The "Official" Denon AVR-2808CI Owners Thread - Page 116 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3451 of 3834 Old 07-19-2011, 01:58 PM
Member
 
Average Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But doesn't the 1712 include Dynamic Volume and Dynamic EQ, which weren't on the 2808? I'm hoping that the latter, in particular, improves my bass response at lower volumes, though I realize reviews have been mixed.
Average Joe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3452 of 3834 Old 07-19-2011, 03:09 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,616
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
Correct, which is why I said no degradation ... you should hear a better response with Dyn EQ.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3453 of 3834 Old 07-20-2011, 03:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
^Agreed, the area in which to expect SQ improvement from 2808 to 1712 is with the DynEQ feature when listening below reference, especially with film soundtracks off shiney discs. Critical music listening is trickier and depending on the recording compression you might need to dial in DynLevel Offset of 5, 10, or 15, so I sometimes just turn up the music rather than fiddle with it. But years ago I compared the 789 (1909) model vs 988 (2808) and chose 988 because of better SQ despite losing DynEQ.

So otherwise I wouldn't expect a lesser # model 1712, even with the same MultEQXT as the 2808, to sound better. I can't keep up with the audio (much less other!) feature sets such as AL24 plus, DSD and HDCD processing, DACs, etc., of various models, but it would be interesting if they even sounded basically equal in other ways.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #3454 of 3834 Old 07-20-2011, 07:39 AM
Member
 
underling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So...it turns out that the problem is not in the headphone jack. The question now is whether I take it in to be diagnosed or just scrap it for a new unit. In comparison, my first HT setup was a Kenwood DD ready receiver which I bought in 1998 and still have (now back in it's box) that I was using up until the end of last year. It still works just fine. I can't believe that I have only got 3 years out of a 1K+ receiver and I am having to debate repair or replace. I believe that the repair shops charge somewhere between 80-100$ for estimation and likely total repair cost is going to be somewhere between 2-400$. I may have to put a call in to see for sure.

I would be interested in hearing what you have to say about the comparison of the 2 units (1712 vs 2808CI) once you have it hooked up. Since this is now my secondary HT setup and purely for HomeTheater/Gaming, critical listening is not as much of a factor as that is done in my main 2-channel now. I did like my Denon, but I am a little leary of going back into the fold due to the short life of the only unit of theirs I have ever owned.

Any thoughts from other owners as to which direction I should move on this?
underling is offline  
post #3455 of 3834 Old 07-20-2011, 10:33 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,616
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
As it's out of warranty, pop the top and see if you can identify any fuses that may have blown and that can then be replaced. If the issue is a result of the HDMI board failing, repair is likely to be closer to $500.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3456 of 3834 Old 07-20-2011, 12:08 PM
Member
 
underling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fuses were one of the first things that I checked after factory reset and cable connections. I don't think it is going to be an HDMI board as there is no sound out of the speakers at all, even for test tones in the channel level setup. I am suspecting either shot relays or possibly something to do with the DACs or speaker out boards. I have some further RL testing to do with regards to passthroughs as I may be able to integrate it into my main theater using the 7.1 analog inputs and using the pre-outs to external amps if I decide not to repair. Even if I do repair it this may help narrow down what specifically the problem is if it allows the signal through the pre-in/outs.
underling is offline  
post #3457 of 3834 Old 08-05-2011, 03:11 PM
Newbie
 
jasonpfann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All:

I am a neophyte with stereo equipment. I have an AVR 2808. The outdoor speakers are wired through Zone 2. They have suddenly stopped working. Speakers in main room work fine. The input for Zone 2 looks to be right, but not completely sure. Any ideas how to get the outdoor speakers working again?

Thank you,
Jason
jasonpfann is offline  
post #3458 of 3834 Old 08-05-2011, 03:15 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,616
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
Are you passing an analog or PCM 2.0 source? Do you have Zone 2 turned ON? Have you tried connecting them to other speaker terminals to make sure they still work?

