The NAD T775/T785 AVRs w/ HDMI 1.3 Thread! - Page 23 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by sstiles4 View Post

I set up my 785 last night and all I need to say is the sound out of the box is AMAZING. I have zero buyer's remorse. If you want amazing clean sound go NAD.

alright Scott, your set-up look great! Thanks for the images........Also great to know the iPod dock set-up works as designed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nephron View Post

The PS3 decodes uncompressed PCM or TrueHD material on the PS3, and sends it across the HDMI connector to the T775. The front display of the T775 reads "Direct" when playing this material. It sounds fantastic. I watched the new BluRay version of Blade Runner last night, and I couldn't believe how great it sounded..

this is really good stuff! Very, very encouraging.

I don't know whether to wait four or five months to see which new Blu-Ray units come out with on-board decoding of DolbyTru-HD and DTS-HD MasterAudio, or just get a PS3?
WestCoastD is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
dakar80124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Denver Colo area
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post


I don't know whether to wait four or five months to see which new Blu-Ray units come out with on-board decoding of DolbyTru-HD and DTS-HD MasterAudio, or just get a PS3?

Sounds like most of the newer BD players don't support SACD whereas the PS3 does over HDMI. Some like the Panic BD30 don't decode the HD audio formats either but just pass on over HDMI. For just good bd playback the Sony BDP-S300 is about the best deal right now at $299. The BDP-S500 has onboard HD audio decoding but not sure how that would work with the NAD?
dakar80124 is offline  
post #663 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Myshkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 785 arrived yesterday and I think I have a problem but I'm not sure.

I am going to match it with Paradigm sig8s, but I went ahead and set it up first in the den (with a pair of ascend sierra 1s) to make sure it works properly...

No problems with hdmi from the ps3 at 1080p, but the xbox through components needs to be set on 1080i for any picture to arrive over hdmi.

My big question is in regard to the power of the amp. I need the volume to be set at -30 to get any sound and near 0 to really to be loud? I know all receivers are diff, but my yamaha 2400 seems to put out about 5X the amount of sound. (I am not saying the Yamaha sounds better)

I have the receiver set to 2 channel stereo for now with no sub, what should I do?
Myshkin is offline  
post #664 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 12:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Alimentall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Home by the sea
Posts: 14,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Typically, for analog or PCM signals, -30 to -20dB is plenty. However, for DD, you need to be at -5dB to +5dB, depending on the efficiency of speakers and distance from them.

At 0 dB, the receiver is utterly loafing and would be lucky to be putting out peak power much over 1 watt.

Does your TV accept 1080p? What firmware do you have (press both source buttons at the same time). Does the X-box actually put out 1080p?

John
Alimentall is offline  
post #665 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 01:04 PM
Member
 
Myshkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alimentall View Post

Typically, for analog or PCM signals, -30 to -20dB is plenty. However, for DD, you need to be at -5dB to +5dB, depending on the efficiency of speakers and distance from them.

At 0 dB, the receiver is utterly loafing and would be lucky to be putting out peak power much over 1 watt.

Does your TV accept 1080p? What firmware do you have (press both source buttons at the same time). Does the X-box actually put out 1080p?

Thank you for replying.
Firmware- mcu 1.10; dsp 1.02a; uart 1.03

Isn't +5db really high? I think that is about as far as the meter goes, right?

I definitely get less volume out of DD than pcm. I really have little idea about what I am doing.
Myshkin is offline  
post #666 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 01:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Alimentall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Home by the sea
Posts: 14,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
+5 can be high but if you have a big room and inefficient speakers, it is a normal volume for DD. I think max is +15dB or +16dB.

John
Alimentall is offline  
post #667 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 01:31 PM
Member
 
Myshkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alimentall View Post

+5 can be high but if you have a big room and inefficient speakers, it is a normal volume for DD. I think max is +15dB or +16dB.

Really? I'm suprised by that. Thank you for the help. I'll try to relax until I have it set up with the proper speakers.

