The "Official" Denon AVR-2808CI Owners Thread - Page 132 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3931 of 3951 Old 03-20-2017, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
Haider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think you can do the audessey setup without the mic as it does more than just distance and sound levels...u can get them quite cheap on eBay...
Haider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3932 of 3951 Old 03-20-2017, 10:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haider View Post
I don't think you can do the audessey setup without the mic as it does more than just distance and sound levels...u can get them quite cheap on eBay...
thanks
KennyB01 is offline  
post #3933 of 3951 Old 03-21-2017, 01:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,881
Mentioned: 387 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15387 Post(s)
Liked: 7528
Quote:
Originally Posted by KennyB01 View Post
newbie to this forum ,but I have hade the 2808 for years now and was forced to put my stuff in storage because my job moved and I had to go train other workers in Mexico for two year's. I can not find my mic and was wondering can it be set up with out the mic. I can not remember, and I have not found my manual yet. thanks
If you want to use the Audyssey EQ, you'll need to purchase the DM-A405 mic (no suitable substitutes), noting that was the last year that model mic was used by Denon AVRs.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Audyssey-Den...3D290777355887
jdsmoothie is offline  
 
post #3934 of 3951 Old 03-21-2017, 02:27 AM
Newbie
 
Haider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well worth it really, When you think you've spent all that cash on audio gear it's worth spending the extra bucks to get it setup and sounding right in your audio environment. It's where I think professional installations have the edge. A lot of people spend big money on the boxes but don't have the skills to adapt a room's acoustics and calibrate their boxes to deliver their best sonic performance in their room...
Haider is offline  
post #3935 of 3951 Old 03-21-2017, 01:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
all right, after going through my stuff I have a few issues, and I want to explain how I had the system set up before. I do not remember having to use the mic, but I could be wrong, so I am going to explain most of my set up.
I used only the pre out and had Onkyo grand Integra's coming off the pre outs.
all my speakers was JBL or Cerwin Vega's

I can not find my hdmi cable and was looking on eBay for a replacement and realized they have up graded a lot since I bought mine, I believe the ones I bought was like a 1.4 compatible, but now they have the 2.0 witch is for a 4k and that is the Sony TV I just bought. plus they have gold plated ones and braided ones. would value another's opinion about this on witch ones to look for.

last but least, I can not find my sub remote, do I need it, and after you read my set up, will I still need the mic? thanks

your help and opinion's are appreciated.
KennyB01 is offline  
post #3936 of 3951 Old 03-21-2017, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,881
Mentioned: 387 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15387 Post(s)
Liked: 7528
If you want better audio quality, you'll purchase the Audyssey mic and run Audyssey.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3937 of 3951 Old 03-21-2017, 09:39 PM
Member
 
cocobeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Visalia, CA 93292
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you want better audio quality, you'll purchase the Audyssey mic and run Audyssey.
Agree 100%.

-= Jed =-
cocobeli is offline  
post #3938 of 3951 Old 03-22-2017, 02:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
all ready ordered one from the url that jdsmoothie provided, along with the manual thanks for that. I only got to use the system for two months before I put all my stuff in storage to go south of the boarder and train someone to do my job down their.

any suggestions on the HDMI cable. thanks
KennyB01 is offline  
post #3939 of 3951 Old 03-22-2017, 02:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,881
Mentioned: 387 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15387 Post(s)
Liked: 7528
Quote:
Originally Posted by KennyB01 View Post
all ready ordered one from the url that jdsmoothie provided, along with the manual thanks for that. I only got to use the system for two months before I put all my stuff in storage to go south of the boarder and train someone to do my job down their.

any suggestions on the HDMI cable. thanks
Any High Speed HDMI cable will work just fine. The 2808CI is 10 years old, using only HDMI 1.3 so pretty far behind in technology.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3940 of 3951 Old 03-22-2017, 02:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
just found this about the mic

Manufacturer ID
ID DM A-405
NOTICE: model avr 3808ci uses the DM A-505Z for original versions and DM A-405 for upgraded version. I only bring this up because I sent my unit in when I first got it because of a out put problem.
anyway just thought someone might know if their is a real difference or if I is one in the same with a new part# thanks
KennyB01 is offline  
post #3941 of 3951 Old 03-22-2017, 01:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Any High Speed HDMI cable will work just fine. The 2808CI is 10 years old, using only HDMI 1.3 so pretty far behind in technology.
had not even thought about that. had it a two or three years before hooking it up and used it for about three months then my job announced it was moving to Mexico, I was one of the ones they wanted to go down their and train, so I put my stuff in storage and went down their for two years and four months. and here I am. back to the future.
KennyB01 is offline  
post #3942 of 3951 Old 03-29-2017, 05:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I know that this is a old thread but I want to at least get this set up so that I might have all the work done for a up grade (which I have upgraded my monitor to a 75" sharp 4K). anyway my question is about the front speakers A&B which was covered a little in this forum from post#747 to #754 and briefly in the manual on pg. 31 and a little on pgs. 57-59. I guess this might be two questions since I have not began to do the set up.

1) will the set up let you use the pre out and the bi outs at the same time, or does it make you choose during set up?

2) if you use the front pre out, which speakers does the set up control A or B, or does the set up program automatically assign it?


thanks

also, what is the newest Demon avr out today
KennyB01 is offline  
post #3943 of 3951 Old 03-29-2017, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,881
Mentioned: 387 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15387 Post(s)
Liked: 7528
Quote:
Originally Posted by KennyB01 View Post
I know that this is a old thread but I want to at least get this set up so that I might have all the work done for a up grade (which I have upgraded my monitor to a 75" sharp 4K). anyway my question is about the front speakers A&B which was covered a little in this forum from post#747 to #754 and briefly in the manual on pg. 31 and a little on pgs. 57-59. I guess this might be two questions since I have not began to do the set up.

