The NAD T775/T785 AVRs w/ HDMI 1.3 Thread! - Page 79 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2341 of 4310 Old 06-05-2009, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavchameleon View Post

Phil,
I contacted Oppo on the issue also and it's definitely on their side as others (with other brands of receivers/pre-pros) are having the same issue with SACD. They're working on a FW update for it. I only get slight ticks with mine, no loud pops. As NAD Paradigm mentioned, it's not only an HDMI issue, confirmed with OPPO. I'm using my Denon CD player for now since it does not have that problem. Bluray has been flawless

Sensui,
Does the 983H send LPCM of CD's and SACD's over HDMI?

When you get the tick, do you also get a pause? I'll hear the pop and then it takes a couple seconds before it resumes play.

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2342 of 4310 Old 06-05-2009, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cavchameleon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Tomaskovic View Post

When you get the tick, do you also get a pause? I'll hear the pop and then it takes a couple seconds before it resumes play.

That's strange. I just get a slight tick with no pause. Did you do the latest update by chance (and do a full re-set of the receiver)? Check the OPPO thread also, I think some others are experiencing your same problem with CD's but not movies. CD's play right through for me without a hitch. Hopefully OPPO will release a FW update soon.

Ray

 

"Listen with an open heart and mind."

 

cavchameleon is online now  
post #2343 of 4310 Old 06-05-2009, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
NAD Paradigm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Phil,

I had some random ticking on digital sources after doing the 1.18 firmware update without the associated hardware fix. It affected my Oppo 980 and Apple TV, but not my PS3 or Cable Box. Downgrading back to 1.16 solved the issue.
NAD Paradigm is offline  
post #2344 of 4310 Old 06-05-2009, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
sensui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavchameleon View Post

Phil,
I contacted Oppo on the issue also and it's definitely on their side as others (with other brands of receivers/pre-pros) are having the same issue with SACD. They're working on a FW update for it. I only get slight ticks with mine, no loud pops. As NAD Paradigm mentioned, it's not only an HDMI issue, confirmed with OPPO. I'm using my Denon CD player for now since it does not have that problem. Bluray has been flawless

Sensui,
Does the 983H send LPCM of CD's and SACD's over HDMI?

I believe so of the couple I tried back then. I remember I had issues with the 983h at the beginning of tracks blipping/cutting out but after I set the player to output lpcm, all was well.
sensui is offline  
post #2345 of 4310 Old 06-05-2009, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
sensui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Oppo is great on customer service, I have no doubt that a new firmware will come out soon (as people like smarty pants is already testing it apparently) to ease some fears on the BDP-83. Really a nice unit.
sensui is offline  
post #2346 of 4310 Old 06-05-2009, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sensui View Post

I believe so of the couple I tried back then. I remember I had issues with the 983h at the beginning of tracks blipping/cutting out but after I set the player to output lpcm, all was well.

My 785 shows Stereo when I play a CD and Direct when I play a SACD. My Oppo has the latest firmware factory installed, my NAD is on 1.16. I haven't gone for the 1.18 change with the hw update (waiting to decide on the new HD cards if I can get a decent price). Plus I'm a little scared of someone popping off the capacitors or whatever vs swapping in a new card

And the pop is pretty unpredictable when it occurs. On sacd it seemed to be the same place for one disc (Police hits) and I wiped the disc a few times with an eyeglass cloth and it seemed to go away. I think I need to redo my Audissey too, I had to reset my receiver and did a new setup but the dog always goes crazy barking during the Audissey tones and the measurements seemed off (SW was 0ft).

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #2347 of 4310 Old 06-05-2009, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cavchameleon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by sensui View Post

Oppo is great on customer service, I have no doubt that a new firmware will come out soon (as people like smarty pants is already testing it apparently) to ease some fears on the BDP-83. Really a nice unit.

Agreed - one of the most responsive companies to customers!

Ray

 

"Listen with an open heart and mind."

 

cavchameleon is online now  
post #2348 of 4310 Old 06-05-2009, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cavchameleon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Phil,

The T785 should show "DIRECT" if you're doing all the decoding in the OPPO. You may want to check the settings - OPPO should be sending out LPCM via HDMI for all sources. See if that makes a difference.