Does my firmware look up to date? Do the 785 and 775 use the same firmware updates?
Myshkin is offline  
post #668 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 01:40 PM
nek
Senior Member
 
nek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham United Kingdom
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alimentall View Post

+5 can be high but if you have a big room and inefficient speakers, it is a normal volume for DD. I think max is +15dB or +16dB.

On my Nad T163 processor (with 3 Sony Power amps) you could turn it +18 - but that is dependent, because you could have independent channels set in the +DB settings - i.e. if you have set your fronts to output 4db's higher than your rears - then your max output setting will be only +14db's if you know what i mean..

I remember with the Nad T163 - my max listening settings was around -5db's - any more than that and my ears would bleed



Quote:
Originally Posted by sstiles4 View Post

Attachment 97212

Attachment 97213

Attachment 97214



Robert,

Trust me we all have doubts when buying electronic equipment, especially high-end equipment. I set up my 785 last night and all I need to say is the sound out of the box is AMAZING. I have zero buyer's remorse. I started from scratch when setting it up. What I mean is I bought new HDMI 1.3a Class 2 certified cables, pulled apart all of my other components and reorganized my whole system. I hooked up my DVD player (just a basic DVD player (Stil trying to decide which HD Player to get) and cable box (SA8300 HD) via HDMI. The video and Audio are passing via HDMI with no problems. I swear not only does the audio sound better but the video even looks better. However, for the video I would say that is because of the new cables, since it is just passing the signal trhough the receiver without any conversion.

The OSD function on the AVR is very easy to use. I hardly needed to use the manual. The Ipod dock is GREAT. Anyone that uses an ipod should get this. Both my tv and the 785 display the song titlles as you scroll through your ipod screens. This gives you the option to turn the tv off if you rater not see the blue screen. The sound from the ipod is fantastic.

The setup was very easy and straight forward. Like I said the sound out of the box is unbelievable, but I have not tried the Audyssey set up yet. I can't imagine it to be better, but from what I hear around the forums, it may be. I dont know when I will have time to do that, but when I do I will report back what I find (or hear). I don't think you will regret the decision to purchase the 785. Who cares about the 2 missing codecs, all I hear is one problem after another with those receivers that can handle them (Onkyo and Denon) and that the setup is very difficult. If you want amazing clean sound go NAD.

Good luck with your purchas, and here are a few pictures of my setup.

Scott

Outstanding - roll on my Titanium 785

Ken
nek is offline  
post #669 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 02:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Alimentall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Home by the sea
Posts: 14,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nek View Post

I remember with the Nad T163 - my max listening settings was around -5db's - any more than that and my ears would bleed

It also depends on your amp's gain with separates. And, some people have 86dB efficient speakers and others have 91dB, so there's 5dB right there!

I have 86dB efficient NHTs in a smallish room, so I'm usually in the -5dB to 0dB, only occasionally going beyond that.

John
Alimentall is offline  
post #670 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 02:43 PM
Member
 
nuts4scuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myshkin View Post

No problems with hdmi from the ps3 at 1080p, but the xbox through components needs to be set on 1080i for any picture to arrive over hdmi.

I maybe wrong, but I don't believe you can send 1080p over component.
nuts4scuba is offline  
post #671 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 03:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Alimentall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Home by the sea
Posts: 14,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, I read that wrong. I don't think component video input handles 1080p either. Not sure that many if any do.

John
Alimentall is offline  
post #672 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 03:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Alimentall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Home by the sea
Posts: 14,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myshkin View Post

Really? I'm suprised by that. Thank you for the help. I'll try to relax until I have it set up with the proper speakers.

Does my firmware look up to date? Do the 785 and 775 use the same firmware updates?

I *think* they do, but not absolutely sure. They should. There is a new 1.12 update, at least for the T775. In theory, the software for the top two models is the same.

John
Alimentall is offline  
post #673 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 03:54 PM
Member
 
Myshkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Xbox 360 straight to my xbr4 over component will allow for 1080p (the option is there in the xbox and the tv says that is what it is receiving) - But I have heard otherwise, as well.

Does anybody know what is in the 1.12 firmware over the 1.10 for the 785? Is it worth the hassle?

