The NAD T775/T785 AVRs w/ HDMI 1.3 Thread! - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 4310 Old 11-25-2007, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrTaxMan View Post

So this appears to be a problem with the receiver and with 1080p.

this seems odd. If I'm correct the NAD HDMI should only be a "pass-thru" (with 1080p resolution)? There should'nt be any problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrTaxMan View Post

I don't have any other sources except the HD cable box, and there seems to be no issues with that when connected to the 775

how is your digital cable-box connected- using HDMI as well?
WestCoastD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 4310 Old 11-25-2007, 02:56 PM
Member
 
saunderscc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnc1 View Post

It displays volume changes and other important system settings as they are accessed/changed, and does so without changing the output resolution. Remember that there is no video processing/scaling going on here. (also note that an option is included to turn this feature off if you do not want to see these pop-up on the screen during a movie, for example.) Again, for any blu-ray playback, my projector is in either 1080p/24fps or 1080p/60fps mode and I have never had a problem with either the OSD or the aforementioned pop-ups.

Awesome, thanks.
saunderscc is offline  
post #453 of 4310 Old 11-25-2007, 07:40 PM
Member
 
MrTaxMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Deigo
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post

Are the cables you tried rated for 1080P over the distance you're running?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

this seems odd. If I'm correct the NAD HDMI should only be a "pass-thru" (with 1080p resolution)? There should'nt be any problem.

how is your digital cable-box connected- using HDMI as well?

I'm using a 3 ft cable between BD Player and 775 and then a 6-footer to the TV... so length isn't an issue. As far as I can tell, all cables are 1.3 certified. I'm using these, from cablesondemand

Cable box is connected with similar HDMI cable.

Since I first posted this question, I've noticed that I get the snow effect while changing channels on the cable box, too. Usually when switching from a 720p station to one in 1080i.

But just like the BD player, if I connect cable box directly to TV, everything works fine. So would you agree it's looking more and more like the receiver is at fault? Or, could cables be the culprit?
MrTaxMan is offline  
post #454 of 4310 Old 11-25-2007, 10:03 PM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrTaxMan View Post

I'm using a 3 ft cable between BD Player and 775 and then a 6-footer to the TV... so length isn't an issue. As far as I can tell, all cables are 1.3 certified. I'm using these, from cablesondemand

Cable box is connected with similar HDMI cable.

Since I first posted this question, I've noticed that I get the snow effect while changing channels on the cable box, too. Usually when switching from a 720p station to one in 1080i.

But just like the BD player, if I connect cable box directly to TV, everything works fine. So would you agree it's looking more and more like the receiver is at fault? Or, could cables be the culprit?

the link you posted doesn't work for me. It could be the cables...are both the 3ft and 6ft cables certified 1.3? have you tried connecting directly to the TV with all of the cables you use in the player-receiver-tv chain? If you have done this and are still having a problem, it does seem like the receiver is at fault. When did you purchase the 775? If you got an early one, like I did, you might have faulty HDMI board. If that is the case, NAD has a fix in place already. Either way, your best bet is to contact NAD via their website (web help center). Be patient as it usually takes a day or two for a response but they will get back to you.

John
jnc1 is offline  
post #455 of 4310 Old 11-26-2007, 08:47 AM
Member
 
glwarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrTaxMan View Post

Hey gang,
My new NAD 775 seems to be having a handshaking issue with my new Samsung 1400 BD player. Can you confirm where the issue is? What component is bad?

I connect the BD player to the 775 via HDMI and then the 775 to my Samsung 4671 with HDMI. When I change output resolution of the BD from 1080i to 1080p, I get snow, screeching sounds and general mayhem on the TV. It reminds me of 40 years ago when you would adjust your antenna to improve TV reception, but then went too far and lost the signol entirely. After a few minutes of this things start to clear up and then the picture comes in. But it still flickers sometimes and pops the speakers connected to the 775. I get none of this when I switch the BD player back to 1080i, although I still get an occasional pop when I skip to a previous song while listening to an audio CD on the BD player. Very annoying. I don't know which component is generating the pop.

At first I thought it might be the cable, but I've tried three different cables (1.3) from two manufactures with no difference. And when I connect the BD player directly to the TV using same HDMI cable and then switch to 1080p, it performs like a charm. So this appears to be a problem with the receiver and with 1080p. I don't have any other sources except the HD cable box, and there seems to be no issues with that when connected to the 775.

So my question to you is what other diagnostics can I perform to confirm the problem is with the NAD? I'd hate to take it back for another and then find out the problem was really with the BD player. I recently upgraded to the latest firmware on the BD player, so that's taken care of.

