The NAD T775/T785 AVRs w/ HDMI 1.3 Thread! - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 08:28 AM
nek
Senior Member
 
nek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham United Kingdom
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure whether this is relevant to your situation but a similar issue non of the less

''whilst i was adjusting the settings on the ps3, i went into 'audio output settings' and found that you could manually change the settings - i took out the linear pcm 2.1 settings and hey presto i was able to scroll through the stereo and surround sound options on the onkyo. It would appear that if you leave the 'audio output settings' on Automatic on the ps3 it will only play mp3s and cds in linear 2.1 !!!''

Ken
nek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 08:32 AM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nek View Post

Not sure whether this is relevant to your situation but a similar issue non of the less

''whilst i was adjusting the settings on the ps3, i went into 'audio output settings' and found that you could manually change the settings - i took out the linear pcm 2.1 settings and hey presto i was able to scroll through the stereo and surround sound options on the onkyo. It would appear that if you leave the 'audio output settings' on Automatic on the ps3 it will only play mp3s and cds in linear 2.1 !!!''

Ken

Ken, thanks for the info. Unfortunately I have tried manually setting the modes. I still have to confirm one more setting with NAD support before I can state definitively that the 775 will not accept multichannel LPCM, but it is looking like this is the case. As dan1010 stated, however, it appears that NAD is going to have a fix for this, so it should only be a temporary problem.
jnc1 is offline  
post #153 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 08:39 AM
nek
Senior Member
 
nek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham United Kingdom
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnc1 View Post

Ken, thanks for the info. Unfortunately I have tried manually setting the modes. I still have to confirm one more setting with NAD support before I can state definitively that the 775 will not accept multichannel LPCM, but it is looking like this is the case. As dan1010 stated, however, it appears that NAD is going to have a fix for this, so it should only be a temporary problem.

Ok mate,

Keep us informed

Ken
nek is offline  
post #154 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 08:40 AM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lost in the shuffle here is the question regarding DSD bitstream and the T775. I would assume that it does not accept a DSD stream, but someone else would have to confirm as I don't have a player that will output a DSD stream. dan1010: do you have have a player capable of DSD, and if so, can you confirm this?

Thanks,
John
jnc1 is offline  
post #155 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 09:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TommyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 2,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems odd they would not test that it could accept Multi Channel PCM before shipping these units.
TommyV is offline  
post #156 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnc1 View Post

I'll have to caution potential buyers who want to get multichannel LPCM out of the T775/785/175.

I would hope NAD addresses this issue for models that have'nt been shipped yet. I have a T175 on order.
WestCoastD is offline  
post #157 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan1010 View Post

I also received one of the first T775s and have the same problem

are you using a PS3 with yours as well?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #158 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnc1 View Post

I would assume that it does not accept a DSD stream, but someone else would have to confirm as I don't have a player that will output a DSD stream

exactly the information I'm after.
WestCoastD is offline  
post #159 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 10:40 AM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

exactly the information I'm after.

Again we need someone with a player capable of a native DSD stream to confirm, but for my part I can tell you that the PS3 will output a stereo SACD track as LPCM 88.2Khz. That at least works well. I'm of course hoping I will eventually be able to take advantage of a multichannel SACD recording either through a native stream or by LPCM over HDMI.
jnc1 is offline  
post #160 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 10:53 AM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

I would hope NAD addresses this issue for models that have'nt been shipped yet. I have a T175 on order.

good point. I think the 765 and 775 shipped before the 785 and 175, although I could be mistaken. You might luck out.

Interesting note regarding this point... In the marketing fluff at the beginning of the manual, under the subheading "upgradeability" (or whatever word they use, I don't have it in front of me), it makes no mention of the modular construction touted on the NAD website. An interesting omission from the manual, of all things. They talk about RS-232 and software upgrades, but no hardware swapping. I get the feeling I (and dan1010) got a very early build of the 775.
jnc1 is offline  
post #161 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
catapult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
This may be a premature question given the unit won't accept multichannel LPCM but is there a level adjustment for the LFE channel? For example, a movie converted to LPCM would want the LFE boosted 10dB but an SACD probably wouldn't want the LFE boosted. It has taken some other manufacturers as much as a year to acknowledge and fix this HDMI "bass bug" and enable boosting the LFE for movies so I hope NAD doesn't have to go through the same learning curve.

Dennis H
catapult is offline  
post #162 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 11:19 AM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As promised, here are some early pictures taken before I completed setup. The quality isn't very good, I'm afraid--the only digital camera I have is my cell phone...avsforum.com is only letting me upload one at a time so this will likely take a few posts to complete...
LL
jnc1 is offline  
post #163 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 11:25 AM
nek
Senior Member
 
nek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham United Kingdom
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnc1 View Post

Again we need someone with a player capable of a native DSD stream to confirm, but for my part I can tell you that the PS3 will output a stereo SACD track as LPCM 88.2Khz. That at least works well. I'm of course hoping I will eventually be able to take advantage of a multichannel SACD recording either through a native stream or by LPCM over HDMI.