Oh, and again, I appreciate the help regarding dbs. My Arcam just uses positive numbers and I just know that I should be around 70, whatever that means.
Myshkin is offline  
post #674 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
sstiles4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myshkin View Post

My 785 arrived yesterday and I think I have a problem but I'm not sure.

I am going to match it with Paradigm sig8s, but I went ahead and set it up first in the den (with a pair of ascend sierra 1s) to make sure it works properly...

No problems with hdmi from the ps3 at 1080p, but the xbox through components needs to be set on 1080i for any picture to arrive over hdmi.

My big question is in regard to the power of the amp. I need the volume to be set at -30 to get any sound and near 0 to really to be loud? I know all receivers are diff, but my yamaha 2400 seems to put out about 5X the amount of sound. (I am not saying the Yamaha sounds better)

I have the receiver set to 2 channel stereo for now with no sub, what should I do?

I am not sure if you have a problem or incorrect setup, but my 785 is very loud at -20db actually I am watching tv right now and it is on -30db and still loud enough. I dont think I have gone below -20db on any of my sources or channels.
sstiles4 is offline  
post #675 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
nostatic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any opinions on 775 vs. 175 plus a good used 5 channel amp (like a Rotel 1075)? I'd like a bit more headroom to drive my Dana 930/660/630 setup (relative to my CA 540) and would like to buy something that I hold onto for many years, not feeling the need to upgrade (as opposed to "settling" and then turning over stuff until I end up with what I wanted in the first place...not that I've ever done that before ).

The 775 saves me a little money and space (ahh, apartment dwelling). The 175 gives me more flexibility, but as long as I can drive my speakers cleanly I should be happy.

For those that picked one route over the other, what were your rationales?
nostatic13 is offline  
post #676 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
jdc115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nostatic13 View Post

any opinions on 775 vs. 175 plus a good used 5 channel amp (like a Rotel 1075)? I'd like a bit more headroom to drive my Dana 930/660/630 setup (relative to my CA 540) and would like to buy something that I hold onto for many years, not feeling the need to upgrade (as opposed to "settling" and then turning over stuff until I end up with what I wanted in the first place...not that I've ever done that before ).

The 775 saves me a little money and space (ahh, apartment dwelling). The 175 gives me more flexibility, but as long as I can drive my speakers cleanly I should be happy.

For those that picked one route over the other, what were your rationales?

I have the RMB-1075 (and RB-1070) currently with a Rotel PSB 1068. I was planning to change the 1068 for a NAD T175 but maybe will wait until more feedback comes back due to some of the issues reported so far.

I have also considered the Rotel 1069 but I really would prefer the NAD if the issues can be sorted out.

I like flexibility of the separates but not the extra wiring etc.

Do you have the Rotel amp already? If not, why would you consider the Rotel amp over a NAD amp to pair with the T175?
jdc115 is offline  
post #677 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
nostatic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have the Rotel amp yet, but they seem to be pretty common on audiogon for reasonable price. Moreso that NAD amps.
nostatic13 is offline  
post #678 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 09:49 PM
Senior Member
 
jdc115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nostatic13 View Post

I don't have the Rotel amp yet, but they seem to be pretty common on audiogon for reasonable price. Moreso that NAD amps.

I see, I do like them quite a bit. I can't really say what is better as I never have been able to directly compare them in the same system. But I will probably end up putting the T175 in with a RMB-1075 and RB 1070 but it will probably still be a couple more months until the T175 ships here.
jdc115 is offline  
post #679 of 4310 Old 12-22-2007, 11:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Alimentall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Home by the sea
Posts: 14,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sstiles4 View Post

I am not sure if you have a problem or incorrect setup, but my 785 is very loud at -20db actually I am watching tv right now and it is on -30db and still loud enough. I dont think I have gone below -20db on any of my sources or channels.

Yes, but probably not TV using Dolby Digital. That drops the volume about 15-20dB.

John
Alimentall is offline  
post #680 of 4310 Old 12-23-2007, 12:01 AM
Member
 
MrTaxMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Deigo
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myshkin View Post

My big question is in regard to the power of the amp. I need the volume to be set at -30 to get any sound and near 0 to really to be loud?

