The NAD T775/T785 AVRs w/ HDMI 1.3 Thread! - Page 20 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 4310 Old 12-10-2007, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Just so you guys know here the T175 thread (formally "T 175 Unboxing") is now re-named to "Official NAD T175 Surround Processor" (just in case you can't find it)
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=952677
WestCoastD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 4310 Old 12-10-2007, 08:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross123 View Post

I have the ps3 going into the unit and back out to a kuro 1080p monitor

I assume you are implying that your PS3 is feeding the T175 1080p video?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #573 of 4310 Old 12-10-2007, 11:41 PM
Newbie
 
Rob801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nek View Post

Just had it confirmed that mine was shipped with the updated firmware (T785) and It should be delivered this week

Ken

I'm looking forward to hearing your impressions on the 785 when you've had some time to try it out.

I'm still waiting for them to arrive in Denmark, although, I can see that the main store that sells NAD over here now has the 775 in stock so it shouldn't be long before the 785 arrives.

Robert
Rob801 is offline  
post #574 of 4310 Old 12-11-2007, 04:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Whitehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: West Hartford, CT; USA 06107
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Generally, if there are two sets of dimensions, one is boxed; the other set is the actual unit. Gross would be boxed. Same with weight.
Robert Whitehead is offline  
post #575 of 4310 Old 12-11-2007, 11:22 AM
Member
 
Myshkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to buy the 785, but I don't have a local dealer I can visit. Is there any suggestions of online places to order from?

I hope this doesn't break any forum rules. I'm not asking for prices, just some trust worthy sites. (USA based)
Myshkin is offline  
post #576 of 4310 Old 12-11-2007, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Whitehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: West Hartford, CT; USA 06107
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NAD has no authorized internet dealers. You will find it for sale at some internet sites, but you get no warranty.

Your best bet is to find your nearest B&M dealer, order it, and have it shiped to you.
Robert Whitehead is offline  
post #577 of 4310 Old 12-11-2007, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Filthy McNasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myshkin View Post

I'm looking to buy the 785, but I don't have a local dealer I can visit.

The NAD site shows 6 within 50 miles of 33301
Filthy McNasty is offline  
post #578 of 4310 Old 12-11-2007, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by NASRT View Post

the specs for the Nad receivers list two sets of dimensions, what is meant by gross dimensions vs dimensions?

I know this is a little confusing.

However, I believe, "dimensions" is equivalent to the basic measurements of the chassis rectangular perimeters (ie. width X height X depth).

While "gross dimensions" [may] include the basic chassis perimeter measurements, however, with the addition of the extended measurments of the front-panel control's (ie. knobs, dial's, switch's, etc.,..), rear-panel termination components (ie. binding-post's, RCA connector's, etc.,..), and the chassis feet. All these create a larger rectangle.

Usually the manufacturer (ie. NAD) will specify "shipping weight", or "shipping dimensions", when referring to unit as packed in box or carton.
WestCoastD is offline  
post #579 of 4310 Old 12-12-2007, 06:06 AM
Member
 
gringcorp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, this is my first post here, though i have been loitering here for some time while I decide which receiver with advanced features might work best with a Totem Arro/Dreamcatcher speaker set-up. I have been very impressed by what I have heard about the T775.

But cannot, therefore, offer much of a contribution about the experience of owning a NAD. I can, however, testify to the fact that NAD's website is a little misleading, at least where it identifies NYC area dealers. One of three listed I have visited in the Lower Manhattan area does not carry them anymore (but may order them for a customer), another carries only a very small selection of separates, while a third carries a lonely T163 and has no idea when, if at all, it will sell the new line of receivers. I haven't identified them, since I'm unsure about forum etiquette, but it's getting very likely that since I can't even see one before I buy, much less hear one with the totems (which has an even smaller dealer network), I'm more likely to veer towards a Marantz/Arcam/Rotel receiver.

Anyway, it's been a pleasure reading all the comments, and my apologies for debuting with such a negative thought, but the lack of auditioning opportunities is a killer.
gringcorp is offline  
post #580 of 4310 Old 12-12-2007, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by gringcorp View Post

my apologies for debuting with such a negative thought, but the lack of auditioning opportunities is a killer.

too bad, because you're missing out on a receiver that would definitely sound exceptionally well with your Totem's. I would go with the T-785.
WestCoastD is offline  
post #581 of 4310 Old 12-12-2007, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
konoyaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
While there may be others, I thought dmc-electronics, spearitsound and adnm were all authorized online dealers. Maybe the definition of online dealer is debateable.
konoyaro is offline  
post #582 of 4310 Old 12-12-2007, 10:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 134
"Anyway, it's been a pleasure reading all the comments, and my apologies for debuting with such a negative thought, but the lack of auditioning opportunities is a killer."

