new marantz sr7002, sr8002 receivers - Page 171 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5101 of 5126 Old 05-06-2015, 01:54 PM
Member
 
lansings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
lansings is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5102 of 5126 Old 05-11-2015, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
tojohnso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by titimega View Post
I have a Marantz 7002 and I´m thinking in upgrade because this receiver not suppport 3D and 4K. If I change this receiver for a Manratz 7008, this should sound better in stereo mode or in stereo mode is better my actual Marantz 7002?.

I Live in Argentina and I can´t listen both receiver for compare. My principal interest is in the stereo mode and secundary 3D/4K.
Out of curiosity, how do you know the 7002 doesn't support 3D/4K? Have you or anyone else tried it? I'm sure those modes require more bandwidth than regular HD but is it so much the 7002 isn't capable of passing it through? I ask out of curiosity since I have the 7002.

HDTV.....or not......Is the HDTV picture quality we have come to love threatened? Will we look back at what we "used" to have? ........I hope not........
tojohnso is offline  
post #5103 of 5126 Old 06-01-2015, 07:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
slow ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Is arc an option on the 8002 ?
slow ride is offline  
post #5104 of 5126 Old 06-02-2015, 03:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5304 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
Quote:
Originally Posted by tojohnso View Post
Out of curiosity, how do you know the 7002 doesn't support 3D/4K? Have you or anyone else tried it? I'm sure those modes require more bandwidth than regular HD but is it so much the 7002 isn't capable of passing it through? I ask out of curiosity since I have the 7002.
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow ride View Post
Is arc an option on the 8002 ?
These models were introduced back in 2004 and as such are only HDMI 1.3. HDMI (ARC) and 3D were only first introduced on 2010 models with HDMI 1.4. Note however, that 720p 3D video (eg. from cable/sat box) will still likely pass, rather that full 1080p video (from Blu Ray player) will not.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5105 of 5126 Old 06-02-2015, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
tojohnso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
These models were introduced back in 2004 and as such are only HDMI 1.3. HDMI (ARC) and 3D were only first introduced on 2010 models with HDMI 1.4. Note however, that 720p 3D video (eg. from cable/sat box) will still likely pass, rather that full 1080p video (from Blu Ray player) will not.
It's been a while since I've looked at the specs so I had to do a quick search. I know I'm getting 1080P from my blu-ray through my 7002 (hdmi 1.3a). It looks like the 1.4 spec adds the ability to run two 1080P streams to provide 3D which is why you need a newer box for HDMI 1.4. I understand now. But, I kinda wish I didn't. That SR7009 looks sweet!

http://denon.custhelp.com/app/answer...a,-and-1.4a%3F

HDTV.....or not......Is the HDTV picture quality we have come to love threatened? Will we look back at what we "used" to have? ........I hope not........
tojohnso is offline  
post #5106 of 5126 Old 06-02-2015, 05:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5304 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
^^
Indeed. Upgraded HDAM pre-amps + Audyssey MultEQ XT32 too boot.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5107 of 5126 Old 07-24-2015, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haven t been here in awhile and now I am contemplating going from the sr8002 to one of the newer models. But this thing has been flawless for me. But I do like the added extras on the new units ( Bluetooth,wifi etc). But don't want to sacrifice SQ. Wondering if anyone gone from the sr8002 to a newer model and either found that it was a better unit overall or maybe regretted the change out that it wasn't worth the change. Thanks
rocky1 is offline  
post #5108 of 5126 Old 07-24-2015, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I went from a 7002 to an Anthem mrx500. The increase in sound quality was quite noticeable.

I sold my Anthem and then tried a Marantz sr7007 because it had a few more features than the Anthem. I didn't like the sr7007 with Audyssey enabled. It sounded better without Audyssey but I recall my mrx500 sounding better.

I regretted selling my mrx500 so I stopped using the sr7007 and purchased a mrx310.

I only run a 5.1 system.

Last edited by audit13; 07-25-2015 at 05:30 AM. Reason: Correction: I had an sr7007, not sr7005.
audit13 is offline  
post #5109 of 5126 Old 07-25-2015, 04:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5304 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
Haven t been here in awhile and now I am contemplating going from the sr8002 to one of the newer models. But this thing has been flawless for me. But I do like the added extras on the new units ( Bluetooth,wifi etc). But don't want to sacrifice SQ. Wondering if anyone gone from the sr8002 to a newer model and either found that it was a better unit overall or maybe regretted the change out that it wasn't worth the change. Thanks
The SR8002 only uses Audyssey MultEQ while upgrading to one of the newer SR6010 or SR7010 (avail Sep/Oct) should provide much better audio quality using Audyssey MultEQ XT32 as well as the upgraded HDAM pre-amps and new 32 bit DACs.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5110 of 5126 Old 07-25-2015, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Does the sr8002 have enough processing power to apply Audyssey to DTS-Master and TrueHD Blu-rays? It was my understanding that the 7002 and 8002 could decode HD audio but not apply eq due to a lack of processing power. The receivers could either decode HD audio or apply eq, but not both.