FYI, I did do the 1.18 FW update with no problems, but as NAD Paradigm mentioned, it caused more pops in his unit. The removal of the capacitors is really a simple matter if you want that part done.

Is there any news on the new boards? I'm curious also, but may ride it out for awhile to see how they pan out.

Ray

 

"Listen with an open heart and mind."

 

cavchameleon is online now  
post #2349 of 4310 Old 06-05-2009, 06:13 PM
Member
 
Mashie Saldana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Panasonic DMP-BD60 that is putting out LPCM to my T775 but it doesn't say Direct, the display show "D3/4.1 48kHz" for 7.1 BR's. I thought LPCM was supposed to be 96kHz, any ideas?

Also I have none of the issues with HDMI reported in this thread. No idea what software version it is but the T775 is about a month old. Also that is with the cheapest possible HDMI cables I had collecting dust in my drawer (the $1.50 kind previously used in a 720p system). I will hopefully get my 1.3b cables on Monday as they have been stuck in customs all day today.

The kit that play nice together is:

T775
VirginMedia cableTV box set to 1080p
Panasonic DMP-BD60 set to 1080p24
Pioneer KRP-600A
Mashie Saldana is offline  
post #2350 of 4310 Old 06-07-2009, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavchameleon View Post

Phil,

The T785 should show "DIRECT" if you're doing all the decoding in the OPPO. You may want to check the settings - OPPO should be sending out LPCM via HDMI for all sources. See if that makes a difference.

FYI, I did do the 1.18 FW update with no problems, but as NAD Paradigm mentioned, it caused more pops in his unit. The removal of the capacitors is really a simple matter if you want that part done.

Is there any news on the new boards? I'm curious also, but may ride it out for awhile to see how they pan out.

I wonder if NAD just considers 2.0 LPCM the same as Stereo? It allows me to change all the surround options which Direct doesn't allow. Either that or the Oppo doesn't do LPCM of CDs.

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #2351 of 4310 Old 06-07-2009, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
NAD Paradigm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Phil - LPCM 2.0 is stereo. Standard CD's have always been encoded in 2 channel LPCM @ 16 bit/44.1 KHz. On the NAD it shows up as "Stereo" and allows you to process it to multichannel with the various sound modes.

Mashie - If you are running a 7.1 speaker setup and have the NAD configured as such, then 5.1 LPCM sources will not show as "Direct". You will have the option to use PLIIx and maybe another mode to process the 5.1 up to 7.1. But 7.1 sources should show as Direct. As far as the sampling rate goes, that is entirely dependent on the source media. I have quite a few Blu-rays and all of the LPCM tracks are encoded at 48 KHz. I think I have one disc that's encoded at 96 KHz.
NAD Paradigm is offline  
post #2352 of 4310 Old 06-07-2009, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAD Paradigm View Post

Phil - LPCM 2.0 is stereo. Standard CD's have always been encoded in 2 channel LPCM @ 16 bit/44.1 KHz. On the NAD it shows up as "Stereo" and allows you to process it to multichannel with the various sound modes.

Mashie - If you are running a 7.1 speaker setup and have the NAD configured as such, then 5.1 LPCM sources will not show as "Direct". You will have the option to use PLIIx and maybe another mode to process the 5.1 up to 7.1. But 7.1 sources should show as Direct. As far as the sampling rate goes, that is entirely dependent on the source media. I have quite a few Blu-rays and all of the LPCM tracks are encoded at 48 KHz. I think I have one disc that's encoded at 96 KHz.

thanks, for the clarification... I verified a BR 2.0 LPCM soundtrack and a SACD Stereo also are displayed as "Stereo".

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #2353 of 4310 Old 06-07-2009, 11:01 PM
Senior Member
 
sensui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Glad you got that sorted out, now enjoy the BDP-83. =)
sensui is offline  
post #2354 of 4310 Old 06-08-2009, 12:54 AM
Member
 
Mashie Saldana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAD Paradigm View Post

Mashie - If you are running a 7.1 speaker setup and have the NAD configured as such, then 5.1 LPCM sources will not show as "Direct". You will have the option to use PLIIx and maybe another mode to process the 5.1 up to 7.1. But 7.1 sources should show as Direct. As far as the sampling rate goes, that is entirely dependent on the source media. I have quite a few Blu-rays and all of the LPCM tracks are encoded at 48 KHz. I think I have one disc that's encoded at 96 KHz.

It did say D 3/4.1 48kHz on the DTS-MA 7.1 track in Rambo 4, but oddly enough it did also say that when playing Serenity which is DTS-MA 5.1. Also sound could be heard from all speakers while playing Serenity.

A normal DVD will show up as D 3/2.1 48kHz though with no sound at all from the rear speakers.

So either something is upconverting the sound from 5.1 to 7.1 for DTS-MA or the description on the back of the Serenity disc is incorrect. Unfortunately I don't have any more BD discs to test with for now.
Mashie Saldana is offline  
post #2355 of 4310 Old 06-12-2009, 02:02 AM
Member
 
fiske's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmanjpc View Post

Been quiet in here lately. Any more news on those new cards yet?

Hi,
information from NAD concerning the new AM200 card.

"The main feature of the AM200 is its ability to decode DTS Master Audio and Dolby TrueHD on board. Audio from the player is sent uncompressed to be decoded by the AM200. The AM 200 will decode 24bit/192KHz but be sure the player used will output at this rate."

I have some HDAD discs that are 24bit/192 KHz and the T785 is not able to decode these discs. I am doing the decoding today in my 3930 and send it Analogue to the T785.

My plan is to buy the BDP-83 when it becomes available in Europe after the summer and follow this thread to understand if I need to upgrade the T785 with the new cards.
fiske is offline  
post #2356 of 4310 Old 06-12-2009, 02:47 AM
Member
 
Mashie Saldana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mashie Saldana View Post

It did say D 3/4.1 48kHz on the DTS-MA 7.1 track in Rambo 4, but oddly enough it did also say that when playing Serenity which is DTS-MA 5.1. Also sound could be heard from all speakers while playing Serenity.

It is apparently the default behaviour on Panasonic players to duplicate the surround to the rear speakers for 5.1 DTS-MA content when decoded to LPCM.
Mashie Saldana is offline  
post #2357 of 4310 Old 06-12-2009, 05:04 AM
Senior Member
 
gatt767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Malta
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did any upgraded his receiver? I have ordered the AM 200 and VM 100 for my new T775. Still waiting deliver though
gatt767 is offline  
post #2358 of 4310 Old 06-12-2009, 06:05 AM
Member
 
vengazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAD Paradigm View Post

I just tried to watch a DVD in my Oppo 980 yesterday and I started getting constant periodic dropouts when bitstreaming regular Dolby Digital. I forced the Oppo to convert everything to PCM and the dropouts went away but I could still hear periodic ticks and clicks.

So then I tried just an audio CD and a SACD and both had the periodic ticks and clicks. WTF?



Anyone experience anything like this before?

i have a Denon 3800bdci and i just experienced the same audio dropout problem last night on a Dolby Digital DTS movie in 5.1 with my T775.

Having the Denon player decode the sound and send LPCM solved this dropout problem, but shouldn't the NAD be able to decode this simply without the audio dropouts every 90 seconds? I would rather have the NAD doing this work, any other way to fix this?

I haven't had any of the other laundry list of problems listed in this thread, and am very, very happy with the unit. Purchased May of 2008.
vengazor is offline  
post #2359 of 4310 Old 06-12-2009, 11:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 125
"The main feature of the AM200 is its ability to decode DTS Master Audio and Dolby TrueHD on board. "

IMO this is a waste now that Bluray players with onboard decoding are plentiful and affordable.

The only reason I'd want the AM200 is for the Audyssey features, and it's awfully pricey just for that.

Noah
noah katz is online now  
post #2360 of 4310 Old 06-12-2009, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
sstiles4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post

"The main feature of the AM200 is its ability to decode DTS Master Audio and Dolby TrueHD on board. "

IMO this is a waste now that Bluray players with onboard decoding are plentiful and affordable.