Thanks

I'm having very similar problems with my Panny BD10A player. Audio via HDMI seems ok but video sometimes non existant or drops out intermittantly. Cable HD DVR connected via HDMI gets the white screen sometimes when changing from SD to HD channels. I ordered my 775 from a dealer the first of Nov and just recieved it last week. I assumed it had the updated HDMI board. I have contacted NAD support but haven't heard anything yet.
glwarner is online now  
post #456 of 4310 Old 11-26-2007, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Drew_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
John - does the 775 accept 88.2 or 176.4 as the samping rate for multichannel PCM from the PS3?
Drew_N is offline  
post #457 of 4310 Old 11-27-2007, 12:36 AM
Member
 
MrTaxMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Deigo
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnc1 View Post

the link you posted doesn't work for me. It could be the cables...are both the 3ft and 6ft cables certified 1.3? have you tried connecting directly to the TV with all of the cables you use in the player-receiver-tv chain? If you have done this and are still having a problem, it does seem like the receiver is at fault. When did you purchase the 775? If you got an early one, like I did, you might have faulty HDMI board. If that is the case, NAD has a fix in place already. Either way, your best bet is to contact NAD via their website (web help center). Be patient as it usually takes a day or two for a response but they will get back to you.

John


Yeah, all cables are certified. And everything works perfectly when I take the NAD out of the loop. Here's that link again. cablesondemand.com

My NAD serial number ends in 00271, so I assume I got #271 off the assembly line. Is that early? It's really odd because after it warms up, it (mostly) stablizes. It's just the initial handshaking that's rough. I was able to watch 2 hours of 1080p last night with just a few glitches.
Thanks for suggestion. I'll contact them right away.
MrTaxMan is offline  
post #458 of 4310 Old 11-27-2007, 09:16 AM
Member
 
glwarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By glitches, do you mean the video drops out? On mine the video drops out for a few seconds but the audio continues without interruption. I also noticed when playing a CD or DVD-A, if the TV is turned off the audio shuts down. Although with the HD DVR input the audio will continue without the TV on.
glwarner is online now  
post #459 of 4310 Old 11-27-2007, 10:57 AM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew_N View Post

John - does the 775 accept 88.2 or 176.4 as the samping rate for multichannel PCM from the PS3?

it accepts 88.2, but does not accept 176.4
jnc1 is offline  
post #460 of 4310 Old 11-27-2007, 11:30 PM
Member
 
MrTaxMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Deigo
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by glwarner View Post

By glitches, do you mean the video drops out? On mine the video drops out for a few seconds but the audio continues without interruption. I also noticed when playing a CD or DVD-A, if the TV is turned off the audio shuts down. Although with the HD DVR input the audio will continue without the TV on.

Glitches include random video/audio dropouts or the TV screen switching to snow for 1 or 2 seconds. All of this gets more and more infrequent the longer it's on. Like it has to warm up. After an hour, it's pretty stable. It definitely takes all the joy out of owning something this.
MrTaxMan is offline  
post #461 of 4310 Old 11-28-2007, 07:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Alimentall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Home by the sea
Posts: 14,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FWIW, we're having glitches with about any HDMI *anything* if there's a Blu-Ray *anything* attached. Affects NHT preamps too. I just tell people to avoid this whole Blu-Ray *crap*. Sorry, but I just hate BD. It makes our life miserable, but HD-DVD works great so far.

John
Alimentall is offline  
post #462 of 4310 Old 11-28-2007, 05:56 PM
Newbie
 
cstrass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a similar issue as MrTaxMan in that when I connect my new T585 player to my Panny plasma directly via HDMI everything works fine (picture & sound come thru and the player behaves properly). Howerver when I connect the player thru the 775 (via HDMI) I dont get picture or sound and the player itself seems to behave oddly in that the information in the player's LCD display seems inconsistent (the play clock jumps around or pauses) as well as the buttons on the player are unresponsive, but of course without being able to see what the DVD player is doing on screen is frustrating. On the 775's display the HDMI sign is on but the digital sign flashes. I would think this means it is not getting a proper signal from the source, the 585 player.
I do have an HD cable box connected to the 775 via HDMI and picture and sound come thru perfectly.
I am using AudioQuest HDMI-1 cables (1.3 rated)

So I am not sure if the problem is with the 775, the 585 or my setup. I posted a question with Nad help center earlier today and will be bringing both units back to my dealer for further investigation this weekend.

I was wondering if anyone had any insight on this or has been able to succesfully connect these two units together thru HDMI.

Thanks,
Cliff.
Calgary,AB

Calgary, Alberta
cstrass is offline  
post #463 of 4310 Old 11-28-2007, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cstrass View Post

when I connect the player thru the 775 (via HDMI) I dont get picture or sound and the player itself seems to behave oddly

I do have an HD cable box connected to the 775 via HDMI and picture and sound come thru perfectly.

