AVS Forum banner

The Owner's thread for marantz sr7002 and sr8002 receivers

796K views 5K replies 630 participants last post by  Dragoson 
#1 ·
#4 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by lubej /forum/post/11505579

It's very funny too see 1000+ posts on new onkyos.... but no post for new marantz receivers.

I'm not an expert but for me this means that onkyos, yammahas, denons.. are much better than marantz or offer a lot more sound for $

Br

You should definitely listen to some Marantz then. Although it's only my experience I've found their AVRs to be a step above the brands you've listed with the comparable price point models, and at the level of some lower end seperates.

You don't get to the front of the flock by following the sheep...

#5 ·
The specs on the 8002 look comparable to the Denon 4803ci

...less the THX...

Considering Denon and Marantz are close cousins. I have always found the Marantz models to be one step behind on technology to Denon.

#7 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by esaleris /forum/post/11500395

Marantz is a funny brand. It's not quite up there with Rotel, Arcam, and the big boys in terms of sound quality, but it's not quite the entry-level brands that build buzz with larger numbers of models each year incorporating the newest technology.

It's neither here, nor there, but I've found them to be an excellent balance for my price points, between the two types of equipment.

One mans opinion, I personally have owned all of those brands, My Marantz sounded better than the Arcam for sure and Denon. If you ask me Arcam and Rotel are overated.

#9 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by lubej /forum/post/11505579

It's very funny too see 1000+ posts on new onkyos.... but no post for new marantz receivers.

I'm not an expert but for me this means that onkyos, yammahas, denons.. are much better than marantz or offer a lot more sound for $

That's because there was no info. on the new Marantz AVRs until a few days ago, AFAIK.

#13 ·

Quote: