The "Official" Denon AVR-2808CI Owners Thread - Page 129 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3841 of 3859 Old 10-14-2014, 02:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,336
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
^^
No need to change AMP ASSIGN.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3842 of 3859 Old 11-03-2014, 07:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,336
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
^^
This is simply showing the status of the "input signal."

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3843 of 3859 Old 11-04-2014, 04:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,336
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
^^
Correct.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3844 of 3859 Old 11-05-2014, 05:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,336
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
As in will your ears notice a difference? Not likely.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3845 of 3859 Old 12-06-2014, 08:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Please send me the latest firmware file as well. Having same issue with 7.1. Just got my 2808ci and apart from that it is awesome! 50 bucks took it home with remote and manual.
misomeru is offline  
post #3846 of 3859 Old 12-29-2014, 09:31 PM
Newbie
 
Dred210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello i have the AVR 988 receiver and i read a long time ago an issue where the base was over saturated or something. I thought a firmware update might fix it.. Can you send me the firmware update.?

basically i have two full range front speakers and when i add the subwoofer as well just seems like its too much. I have the speakers set to large. while using a subwoofer.

Thanks.
Dred210 is offline  
post #3847 of 3859 Old 12-30-2014, 04:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,336
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
What version of firmware is loaded on my 2808CI/988?

In order to check your firmware Main Ver # and Sub Ver#, using the buttons on the front panel display (not the remote) first turn the 2808CI/988 ON (green light around power button). Then using the small power button, power the 2808CI/988 OFF (not in standby). Then turn the power of the 2808CI/988 ON with the little power button, while holding both the [RETURN] button and [STATUS] button (located under the flap on the front panel) simultaneously. After the unit powers on, each time the STATUS button is pressed, it will cycle through the various software version numbers including the Main Ver# and Sub Ver#.

The latest firmware I have available will bring the unit to: Main Ver = 00.69 and Sub Ver = 00.34

If your unit has this version number, no further update required. If it has an earlier version, refer to post 3478 in this thread for more info and either PM me a non-gmail/non-edu email address or you can email me using a non-gmail/non-edu email address at jd@avscience.com and request the update.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3848 of 3859 Old 12-30-2014, 04:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,336
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dred210 View Post
Hello i have the AVR 988 receiver and i read a long time ago an issue where the base was over saturated or something. I thought a firmware update might fix it.. Can you send me the firmware update.?

basically i have two full range front speakers and when i add the subwoofer as well just seems like its too much. I have the speakers set to large. while using a subwoofer.

Thanks.
When you have a dedicated subwoofer, your FL/FR speakers should be set to SMALL/80Hz.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3849 of 3859 Old 05-30-2015, 01:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello there JD, im experiencing a slight issue with my 2808. It seems that after ive set-up the receiver to the setting that i like, it keeps on changing after sometimes such as the channel level, the tone setting, the surround parameter and a few other areas. Though ive engaged the set-up lock, it still reseting itself to the other setting....most probably the ones that the Audyssey had done. Any idea why that is happening and is there any way i can stop it from resetting? Thanks.
Yuzaini Jie is offline  
post #3850 of 3859 Old 05-30-2015, 02:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,336
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuzaini Jie View Post
Hello there JD, im experiencing a slight issue with my 2808. It seems that after ive set-up the receiver to the setting that i like, it keeps on changing after sometimes such as the channel level, the tone setting, the surround parameter and a few other areas. Though ive engaged the set-up lock, it still reseting itself to the other setting....most probably the ones that the Audyssey had done. Any idea why that is happening and is there any way i can stop it from resetting? Thanks.
If you are using a Quick Select to power on a specific device, you'll need to re-memorize the Quick Select after making any setting changes. Otherwise, any changes you make in Manual Setup should be saved and become the new active settings.

If not using the Quick Selects and if the unit is reverting back to the Auto Setup changes only after the unit is powered to Standby, there's some kind of memory issue, likely resolved only by repair.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3851 of 3859 Old 06-10-2015, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
Zerk71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy No audio with 2808, video works fine

I am having a different problem that others that I've read on here with their 2808's. I have video but no audio at all.
I was watching TV one night, turned everything off, woke up the next morning, turned everything on and had no audio at all from any source, but the video was normal. I pulled the top off and saw about 7-8 fuses that were all fine. Any ideas??
Zerk71 is offline  
post #3852 of 3859 Old 06-11-2015, 03:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,336
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
^^
Is this just happening on one source or all sources? If just one source, press the INPUT button on the remote and ensure it says AUTO or HDMI. Otherwise, if all sources, power off the AVR and unplug the power cable for 10 minutes and try again.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3853 of 3859 Old 06-11-2015, 01:27 PM
Newbie
 