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3459 of 3834 Old 08-05-2011, 03:19 PM
Newbie
 
jasonpfann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JDS - When I turn Zone 2 on, it says ANA in the upper left corner. Is that what you mean? I wasn't kidding when I said I don't know anything about receivers and stereo equip. Thanks.
jasonpfann is offline  
post #3460 of 3834 Old 08-05-2011, 03:22 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,616
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
Yes .... Zone 2 cannot pass HDMI sources.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3461 of 3834 Old 08-05-2011, 03:56 PM
Newbie
 
jasonpfann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what settings should I be on to make sure the Zone 2 speakers are set properly?
jasonpfann is offline  
post #3462 of 3834 Old 08-05-2011, 05:20 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,616
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
You started your post off saying they suddenly stopped working .. so you apparently had the correct settings .... Zone 2 set to ON, with an analog source selected. You need to check to see that something didn't short out your outdoor speakers by either connecting another set of speakers that work or swapping the speaker connections at the AVR with another set of speakers' wires.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3463 of 3834 Old 08-05-2011, 06:39 PM
Newbie
 
jasonpfann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We didn't reconfigure the speakers at all. Suddenly meaning they worked Sunday.....didn't work Tuesday. It's likely my 1 year old turned a few knobs and pushed some buttons. I just don't know how to get it back to the appropriate settings. Thanks for your help thus far.
jasonpfann is offline  
post #3464 of 3834 Old 08-05-2011, 07:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,616
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
Make sure that AMP ASSIGN is set to Zone 2.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3465 of 3834 Old 08-05-2011, 07:20 PM
Newbie
 
jasonpfann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That was the key! Works perfectly. Thank you, really appreciate the help.
jasonpfann is offline  
post #3466 of 3834 Old 08-05-2011, 07:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,616
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
Normally AMP ASSIGN defaults to Zone 2 so I didn't think of mentioning it .. however, when you said a little one might have done some handy work ....

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3467 of 3834 Old 08-15-2011, 11:46 PM
Newbie
 
sindbaad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I have a 2808. I watch bluray downloads from my PC. My problem is that when i play a dts-hd file via HDMI the display on the reciever lights up and all is FINE however, in case of True-HD the reviever goes into mutli channel mode and al24 lights up. I am not sure what to do to get the true-hd function working.
sindbaad is offline  
post #3468 of 3834 Old 08-16-2011, 03:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,616
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
^^
When the AVR front panel display reads "Mult CH In" it means the source has already decoded the audio track to PCM so either you are downloading a PCM file or the PC is decoding the Dolby TrueHD to PCM.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3469 of 3834 Old 08-30-2011, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Malenurse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought this receiver and I'm really really happy... more dynamics than any other I had before (Nad T773, Cambridge audio 540v3, Denon Avr2802...)

Im using my PC as a source via Toslink and everything is perfect for the movies but for the music I can't make it work in Stereo/Direct mode or even Pure mode... What could be the problem???
Malenurse is offline  
post #3470 of 3834 Old 08-30-2011, 12:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
please define "can't make it work". We aren't mind readers, try to explain clearly what you have tried, what is happening, etc. Is the receiver reporting an input signal? Does it work correctly in multichannel modes (e.g. Multich stereo or Pro Logic II)? The more info you give the easier it will be for us to help you.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #3471 of 3834 Old 08-30-2011, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Malenurse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

please define "can't make it work". We aren't mind readers, try to explain clearly what you have tried, what is happening, etc. Is the receiver reporting an input signal? Does it work correctly in multichannel modes (e.g. Multich stereo or Pro Logic II)? The more info you give the easier it will be for us to help you.

Sorry english isn't my main language.

It's working in every mode (Multi stereo, Prologic, DTS...) everything but the stereo/direct and Pure mode. On the display it says : FR FL, PCM DIG, AL24, Main (A or B)... but no sound! It seems to detect a signal since it's displaying PCM. I switch back to Standard, Multi, etc, start working right away.
Malenurse is offline  
post #3472 of 3834 Old 08-30-2011, 04:08 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,616
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
^^
Can you get STEREO from other sources? You may need to reset the microprocessor (p. 50).

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3473 of 3834 Old 08-30-2011, 07:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,488
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malenurse View Post


Sorry english isn't my main language.

It's working in every mode (Multi stereo, Prologic, DTS...) everything but the stereo/direct and Pure mode. On the display it says : FR FL, PCM DIG, AL24, Main (A or B)... but no sound! It seems to detect a signal since it's displaying PCM. I switch back to Standard, Multi, etc, start working right away.