DTS-HD and TrueHD signals would cause the eq indicator on my 7002 to go out. The indicator stayed on with LPCM signals.

Replacing Marantz SR8500 with SR8002 or SR5005/6005?
audit13 is offline  
post #5111 of 5126 Old 07-25-2015, 05:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5304 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Does the sr8002 have enough processing power to apply Audyssey to DTS-Master and TrueHD Blu-rays? It was my understanding that the 7002 and 8002 could decode HD audio but not apply eq due to a lack of processing power. The receivers could either decode HD audio or apply eq, but not both.

DTS-HD and TrueHD signals would cause the eq indicator on my 7002 to go out. The indicator stayed on with LPCM signals.

Replacing Marantz SR8500 with SR8002 or SR5005/6005?
No, it does not.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5112 of 5126 Old 07-25-2015, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
The lack of eq for DTS-HD and TrueHD was one reason I opted for my mrx500. I went for the sr7007 because it has so many great features but, in the end, I went to an mrx310.
audit13 is offline  
post #5113 of 5126 Old 07-25-2015, 05:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5304 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
The lack of eq for DTS-HD and TrueHD was one reason I opted for my mrx500. I went for the sr7007 because it has so many great features but, in the end, I went to an mrx310.
XT32 on the newer models is much more advanced (ie. 32x) than is XT on the SR7007.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5114 of 5126 Old 07-25-2015, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I know xt32 is much more advanced than xt but I replaced the sr7007 in my home theatre room and moved the sr7007 to the living room.
audit13 is offline  
post #5115 of 5126 Old 07-26-2015, 07:53 AM
Member
 
kiddocious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So my Yamaha AVR is kicking the bucket and I have an option to get a Marantz 7002 to replace it. I have never owned a Marantz and was just gonna see if any of yall in this thread had any thoughts on getting the 7002 for my set up.

I will only be using it in a 2.1 mode. This is for music only. I am running B&W CM5's and a sub.

What do yall think?

Thx!
kiddocious is offline  
post #5116 of 5126 Old 07-26-2015, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I really liked my sr7002.

Before purchasing the sr7002, make sure it is running the latest firmware as the firmware was not meant to be user upgradable.
audit13 is offline  
post #5117 of 5126 Old 07-27-2015, 01:47 AM
Member
 
EtheB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiddocious View Post
So my Yamaha AVR is kicking the bucket and I have an option to get a Marantz 7002 to replace it. I have never owned a Marantz and was just gonna see if any of yall in this thread had any thoughts on getting the 7002 for my set up.
Thx!
As Audit 13 mentioned, make sure the firmware is at LEAST version h35, preferably h38, or h39 which I believe was the last.
Earlier versions had some significant issues.
h33 had the particularly nasty "DTS bomb", other intermittent popping noises and the "9dB bug".

To check the version:
-open the front panel
-hold down pure direct + 7.1 input + M-DAX buttons simultaneously for a few seconds
-you'll see the service mode activated
-press the enter button and it will cycle through the specifics, something like below:

V080603
B1 10805081
B2 20803131
HDMI Ver.h38

or maybe

V090121
B1 10805081
B2 20803131
HDMI Ver.h39

You can also check for display issues.
EtheB is offline  
post #5118 of 5126 Old 07-27-2015, 06:55 AM
Member
 
kiddocious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by EtheB View Post
As Audit 13 mentioned, make sure the firmware is at LEAST version h35, preferably h38, or h39 which I believe was the last.
Earlier versions had some significant issues.
h33 had the particularly nasty "DTS bomb", other intermittent popping noises and the "9dB bug".

To check the version:
-open the front panel
-hold down pure direct + 7.1 input + M-DAX buttons simultaneously for a few seconds
-you'll see the service mode activated
-press the enter button and it will cycle through the specifics, something like below:

V080603
B1 10805081
B2 20803131
HDMI Ver.h38

or maybe

V090121
B1 10805081
B2 20803131
HDMI Ver.h39

You can also check for display issues.

Thanks to both of you!!! I just sent the seller a message asking for the firmware version. I am only using it for 2.1 music but I for don't want any issues. I am thinking from what I have been reading that it should run the B&W CM5's just fine. I have always ran them with a Yamaha so we shall see! Hopefully it comes back with a good firmware version number.
kiddocious is offline  
post #5119 of 5126 Old 07-27-2015, 10:19 AM
Member
 
kiddocious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by EtheB View Post
As Audit 13 mentioned, make sure the firmware is at LEAST version h35, preferably h38, or h39 which I believe was the last.
Earlier versions had some significant issues.
h33 had the particularly nasty "DTS bomb", other intermittent popping noises and the "9dB bug".

