new marantz sr7002, sr8002 receivers - Page 170 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5071 of 5099 Old 02-11-2014, 06:23 PM
Member
 
EtheB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adestin View Post


Got the dreaded 'standby light'. My sr8002 is a couple months out of Warranty. Took to the local place, but the guy couldn't handle it....indicated that there were some serious problems with the power supply.

What sort of "serious problems"? Was a transformer completely cooked? Was the PCB vaporised?
The power side of the 7002 is not all that complicated and the majority of the parts not really expensive.
Recalling the schematics, the overall PS in the 8002 wasn't all that different - other than transformer being a toroid.

I would hope that a Marantz service centre would have some experience in the types of PS faults these units develop and not take more than 2-3 hours to repair it. (The disassemble/reassemble is a bit painful!)

If the fault is related to one of the the HDMI cards or has damaged the same then it may be a different story repair wise.
EtheB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5072 of 5099 Old 02-13-2014, 05:02 PM
Member
 
adestin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just heard back from the authorized service provider......it's a short in the power supply....$395 to repair. I will check with Marantz to see if they can help, as it's only 3-4 months out of warranty. If I don't get help, is this worth repairing, or should I cut my losses and move on?
adestin is online now  
post #5073 of 5099 Old 02-21-2014, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
maikeljacob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15

Hey guys...

 

I am having a problem:

 

When using IR output (rear) plugged into DV4001 (marantz dvd) and setting dvd for external, nothing happens... It is not sending IR signal forward.

Any ideas?

Anybody knows how to test IR out? I've tested with a IR blaster plugged and with mobile camera. It is not flashing.

maikeljacob is offline  
post #5074 of 5099 Old 02-21-2014, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
If you are bitstreaming DTS-HD MA or TrueHD to the avr, Audyssey is not applied because the unit doesn't have enough processing power to decode and apply Audyssey. The receiver will just decode the signal without apply Audyssey.
audit13 is offline  
post #5075 of 5099 Old 02-22-2014, 05:07 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,572
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1754
Quote:
Originally Posted by adestin View Post

Just heard back from the authorized service provider......it's a short in the power supply....$395 to repair. I will check with Marantz to see if they can help, as it's only 3-4 months out of warranty. If I don't get help, is this worth repairing, or should I cut my losses and move on?

Check with your credit card issuer as well as they may add another year of warranty for free. Otherwise, you may want to consider if you want any of the newer features provided on more current models to include either of the more advanced Audyssey MultEQ XT or better yet, MultEQ XT32.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5076 of 5099 Old 02-23-2014, 02:17 AM
Member
 
adestin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good news...Marantz agreed to cover the remaining unpaid repair cost as a 'one-time' out of warranty service. Bad news....local authorized service provider refuses to do the repair as warranty since Marantz will only pay them the warranty rate, which doesn't cover their cost. The saga continues....
adestin is online now  
post #5077 of 5099 Old 02-23-2014, 06:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,572
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1754
Considering it's out of warranty, any amount covered by Marantz is a bonus, otherwise you may want to ask Marantz if their factor repair center will cover total repair costs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5078 of 5099 Old 02-23-2014, 04:22 PM
Member
 
EtheB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adestin View Post

Good news...Marantz agreed to cover the remaining unpaid repair cost as a 'one-time' out of warranty service. Bad news....local authorized service provider refuses to do the repair as warranty since Marantz will only pay them the warranty rate, which doesn't cover their cost. The saga continues....

I guess you either work out how to get it back for a "factory" repair or come to an arrangement with the local repairer to top-up their fee?
If you do ship it be mindful that these babies need to be treated with some respect as it's unlikely to respond well to rough handling.
EtheB is offline  
post #5079 of 5099 Old 02-24-2014, 09:44 PM
Member
 
adestin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Long story short....Marantz told me to retrieve the receiver from the local repair shop and ship to a place in So. Cal. that will do the work. Another $60 of cost to me, and another couple weeks with no unit...but all the repair work will be covered by Marantz (nice customer support gesture by them).
adestin is online now  
post #5080 of 5099 Old 06-28-2014, 04:32 AM
Member
 
mtavares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the speaker distance applied to the 7.1 Channel input mode?

Thanks in advance by your response.

Regards,

Marcos

Q.J.A
mtavares is offline  
post #5081 of 5099 Old 06-28-2014, 05:37 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,572
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1754
Yes, distance is applied.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5082 of 5099 Old 06-28-2014, 08:33 AM
Member
 
mtavares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^ Thanks by your response.
I did the changes based on your information and I correct an additional delay I have introduced in the Oppo 95.