I'll confirm what's already been said about volume on the 775. I take mine up to -10 to get a good volumn while watching a movie. I was afraid to go any higher because I thought 0 was the max and I didn't want to go 90% of its capabilities. Turns out 0 is only mid-level and +15 is max. But I'm like you, -90 to -40 seem like a waste of the volume knob.
MrTaxMan is offline  
post #681 of 4310 Old 12-23-2007, 03:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
shadow 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to decide between the 775 and 785. The power appears close and I see no difference in features. Why buy the 785?
shadow 8 is offline  
post #682 of 4310 Old 12-23-2007, 04:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SimpleTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow 8 View Post

I am trying to decide between the 775 and 785. The power appears close and I see no difference in features. Why buy the 785?

That's why my dealer told me to get the 775. The only difference appears to be the 785 has more power. The 775 can drive all but the least efficient speakers and is useful in all but the largest rooms (larger than anything anyone on this forum owns).

Why is there NO perfect equipment, only compromises?
SimpleTheater is offline  
post #683 of 4310 Old 12-23-2007, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert Whitehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: West Hartford, CT; USA 06107
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The T785 has a different remote from the T775. Also, the T785 has dual toroidal transformers. But the power differences are minimal. Go to www.nadelectronics.com for a description in the difference in the remotes.
Robert Whitehead is offline  
post #684 of 4310 Old 12-23-2007, 08:24 AM
Newbie
 
nephron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sstiles4 View Post

I am not sure if you have a problem or incorrect setup, but my 785 is very loud at -20db actually I am watching tv right now and it is on -30db and still loud enough. I dont think I have gone below -20db on any of my sources or channels.

-20 db is about as loud as I can tolerate for most material with my T775/Angstrom speakers. -10 would be crazy-loud. Can't imagine a time I would need to go to 0 db.

Cheers!
nephron is offline  
post #685 of 4310 Old 12-23-2007, 08:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
shadow 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could not find a picture of the remote that comes with the785 on the Rotel site. For the $500 difference I can a get a real nice universal remote. What difference in sound could be expected from dual rather than a single transformer?
shadow 8 is offline  
post #686 of 4310 Old 12-23-2007, 09:10 AM
Newbie
 
nephron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a Harmony 1000 universal remote. I have the Extender with it. It can communicate by ZigBee wireless, so I can control my setup from anywhere in the house. Nice big colour screen. Controls all of the components. You can control the second zone on the T775 using it as well. You set it up by activity ("Watch a Movie", "Play XBox 360", etc). Easy enough for my kids to use. I would pick my receiver on its own merits, and buy a Harmony universal remote as it is likely to be better than anything that NAD or any other receiver manufacturer makes.

Cheers!
nephron is offline  
post #687 of 4310 Old 12-23-2007, 10:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow 8 View Post

Could not find a picture of the remote that comes with the785 on the Rotel site. For the $500 difference I can a get a real nice universal remote. What difference in sound could be expected from dual rather than a single transformer?

Probably would be a hard time finding it on Rotel's site I'm guessing it looks like this http://207.228.230.231/info/NAD_HTR5-150.pdf but this is an older remote. Perhaps a new 785 owner can compare with this...

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #688 of 4310 Old 12-23-2007, 10:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Alimentall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Home by the sea
Posts: 14,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, it looks just like the T775 remote, but with a nicer, heavier case, really nice back lighting, more powerful macros and menus, but otherwise the same kind of layout and design.

John
Alimentall is offline  
post #689 of 4310 Old 12-23-2007, 11:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alimentall View Post

No, it looks just like the T775 remote, but with a nicer, heavier case, really nice back lighting, more powerful macros and menus, but otherwise the same kind of layout and design.

no lcd display or anything? When you say menus, I would assume a display interface? thanks

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #690 of 4310 Old 12-24-2007, 04:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
shadow 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry about the Rotel faux pas, I did look at the NAD site and found only one remote w/o a LCD screen which I understood the remote for the 785 had. Still interested in what difference that second transformer makes to the sound.
shadow 8 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off