To check the version:
-open the front panel
-hold down pure direct + 7.1 input + M-DAX buttons simultaneously for a few seconds
-you'll see the service mode activated
-press the enter button and it will cycle through the specifics, something like below:

V080603
B1 10805081
B2 20803131
HDMI Ver.h38

or maybe

V090121
B1 10805081
B2 20803131
HDMI Ver.h39

You can also check for display issues.
What about the 7001? Same issue the firmware? I can get one of those too. Thx for yall input!!!!
kiddocious is offline  
post #5120 of 5126 Old 07-27-2015, 01:23 PM
Member
 
kiddocious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by EtheB View Post
As Audit 13 mentioned, make sure the firmware is at LEAST version h35, preferably h38, or h39 which I believe was the last.
Earlier versions had some significant issues.
h33 had the particularly nasty "DTS bomb", other intermittent popping noises and the "9dB bug".

To check the version:
-open the front panel
-hold down pure direct + 7.1 input + M-DAX buttons simultaneously for a few seconds
-you'll see the service mode activated
-press the enter button and it will cycle through the specifics, something like below:

V080603
B1 10805081
B2 20803131
HDMI Ver.h38

or maybe

V090121
B1 10805081
B2 20803131
HDMI Ver.h39

You can also check for display issues.

Seller just responded back with this:


B1 10708201
B2 20708231

HDMI ver H30

I am assuming from what yall are saying I should pass? Even if it is only going to be used for 2.1? Maybe I should go with the 7001?
kiddocious is offline  
post #5121 of 5126 Old 07-27-2015, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Milez28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had an 8002 since 2008 I bought new. Last year it started making a constant clicking noise when turning on and the more it turned on the more it had to cycle the clicking until it finally didn't power anymore. Sounded like a relay clicking. I've tried researching what the problem could be but so far the only probable solution is that the 5V power voltage regulator might of went bad. Not sure if that's it plus I'm thinking I'd rather put the money towards a new receiver instead of sending it in to get worked on and waiting a long turn around.

Has anyone experienced this and found out the problem? I'll probably just get a new model Marantz or Denon anyway but would like to know if it's worth fixing.
Milez28 is offline  
post #5122 of 5126 Old 07-28-2015, 03:20 AM
Member
 
EtheB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiddocious View Post
Seller just responded back with this:

HDMI ver H30

I am assuming from what yall are saying I should pass? Even if it is only going to be used for 2.1? Maybe I should go with the 7001?
Certainly must be one of the originals with that version.
Can't say whether it has any major issues that would impact a 2.1 setup but perhaps the bigger issue may be its age depending on usage.
EtheB is offline  
post #5123 of 5126 Old 07-28-2015, 03:23 AM
Member
 
EtheB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milez28 View Post
I've had an 8002 since 2008 I bought new. Last year it started making a constant clicking noise when turning on and the more it turned on the more it had to cycle the clicking until it finally didn't power anymore. Sounded like a relay clicking. I've tried researching what the problem could be but so far the only probable solution is that the 5V power voltage regulator might of went bad. Not sure if that's it plus I'm thinking I'd rather put the money towards a new receiver instead of sending it in to get worked on and waiting a long turn around.

Has anyone experienced this and found out the problem? I'll probably just get a new model Marantz or Denon anyway but would like to know if it's worth fixing.
My 7002 during turn on goes thru a number of clickity-clicks, as the various power rails come up and speaker output circuits are closed.
Is this what you're talking about, but now it's stuck in some repeating loop?
EtheB is offline  
post #5124 of 5126 Old 07-28-2015, 08:53 AM
Member
 
kiddocious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by EtheB View Post
Certainly must be one of the originals with that version.
Can't say whether it has any major issues that would impact a 2.1 setup but perhaps the bigger issue may be its age depending on usage.

Thx!

Wondering if I should just go with the 7001. Same price not sure if historically it had the same issues.
kiddocious is offline  
post #5125 of 5126 Old 07-30-2015, 07:26 AM
Member
 
Milez28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EtheB View Post
My 7002 during turn on goes thru a number of clickity-clicks, as the various power rails come up and speaker output circuits are closed.
Is this what you're talking about, but now it's stuck in some repeating loop?
I think mine was like a main power "ON" relay that kept clicking until it finally latched on and turned the unit on. Sometimes it would cycle for minutes before finally coming on. Eventually it stopped all together. Not sure but it must've burned out the contacts?
Milez28 is offline  
post #5126 of 5126 Old 08-08-2015, 05:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,860
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 782 Post(s)
Liked: 745
Is it "normal" to manually adjust one front speaker so that it's 4 dBs different from the other in order to balance out the sound? I noticed that my right speaker is more dominate than my left when playing music. Audyssey set it at -.5, and I adjusted it to -4.0 in order to balance out the sound. The room is acoustically treated, the speaker wire is the same length, and the speakers are equal distance from each other, so I'm not sure why there is such a discrepancy.
Aliens is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr7002 Surround Receiver , Marantz Sr8002 Surround Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off