The "Official" Denon AVR-2808CI Owners Thread - Page 128 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3811 of 3826 Old 03-19-2014, 05:21 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,652
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
^^
If it won't power on with nothing connected, then it likely needs to be repaired/replaced, although you will be better served putting the $300 or so repair costs into a newer model AVR that includes networking.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3812 of 3826 Old 03-19-2014, 07:39 PM
Newbie
 
tehhippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, damn. Thanks for the help. This was a free "hand-me-down" that I was going to replace my 1910 with if I could get it to work. Guess I'll stick with the 1910 for awhile longer.
tehhippy is offline  
post #3813 of 3826 Old 03-22-2014, 04:53 AM
Newbie
 
Yuzaini Jie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
I forwarded the firmware update to you via your PM request.

Thanks jdsmoothie. My 2808 works well now. 

Yuzaini Jie is offline  
post #3814 of 3826 Old 04-22-2014, 04:25 PM
Member
 
riker1384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of buying a used 2808, but it doesn't come with any accessories. Can I use the remote and Audyssey mic from my 1908?
riker1384 is offline  
post #3815 of 3826 Old 04-22-2014, 04:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,652
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Yes, but the remote won't be able to access all the features of the 2808CI. Better option is to get a Harmony remote instead.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3816 of 3826 Old 04-25-2014, 03:48 PM
Member
 
riker1384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could I access the all the features using the controls on the receiver?
riker1384 is offline  
post #3817 of 3826 Old 04-25-2014, 03:49 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,652
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
For the most part .. yes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3818 of 3826 Old 04-25-2014, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
joepapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mine is still working, i love this receiver but saving now for x4000 with audessy x32.
joepapas is offline  
post #3819 of 3826 Old 04-26-2014, 04:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,652
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
^^
This happened awhile back on my 2808CI as well, however the issue was quickly resolved by doing a microprocessor reset (p. 50 Owner's manual). Give it a try.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3820 of 3826 Old 04-26-2014, 04:27 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,652
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Quote:
Originally Posted by joepapas View Post

mine is still working, i love this receiver but saving now for x4000 with audessy x32.

I made the upgrade last summer to the X4000. In addition to the much more advanced Audyssey MultEQ XT32 which really improved center channel dialogue and overall audio fidelity, the addition of the networking feature is nice as I can control the unit from anywhere in the house using my smartphone. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3821 of 3826 Old 07-06-2014, 07:26 PM
Member
 
BAdz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Folks,

Currently I use the FL/C/FR pre-out's from my 2808 to an Emotiva XPA 3 amplifier and I use the Denon's amps to power everything else. The sound is great, but I simply can't survive with only the two HDMI input's that my 2808 offers anymore and I've been thinking about either upgrading to a new AVR, or if possible go the separates route with a pre/pro and then power amps.


I am curious if I can buy a pre/pro and still use the amps that are built into my 2808? Is that what the EXT-IN jacks are for? In the end of the day I'd like to get a pre/pro and additional power amps and scrap the AVR altogether, but I simply do not have the money for that. If I can salvage the amps in my Denon while upgrading to something that can handle more HDMI inputs (and maybe some other bells and whistles like Dolby Atmos) that would be ideal for now.

BAdz is offline  
post #3822 of 3826 Old 07-06-2014, 07:32 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,652
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
^^
You could, but note there is no Audyssey on the EXT IN inputs.
BAdz likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3823 of 3826 Old 07-28-2014, 11:11 PM
Newbie
 
Kerimhadzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the 2808ci work with 4k tvs? Thanks
Kerimhadzi is offline  
post #3824 of 3826 Old 07-29-2014, 02:30 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,652
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
^^
Sure. As with any TV, it will simply upscale a signal to its fixed frame resolution capability.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3825 of 3826 Old 07-29-2014, 05:07 AM
Newbie
 
Kerimhadzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Sure. As with any TV, it will simply upscale a signal to its fixed frame resolution capability.
Thanks for the fast response. Is there a way to turn this feature off so the tv does the upscaling on its own? Thanks
Kerimhadzi is offline  
post #3826 of 3826 Old 07-29-2014, 09:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 1023
He's referring to the tv upscaling. The receiver can't scale to 4k. The point is that the device doesn't have to support the full resolution of the display because the display itself will upscale. Note though that the 2808 can't pass through 4k source material.

To turn off scaling in the receiver just turn off the I/p scaler setting.
ricemanva likes this.
batpig is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2808ci Receiver , Denon Avr 988 7 1 Channel Multizone Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - 2808ci by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off