The NAD T775/T785 AVRs w/ HDMI 1.3 Thread! - Page 154 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 26Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4591 of 4600 Old 08-27-2017, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 5,164
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Tomaskovic View Post
I have some old 775 files but nothing that new. I don't think 787 updates are compatible. I can send you what I have for 785/775 but it's like 1.16 I think from the PDF file in the zip file. You might want to email Nad/ bob Moran.

Also I don't remember ever having a settings file?
Lucky me - I went to work today and combed through my new desktop computer and found all the files that I was looking. I did not have to reload the firmware. Basically, whenever I do factory reset, the settings file don't get programmed properly and is corrupted (I am an embedded software engineer - so this is my educated guess). So, the corruption is not handled in the software such that it won't even power on properly. However, using the PC interface software I was able to communicate with it last year. So, the same thing happened this time. What I did was load the configuration file I had saved before and it came up immediately. Phew. Everything works now. So, I hope I keep these files safely somewhere from now on.
bommai is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4592 of 4600 Old 08-27-2017, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 5,164
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Also, I was too tempted by the Denon AVR X4300H sale last week and I pulled the trigger. I am upgrading my theater room to Atmos soon and I figured getting the Denon 9.2 receiver with Audyssey XT32 and SubEQ with atmos and 4K pass through for about the price of a new MDC card from NAD was too tempting. I have a T763 in the living room and the T775HD in the theater room. So, I brought the T775HD to the living room so we can finally have HDMI in the living room and I might reuse the T763 as an amp only for the theater room if the Denon runs out of power. The nice thing about the T763 has main-in separately that I can use it as a pure amp. So far I am liking what the Denon is doing but I think I still like the NAD sound a little better.
bommai is online now  
post #4593 of 4600 Old 08-27-2017, 03:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 5,164
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 135
One of the reasons I factory reset the T775 is because I had zone 2 mapped to trigger-in. WHenever the trigger in has 12V, zone2 will turn on. But now I have nothing hooked up to trigger-in and yet zone2 shows on. Why? I cannot seem to turn zone2 off. Yikes.
bommai is online now  
 
post #4594 of 4600 Old 09-12-2017, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 7,408
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1462 Post(s)
Liked: 950
Sorry if this is the wrong thread. Read through the pages from 2017 and don't see this mentioned so maybe it is the wrong place...

Anyone know if the Dirac update for the NAD T 758 V3 is still coming? The price point is very appealing for a 7.1.4 system with Dirac.

***
My current setup.
My favorite movie review podcast, the Next Picture Show.
Don't suffer through Gamma D on your JVC. Optimize HDR Tone Mapping using Arve's tool & Masciola's test patterns instead (hints.)
nathan_h is offline  
post #4595 of 4600 Old 09-12-2017, 05:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I saw a posting for it on the 758 and 777. Not sure if it was available right away or would be released in a firmware updates

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #4596 of 4600 Old 09-13-2017, 05:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 7,408
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1462 Post(s)
Liked: 950
@Phil Tomaskovic Cool. When you say you saw a posting, what does that mean? Was it additional information, our the actual firmware posted online?

***
My current setup.
My favorite movie review podcast, the Next Picture Show.
Don't suffer through Gamma D on your JVC. Optimize HDR Tone Mapping using Arve's tool & Masciola's test patterns instead (hints.)
nathan_h is offline  
post #4597 of 4600 Old 09-13-2017, 06:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 32
It was a NAD article posted on Facebook that said those 2 models would have direc.
Just info, no firmware or anything.
nathan_h likes this.

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #4598 of 4600 Old 09-13-2017, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 7,408
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1462 Post(s)
Liked: 950
Okay, thanks. Well, they are saying the right stuff. And my credit card is itchy but won't budge until the firmware is released.

***
My current setup.
My favorite movie review podcast, the Next Picture Show.
Don't suffer through Gamma D on your JVC. Optimize HDR Tone Mapping using Arve's tool & Masciola's test patterns instead (hints.)
nathan_h is offline  
post #4599 of 4600 Old 09-21-2017, 11:02 PM
Member
 
mulpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Greetings... great thread!

Recently noticed my T775 FR channel is dead. Others fine, including right surround. Tried analog by-pass but FR still dead.

Took it to a local service gent that usually works on 2-channel and he confirmed that the power module seems fine. FR channel isn't emitting anything from the driver stage. I likely have the wrong terminology but he could only really check whether the power module was OK.

I don't recall any module upgrades... firmware:
MCU 1.16
DSP 1.04a
UART 1.04

Generally I don't like to mess with stuff if I risk making it worse, but any thoughts on simply reseating the boards or doing a factory reset? I should have the right serial cable somewhere but haven't tried connecting to my PC to poke around, backup or upgrade.

I'll drop a note to NAD as well... just avoiding the formal local service shop until I've looked into the DIY options.

Thx...

mulpha is offline  
post #4600 of 4600 Old 09-21-2017, 11:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I doubt a reset would do anything. I have had this happen on different channel# to me. Could be the amp for that channel. Also try the preamp output or zone 2 line out to another amp or even a tape deck line input if you have one and see if it gets a signal. If not then it’s not that channel output but somewhere else.

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Nad

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off