Official Pioneer Elite VSX-92TXH thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2007, 10:06 AM
Senior Member
 
BaronVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cilent1 View Post

mel22b, thanks for the pics. She sure is purdy . I'm waiting on my 94 to arrive. Can't wait to see TrueHD and DTS MSTR light up .

Nice apt. setup also!

Thank goodness I am not the only one still waiting one to come in. It needs to get here already. Love the big daddy pic.
BaronVH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-03-2007, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cilent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
BaronVH, don't know if you're waiting on the 92 or 94. But I just saw this post in the 94 thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbusby View Post

FYI on the 94

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I received the following from Pioneer regarding my order for this receiver. Not sure what it is all about.

"Hello,

This receiver is on hold right now due to an upgrade that Japan has asked us to make them. We hope it only takes about a week or so for this upgrade.

Thanks for your patience,

Direct Sales
Pioneer Electronics (USA) Inc.
866.214.1310"

Trying to find out some more info.

"...I'm ready for dream-time Mr. B."
Cilent1 is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
tosehee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: George, USA
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsprance View Post

Is everyone happy with the video side of the reciever so far? This has jumped to the top of my list and I want to be sure i will be happy when sending signals to my 1080p projector. Seems every reciever I looked at has some type of video complaint (artifacts / sync issues, etc).

if you are feeding from HD 1080p source to 1080p output, then you should have no issue. I don't think 92 does a spectacular job in upscaling, but pass through works without any issue. Not that I can tell at least. I have PS3 and Toshiba A2 for my HD sources and they are all fantastic to me. I don't watch the SD-DVDs any more, so upscaling was not my concern when I bought this unit.

Speakers: Monitor Audio GR60, GRLCR, GR-10
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-92
Amp: (Still searching...)
tosehee is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 10:59 AM
Member
 
mel22b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N Vancouver, BC
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gonna be lazy...

Yes thats the Ikea special works great for my pad

I am pretty sure the dials are plastic but, to me anyway, they dont feel cheap like the dials on the Denons.

I haven not used any of the video features. Since I dont run any 480i sources I dont feel the need.

Thanks for the 'props' on the apartment. My girlfriend and I used google sketchup to plan it out.

Stephen
My Setup
mel22b is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
tosehee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: George, USA
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mel22b View Post

Gonna be lazy...

Yes thats the Ikea special works great for my pad

I am pretty sure the dials are plastic but, to me anyway, they dont feel cheap like the dials on the Denons.

I haven not used any of the video features. Since I dont run any 480i sources I dont feel the need.

Thanks for the 'props' on the apartment. My girlfriend and I used google sketchup to plan it out.

Hey. how low did you configure the trim? in EQ adjust?

Speakers: Monitor Audio GR60, GRLCR, GR-10
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-92
Amp: (Still searching...)
tosehee is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 12:08 PM
Member
 
mel22b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N Vancouver, BC
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didnt touch the trim. I think it was around 0 if i remember correctly.

Stephen
My Setup
mel22b is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
 
BaronVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was told by Pioneer today that there are no issues with the 92 or the firmware that is causing the delay, only that it is backordered which should be remedied in a week or two. This is fine by me as since it is replacing my 82 (at no extra charge) and I am not using HDMI for my sound (yet) that is OK. I will not be getting a Blu-ray until around Christmas or later (and possibly that HD-DVD until later than that), so I can wait. I am very eager to get the thing in; however.
BaronVH is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
CraigR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Orange, Calif., USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not been able to play with my 92 very much since getting it but got a chance to watch the Blu-ray movie 300 last night utilizing the Dolby True HD sound. Wow! What a difference between that and regular DD. I switched back and forth while watching the same section of the movie. There really is quite a difference. The sound is much richer and more dynamic to me than DD.

I've previously read where some people indicated that they could not tell the difference in sound quality. No offense but I can only conclude that they must not have it set up right. I can see how easy it would be to not have all the right buttons pushed with the present configuration of the players to get HD sound. I have a PS3 and of course it just shows on the 92 that the sound is PCM. When the next round of players that will pass the bitstream are readily available that let our receivers decode the sound so that the designation will pop up on the receiver it will be a lot easier to know for sure.
CraigR is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm seeing a $850 buy it now price on auctions on Ebay from a seller with 100% feedback. I'm very tempted. Let's say I get it and run into trouble, will Pioneer even look at the Receiver? I doubt this guy is authorized.

No animals were harmed in the creation of this sentence.
eightninesuited is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 02:45 PM
Member
 
mel22b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N Vancouver, BC
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigR View Post

I have not been able to play with my 92 very much since getting it but got a chance to watch the Blu-ray movie 300 last night utilizing the Dolby True HD sound. Wow! What a difference between that and regular DD. I switched back and forth while watching the same section of the movie. There really is quite a difference. The sound is much richer and more dynamic to me than DD.

I've previously read where some people indicated that they could not tell the difference in sound quality. No offense but I can only conclude that they must not have it set up right. I can see how easy it would be to not have all the right buttons pushed with the present configuration of the players to get HD sound. I have a PS3 and of course it just shows on the 92 that the sound is PCM. When the next round of players that will pass the bitstream are readily available that let our receivers decode the sound so that the designation will pop up on the receiver it will be a lot easier to know for sure.

Its funny but I think a lot of people that cant tell the sound difference either dont set their receivers properly or dont have good quality speakers. I could be wrong about these people but to me there is much more detail in uncompressed sound.

Stephen
My Setup
mel22b is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 04:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
wabkab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out Soundpros via website or Ebay store. They have the 91thx at a bargain also. I think they are authorized, but check Pioneer site or call Soundpros and see exactly how they handle warranty work. They have been in business for several years. Best buy out there now is 6th ave deal on Denon 2808--see that thread for info.

Tony B
wabkab is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
paradigm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: las vegas
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Soundpros is NOT authorized. No online store is from what I've been told. However, Soundpros backs up the warranty thru in house at no charge they say when I talked to them. They are in CA.
paradigm is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jcs913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wabkab View Post

Check out Soundpros via website or Ebay store. They have the 91thx at a bargain also. I think they are authorized, but check Pioneer site or call Soundpros and see exactly how they handle warranty work. They have been in business for several years. Best buy out there now is 6th ave deal on Denon 2808--see that thread for info.

Before you buy anything from Ebay, check out this Pioneer link.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pn...105092,00.html

There is also the list of authorized online dealers on their website. Here is the link:

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pn...297187,00.html
jcs913 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 10:01 PM
Senior Member
 
tosehee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: George, USA
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't help but think Direct PCM sounds better than every MCACC setup that I have gone through. What am I doing wrong? :-(

Speakers: Monitor Audio GR60, GRLCR, GR-10
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-92
Amp: (Still searching...)
tosehee is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 07:47 AM
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigR View Post

I have not been able to play with my 92 very much since getting it but got a chance to watch the Blu-ray movie 300 last night utilizing the Dolby True HD sound. Wow! What a difference between that and regular DD. I switched back and forth while watching the same section of the movie. There really is quite a difference. The sound is much richer and more dynamic to me than DD.

I've previously read where some people indicated that they could not tell the difference in sound quality. No offense but I can only conclude that they must not have it set up right. I can see how easy it would be to not have all the right buttons pushed with the present configuration of the players to get HD sound. I have a PS3 and of course it just shows on the 92 that the sound is PCM. When the next round of players that will pass the bitstream are readily available that let our receivers decode the sound so that the designation will pop up on the receiver it will be a lot easier to know for sure.

I was wondering if the DD hd was supposed to pop up on the pio. I also tested out the blu ray 300 with my ps3. I also only saw pcm. Does that still mean it is dd true hd?
chris6878 is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
tosehee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: George, USA
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris6878 View Post

I was wondering if the DD hd was supposed to pop up on the pio. I also tested out the blu ray 300 with my ps3. I also only saw pcm. Does that still mean it is dd true hd?

no. Your PS3 is converting the TrueHD to PCM and send as MPCM. It should be same quality of TrueHD, but the difference is, PS3 is doing the conversion instead of your receiver.

Some newer players allow the bitstream (Samsung 1400 and Toshiba HD) of TrueHD and DTS HDMA, but it's little buggy from what I read.

Speakers: Monitor Audio GR60, GRLCR, GR-10
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-92
Amp: (Still searching...)
tosehee is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 08:54 AM
Senior Member
 
CraigR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Orange, Calif., USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris6878 View Post

I was wondering if the DD hd was supposed to pop up on the pio. I also tested out the blu ray 300 with my ps3. I also only saw pcm. Does that still mean it is dd true hd?

chris6878

Yes, you are getting Dolby True HD if all the right buttons are pushed. tosehee is correct it's your PS3 that is decoding the sound signal in lieu of the receiver and just passing it on in the PCM mode. We'll start getting more and more players available that will allow the direct bitstream to go to our receivers and let them decode it. Then you'll see the HD designation pop up on the receiver.
You already probably knew this but be sure to select Dolby TrueHD on the movie's menu.
CraigR is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 08:57 AM
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Oh ok thx. I have another question. I have my ps3 hooked up via hdmi and I have another dvd player that I use as a dvd-audio/cd player hooked up via hdmi through the reciever. Is it possible for me to play the ps3 and listen to my dvd player at the same time. I like to listen to music while playing the ps3 video games.
chris6878 is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 09:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
wabkab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigR View Post

chris6878

Yes, you are getting Dolby True HD if all the right buttons are pushed. tosehee is correct it's your PS3 that is decoding the sound signal in lieu of the receiver and just passing it on in the PCM mode. We'll start getting more and more players available that will allow the direct bitstream to go to our receivers and let them decode it. Then you'll see the HD designation pop up on the receiver.
You already probably knew this but be sure to select Dolby TrueHD on the movie's menu.