1) will the set up let you use the pre out and the bi outs at the same time, or does it make you choose during set up?

2) if you use the front pre out, which speakers does the set up control A or B, or does the set up program automatically assign it?


thanks

also, what is the newest Demon avr out today
1. You can use the FL/FR pre-outs and the FL/FR bi-amp speaker posts at the same time.
2. Depends on whether you have A, B, or A+B selected.
3. The current successor to the 2808CI is the X4300H.

Refer to the 2016 Denon AVR Owner's thread linked in my sig for more information on the 2016 models.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3944 of 3951 Old 03-29-2017, 01:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
thanks, and I will be joining 2016 denon thread to soon.
KennyB01 is offline  
post #3945 of 3951 Old 03-29-2017, 10:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. You can use the FL/FR pre-outs and the FL/FR bi-amp speaker posts at the same time.
2. Depends on whether you have A, B, or A+B selected.
3. The current successor to the 2808CI is the X4300H.

Refer to the 2016 Denon AVR Owner's thread linked in my sig for more information on the 2016 models.
jdsmoothie
sorry to impose like this, but since I did not know which thread to post this on I thought I would do it this away (posting on both this one time).
I have looked at speaker configurations on booth. looks like I can turn my front B's from the avr-2808ci into height1 and install 2 more on back for the height2 from the avr-x4300h.
the lack of analog outs is ok since I still run most my analog trough my denon pra-1500 pre-amp.
is their a way to use my denon ipod dock with this set up (avr-x4300h)?
also (since I have not read the manual yet, and I am going to start on your thread this weekend for the 2016 denon avr), but I see the avr-x4300h is using 2 sub outs, what is the deal on that?
anyway I am going to be working on a transitions as I do my old new install. from a denon avr-2808ci to a avr-4300h

Last edited by KennyB01; 03-29-2017 at 10:23 PM. Reason: left out description
KennyB01 is offline  
post #3946 of 3951 Old 03-30-2017, 04:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,881
Mentioned: 387 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15387 Post(s)
Liked: 7528
Quote:
Originally Posted by KennyB01 View Post
jdsmoothie
sorry to impose like this, but since I did not know which thread to post this on I thought I would do it this away (posting on both this one time).
I have looked at speaker configurations on booth. looks like I can turn my front B's from the avr-2808ci into height1 and install 2 more on back for the height2 from the avr-x4300h.
the lack of analog outs is ok since I still run most my analog trough my denon pra-1500 pre-amp.
is their a way to use my denon ipod dock with this set up (avr-x4300h)?
also (since I have not read the manual yet, and I am going to start on your thread this weekend for the 2016 denon avr), but I see the avr-x4300h is using 2 sub outs, what is the deal on that?
anyway I am going to be working on a transitions as I do my old new install. from a denon avr-2808ci to a avr-4300h
It's a X4300H question so I responded in the 2016 Denon AVR Owner's thread.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3947 of 3951 Old 03-30-2017, 10:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arvada, Colorado (Denver area)
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 76
My father-in-law is using this AVR for a new basement refinish and will be using a Sony 850D 4K TV. Will this amp's HDMI monitor out support ARC from the Sony TV or do we need to run a Toslink cable?

I know this receiver is like 9 years old but we're trying to make it work! Thanks

Sent from my Nexus 5X
Cla55clown is offline  
post #3948 of 3951 Old 03-30-2017, 11:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 26,052
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1445 Post(s)
Liked: 983
No ARC on the 2808CI. It doesn't even have HDMI 1.4

Use a toslink cable.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3949 of 3951 Old 03-31-2017, 01:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,881
Mentioned: 387 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15387 Post(s)
Liked: 7528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cla55clown View Post
My father-in-law is using this AVR for a new basement refinish and will be using a Sony 850D 4K TV. Will this amp's HDMI monitor out support ARC from the Sony TV or do we need to run a Toslink cable?

I know this receiver is like 9 years old but we're trying to make it work! Thanks

Sent from my Nexus 5X
HDMI(ARC) was only first introduced on Denon AVRs in 2010 while the 2808CI was released in 2007. Note also that even on models that to feature HDMI(ARC), it doesn't always work which is why many simply use an optical cable and call it a day.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3950 of 3951 Old 03-31-2017, 02:44 AM
Newbie
 
Haider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cla55clown View Post
My father-in-law is using this AVR for a new basement refinish and will be using a Sony 850D 4K TV. Will this amp's HDMI monitor out support ARC from the Sony TV or do we need to run a Toslink cable?

I know this receiver is like 9 years old but we're trying to make it work! Thanks

Sent from my Nexus 5X


Just 'cause it's old don't knock it. I had the old Mirage Omnisat/X-box 360 system which fired up at the ceiling to give you diffuse 360 3D sound field, many moon later Dolby are try to copy that effect and their not nailing it compared to Omnisat X-box 360 system
Haider is offline  
post #3951 of 3951 Old 03-31-2017, 03:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arvada, Colorado (Denver area)
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
HDMI(ARC) was only first introduced on Denon AVRs in 2010 while the 2808CI was released in 2007. Note also that even on models that to feature HDMI(ARC), it doesn't always work which is why many simply use an optical cable and call it a day.
Dang, okay. I am already using 2 HDMI cables in his in-wall conduit and was hoping not to add a 3rd cable. That little tube is gonna be cramped! I use ARC at home with my Sony/Yamaha combo and have never had a problem.

I know, all this can be solved with an updated AVR
Cla55clown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2808ci Receiver , Denon Avr 988 7 1 Channel Multizone Home Theater Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off