The "Official" Denon AVR-2808CI Owners Thread - Page 132 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3931 of 3941 Old 03-20-2017, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
Haider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think you can do the audessey setup without the mic as it does more than just distance and sound levels...u can get them quite cheap on eBay...
Haider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3932 of 3941 Old 03-20-2017, 10:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haider View Post
I don't think you can do the audessey setup without the mic as it does more than just distance and sound levels...u can get them quite cheap on eBay...
thanks
KennyB01 is online now  
post #3933 of 3941 Old Yesterday, 01:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,362
Mentioned: 276 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12592 Post(s)
Liked: 5762
Quote:
Originally Posted by KennyB01 View Post
newbie to this forum ,but I have hade the 2808 for years now and was forced to put my stuff in storage because my job moved and I had to go train other workers in Mexico for two year's. I can not find my mic and was wondering can it be set up with out the mic. I can not remember, and I have not found my manual yet. thanks
If you want to use the Audyssey EQ, you'll need to purchase the DM-A405 mic (no suitable substitutes), noting that was the last year that model mic was used by Denon AVRs.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Audyssey-Den...3D290777355887
jdsmoothie is offline  
 
post #3934 of 3941 Old Yesterday, 02:27 AM
Newbie
 
Haider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well worth it really, When you think you've spent all that cash on audio gear it's worth spending the extra bucks to get it setup and sounding right in your audio environment. It's where I think professional installations have the edge. A lot of people spend big money on the boxes but don't have the skills to adapt a room's acoustics and calibrate their boxes to deliver their best sonic performance in their room...
Haider is offline  
post #3935 of 3941 Old Yesterday, 01:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
all right, after going through my stuff I have a few issues, and I want to explain how I had the system set up before. I do not remember having to use the mic, but I could be wrong, so I am going to explain most of my set up.
I used only the pre out and had Onkyo grand Integra's coming off the pre outs.
all my speakers was JBL or Cerwin Vega's

I can not find my hdmi cable and was looking on eBay for a replacement and realized they have up graded a lot since I bought mine, I believe the ones I bought was like a 1.4 compatible, but now they have the 2.0 witch is for a 4k and that is the Sony TV I just bought. plus they have gold plated ones and braided ones. would value another's opinion about this on witch ones to look for.

last but least, I can not find my sub remote, do I need it, and after you read my set up, will I still need the mic? thanks

your help and opinion's are appreciated.
KennyB01 is online now  
post #3936 of 3941 Old Yesterday, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,362
Mentioned: 276 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12592 Post(s)
Liked: 5762
If you want better audio quality, you'll purchase the Audyssey mic and run Audyssey.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3937 of 3941 Old Yesterday, 09:39 PM
Member
 
cocobeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Visalia, CA 93292
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you want better audio quality, you'll purchase the Audyssey mic and run Audyssey.
Agree 100%.

-= Jed =-
cocobeli is offline  
post #3938 of 3941 Old Today, 02:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
all ready ordered one from the url that jdsmoothie provided, along with the manual thanks for that. I only got to use the system for two months before I put all my stuff in storage to go south of the boarder and train someone to do my job down their.

any suggestions on the HDMI cable. thanks
KennyB01 is online now  
post #3939 of 3941 Old Today, 02:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,362
Mentioned: 276 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12592 Post(s)
Liked: 5762
Quote:
Originally Posted by KennyB01 View Post
all ready ordered one from the url that jdsmoothie provided, along with the manual thanks for that. I only got to use the system for two months before I put all my stuff in storage to go south of the boarder and train someone to do my job down their.

any suggestions on the HDMI cable. thanks
Any High Speed HDMI cable will work just fine. The 2808CI is 10 years old, using only HDMI 1.3 so pretty far behind in technology.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3940 of 3941 Old Today, 02:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
just found this about the mic

Manufacturer ID
ID DM A-405
NOTICE: model avr 3808ci uses the DM A-505Z for original versions and DM A-405 for upgraded version. I only bring this up because I sent my unit in when I first got it because of a out put problem.
anyway just thought someone might know if their is a real difference or if I is one in the same with a new part# thanks
KennyB01 is online now  
post #3941 of 3941 Old Today, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Any High Speed HDMI cable will work just fine. The 2808CI is 10 years old, using only HDMI 1.3 so pretty far behind in technology.
had not even thought about that. had it a two or three years before hooking it up and used it for about three months then my job announced it was moving to Mexico, I was one of the ones they wanted to go down their and train, so I put my stuff in storage and went down their for two years and four months. and here I am. back to the future.
KennyB01 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2808ci Receiver , Denon Avr 988 7 1 Channel Multizone Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off