I'm wondering, since everything is functioning okay thru digital-cable box, if there may be some copy-protection problem related to the disc(s) being played when you are using the T-585?

Did you experiment just playing an audio CD, and then a DVD, etc.,...?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #464 of 4310 Old 11-28-2007, 10:02 PM
Newbie
 
cstrass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

I'm wondering, since everything is functioning okay thru digital-cable box, if there may be some copy-protection problem related to the disc(s) being played when you are using the T-585?

Did you experiment just playing an audio CD, and then a DVD, etc.,...?

I tried a a few different DVDs as well as regular (non copy-protected) CDs, all with the same affect.
I also noticed that while the DVD player is connected to 775 but not switched to the player HDMI source the player behaves properly, it is only once the source is switched to the 585 that it begins to not respond (responds & plays slowly) and fails to play sound or video.

Calgary, Alberta
cstrass is offline  
post #465 of 4310 Old 11-28-2007, 11:02 PM
Newbie
 
thekiwibloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. The T775 is released in New Zealand in December and the T785 at the end of January. Is it worth the wait for the additional features/power of the T785? My speakers are Monitor Audio RS6, RS-FX, LCR, RS1s. I'm no expert on NAD power so would appreciate any views on how much difference the extra Watts will make when I already have reasonably sensitive speakers.
Thanks, Raymond
thekiwibloke is offline  
post #466 of 4310 Old 11-29-2007, 03:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
shadow 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alimentall View Post

FWIW, we're having glitches with about any HDMI *anything* if there's a Blu-Ray *anything* attached. Affects NHT preamps too. I just tell people to avoid this whole Blu-Ray *crap*. Sorry, but I just hate BD. It makes our life miserable, but HD-DVD works great so far.

I am interested in your impression of the sound of the 775. I have Martin Logan speakers (Aeon i, Cinema and Frescos) and have been considering this unit. My dealer has a 765 in stock but not the 775, and does not sell ML. I have never owned NAD before. Everyone keeps saying in other threads it is a "warm" sounding receiver. I take that to mean it is rolled off or "slow" sounding in the treble, which is not for me. What is your take on the sound quality of this receiver?
shadow 8 is offline  
post #467 of 4310 Old 11-29-2007, 04:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Whitehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: West Hartford, CT; USA 06107
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only feature difference between the 775/785 is the remote. The 785 has an LCD remote w/USB port. The wattage difference in dBW is next to nothing. The 785 has twin toroidal transformers.
Robert Whitehead is offline  
post #468 of 4310 Old 11-29-2007, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
sstiles4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Whitehead View Post

The only feature difference between the 775/785 is the remote. The 785 has an LCD remote w/USB port. The wattage difference in dBW is next to nothing. The 785 has twin toroidal transformers.

I am not sure I would say the the difference is next to nothing in dBW. It may not be a lot on paper but between the twin toroidal transformer and the increase in dBW it may be worth the extra money, especially if you are running it through MA R6's. I have MA GS60's on there way to me and I am debating between the T785 and a Parasound System (Pre/Pro). I have heard great things when it comes to NAD sound, but I have been a little worried about what I have read in this thread when it comes to the HDMI issues. I hope NAD has the issues worked out in the 785. Here are the differences in dBW T785 vs. T775:

Power output (stereo, 8 ohms within rated distortion 2 x 150W (21.8dbW) vs. 130W (21.1dbW)

IHF dynamic power 8 ohms 2 x 250W (23.9dBW) vs. 2 x 200W (23dBW)

Simultaneous power output surround mode 7 x 120W (20.8dBW) - [7 x 190W (22.8dbW)Minimum Continuous Power (FTC)] 7 x 100W (20dBW) - [7 x 165W (22.2dbW)Minimum Continuous Power (FTC)]

If you can wait it out and hear the two on the same set of speakers that would be the best, but if not its just a bunch of specs that may or may not make a difference to you?
sstiles4 is offline  
post #469 of 4310 Old 11-29-2007, 12:25 PM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alimentall View Post

FWIW, we're having glitches with about any HDMI *anything* if there's a Blu-Ray *anything* attached. Affects NHT preamps too. I just tell people to avoid this whole Blu-Ray *crap*. Sorry, but I just hate BD. It makes our life miserable, but HD-DVD works great so far.

I'm curious what could possibly be the difference between the two--do you think it's copy protection? Shouldn't the HDMI video interfaces be functionally the same for each, 1080p24 aside?

I haven't had any issues with HDMI on my T775 aside from the LPCM problem that was documented earlier, and that would've affected HD-DVD as well as BD.

I feel the pain of anyone who is having issues with HDMI, but...welcome to early adoption.
jnc1 is offline  
post #470 of 4310 Old 11-29-2007, 12:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Alimentall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Home by the sea
Posts: 14,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know. Could be. Maybe it's not even BD's fault, just a coincidence or something.

