The "Official" Denon AVR-2808CI Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3826 Old 09-18-2007, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Troyus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just wanted to start a thread for all owners of the Denon AVR-2808CI A/V receiver to post your impressions, useful information and a issues/resolutions for this unit. Mine will be arriving this week, and I'm sure there are others who will be receiving theirs soon or already have them up and running!

Here are some basic specs for anyone interested in purchasing one:

AVR-2808CI 7.1 CH/5.1+2 CH Home Theater/MultiMedia A/V Receiver with Network Client Compatible D-dock Port
Quote:


The AVR-2808CI has been fortified with the latest A/V upgrades positioning itself to become one of the most popular audio video receivers in the industry, continuing on in its predecessor's footsteps. The AVR-2808CI now has HDMI v1.3a which brings with it the new surround formats for HD decoding allowing for ultimate surround performance for the best in home theater experience. Updated Audyssey audio processing has been added to provide improved auto calibration results for smooth sound reproduction. The well acclaimed Faroudja FLi2310 has been employed to allow for video scaling to 1080p resolution. Serial IR ports along with the RS-232C system control port provides ease of integration for complex home audio installations with 3rd party controllers. Couple this with the new EL remote and you have an A/V receiver sure to be a best seller.

* 110 watts x 7 channels
* Analog Video to HDMI Scaling - 1080p
* Rear Panel RS-232C
* XM ready tuning
* Dolby TrueHD and dts-HD Master Audio
* New DDSC-HD processing
* Expanded HDMI v1.3a ports with Deep Color and xvYCC Support
* Digital to Analog conversion for multi-zone connection flexibility
* Assignable +12V D.C. triggers
* Comes with dual remotes
* 2-way remote capability with optional RC-7000CI remote



So, what do you think? How does this unit perform?
Troyus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3826 Old 09-18-2007, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I just picked up the AVR-988 tonight which is the big box store version of Denon's AVR 2808 CI. Stores like Amazon or futureshop here in Canada sell it.Its sitting here in the box. I didn't have time to check it out yet.


Ripper64 is offline  
post #3 of 3826 Old 09-18-2007, 11:30 PM
Member
 
rsandhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the difference between the Retail versions (AVR988) compared to 2808CI? I also noticed here in Canada Best Buy sells only the AVR988 or 688.
rsandhu is offline  
post #4 of 3826 Old 09-18-2007, 11:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsandhu View Post

What is the difference between the Retail versions (AVR988) compared to 2808CI? I also noticed here in Canada Best Buy sells only the AVR988 or 688.

Maybe a slightly different remote but I am not sure as I can't find a picture of the 2808ci remote. Also, the unit is usually slightly different looking but if you look at the 2 pics it looks the same. I am pretty sure its identicle from what I read. I just finished hooking it up too and it rocks pretty good. I also have the Yamaha 2700 so I am slightly downgrading but the 988 sounds good so far. I might like it more than the 2700. I still need to test some more as I just hooked it up. Power wise its not far off or close to the same from the 2700 even though the 2700 is rated at 140W per channel while the 988 is 110W per channel. It seems the 988 rocks harder on the subwoofer than the 2700. More aggressive and chest pounding. It sounds warm and not brittle as past Denons. I didn't even run the setup test yet with the mic. Remember I don't know what the settings are yet on the 988 so I am still playing around with it. I uninstalled the 2700 and plugged in the 988 and fired it up. I run all Paradigm Reference speakers which I found sound better with Yamaha receivers in the past. The 988 sounds great with the Paradigm Reference speakers.
Ripper64 is offline  
post #5 of 3826 Old 09-18-2007, 11:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsandhu View Post

What is the difference between the Retail versions (AVR988) compared to 2808CI? I also noticed here in Canada Best Buy sells only the AVR988 or 688.

It looks like the 2808 is in the new Denon chassis with the curved top; the 988 is in Denon's more traditional chassis, from the looks of the pic.

No animals were harmed in the creation of this sentence.
eightninesuited is offline  
post #6 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightninesuited View Post

It looks like the 2808 is in the new Denon chassis with the curved top; the 988 is in Denon's more traditional chassis, from the looks of the pic.

Yep, your right. I missed that. I know the chassis usually is different but I never caught the rounded curve part up top. I believe the remotes are different too. By the way the remote is reversable. Its not 2 seperate remotes. The pic on the right is the backside of the remote. The 2808ci is $20 cheaper than the 988 since there is a 2% discount at Amazon. Basically their both the same price which I don't understand. You have to type in avr988 to see this model. Leave out the dash.

Ripper64 is offline  
post #7 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 12:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have that same remote with my Denon 1908. I wish it was backlit. I can't see any of the surround modes buttons in the dark. Where did you pick up the 988 from?

Can you tell me if the knobs are plastic or metal? I saw the 2808 at Bay Bloor Radio in Toronto and it was all metal. My 1908 has plastic knobs. I hate that.

