Official Pioneer Elite VSX-92TXH thread - Page 63 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 2001 Old 11-11-2011, 09:15 AM
Member
 
livingproof73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post

Not sure what the DSP update addresses. Wonder why they didn't update yours?

Yeah, Im not too impressed to say the least and it was a bitch to unhook everything to begin with and looks I may have to do it all again! I've been searching online to see what that DSP update addresses but no luck so far.
livingproof73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 2001 Old 11-11-2011, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Looks like this guy has a do it yourself upgrade. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post21197604

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is online now  
post #1863 of 2001 Old 11-11-2011, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StuBerger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Illinois
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was told by the service center that did my update that the DTS Bomb is caused by the DSP firmware.

Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
StuBerger is offline  
post #1864 of 2001 Old 12-01-2011, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StuBerger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Illinois
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got a question, I had the firmware updated a while back and I started to notice a couple days ago while watching both Directv and a BluRay during night scenes, when a light bulb or other light source I notice a glare line going from left to right of the source and at times a light line noise I guess you can call it... Could this be the 92 or something going on with my Sony LCD?
Also, is it wise to reset the 92 after a firmware update?

Never mind, took the BluRay player and went directly into the TV and same thing!

Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
StuBerger is offline  
post #1865 of 2001 Old 12-12-2011, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HTguru3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Does anyone know the difference between A. Delay (which is automatic) and Delay which is adjustable in the Audio Parameters menu? Do they accomplish the same thing and what is everyone using? When watching TV through my Comcast HD Cable box, occasionally a program will have their video out of sync with the dialogue, will the A. Delay take care of that?
HTguru3 is offline  
post #1866 of 2001 Old 12-18-2011, 05:37 AM
Newbie
 
jeffro-c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston Ma
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all

does anyone know the exact name of the four round feet on the bottom of the VSX 92TXH

one of mine broke and it has no part number on it and i have had no luck searching the web

any help i would really appreciate thanks

Pioneer Vsx 92-TXH Pioneer BDP 33FD
(2) HK Citation 7.1
Epson 8350
100" jamestown Fixed Screen
Triad Classic Glod Lcr's
Triad Classic Gold Satelites
Triad 18" in room Platinum Sub
panamax M5100pm
Lian-Li Htpc Case
intel i7-950 8gb-Ocz & 2tb Hd's
Gigabyte Ga-X58a & ceton infini tv 4
jeffro-c is offline  
post #1867 of 2001 Old 12-18-2011, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HTguru3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro-c View Post

Hello all

does anyone know the exact name of the four round feet on the bottom of the VSX 92TXH

one of mine broke and it has no part number on it and i have had no luck searching the web

any help i would really appreciate thanks

Probably calling Pioneer might be your best bet or take one off and take it to a local repair shop and see if they have any that can match up with it.
HTguru3 is offline  
post #1868 of 2001 Old 01-23-2012, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StuBerger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Illinois
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question, I had the firmware updated a few months ago. I was wondering if it's smart or needed to do a reset on the 92 after a update?

Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
StuBerger is offline  
post #1869 of 2001 Old 01-27-2012, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StuBerger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Illinois
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey, where did everyone go? LOL

Any answer to my question????

Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
StuBerger is offline  
post #1870 of 2001 Old 01-27-2012, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Hi Stu, the first time I had mine updated it was already reset when I got it back. the second time some things were lost and some were still the same, but everything was updated. As long as the firmware was updated I'd just be happy it didn't get wiped and leave it alone.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is online now  
post #1871 of 2001 Old 01-28-2012, 05:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
sumavguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would the update fix this issue? When I turn on my Panasonic st30 TV it turns on the 92 but not fully, and it makes it look like it might be trying to do pass through or something, but after about 20 seconds it shuts off. Although if I have my TV and 92 on and turn off my TV it turns off my 92. I can tell its trying to do some HDMI control, but not sure why its not doing t all. I have it on a 35' HDMI cable, and even put changed the receiver to input 2 on my tv as that isn't supposed to have pass through on it(which I though was the issue).

Also if I turn my 92 on and turn my TV on before that second click it mutes the sound.