The only reason I'd want the AM200 is for the Audyssey features, and it's awfully pricey just for that.

Well as much as I agree with you, I was wondering if the Blue Ray player is doing the processing so you get a "direct" signal (as I do with the Oppo BDP-83) dont we lose out on Audyssey processing during Blue Ray playback? If so would we have Audyssey processing if we had the new cards and had the T785 process DTS MA and True HD? If the Audyssey processing is not a factor then the only benefit of letting the AVR process the signal would be to see True HD or DTS MA light up on your AVR (without getting into the LPCM vs. Bitstream arguement). Kind of an expensive light show in my opinion lol.
sstiles4 is offline  
post #2361 of 4310 Old 06-12-2009, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
jramskov's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"The only reason I'd want the AM200 is for the Audyssey features, and it's awfully pricey just for that."

What's the difference between the Audyssey in the T775/T785 and the Audyssey in the AM200 board?

I'm going to be buying a surround receiver soon and it's most likely going to be a T775 or maybe a T775HD (if it ever actually arrives...) - haven't really decided yet.
jramskov is offline  
post #2362 of 4310 Old 06-12-2009, 01:32 PM
Member
 
vengazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and . . . when the denon player sends audio lpcm to the 775 do i lose out on my audyssey benefits?
vengazor is offline  
post #2363 of 4310 Old 06-12-2009, 01:50 PM
Member
 
hughej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doesn't the AM200 also have dual DSP? If this means I'll be able to play 2 digital sources simultaneously then this will be a big + for me; may not mean much to some but I'd appreciate that and be willing to pay extra. I'm just eager for these to come out to see if the issues are all resolved. I know some have said we shouldn't feel like NAD is making us upgrade, but to me it feels like I need to buy the new boards just to hopefully get the performance w/o problems that I paid for in the first place. Really only the additional DSP that I "need" but what I want is a solid performer with no more dropouts/snaps/pops that is worthy of the price we paid...not too much to ask imo which is only reason I say I hope dealers are able to cut some very good prices for those they know have had issues along the way and still have some lingering around.
hughej is offline  
post #2364 of 4310 Old 06-12-2009, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Mashie Saldana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vengazor View Post

and . . . when the denon player sends audio lpcm to the 775 do i lose out on my audyssey benefits?

Audyssey settings are applied to LPCM streams as well.
Mashie Saldana is offline  
post #2365 of 4310 Old 06-12-2009, 02:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 125
"What's the difference between the Audyssey in the T775/T785 and the Audyssey in the AM200 board?"

The AM200 gives you DynamicEQ (the biggie for me) and Dynamic Volume.

Noah
noah katz is online now  
post #2366 of 4310 Old 06-14-2009, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
gatt767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Malta
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
still waiting delivery will let you know once i receive whether i will experience any of the problems mentioned in this thread
gatt767 is offline  
post #2367 of 4310 Old 06-14-2009, 10:04 AM
Newbie
 
jramskov's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can order the HD models already? No information on the NAD website yet as far as I can see.
jramskov is offline  
post #2368 of 4310 Old 06-17-2009, 06:16 AM
Member
 
vengazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jramskov View Post

You can order the HD models already? No information on the NAD website yet as far as I can see.

I spoke with my NAD dealer yesterday, and he thinks that the modules can be special ordered now, which i requested, but the parts won't be in until early/mid August probably.

The new 765 HD receivers are in, but i am waiting on the 175HD. He did confirm that NAD has been waiting on the new processors and that is delaying their release. 775 HD should be coming out next in about 4 weeks followed by the 785 HD and 175 HD. No idea on the new Master's series release.
vengazor is offline  
post #2369 of 4310 Old 06-17-2009, 07:05 AM
Newbie
 
jramskov's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the update! It's the T775 / T775 HD that I'm interested in. I'm not sure I need the HD, but I'll wait until I see the prices of the HD model before making a decision.
jramskov is offline  
post #2370 of 4310 Old 06-17-2009, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
gatt767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Malta
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just spoke to my dealer, delivery of the cards to Malta should arrive by next week. Currently cards are in the mail, coming to malta from France
gatt767 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off