Best Regards,

Marcos

Q.J.A
mtavares is offline  
post #5083 of 5099 Old 07-04-2014, 02:33 PM
Member
 
adestin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sr8002 Menu Problem

Recently got my sr8002 receiver back from repair in So Cal. Everything works great sound/video wise except I can't get the menu screen to show up on my TV to do the Audyssey set-up. Talked to Marantz...did a quick reset--did not work. They told me to contact the repair place. So Cal repair place indicated their warranty on service is only 30 days. The TV was connected via HDMI. I tried unplugging the HDMI and connecting via 'Monitor Out' to component Video-In on the TV, but that didn't work either. I'm not that interested in shipping the unit again and having to queue up in the repair line for 2 months just to be able to see the menu screen. Does anyone have any suggestions or solutions?
adestin is online now  
post #5084 of 5099 Old 07-05-2014, 12:32 AM
Member
 
EtheB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adestin View Post
I can't get the menu screen to show up on my TV to do the Audyssey set-up. The TV was connected via HDMI. I tried unplugging the HDMI and connecting via 'Monitor Out' to component Video-In on the TV, but that didn't work either. Does anyone have any suggestions or solutions?
Weird.
Any chance it's just a remote problem? Tried the front panel menu button?
Do you still see the initial menu list on the units front panel as you step through?
Can you actually change settings at all?
Did you try both front panel resets?
(MULTI + SPEAKERS A/B or 7.1 + PURE DIRECT + CLEAR)

I suppose with the aid of the printed manual menu options it would be possible to step through the menu blind to at least get all the inputs setup but the Audyssey configuration would be a nightmare.
I have to admit, I rarely bother with using Audyssy but that doesn't really help your problem.
EtheB is offline  
post #5085 of 5099 Old 07-05-2014, 04:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,572
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1754
Quote:
Originally Posted by adestin View Post
Recently got my sr8002 receiver back from repair in So Cal. Everything works great sound/video wise except I can't get the menu screen to show up on my TV to do the Audyssey set-up. Talked to Marantz...did a quick reset--did not work. They told me to contact the repair place. So Cal repair place indicated their warranty on service is only 30 days. The TV was connected via HDMI. I tried unplugging the HDMI and connecting via 'Monitor Out' to component Video-In on the TV, but that didn't work either. I'm not that interested in shipping the unit again and having to queue up in the repair line for 2 months just to be able to see the menu screen. Does anyone have any suggestions or solutions?
Check to make sure the Video Convert setting (p. 59 Owner's manual) is set to "ANA & HDMI."

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5086 of 5099 Old 07-06-2014, 09:33 PM
Member
 
adestin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestions. Did both Front Panel resets and also checked the Video Convert setting...it showed = Ana + HDMI. Unfortunately, I wasn't successful getting the Menu to appear onscreen. Sigh.
adestin is online now  
post #5087 of 5099 Old 08-24-2014, 10:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Do the speaker settings affect the pre-outs?
Icerider62 is offline  
post #5088 of 5099 Old 08-24-2014, 10:51 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,572
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1754
Yes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5089 of 5099 Old 08-24-2014, 05:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks. I read the whole thread, but don't remember seeing it.
Icerider62 is offline  
post #5090 of 5099 Old 11-07-2014, 03:15 PM
Newbie
 
bmc1818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking to upgrade to a 4k television (after a the current samsung quit working), and would like to use my sr8002 that is in the current setup. Will the sr8002 work with a 4k resolution HDMI?
bmc1818 is offline  
post #5091 of 5099 Old 11-08-2014, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
DERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brown City, Michigan
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmc1818 View Post
I am looking to upgrade to a 4k television (after a the current samsung quit working), and would like to use my sr8002 that is in the current setup. Will the sr8002 work with a 4k resolution HDMI?
I have the same issue.

No. The 8002's HDMI will not pass 3D-1080 much less 4k. The hardware cannot be updated. The work-around is to connect your 4k source direct to the TV/projector, then route a separate HDMI back to the 8002 for audio.
DERG is offline  
post #5092 of 5099 Old 11-15-2014, 07:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi folks, I have a quick question regarding subwoofer use with the SR7002.

From what I understand, if I set my fronts to "large", the sub will only receive the LFE signal. If I set the fronts to "small", the sub will receive the LFE signal + all the signal below the set cutoff frequency, but the fronts will only play audio from the cutoff frequency up.

What I'm trying to achieve is sending the entire signal to fronts as well as to the sub (as I can set the cutoff frequency on the sub itself). To do that I can run the sub from the pre-out connectors on the Marantz. But, I would like for the sub to also receive the LFE track when playing movies.

So in short: is there any possible way to get the fronts to reproduce the full signal, the sub to receive the full signal (cut at the sub) and receive the LFE track simultaneously.

That's the only way I could use the fronts in full together with the sub when listening in stereo and also make use of the LFE track when watching movies, without having to change any settings and exchange any cables between uses.
slinch is offline  
post #5093 of 5099 Old 11-15-2014, 07:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,572
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1754
If you set the sub to LFE+MAIN, you can adjust the crossover for the FL/FR speakers which will then send full range to the FL/FR speakers and those FL/FR frequencies below the crossover to the sub in addition to the sub still getting LFE from the sub pre-out.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5094 of 5099 Old 11-15-2014, 08:31 AM
Member
 
bsandovalb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
new marantz sr7002, sr8002 receivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by DERG View Post
I have the same issue.



No. The 8002's HDMI will not pass 3D-1080 much less 4k. The hardware cannot be updated. The work-around is to connect your 4k source direct to the TV/projector, then route a separate HDMI back to the 8002 for audio.

Thats the great thing about oppos.... You upgrade to an oppo bdp103d/105d and use the hdmi1 output directly to your screen while you assign the hdmi2 output for audio only to the 8002, which it is still fantastic receiver!
bsandovalb is offline  
post #5095 of 5099 Old 11-24-2014, 02:22 PM
Newbie
 
bmc1818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsandovalb View Post
Thats the great thing about oppos.... You upgrade to an oppo bdp103d/105d and use the hdmi1 output directly to your screen while you assign the hdmi2 output for audio only to the 8002, which it is still fantastic receiver!
Thanks,

Would I be able to run an optical digital cable from the tv to the amp and continue to use it without buying an oppo? If I have to upgrade to a 4k amp and do NOT need all the multi room options of the new Marantz 4k top of the line equivalent, what would you recommend?
bmc1818 is offline  
post #5096 of 5099 Old 11-24-2014, 04:40 PM
Member
 
bsandovalb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmc1818 View Post
Thanks,



Would I be able to run an optical digital cable from the tv to the amp and continue to use it without buying an oppo? If I have to upgrade to a 4k amp and do NOT need all the multi room options of the new Marantz 4k top of the line equivalent, what would you recommend?

Ok, so you will buy a new 4k tv, have a 8002 as receiver.... What is your source for 4k material?.... You would need domething to pass content (blu rays for example) to the TV.... that source (oppo or other blu ray player) would have a digital audio output, besides hdmi probably.... In that case it is better to run the audio from there to the 8002, instead of the tv...

My personal opinion is that if you updated to a 4k tv, you would like to take advantage of it.... And given that a new 4k capable receiver can be costly (if you want the same level equivalent as the 8002), I would invest in an oppo bdp103d (around $500) and take advantage of the wonderfull video processing of the oppo to the tv.... And have the 8002 for audio, which is a great receiver!, $500 versus a new hi end receiver is a bargain!... And if you get the darbee version, it does a GREAT job, believe me!, even my wife noticed it immediately jeje
bsandovalb is offline  
post #5097 of 5099 Old 11-24-2014, 05:40 PM
Newbie
 
bmc1818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am only buying the 4k because the Samsung screen in our setup has stopped working. We are buying the 4k to try and keep from having to buy another television in the near future.

Currently with the limited amount of 4k content options we were going to hold out on upgrading the other components until the UHD 4k matures and there is more content available. I am not against upgrading any part of the system, but if it is possible I would love to keep intact everything that is currently working fine.

If the amp is upgraded, are there any advancements in technology on the horizon that will make it obsolete before I can even get 4k content (from cable providers or even netflix since I am not sure our internet speed is fast enough)?
bmc1818 is offline  
post #5098 of 5099 Old Today, 07:56 PM
Newbie
 
eems01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adestin View Post
Recently got my sr8002 receiver back from repair in So Cal. Everything works great sound/video wise except I can't get the menu screen to show up on my TV to do the Audyssey set-up. Talked to Marantz...did a quick reset--did not work. They told me to contact the repair place. So Cal repair place indicated their warranty on service is only 30 days. The TV was connected via HDMI. I tried unplugging the HDMI and connecting via 'Monitor Out' to component Video-In on the TV, but that didn't work either. I'm not that interested in shipping the unit again and having to queue up in the repair line for 2 months just to be able to see the menu screen. Does anyone have any suggestions or solutions?
I recently made some changes to components in another setup and added them to my SR8002 setup and found a similar inability to get the menu or OSD (which I enabled only for testing) to output to any of the monitor out sources. Tried them all and unplugged/plugged each individually and tried the video convert changes but to no avail. I either get a solid blue screen (absent the menu) or occasionally an intermittent flash and even briefly a distorted view of the menu. I was able to use the front panel to make the updates I needed this time but remember that it wasn't very fun to set up Audyssey when I did several years ago. Luckily the speaker setup stayed the same and I have the settings backed up internally in the memory and in hard copy photos I took years ago back when the menu did display properly.

Interestingly, not long after I purchased it in 2008, maybe after 6 months of use, I also had a system fault that resulted in a standby light error. I was able to warranty repair it back then. It must have worked for a little while after that as I upgraded my rear speakers and re-calibrated. That maybe was four years ago. Despite the years between our repairs it does seem odd that both units seem to have the same issue now!
eems01 is offline  
post #5099 of 5099 Old Today, 10:24 PM
Member
 
adestin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sr8002

Good move taking a photo of set-up. Wish I had done that. Seems impossible to try to do the set-up blindly, only using the front panel. If you have any suggestions on how to navigate this, I would be interested. Right now, I just have it on the default set-up. Works fine for music, which is just stereo. For movies/TV, I know it's not optimally set-up.
adestin is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr7002 Surround Receiver , Marantz Sr8002 Surround Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off