Any help would greatly be appreciated.
sumavguy is offline  
post #1872 of 2001 Old 01-28-2012, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StuBerger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Illinois
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post

Hi Stu, the first time I had mine updated it was already reset when I got it back. the second time some things were lost and some were still the same, but everything was updated. As long as the firmware was updated I'd just be happy it didn't get wiped and leave it alone.

Hey Legairre...long time no see, hope all is okay over at yours! That's good to know..since nothing was changed in my settings after the flash.

Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
StuBerger is offline  
post #1873 of 2001 Old 01-28-2012, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StuBerger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Illinois
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just turn off HDMI control and that should correct that.

Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
StuBerger is offline  
post #1874 of 2001 Old 02-19-2012, 06:01 AM
Newbie
 
romlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumavguy View Post

Would the update fix this issue? When I turn on my Panasonic st30 TV it turns on the 92 but not fully, and it makes it look like it might be trying to do pass through or something, but after about 20 seconds it shuts off. Although if I have my TV and 92 on and turn off my TV it turns off my 92. I can tell its trying to do some HDMI control, but not sure why its not doing t all. I have it on a 35' HDMI cable, and even put changed the receiver to input 2 on my tv as that isn't supposed to have pass through on it(which I though was the issue).

Also if I turn my 92 on and turn my TV on before that second click it mutes the sound.

Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Just purchased a Panasonic GT30 and had the exact same problems that you have with shutoff, mute, off then-on but it was all cured instantly when I TURNED OFF Viera connect in the Panasonic's setup menu. You don't need it unless all your equipment is Panasonic brand.
romlife is offline  
post #1875 of 2001 Old 03-02-2012, 04:01 PM
Newbie
 
kjordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The remote control for my VSX-92 suddenly stopped working. I have been getting up to change the volume and inputs since then and trying to figure out what happened. I saw an old post from "mlfarris" with the same issue but never any real replies. My receiver won't respond to either the original remote or my harmony remote. Yes I did press the "receiver" button on the original remote. It just flat out won't respond to either remote. Has anyone else had this problem?

kjordan
kjordan is offline  
post #1876 of 2001 Old 03-02-2012, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Someone in this thread said it was a cold solder joint on the board that they had fixed that solved the problem. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1039495

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is online now  
post #1877 of 2001 Old 03-03-2012, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
Fir_XYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, all!
Recently I have bought at ebay the european model of Elite 92THX - VSX-LX60.
It is brand new and i got it for 300 euros (~380 USD).
It looks and sounds great, i'm happy with it.
But i have read a lot of topics about freezing issue caused by cold solder joint.
There was a sensation that EVERY 92THX or 94THX (european LX60 and LX70) will get this issue soon or later...
Is it right or wrong?
Does anybody use this receiver a lot of time (2-3 years) and there is no problem with it?

P.S. Sorry for my English
Fir_XYZ is offline  
post #1878 of 2001 Old 03-03-2012, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StuBerger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Illinois
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay, what's up with this cold soldier joint thing...first time I've heard of this. What does the problem cause?

Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
StuBerger is offline  
post #1879 of 2001 Old 03-04-2012, 01:53 AM
Newbie
 
Fir_XYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuBerger View Post

Okay, what's up with this cold soldier joint thing...first time I've heard of this. What does the problem cause?

As people say the receiver freezes time to time, controls stop working, etc.

Read here: avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1039495
And here: curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=19315&postdays=0&postorder=asc&&start=0
Fir_XYZ is offline  
post #1880 of 2001 Old 03-04-2012, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
jeffro-c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston Ma
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All !

I have been at this for some time with no solution and hope someone can help me out? I have my fios hd/dvr 7232-2 running into my 92 via hdmi and out from the 92 to my epson 8350 projector. the problem i have is when i change channels or fast forward tv i get this pop through my speakers. just one single pop whenever i change channels ff ect and can not figure this out for the life of me
i have done all the usual checked hdmi cable,changed override to off,changed the recomended settings in the stb hidden menu ect ect
at this point im starting to wonder if its the 92 but would love for it not to be
if anyone has had this problem please please let me know if you have solved it
or if there are any other setting in the 92 that might fix this issue

any and all suggestions or help would keep me from jumpin off the roof

thanks in advance for any input on this

Pioneer Vsx 92-TXH Pioneer BDP 33FD
(2) HK Citation 7.1
Epson 8350
100" jamestown Fixed Screen
Triad Classic Glod Lcr's
Triad Classic Gold Satelites
Triad 18" in room Platinum Sub
panamax M5100pm
Lian-Li Htpc Case
intel i7-950 8gb-Ocz & 2tb Hd's
Gigabyte Ga-X58a & ceton infini tv 4
jeffro-c is offline  
post #1881 of 2001 Old 03-04-2012, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Hi Jeff my guess is that it's coming from the amps. Can you do me a favor and run the 92txh straight to the speakers without the citation amp connected? Also can you check which speakers the pop comes from and only disconnect those speakers connects from the amp to the 92. That way you don't have to disconnect everything.

I know it's a pain to do this but finding the culprit will be a process of elimination starting with the amp.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is online now  
post #1882 of 2001 Old 06-20-2012, 10:54 AM
Member
 
mridan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in the process of getting my 92 updated. I'm bring it to the service center in Arlington Heights IL which is a short drive from my home. I want to make sure they update the firmware and DSP flash due to DSP bomb. Has anyone on this thread brought their unit there for an update, and if so did they know to update DSP?
mridan is offline  
post #1883 of 2001 Old 11-20-2012, 05:18 PM
Member
 
mosfetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the service manual but it was not of any help to me...My MCACC red LED is now blinking and the unit does not respond to a factory reset. The service manual is available on ebay for $10...thats where I got it.
Mosfetman
mosfetman is offline  
post #1884 of 2001 Old 11-20-2012, 05:34 PM
Member
 
macgyver655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting user name. If you have the service manual it tells you how to reset from this error. It is not a factory reset. Did you buy it this way or did it happen while you were using it.
macgyver655 is offline  
post #1885 of 2001 Old 11-20-2012, 06:34 PM
Member
 
mosfetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Mac for the reply.
If you are referring to pages 64 to 66 that describe the protection circuit bypass and the power block failure, I do not believe that this is the case with mine. If I had an output section failure, I would never power up or operate properly. Additionally, I applied the two jumpers on the protection ICs that would circumvent a protection "failure" code.

I'm just fed up with this receiver...it's been a nightmare. Its on ebay for $150, shipped, and includes a free service manual!
Jerry

P.S. the "MosFetMan" user name stems from my love of MosFets for output transistors...second only to mass quantities of KT-88 tubes.
mosfetman is offline  
post #1886 of 2001 Old 11-20-2012, 07:19 PM
Member
 
mosfetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If any of you guys want to mess with a once working 92txh in near perfect condition, I am selling mine for $150 including shipping to Continental U.S. on ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/221156731306?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

MosFetMan
mosfetman is offline  
post #1887 of 2001 Old 11-21-2012, 08:01 AM
Member
 
macgyver655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I could easily solve your problems but since it appears to be sold I wont comment. Oh, and your procedure of soldering the jumper wires was incorrect.
macgyver655 is offline  
post #1888 of 2001 Old 11-21-2012, 08:05 AM
Member
 
macgyver655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see in your ebay ad you say you had the power up problem fixed once before. Was that the freezing problem?
macgyver655 is offline  
post #1889 of 2001 Old 12-09-2012, 04:34 PM
Member
 
Imageless83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wash. DC area
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks to Legairre I am the newest member in this club and hoping to stay for a longtime.

Imageless83 is online now  
post #1890 of 2001 Old 01-09-2013, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Rogozhin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Desert
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nice, I just ordered a SC-1222-k to replace my amazing 92, I'm going to be sad to pull her out of the rack. frown.gif

GamerTag= Phaleronic
Rogozhin is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Vsx 92txh Elite Home Theater A V Receiver , Sony Bdp S1 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player , Onkyo Tx Sr805 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver Silver , Yamaha Rx V995 Surround Receiver With Dolby Digital And Dts Decoding , Pioneer Elite Bdp 94hd Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off