Is amp assign set to 2CH?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #3474 of 3834 Old 08-31-2011, 07:53 PM
Member
 
Malenurse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

Is amp assign set to 2CH?

yes... but does it change a thing?
Malenurse is offline  
post #3475 of 3834 Old 08-31-2011, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Malenurse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since I'm not the original owner I've tried to reset it...
WORKED RIGHT AWAY! Thanks guys!
Malenurse is offline  
post #3476 of 3834 Old 08-31-2011, 08:20 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,616
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malenurse View Post

yes... but does it change a thing?

Yes. It routes stereo audio to the speakers connected to the Surr Back/Amp Assign posts and if there are none connected there, then no audio. Resetting the microprocessor returned Amp Assign to it's factory default setting of Zone 2.

Now you just need to run AUTO SETUP again.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3477 of 3834 Old 09-22-2011, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 2,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Anyone get Star Wars on BD and if so, have you been following this thread about the audio issues with the disc and some Denon recievers, including the 2808?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1361400

I have all the audio dropout issues mentioned in that thread, is anyone else experiencing them on there 2808? Boylan13 made and interesting post today about the response he received from Denon on the issue:

Quote:
Originally Posted by boylan13 View Post

Denon was able to reproduce the problem and identified it as one that has already been fixed (seen on "The Golden Compass" Blu-ray... also DTS-HD MA 6.1). So much for this being related to THX Media Director... The good news is that if you have a network-connected Denon receiver, an update to the latest firmware should do the trick.

The bad news is that those without a network connection on their receiver will need to send it in or bring it in to a local service center for the update. They suggested calling Denon support to open a ticket and arrange to have it shipped to a service center for the update. They briefly considered developing a fix that could be delivered via RS232C from a PC (for those receivers that include an RS232 port), but nixed the idea as it was too risky (could brick the receiver).

-CB

Problem is, thanks to smoothie, I installed the Golden Compass update almost 2 years ago and I still have the audio problems with Star Wars. I'm just wondering if anyone here has better connections to someone at Denon that may be able to help get to the bottom of this issue.

PSN ID: RollTide1017
rolltide1017 is offline  
post #3478 of 3834 Old 09-23-2011, 07:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,616
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
Denon has resolved the Star Wars: The Complete Saga BD audio dropout issue with a firmware update. Although the firmware update will be made available at authorized repair facilities for all models as an "in warranty" repair, regardless of whether actually beyond the 2 year warranty period, DenonJeff will be providing the update to me in the next week so for those 2808CI/988 owners that feel comfortable doing their own installation which will require a PC laptop and USB to RS-232 cable. Note that this update is being provided as a courtesy and as such is not supported by Denon should you have any problems with the installation (ie. you cannot call Denon for assistance). If you don't feel comfortable with doing the installation on your own, simply submit it to an authorized repair facility that is able to do the update for you, or the work around is to simply set the Blu Ray player to LPCM, or otherwise "not" bitstream. Please PM me with your model # and email address to receive the firmware update and instructions to install the update. For more information on firmware installation (in general), refer to post #2013 in the 2310CI thread.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3479 of 3834 Old 09-23-2011, 07:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,616
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 1524
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post

Problem is, thanks to smoothie, I installed the Golden Compass update almost 2 years ago and I still have the audio problems with Star Wars. I'm just wondering if anyone here has better connections to someone at Denon that may be able to help get to the bottom of this issue.

The "Golden Compass" reference by Chris was only meant to say that a similar issue with that disc was resolved with a firmware update, not that it would also resolve the Star Wars issue as well. Please refer to my post above.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3480 of 3834 Old 10-08-2011, 04:02 PM
Member
 
Bobdeang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Sorry for the post here, but this is the only active thread for Denons. I had in a box for two years a Denon 687 that I just hooked up. It was a refurb I bought online. After just 5 months of limited usage, the power on blinks to shut itself off right away. I have disconnected all the speaker wires one by one, and still blinks, inputs are all out now too. Nothing. Now out of my extended warranty by a month, timing is everything. Any recommendations? Anything I can check or do? I saw something about a microprocessor reset or something? May not apply to a unit this old. I spent $150 bucks to buy, throw it out if there is nothing I can check to fix? Seems to me reading a whole bunch of posts, the reliability of Denons is questionable? Also, my new budget is $250 bucks...does that rule out Denon and push me to say Onkyo? They seem to be the competing AVR with lots of recos. The 7.1 feature for two more speakers or two stereo's I would probably never use. Just came with it and at the time seemed like a steal.
Bobdeang is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2808ci Receiver , Denon Avr 988 7 1 Channel Multizone Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - 2808ci by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off