Zerk71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Is this just happening on one source or all sources? If just one source, press the INPUT button on the remote and ensure it says AUTO or HDMI. Otherwise, if all sources, power off the AVR and unplug the power cable for 10 minutes and try again.
Sadly, unplugging it didn't work... I think it may need a new board or be dead
Zerk71 is offline  
post #3854 of 3859 Old 06-11-2015, 01:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,336
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
^^
The next step would be to do multiple microprocessor resets in a row (p. 50 Owner's manual). If still no joy, then time to upgrade to something more current with networking capability.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3855 of 3859 Old 07-01-2015, 07:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
A recent phenomenon: My Oppo BPD-83SE is sending DTS-HD Master via HDMI to my Denon AVR-2808CI, however the AVR displays DTS Surround. This happens only on certain Blu-ray discs. On others the AVR displays DTS-HD MSTR. I play the same disc on a Sony player in my family room, and my Onkyo AVR displays DTS-HD MSTR. Just as a precaution, I have unplugged the RCA audio cables connecting the two devices. On the audio input side of the display it just displays dts and DIG (no DTS-HD MSTR even though my Oppo player displays it). As I said, on most other discs it is decoded/displayed correctly. I switched HDMI cables to use the one I was using with the Onkyo AVR, but I still get DTS Surround. Any ideas? This is frustrating!
wconde is offline  
post #3856 of 3859 Old 07-02-2015, 01:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,336
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
^^
As a test, connect the Sony BDP to the 2808CI and play the DTS-HD MA audio.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3857 of 3859 Old Yesterday, 10:57 PM
Member
 
JeffR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 17
4K at 30, 25, 24 and 23 Hz. (also 2160 x 3840p, but not anything above 30hz)
Just bought a Sony 300es native 4K projector and wanted to see what the max resolution would pass through the 988 and surprisingly the above resolutions are supported in the NVIDIA control panel.
I thought the max HDMI spec on this AVR is 1.3a, which is not supposed to support anything beyond 1920 x 1080p ???

What's going on here, has the industry been lying to us _ getting us to spend wheel barrel fulls of money when we don't have to; upgrading to AVR's that support 4K resolution and 2160 x 2840p ?
JeffR1 is online now  
post #3858 of 3859 Old Today, 02:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: #585-645-1006
Posts: 53,336
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5084 Post(s)
Liked: 2614
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffR1 View Post
4K at 30, 25, 24 and 23 Hz. (also 2160 x 3840p, but not anything above 30hz)
Just bought a Sony 300es native 4K projector and wanted to see what the max resolution would pass through the 988 and surprisingly the above resolutions are supported in the NVIDIA control panel.
I thought the max HDMI spec on this AVR is 1.3a, which is not supposed to support anything beyond 1920 x 1080p ???

What's going on here, has the industry been lying to us _ getting us to spend wheel barrel fulls of money when we don't have to; upgrading to AVR's that support 4K resolution and 2160 x 2840p ?
If you select HDMI Information (p. 42 Owner's manual) on the AVR, what is the resolution listed? Although your HTPC might be able to pass 4k, from the EDID received from the AVR, it's likely only passing a 1080p signal. Regardless, once the new 4k UHD BDPs are released later this fall, a 4k BD encrypted with HDCP 2.2 won't pass through any Denon AVR mfr'd before 2015.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3859 of 3859 Old Today, 10:26 AM
Member
 
JeffR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you select HDMI Information (p. 42 Owner's manual) on the AVR, what is the resolution listed? Although your HTPC might be able to pass 4k, from the EDID received from the AVR, it's likely only passing a 1080p signal. Regardless, once the new 4k UHD BDPs are released later this fall, a 4k BD encrypted with HDCP 2.2 won't pass through any Denon AVR mfr'd before 2015.
Well I certainly jumped the gun on this, I just assumed that since the NVIDIA control panel gave 4K choices, that they would be available _ not, choosing one of them just produced a black screen.
And yes, HDPC 2.2 _ there are ways to get around that.

http://www.hdfury.com/shop/splitters...60-444-600mhz/

It's available for pre-order, but I'm going to wait and see just what's coming.
My plan is to use a BD XL reader for my HTPC.
I like SVP and MPC-HC so it would require the use of a decrypter, but all of this is so up in the air, I'll have to wait and see what happens or if even any of this is possible.

The biggest disappointment for me with UHD Blu-ray is it still will be filmed at 24 fps, so some sort of FI system will have to be applied.
The Sony 300es does an OK job at this, but it can't apply it's FI settings to 3840 x 2160p _ just black frame insertion.

I can't believe that Hollywood is still holding onto a specification that's been around since Thomas Edison.
It's like having a Ferrari with a Model "T" engine in it.
JeffR1 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2808ci Receiver , Denon Avr 988 7 1 Channel Multizone Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - 2808ci by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off