My Pioneer DVD600 AV Player can do this (send Native DSD Stream down HDMI)

But I do not have my T785 yet to test it

John, Any feedback from Nad yet - did you get to speak to someone (nad management) to confirm your issues.
nek is offline  
post #164 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 11:25 AM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jnc1 is offline  
post #165 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 11:27 AM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nek View Post

My Pioneer DVD600 AV Player can do this (send Native DSD Stream down HDMI)

But I do not have my T785 yet to test it

John, Any feedback from Nad yet - did you get to speak to someone (nad management) to confirm your issues.

not just yet. hopefully today before 5 PM GMT-5. I honestly don't anticipate hearing anything encouraging during this call, but I'll give it a shot. I'm still waiting for a reply to my web help query.
jnc1 is offline  
post #166 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 11:36 AM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by catapult View Post

This may be a premature question given the unit won't accept multichannel LPCM but is there a level adjustment for the LFE channel? For example, a movie converted to LPCM would want the LFE boosted 10dB but an SACD probably wouldn't want the LFE boosted. It has taken some other manufacturers as much as a year to acknowledge and fix this HDMI "bass bug" and enable boosting the LFE for movies so I hope NAD doesn't have to go through the same learning curve.

unfortunately without a multichannel LPCM track to test, I can't be sure. All of the speaker levels appear to be adjustable no matter what the input, however. E.g., it works with 2-channel LPCM.
jnc1 is offline  
post #167 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 12:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 133
It's a major disappointment and surprise that NAD fumbled the HDMI after all this waiting.

If it requires a new board, I don't see how it could be less than months in coming; f/w upgrades take that long more often than not.

The only possible upside for me is that by the time it's fixed the new Sherwood Newcastle receivers with the Trinnov EQ could be out; it sounds like it may equal or exceed Audyssey.

"This may be a premature question given the unit won't accept multichannel LPCM but is there a level adjustment for the LFE channel?"

As John said, that could be handled with different user memory settings.

Which reminds me of something else I've wanted to know - John, Dan, what are the tone control capabilities?

Thanks

Noah
noah katz is online now  
post #168 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 12:18 PM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post


Which reminds me of something else I've wanted to know - John, Dan, what are the tone control capabilities?

Thanks

major disappointment indeed.

tone controls are defeatable, and adjustable bass and treble. they are digital, of course. Is that what you were looking for?
jnc1 is offline  
post #169 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 12:28 PM
Member
 
dan1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnc1 View Post

can you tell me how long it took them to reply to your question via the web help center? I received a message from them saying that "due to vacations" it would likely be a while before anyone got back to me...

It took a couple of days. It's a little odd, sometimes they are quick and other times it can take a while to get a response.
dan1010 is offline  
post #170 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 12:29 PM
Member
 
dan1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnc1 View Post

Lost in the shuffle here is the question regarding DSD bitstream and the T775. I would assume that it does not accept a DSD stream, but someone else would have to confirm as I don't have a player that will output a DSD stream. dan1010: do you have have a player capable of DSD, and if so, can you confirm this?

Thanks,
John

Sorry I do not ...
dan1010 is offline  
post #171 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 12:34 PM
Member
 
dan1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

are you using a PS3 with yours as well?

Actually yes, and I have a Toshiba A20. It is definitely the AVR reporting it does not support the 8 channels of LPCM. This has been confirmed by NAD and they have an "in warranty solution," for this, not exactly sure if this means hardware or software update but at least it's covered.
dan1010 is offline  
post #172 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 12:39 PM
Member
 
dan1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnc1 View Post

I get the feeling I (and dan1010) got a very early build of the 775.

Probably, and most likely the reason for our LPCM over HDMI issue.
dan1010 is offline  
post #173 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 12:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 26,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Can't handle LPCM?
God...almost beyond belief...

A.P.S. deserve our protection....join the cause today!
oink is offline  
post #174 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 12:41 PM
Member
 
dan1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nek View Post

John, Any feedback from Nad yet - did you get to speak to someone (nad management) to confirm your issues.

I used the web support. I'm going to go through my dealer contact next ... Will keep you posted.
dan1010 is offline  
post #175 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 01:09 PM
Member
 
dan1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnc1 View Post

major disappointment indeed.

tone controls are defeatable, and adjustable bass and treble. they are digital, of course. Is that what you were looking for?

Actually I believe they are analog tone controls (controlled digitally). There is one for dialog also.
dan1010 is offline  
post #176 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post

Can't handle LPCM?
God...almost beyond belief...

I don't think this product was beta tested. [We] are the beta testers.
WestCoastD is offline  
post #177 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 01:13 PM
nek
Senior Member
 
nek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Birmingham United Kingdom
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan1010 View Post

Actually I believe they are analog tone controls (controlled digitally). There is one for dialog also.

Are the Tone controls for the front speakers only or can you adjust the centre and surrounds
nek is offline  
post #178 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 01:17 PM
Member
 
dan1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nek View Post

Are the Tone controls for the front speakers only or can you adjust the centre and surrounds

Front speakers only, except for dialog, which is only on the center channel I believe.
dan1010 is offline  
post #179 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 01:30 PM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan1010 View Post

Front speakers only, except for dialog, which is only on the center channel I believe.

I can confirm this.
jnc1 is offline  
post #180 of 4310 Old 10-11-2007, 01:36 PM
Member
 
jnc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan1010 View Post

I used the web support. I'm going to go through my dealer contact next ... Will keep you posted.

I just spoke with my dealer. He said it isn't the first he had heard of it, and "likely not the last." This is definitely a known issue. He is following up with NAD support, and I am waiting on a call from them as well.

will keep you posted.

John
jnc1 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off