John
Alimentall is offline  
post #471 of 4310 Old 11-29-2007, 01:02 PM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alimentall View Post

I don't know. Could be. Maybe it's not even BD's fault, just a coincidence or something.

I'm not saying it isn't something to do with BD...I was curious.
jnc1 is offline  
post #472 of 4310 Old 11-29-2007, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlfromcanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anyone here listened to the Arcam 350? how do these units compare soundwise?
dlfromcanada is offline  
post #473 of 4310 Old 11-29-2007, 03:26 PM
Senior Member
 
jdc115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfromcanada View Post

has anyone here listened to the Arcam 350? how do these units compare soundwise?

I have listened to it for 2 channel music and I thought it was very nice. I was considering buying it for a while but ended up going for separates. One thing, even though the Arcam has HDMI, they do not believe it utilizing them for audio so they work as an HDMI switcher for you but you can not send PCM audio to the receiver.
jdc115 is offline  
post #474 of 4310 Old 11-30-2007, 05:13 PM
Member
 
Myshkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfromcanada View Post

has anyone here listened to the Arcam 350? how do these units compare soundwise?

I, too, have an arcam (300) with Paradigm Sig 8s, C5 etc. Does anybody have any thoughts on how the 775/785 would compare or sound with this set up? I really want to add an hdmi capable amp.
Myshkin is offline  
post #475 of 4310 Old 12-02-2007, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SimpleTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I broke down and finally traded in my T773 for the T775 for the HDMI. I wasn't sure if it would be worth $1,750 for HDMI inputs considering my projector already came with an HDMI switcher, but the lack of DTS-MA has been bugging me and the new Panasonic BD-30 doesn't decode it internally. Anyway, I couldn't be happier - a great piece of equipment.

Why is there NO perfect equipment, only compromises?
SimpleTheater is offline  
post #476 of 4310 Old 12-02-2007, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleTheater View Post

I broke down and finally traded in my T773 for the T775 for the HDMI. Anyway, I couldn't be happier - a great piece of equipment

great! Is there a [noticeable] difference in sound-quality between the T773 and the T775?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleTheater View Post

but the lack of DTS-MA has been bugging me and the new Panasonic BD-30 doesn't decode it internally

yeah, I'm waiting for a T175 (any day now). And while I'm very excited to get this new processor I'm not too happy that I can't use a new BD player in the manner I would like. I'll be stuck with playing CD's, SACD, DVD-A, and standard-def DVD-Movies (up-scaled to 1080p)-- until a new BD player is released with on-board decoding of DolbyTrue-HD and DTS-HD MasterAudio.
WestCoastD is offline  
post #477 of 4310 Old 12-02-2007, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Whitehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: West Hartford, CT; USA 06107
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most BD players now do on board decoding of Dolby TrueHD. inc. the PS3, which is rumored to eventually get an update to do onboard decoding of DTS-MA. None do on board decoding of DTS-MA except the new, as yet unavailable, Denons. (The new Pan. outputs bitstream for both, and has no on board decoding.)
Robert Whitehead is offline  
post #478 of 4310 Old 12-03-2007, 04:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SimpleTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

Is there a [noticeable] difference in sound-quality between the T773 and the T775?

If there is, my ears can't hear it. The two units sound identical to me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

yeah, I'm waiting for a T175 (any day now). And while I'm very excited to get this new processor I'm not too happy that I can't use a new BD player in the manner I would like. I'll be stuck with playing CD's, SACD, DVD-A, and standard-def DVD-Movies (up-scaled to 1080p)-- until a new BD player is released with on-board decoding of DolbyTrue-HD and DTS-HD MasterAudio.

It's the damn DTS-MA that's screwing everyone up. I loved my Panny BD-10 - 7 channel analog outs and decoded everything except DTS-MA. Now the BD-30 comes out at 1/2 the price but doesn't decode anything - but does send it bitstream unaltered over HDMI. So it seems the new generation high-def players keep going one step forward and two back.

Why is there NO perfect equipment, only compromises?
SimpleTheater is offline  
post #479 of 4310 Old 12-03-2007, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
sstiles4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any experience comparing NAD to Marantz. I am waiting for the NAD 785 to arrive, but the Marantz SR8002 keeps tugging at me as well. I have Monitor Audio GS60's for my front speakers and GS10's for surround, GSLCR for center and a velodyne sub. I know this is a NAD thread but any thoughts? Thank you.
sstiles4 is offline  
post #480 of 4310 Old 12-03-2007, 09:17 AM
nek
Senior Member
 
nek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham United Kingdom
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Nad T785 will be delivered next week

The wait (10 months) is now almost over, after selling my (fantastic) Nad T163 and Power amps.

Bring it on

Ken
nek is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off