I had the same problem; several dealers within driving distance but none intended on displaying the T775/785. One however had a return policy.

One of them offered to have the distributor/rep bring one in for audition; you might try that.

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #583 of 4310 Old 12-12-2007, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by konoyaro View Post

I thought DMC-Electronics, SpearitSound and adnm were all authorized online dealers. Maybe the definition of online dealer is debateable.

well I'm able to see DMC Electronics, for example, on NAD's dealer listing, so they must be an official dealer (whether in-store or on-line).
WestCoastD is offline  
post #584 of 4310 Old 12-12-2007, 01:11 PM
Member
 
glwarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thought I would post an update on my T775 1080p issue. I downloaded the latest firmware (V1.12) yesterday. It did not fix the problem with passing 1080p from my Panny BD10A. No change from the V1.06 firmware shipped with the receiver. I have not heard back from NAD on any other solution. Looks like it works with the PS3 but not the Panny. In addition, the IR port on the receiver quit working. It may be time to take this one back to the dealer.
glwarner is online now  
post #585 of 4310 Old 12-12-2007, 07:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
sc10000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you do a full factory reset to default? Not just a power cycle, but full reset...if so & it's still not working properly, then absolutely return for warranty/exchange.
sc10000 is offline  
post #586 of 4310 Old 12-13-2007, 03:08 AM
Member
 
Mungam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I picked up my T775 two days ago, it is available now in Europe.

It has firmware version 1.08, LPCM over HDMI is working (all 8 channels).

Does someone now how to update the firmware? Or can it only be done by the dealer?

In my old T762 I was able to switch the OSD, so that you can see the video in the background when entering the setup menu. Is this available in a newer firmware (e.g. V1.12)?? It always takes some time until my beamer syncs the signal when entering setup.

Thanks

Magnus
Mungam is offline  
post #587 of 4310 Old 12-13-2007, 06:00 AM
Member
 
glwarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sc10000 View Post

Did you do a full factory reset to default? Not just a power cycle, but full reset...if so & it's still not working properly, then absolutely return for warranty/exchange.

I followed the instructions in the firmware downloader for power cycling but did not reset to factory defaults. I will try that, thanks for the suggestion. It may have something to do with the connection to the serial port with the PC and changing the interupt at the IR port.
glwarner is online now  
post #588 of 4310 Old 12-13-2007, 06:25 AM
Member
 
glwarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mungam View Post

Hi,


Does someone now how to update the firmware? Or can it only be done by the dealer?

In my old T762 I was able to switch the OSD, so that you can see the video in the background when entering the setup menu. Is this available in a newer firmware (e.g. V1.12)?? It always takes some time until my beamer syncs the signal when entering setup.

Thanks

Magnus

If you have a PC with a RS232 port and a male/female serial cable, you can have NAD email you the firmware loader with instructions. The newest firmware does not allow video and OSD at the same time.

Have you tried passing a 1080p source through the T775?
glwarner is online now  
post #589 of 4310 Old 12-13-2007, 10:42 AM
nek
Senior Member
 
nek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham United Kingdom
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nek View Post

Just had it confirmed that mine was shipped with the updated firmware (T785) and It should be delivered this week

Ken

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob801 View Post

I'm looking forward to hearing your impressions on the 785 when you've had some time to try it out.

I'm still waiting for them to arrive in Denmark, although, I can see that the main store that sells NAD over here now has the 775 in stock so it shouldn't be long before the 785 arrives.

Robert

The initial shipment to UK are Graphite finishes only - My preference is the Titanium (silver) finish.

Therefore, it will be sometime in January for my T785.

I have waited since March for one of these, so another month will be fine

Ken
nek is offline  
post #590 of 4310 Old 12-13-2007, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
GaryMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by glwarner View Post

The newest firmware does not allow video and OSD at the same time.

Does it allow a "semi-OSD", i.e. when you change the volume or surround mode, is the new setting temporarily displayed on-screen with the video?
GaryMB is offline  
post #591 of 4310 Old 12-13-2007, 11:22 AM
nek
Senior Member
 
nek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham United Kingdom
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nek is offline  
post #592 of 4310 Old 12-13-2007, 11:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
sc10000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by glwarner View Post

I followed the instructions in the firmware downloader for power cycling but did not reset to factory defaults. I will try that, thanks for the suggestion. It may have something to do with the connection to the serial port with the PC and changing the interupt at the IR port.

Good idea to always factory reset to default both before & after firmware updates. Basic step for successfully flashing any kind of hw.
sc10000 is offline  
post #593 of 4310 Old 12-13-2007, 11:56 AM
Member
 
glwarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryMB View Post

Does it allow a "semi-OSD", i.e. when you change the volume or surround mode, is the new setting temporarily displayed on-screen with the video?

