new marantz sr7002, sr8002 receivers - Page 170 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5071 of 5086 Old 02-11-2014, 05:23 PM
Member
 
EtheB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adestin View Post


Got the dreaded 'standby light'. My sr8002 is a couple months out of Warranty. Took to the local place, but the guy couldn't handle it....indicated that there were some serious problems with the power supply.

What sort of "serious problems"? Was a transformer completely cooked? Was the PCB vaporised?
The power side of the 7002 is not all that complicated and the majority of the parts not really expensive.
Recalling the schematics, the overall PS in the 8002 wasn't all that different - other than transformer being a toroid.

I would hope that a Marantz service centre would have some experience in the types of PS faults these units develop and not take more than 2-3 hours to repair it. (The disassemble/reassemble is a bit painful!)

If the fault is related to one of the the HDMI cards or has damaged the same then it may be a different story repair wise.
EtheB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5072 of 5086 Old 02-13-2014, 04:02 PM
Member
 
adestin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just heard back from the authorized service provider......it's a short in the power supply....$395 to repair. I will check with Marantz to see if they can help, as it's only 3-4 months out of warranty. If I don't get help, is this worth repairing, or should I cut my losses and move on?
adestin is offline  
post #5073 of 5086 Old 02-21-2014, 05:46 PM
Newbie
 
maikeljacob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15

Hey guys...

 

I am having a problem:

 

When using IR output (rear) plugged into DV4001 (marantz dvd) and setting dvd for external, nothing happens... It is not sending IR signal forward.

Any ideas?

Anybody knows how to test IR out? I've tested with a IR blaster plugged and with mobile camera. It is not flashing.

maikeljacob is offline  
post #5074 of 5086 Old 02-21-2014, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
If you are bitstreaming DTS-HD MA or TrueHD to the avr, Audyssey is not applied because the unit doesn't have enough processing power to decode and apply Audyssey. The receiver will just decode the signal without apply Audyssey.
audit13 is offline  
post #5075 of 5086 Old 02-22-2014, 04:07 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Quote:
Originally Posted by adestin View Post

Just heard back from the authorized service provider......it's a short in the power supply....$395 to repair. I will check with Marantz to see if they can help, as it's only 3-4 months out of warranty. If I don't get help, is this worth repairing, or should I cut my losses and move on?

Check with your credit card issuer as well as they may add another year of warranty for free. Otherwise, you may want to consider if you want any of the newer features provided on more current models to include either of the more advanced Audyssey MultEQ XT or better yet, MultEQ XT32.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5076 of 5086 Old 02-23-2014, 01:17 AM
Member
 
adestin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good news...Marantz agreed to cover the remaining unpaid repair cost as a 'one-time' out of warranty service. Bad news....local authorized service provider refuses to do the repair as warranty since Marantz will only pay them the warranty rate, which doesn't cover their cost. The saga continues....
adestin is offline  
post #5077 of 5086 Old 02-23-2014, 05:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Considering it's out of warranty, any amount covered by Marantz is a bonus, otherwise you may want to ask Marantz if their factor repair center will cover total repair costs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5078 of 5086 Old 02-23-2014, 03:22 PM
Member
 
EtheB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adestin View Post

Good news...Marantz agreed to cover the remaining unpaid repair cost as a 'one-time' out of warranty service. Bad news....local authorized service provider refuses to do the repair as warranty since Marantz will only pay them the warranty rate, which doesn't cover their cost. The saga continues....

I guess you either work out how to get it back for a "factory" repair or come to an arrangement with the local repairer to top-up their fee?
If you do ship it be mindful that these babies need to be treated with some respect as it's unlikely to respond well to rough handling.
EtheB is offline  
post #5079 of 5086 Old 02-24-2014, 08:44 PM
Member
 
adestin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Long story short....Marantz told me to retrieve the receiver from the local repair shop and ship to a place in So. Cal. that will do the work. Another $60 of cost to me, and another couple weeks with no unit...but all the repair work will be covered by Marantz (nice customer support gesture by them).
adestin is offline  
post #5080 of 5086 Old 06-28-2014, 03:32 AM
Member
 
mtavares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the speaker distance applied to the 7.1 Channel input mode?

Thanks in advance by your response.

Regards,

Marcos

Q.J.A
mtavares is online now  
post #5081 of 5086 Old 06-28-2014, 04:37 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Yes, distance is applied.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5082 of 5086 Old 06-28-2014, 07:33 AM
Member
 
mtavares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^ Thanks by your response.
I did the changes based on your information and I correct an additional delay I have introduced in the Oppo 95.

Best Regards,

Marcos

Q.J.A
mtavares is online now  
post #5083 of 5086 Old 07-04-2014, 01:33 PM
Member
 
adestin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sr8002 Menu Problem

Recently got my sr8002 receiver back from repair in So Cal. Everything works great sound/video wise except I can't get the menu screen to show up on my TV to do the Audyssey set-up. Talked to Marantz...did a quick reset--did not work. They told me to contact the repair place. So Cal repair place indicated their warranty on service is only 30 days. The TV was connected via HDMI. I tried unplugging the HDMI and connecting via 'Monitor Out' to component Video-In on the TV, but that didn't work either. I'm not that interested in shipping the unit again and having to queue up in the repair line for 2 months just to be able to see the menu screen. Does anyone have any suggestions or solutions?
adestin is offline  
post #5084 of 5086 Old 07-04-2014, 11:32 PM
Member
 
EtheB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adestin View Post
I can't get the menu screen to show up on my TV to do the Audyssey set-up. The TV was connected via HDMI. I tried unplugging the HDMI and connecting via 'Monitor Out' to component Video-In on the TV, but that didn't work either. Does anyone have any suggestions or solutions?
Weird.
Any chance it's just a remote problem? Tried the front panel menu button?
Do you still see the initial menu list on the units front panel as you step through?
Can you actually change settings at all?
Did you try both front panel resets?
(MULTI + SPEAKERS A/B or 7.1 + PURE DIRECT + CLEAR)

I suppose with the aid of the printed manual menu options it would be possible to step through the menu blind to at least get all the inputs setup but the Audyssey configuration would be a nightmare.
I have to admit, I rarely bother with using Audyssy but that doesn't really help your problem.
EtheB is offline  
post #5085 of 5086 Old 07-05-2014, 03:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Quote:
Originally Posted by adestin View Post
Recently got my sr8002 receiver back from repair in So Cal. Everything works great sound/video wise except I can't get the menu screen to show up on my TV to do the Audyssey set-up. Talked to Marantz...did a quick reset--did not work. They told me to contact the repair place. So Cal repair place indicated their warranty on service is only 30 days. The TV was connected via HDMI. I tried unplugging the HDMI and connecting via 'Monitor Out' to component Video-In on the TV, but that didn't work either. I'm not that interested in shipping the unit again and having to queue up in the repair line for 2 months just to be able to see the menu screen. Does anyone have any suggestions or solutions?
Check to make sure the Video Convert setting (p. 59 Owner's manual) is set to "ANA & HDMI."

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5086 of 5086 Old 07-06-2014, 08:33 PM
Member
 
adestin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestions. Did both Front Panel resets and also checked the Video Convert setting...it showed = Ana + HDMI. Unfortunately, I wasn't successful getting the Menu to appear onscreen. Sigh.
adestin is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr7002 Surround Receiver , Marantz Sr8002 Surround Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off