The "Official" Denon AVR-2808CI Owners Thread - Page 128 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3811 of 3822 Old 03-19-2014, 05:21 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
^^
If it won't power on with nothing connected, then it likely needs to be repaired/replaced, although you will be better served putting the $300 or so repair costs into a newer model AVR that includes networking.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3812 of 3822 Old 03-19-2014, 07:39 PM
Newbie
 
tehhippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, damn. Thanks for the help. This was a free "hand-me-down" that I was going to replace my 1910 with if I could get it to work. Guess I'll stick with the 1910 for awhile longer.
tehhippy is offline  
post #3813 of 3822 Old 03-22-2014, 04:53 AM
Newbie
 
Yuzaini Jie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
I forwarded the firmware update to you via your PM request.

Thanks jdsmoothie. My 2808 works well now. 

Yuzaini Jie is offline  
post #3814 of 3822 Old 04-22-2014, 04:25 PM
Member
 
riker1384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of buying a used 2808, but it doesn't come with any accessories. Can I use the remote and Audyssey mic from my 1908?
riker1384 is offline  
post #3815 of 3822 Old 04-22-2014, 04:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
Yes, but the remote won't be able to access all the features of the 2808CI. Better option is to get a Harmony remote instead.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3816 of 3822 Old 04-25-2014, 03:48 PM
Member
 
riker1384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could I access the all the features using the controls on the receiver?
riker1384 is offline  
post #3817 of 3822 Old 04-25-2014, 03:49 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
For the most part .. yes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3818 of 3822 Old 04-25-2014, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
joepapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mine is still working, i love this receiver but saving now for x4000 with audessy x32.
joepapas is online now  
post #3819 of 3822 Old 04-26-2014, 04:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
^^
This happened awhile back on my 2808CI as well, however the issue was quickly resolved by doing a microprocessor reset (p. 50 Owner's manual). Give it a try.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3820 of 3822 Old 04-26-2014, 04:27 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
Quote:
Originally Posted by joepapas View Post

mine is still working, i love this receiver but saving now for x4000 with audessy x32.

I made the upgrade last summer to the X4000. In addition to the much more advanced Audyssey MultEQ XT32 which really improved center channel dialogue and overall audio fidelity, the addition of the networking feature is nice as I can control the unit from anywhere in the house using my smartphone. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3821 of 3822 Old 07-06-2014, 07:26 PM
Member
 
BAdz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Folks,

Currently I use the FL/C/FR pre-out's from my 2808 to an Emotiva XPA 3 amplifier and I use the Denon's amps to power everything else. The sound is great, but I simply can't survive with only the two HDMI input's that my 2808 offers anymore and I've been thinking about either upgrading to a new AVR, or if possible go the separates route with a pre/pro and then power amps.


I am curious if I can buy a pre/pro and still use the amps that are built into my 2808? Is that what the EXT-IN jacks are for? In the end of the day I'd like to get a pre/pro and additional power amps and scrap the AVR altogether, but I simply do not have the money for that. If I can salvage the amps in my Denon while upgrading to something that can handle more HDMI inputs (and maybe some other bells and whistles like Dolby Atmos) that would be ideal for now.

BAdz is offline  
post #3822 of 3822 Old 07-06-2014, 07:32 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
^^
You could, but note there is no Audyssey on the EXT IN inputs.
BAdz likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2808ci Receiver , Denon Avr 988 7 1 Channel Multizone Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off