The "Official" Denon AVR-2808CI Owners Thread - Page 128 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3811 of 3845 Old 03-19-2014, 06:21 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,509
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
^^
If it won't power on with nothing connected, then it likely needs to be repaired/replaced, although you will be better served putting the $300 or so repair costs into a newer model AVR that includes networking.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3812 of 3845 Old 03-19-2014, 08:39 PM
Newbie
 
tehhippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, damn. Thanks for the help. This was a free "hand-me-down" that I was going to replace my 1910 with if I could get it to work. Guess I'll stick with the 1910 for awhile longer.
tehhippy is offline  
post #3813 of 3845 Old 03-22-2014, 05:53 AM
Newbie
 
Yuzaini Jie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
I forwarded the firmware update to you via your PM request.

Thanks jdsmoothie. My 2808 works well now. 

Yuzaini Jie is offline  
post #3814 of 3845 Old 04-22-2014, 05:25 PM
Member
 
riker1384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of buying a used 2808, but it doesn't come with any accessories. Can I use the remote and Audyssey mic from my 1908?
riker1384 is offline  
post #3815 of 3845 Old 04-22-2014, 05:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,509
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
Yes, but the remote won't be able to access all the features of the 2808CI. Better option is to get a Harmony remote instead.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3816 of 3845 Old 04-25-2014, 04:48 PM
Member
 
riker1384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could I access the all the features using the controls on the receiver?
riker1384 is offline  
post #3817 of 3845 Old 04-25-2014, 04:49 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,509
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
For the most part .. yes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3818 of 3845 Old 04-25-2014, 04:57 PM
Newbie
 
joepapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mine is still working, i love this receiver but saving now for x4000 with audessy x32.
joepapas is offline  
post #3819 of 3845 Old 04-26-2014, 05:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,509
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
^^
This happened awhile back on my 2808CI as well, however the issue was quickly resolved by doing a microprocessor reset (p. 50 Owner's manual). Give it a try.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3820 of 3845 Old 04-26-2014, 05:27 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,509
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
Quote:
Originally Posted by joepapas View Post

mine is still working, i love this receiver but saving now for x4000 with audessy x32.

I made the upgrade last summer to the X4000. In addition to the much more advanced Audyssey MultEQ XT32 which really improved center channel dialogue and overall audio fidelity, the addition of the networking feature is nice as I can control the unit from anywhere in the house using my smartphone. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3821 of 3845 Old 07-06-2014, 08:26 PM
Member
 
BAdz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Folks,

Currently I use the FL/C/FR pre-out's from my 2808 to an Emotiva XPA 3 amplifier and I use the Denon's amps to power everything else. The sound is great, but I simply can't survive with only the two HDMI input's that my 2808 offers anymore and I've been thinking about either upgrading to a new AVR, or if possible go the separates route with a pre/pro and then power amps.


I am curious if I can buy a pre/pro and still use the amps that are built into my 2808? Is that what the EXT-IN jacks are for? In the end of the day I'd like to get a pre/pro and additional power amps and scrap the AVR altogether, but I simply do not have the money for that. If I can salvage the amps in my Denon while upgrading to something that can handle more HDMI inputs (and maybe some other bells and whistles like Dolby Atmos) that would be ideal for now.

BAdz is offline  
post #3822 of 3845 Old 07-06-2014, 08:32 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,509
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
^^
You could, but note there is no Audyssey on the EXT IN inputs.
BAdz likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3823 of 3845 Old 07-29-2014, 12:11 AM
Member
 
Kerimhadzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the 2808ci work with 4k tvs? Thanks
Kerimhadzi is offline  
post #3824 of 3845 Old 07-29-2014, 03:30 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,509
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
^^
Sure. As with any TV, it will simply upscale a signal to its fixed frame resolution capability.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3825 of 3845 Old 07-29-2014, 06:07 AM
Member
 
Kerimhadzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Sure. As with any TV, it will simply upscale a signal to its fixed frame resolution capability.
Thanks for the fast response. Is there a way to turn this feature off so the tv does the upscaling on its own? Thanks
Kerimhadzi is offline  
post #3826 of 3845 Old 07-29-2014, 10:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,032
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1156 Post(s)
Liked: 1593
He's referring to the tv upscaling. The receiver can't scale to 4k. The point is that the device doesn't have to support the full resolution of the display because the display itself will upscale. Note though that the 2808 can't pass through 4k source material.

