When the kids get up at 6AM to watch TV :-) Anyway, what is the best way of doing this? Only way I think it can be done is setting up a Function and customizing the output???

Any advice?
didjit86 is offline  
post #4857 of 5089 Old 12-27-2010, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
slow ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
can anyone comfirm what the latest firmware is for the 8002 & how do you obtain it. I have never recieved anything from marantz since i have owned it ( almost two years ).

It was sent to united radio 8/10 & they put in a new main board . I still have the same subwoofer problems. united radio said the new board should of had the latest firmware updates. thanks
slow ride is online now  
post #4858 of 5089 Old 12-27-2010, 01:43 PM
Member
 
Schuyler Bain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajiva View Post

I replaced my old Onkyo TX-SR606 with a Marantz SR7002 and am very satisified. The one thing that the Marantz seems to be missing is what Onkyo called the "5 channel stereo". Basically sending all left audio to the left front, and left rear speakers and all right audio to the right front, right rear speakers. And of course both channels to the center speaker. The Marantz doesn't seem to have this. Anyone have a suggested mode I could use for stereo sound?

Had my 7002 for a couple of years and listen to a lot of music. In my environment, I set the surround mode to multich-movie (not music). Although the multich-music may sound best in your room. This mode is closest to the "5 channel stereo".

I also prefer to set the eq to FLAT for music.
Schuyler Bain is offline  
post #4859 of 5089 Old 12-27-2010, 02:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
DERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow ride View Post

can anyone comfirm what the latest firmware is for the 8002 & how do you obtain it. I have never recieved anything from marantz since i have owned it ( almost two years ).

It was sent to united radio 8/10 & they put in a new main board . I still have the same subwoofer problems. united radio said the new board should of had the latest firmware updates. thanks

Last I heard it was H39. I had to call Marantz to find out what to do. Their customer support page http://us.marantz.com/Contact-us.asp has phone number & service center info. You can refer to your owner's manual to see which firmware you have by pressing a couple of buttons on the 8002. Updates are service center only.
HTH
DERG is offline  
post #4860 of 5089 Old 12-30-2010, 04:49 PM
Member
 
Bilbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: So California, USA
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have not read or heard anything beyond ver: H39 Firmware. My unit is H39 and has no issues at all. Note: Amazon has only 3 new units remaining in thier inventory. Probably last reputable place to buy a new SR8002 with this firmware. last price was $941
Bilbo is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr7002 Surround Receiver , Marantz Sr8002 Surround Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off