Do you know which HD DVD and/or Blu Ray players pass direct HD audio bitstream via HDMI? I see the new OPPO and one of the Pioneer Elite (48) apparently pass multichannel DSD and DVD audio via HDMI.

Tony B
wabkab is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wabkab View Post

Do you know which HD DVD and/or Blu Ray players pass direct HD audio bitstream via HDMI? I see the new OPPO and one of the Pioneer Elite (48) apparently pass multichannel DSD and DVD audio via HDMI.

Right now I think the only one is the Toshiba A35. The Toshiba XA2 will have a firmware upgrade in the near future to pass it and let the receiver decode it. I really don't know of any Blu-Ray players that will or do.

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cilent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wabkab View Post

Do you know which HD DVD and/or Blu Ray players pass direct HD audio bitstream via HDMI? I see the new OPPO and one of the Pioneer Elite (48) apparently pass multichannel DSD and DVD audio via HDMI.

The Samsung 1400 BD player will pass HD audio via bitstream. Pioneers new BD player (95FD) will also bitstream the lossless codecs.

"...I'm ready for dream-time Mr. B."
Cilent1 is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
techwisenyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Samsung 1400 apparently passes these new codecs through bitstream with a firmware update that is only available online. I think the reason is there has been some complaints that it causes issues with SD upconverting. However if you don't use it to upconvert and just to play BD then you don't have to worry. Many on the BD Forums have been praising DTS-HD MA audio on the FOX discs, especially when it's decoded through the receiver. YMMV, but I am just reporting on what I've read on the topic.
techwisenyc is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 10:51 AM
Member
 
mel22b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N Vancouver, BC
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris6878 View Post

Oh ok thx. I have another question. I have my ps3 hooked up via hdmi and I have another dvd player that I use as a dvd-audio/cd player hooked up via hdmi through the reciever. Is it possible for me to play the ps3 and listen to my dvd player at the same time. I like to listen to music while playing the ps3 video games.

Use your zone 2. I have a buddy that has a second set of speakers on top of his mains that he uses for music while playing games. He has the second set set up with the Zone 2.

Stephen
My Setup
mel22b is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 11:06 AM
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mel22b View Post

Use our zone 2. I have a buddy that has a second set of speakers on top of his mains that he uses for music while playing games. He has the second set set up with the Zone 2.

I thought of that but I want to listen to the music out of my front towers and my sub, is that possible. I might have to plug the componet in to the tv from the ps3 and do it that way when I want to listen and play.
chris6878 is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 01:31 AM
Senior Member
 
audiophreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigR View Post

chris6878

Yes, you are getting Dolby True HD if all the right buttons are pushed. tosehee is correct it's your PS3 that is decoding the sound signal in lieu of the receiver and just passing it on in the PCM mode. We'll start getting more and more players available that will allow the direct bitstream to go to our receivers and let them decode it. Then you'll see the HD designation pop up on the receiver.
You already probably knew this but be sure to select Dolby TrueHD on the movie's menu.

I got this today, via bdp1400 and
audiophreak is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 04:45 AM
Member
 
kmeleon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my 92 hooked up Thursday night and am loving it so far. It absolutely blows the doors off the Onkyo 705 I tried last month sound quality wise (only muisc so far)!
I need to run the calibration today, I love playing with new toys
kmeleon is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 07:52 AM
Member
 
chris6878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiophreak View Post

I got this today, via bdp1400 and



Show off!
chris6878 is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone got any shots of the IDK-01 IPOD Dock and the 92 in action?

I got the IPOD cable that Pioneer sends out but it's just blocky and in Black and white.

Is the IDK-01 the same way?

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
CraigR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Orange, Calif., USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiophreak View Post

I got this today, via bdp1400 and

audiophreak,

That is soooo cool
CraigR is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Zazzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Few quick questions regarding VSX-92TXH:

1) Does this unit convert analogs to HDMI OUT? and does it upscale to 720 or1080? and is HDMI1,2,3 to HDMI OUT just pass through?
2) does this unit support running just one HDMI to TV and everything connected to the receiver?
3) since its 1.3a HDMI, I'm assuming it supports 1080p/24Hz, right?
4) What are the conditions in order for the BLUE light to light up?
Zazzik is offline  
 

Tags
Vsx 92txh Elite Home Theater A V Receiver , Sony Bdp S1 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player , Onkyo Tx Sr805 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver Silver , Yamaha Rx V995 Surround Receiver With Dolby Digital And Dts Decoding , Pioneer Elite Bdp 94hd Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off