To turn off scaling in the receiver just turn off the I/p scaler setting.
ricemanva likes this.
batpig is online now  
post #3827 of 3845 Old 09-22-2014, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Would someone be willing to email me the latest firmware update for the AVR-2808CI? I tried calling Denon but the person I talked to said that there was not one.

Thank you,

Darren
Aerocoupe is offline  
post #3828 of 3845 Old 09-22-2014, 09:39 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,509
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
^^
The latest/last firmware update for the USA 2808CI was provided back in early 2012. Please PM, email, or call me with your non-gmail email address and I can forward it to you.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 09-22-2014 at 09:42 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3829 of 3845 Old 09-22-2014, 11:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you JD. Just sent you an email since I cannot yet PM.

Darren
Aerocoupe is offline  
post #3830 of 3845 Old 09-22-2014, 01:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,509
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
Yup. Emailed it out to you.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3831 of 3845 Old 09-23-2014, 11:56 AM
Newbie
 
rduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup. Emailed it out to you.
Hello,

I have got a 2808 silver (europe) and would like to know if there is a solution to passtrought hdmi 3D over the amp to projector ?
Official firmware 1.11 updated, but nothing about it in th change logs...

Any idea ?

Best regardes
rduc is offline  
post #3832 of 3845 Old 09-23-2014, 02:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,032
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1156 Post(s)
Liked: 1593
Quote:
Originally Posted by rduc View Post
Hello,

I have got a 2808 silver (europe) and would like to know if there is a solution to passtrought hdmi 3D over the amp to projector ?
Official firmware 1.11 updated, but nothing about it in th change logs...

Any idea ?

Best regardes
This receiver is too old to support 3D passthrough. It's not a firmware issue, it's hardware.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #3833 of 3845 Old 09-25-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aham23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dang. one of my HDMI ports appears to NOT be working anymore. swapped out cables and devices and get nothing. anyway to check the port beyond yet? funny thing is i had an HDDVD player on this port which i am tossing aside to hook up my AppleTV.

if it is toast what is a good Denon replacement? this is my HT for movies and TV only. i am not a really HiDef or Tech geek anymore. basically running Uverse, BluRay, and AppleTV through it then out to my projector, the Black Pearl (love that name still).

much thanks guys!
aham23 is offline  
post #3834 of 3845 Old 09-25-2014, 05:18 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,509
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
^^
Depending on your budget, you can get last year's Denon X2000 on clearance which uses the same version of Audyssey MultEQ XT.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3835 of 3845 Old 10-11-2014, 05:55 PM
Member
 
pmauro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I can't figure out how to search this thread so sorry if this was discussed already.

I am not getting any sound with my new XBOX One. Never did any firmware updates.

Is this a known issue? Should I updated the firmware?

pete
pmauro is offline  
post #3836 of 3845 Old 10-11-2014, 08:27 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,509
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
^^
Try powering on the TV first, wait 5 sec, then the AVR, wait 5 sec, then the xBox. PM me with a non-gmail email address if you would like the firmware.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3837 of 3845 Old 10-13-2014, 12:56 PM
Newbie
 
audijfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware update

Hi
Where to get the firmware update for the 2808 ci and on to install it?
My left channel keeps on quitting but i can get it to come back by switching
the speaker button on the remote. I'm using Front A speakers in a 5.1 setting.
It seems to do it more when it's dry wheater When it's humid it does it less?
What could cause this? Could i use Front B speakers as main in a 5.1
settings instead is this possible with this amp Would that solve the problem?

Many thanks in advance!!
audijfr is offline  
post #3838 of 3845 Old 10-13-2014, 01:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,509
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1996 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
^^
PM me with a non-gmail email address and I can forward the update with instructions to you. You can use Front B instead or do the microprocessor reset procedure listed in your Owner's manual.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3839 of 3845 Old 10-13-2014, 05:44 PM
Newbie
 
audijfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
PM me with a non-gmail email address and I can forward the update with instructions to you. You can use Front B instead or do the microprocessor reset procedure listed in your Owner's manual.
Hi sorry i can't PM you i don't have enough post?

J-F
audijfr is offline  
post #3840 of 3845 Old 10-13-2014, 05:51 PM
Newbie
 
audijfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
PM me with a non-gmail email address and I can forward the update with instructions to you. You can use Front B instead or do the microprocessor reset procedure listed in your Owner's manual.
Thanks for your help!
So i could redo The Auto set up and just select Front B for main this would
work for The Audyssey set up. Would i have to change Amp Assign?

JFR
audijfr is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2808ci Receiver , Denon Avr 988 7 1 Channel Multizone Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - 2808ci by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off