Yes a small window comes up.
glwarner is online now  
post #594 of 4310 Old 12-13-2007, 12:02 PM
Member
 
glwarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sc10000 View Post

Good idea to always factory reset to default both before & after firmware updates. Basic step for successfully flashing any kind of hw.

You were absolutely correct. The IR port came back when I loaded the factory defaults. Unfortunately didn't effect 1080p issue. I guess my next plan is to try another 1080p source.
glwarner is online now  
post #595 of 4310 Old 12-13-2007, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
GaryMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by glwarner View Post

Yes a small window comes up.

Thanks... that's what I figured.
GaryMB is offline  
post #596 of 4310 Old 12-13-2007, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by glwarner View Post

If you have a PC with a RS232 port and a male/female serial cable, you can have NAD email you the firmware loader with instructions. The newest firmware does not allow video and OSD at the same time.

Have you tried passing a 1080p source through the T775?

You can get USB->serial port cables. Any issue using that to do the update? Serial ports are getting to be an extinct item on any newer motherboards; I'm surprised they are still using it as an interface.

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #597 of 4310 Old 12-13-2007, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Tomaskovic View Post

You can get USB->serial port cables. Any issue using that to do the update?

I was thinking the same exact thing, I wonder if these cables will work? Because I would like to permanently attatch (mount) an RS-232 cable on my T175, to have access for any future firmware updates, before I push my rack back into place.
WestCoastD is offline  
post #598 of 4310 Old 12-14-2007, 10:10 AM
Member
 
Mungam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by glwarner View Post

Have you tried passing a 1080p source through the T775?

Unfortunately I don't have a player that supports 1080p so I couldn't check it.

Magnus
Mungam is offline  
post #599 of 4310 Old 12-14-2007, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
thekiwibloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sstiles4 View Post

Anyone have any experience comparing NAD to Marantz. I am waiting for the NAD 785 to arrive, but the Marantz SR8002 keeps tugging at me as well. I have Monitor Audio GS60's for my front speakers and GS10's for surround, GSLCR for center and a velodyne sub. I know this is a NAD thread but any thoughts? Thank you.

I had the same decision to make. Was totally committed to the NAD T775 / T785... until I heard about the Marantz SR8002. My speakers - Monitor Audio RS 6 / 1 / LCR /FX / Sub.

I've owned both NAD and Marantz. Like the sound of both. Marantz detail and warmth, NAD big, bold power. Preference is probably NAD, but...

I decided on the SR8002. Tough decision. I think I'll be sacrificing some audio quality, in order to get DD TrueHD and DTS-HD out of the box, and the multi-channel PCM bug in the 775 firmware, even though fixed now, really made me question NADs Quality Assurance commitment for the new audio formats - especially when my brother in law has had no luck getting a subwoofer bug fixed in his older NAD receiver (could be New Zealand's NAD support). I also have read/heard more experiences of people matching Monitor Audio with NAD than Marantz. In summary, I'm expecting some convenience and less hassle to compensate for not getting the fantastic NAD sound.


80% of my listening will be multi-channel home theatre with emphasis on BluRay.

Ultimately I'm sure both options will be excellent.

Raymond
thekiwibloke is offline  
post #600 of 4310 Old 12-17-2007, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NEPA
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gringcorp View Post

Hello, this is my first post here, though i have been loitering here for some time while I decide which receiver with advanced features might work best with a Totem Arro/Dreamcatcher speaker set-up. I have been very impressed by what I have heard about the T775.

But cannot, therefore, offer much of a contribution about the experience of owning a NAD. I can, however, testify to the fact that NAD's website is a little misleading, at least where it identifies NYC area dealers. One of three listed I have visited in the Lower Manhattan area does not carry them anymore (but may order them for a customer), another carries only a very small selection of separates, while a third carries a lonely T163 and has no idea when, if at all, it will sell the new line of receivers. I haven't identified them, since I'm unsure about forum etiquette, but it's getting very likely that since I can't even see one before I buy, much less hear one with the totems (which has an even smaller dealer network), I'm more likely to veer towards a Marantz/Arcam/Rotel receiver.

Anyway, it's been a pleasure reading all the comments, and my apologies for debuting with such a negative thought, but the lack of auditioning opportunities is a killer.

The NAd dealer in my area used to be a Totem dealer. He always teamed NAD up with them due to Totem being a more musical speaker in the past. They are great speakers though. The pack some sound for how small some of their other pieces are. It's going to be hard to do. I think Arcam is going to be too bright for those Totem's. "I" think Arcam makes speakers sound very bright. Marantz I can't comment on, but Rotel might be ok. I like the sond of Rotel's. You should try to find a dealer that has NAD and Kef. It might get you an idea of where you are at with your Totem's. Both are fast and musical. This is a stretch but it's an idea.
jimim is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off