No animals were harmed in the creation of this sentence.
eightninesuited is offline  
post #8 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 12:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I bought it at futureshop. The guy threw in a free 5 year warranty that sells for $149.99. I got something out of it. Its hard to tell if its metal or plastic. It feels like a light metal. Not solid steel or anything. More of an aluminum sound to the knobs. Maybe someone else can tell better than me.
Ripper64 is offline  
post #9 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
kulims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone from the 38008CI thread confimred that that unit can overly OSD and volume bar over both HDMI and non HDMI sources without problems.

Does 2808CI also able to do this ?
kulims is offline  
post #10 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Troyus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripper64 View Post

Maybe a slightly different remote but I am not sure as I can't find a picture of the 2808ci remote.

Here's a pic of the remote the 2808CI uses:


It's in the product sheet, you can see it here: http://ca.denon.com/AVR2808_specsheet_canada.pdf

It looks like it's backlit...when I get mine I'll post back.

Spec wise both units seem identical, it's only some small changes in design, the remote control...and apparently the big-box retailer version is supposed to be less expensive...Though from what I've seen this isn't the case...
Troyus is offline  
post #11 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 08:14 AM
Member
 
mel22b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N Vancouver, BC
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Futureshop carrying Denon...didnt see that coming.

Smart move considering how poorly the HK were moving.

Stephen

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mel22b is offline  
post #12 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 08:39 AM
Member
 
rsandhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I assume the AVR888 is similar to the 2308CI. Why would they produce the identical receivers in two versions? I noticed on home audio review sites they never refer to the big box versions, its always 2807/2808 etc.
rsandhu is offline  
post #13 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulims View Post

Someone from the 38008CI thread confimred that that unit can overly OSD and volume bar over both HDMI and non HDMI sources without problems.

Does 2808CI also able to do this ?


I don't believe it will. I hooked up a video RCA jack and the volume bar shows up on screen. Over HDMI the volume bar doesn't show up on screen. The OSD menu does over HDMI.
Ripper64 is offline  
post #14 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 10:23 AM
Member
 
mel22b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N Vancouver, BC
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it have the new GUI?

Stephen

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mel22b is offline  
post #15 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 12:08 PM
Member
 
rsandhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After speaking to the Sales/Marketing at Denon, the following are the differences between AVR-2808CI and AVR-988:

- better remote (learning capabilities) with 2808CI
- PC RS232 connection for remote configuration with 2808CI
- different look for the two

As mentioned before, the electronics are identical in each unit.
rsandhu is offline  
post #16 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsandhu View Post

After speaking to the Sales/Marketing at Denon, the following are the differences between AVR-2808CI and AVR-988:

- better remote (learning capabilities) with 2808CI
- PC RS232 connection for remote configuration with 2808CI
- different look for the two

As mentioned before, the electronics are identical in each unit.


I have the RS232 on the back of my 988. I am wondering why the 988 costs the same as the 2808CI. I could only find the 988 but given the choice you be better off with the 2028CI at the same price. If someone calls Denon maybe you can ask them. The 988 isn't even listed at Denon Canada.
Ripper64 is offline  
post #17 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JayMan007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Short Pump, VA
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mel22b View Post

Does it have the new GUI?

Does it have volume (other info) overlay on 480p, 720p & 1080i? If so, can someone post a pic?
JayMan007 is offline  
post #18 of 3826 Old 09-19-2007, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Troyus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mel22b View Post

Does it have the new GUI?


It has the regular GUI (basic text menus) ...I think only the 3808ci and above have the new one.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JayMan007 View Post

Does it have volume (other info) overlay on 480p, 720p & 1080i? If so, can someone post a pic?

According to their manual...it says that:

Quote:


On-Screen Display for Component Video Outputs and HDMI Output

*When viewing HDMI or component video signals via the AVR-2808CI, the on-screen display appears when the MENU button or the main control unit's PARA button is operated.

*When only HDMI or component video signals are input to the AVR-2808CI, the characters of the on-screen display are not displayed over the picture.

When I get mine set up, I'll take a pic of it.
Troyus is offline  
post #19 of 3826 Old 09-20-2007, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
nweibley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troyus View Post

It has the regular GUI (basic text menus) ...I think only the 3808ci and above have the new one.

Really? The release specs touted "New GUI menu"...
nweibley is online now  
post #20 of 3826 Old 09-20-2007, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
It is the older GUI.
Ripper64 is offline  
post #21 of 3826 Old 09-20-2007, 09:27 AM
Member
 
jcsparks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nweibley View Post

Really? The release specs touted "New GUI menu"...

It is the basic black screen with white text menu. Though, I don't know why that's such a big deal either way.

When you are watching HDMI or component video the menu replaces the image (no overlay) while you make changes.

I just got mine this weekend, (replacing an Outlaw 1050). So far, I am very happy with the Denon 2808CI. The only problem that I've had is when using my Logitech Harmony 880 to control it; it keeps changing the video input from HDMI to Component when I select DVD. But I think this is an issue with the Harmony and not with the 2808. I just need to spend some time getting the remote tweaked properly.
jcsparks is offline  
post #22 of 3826 Old 09-21-2007, 07:43 PM
Senior Member
 
nweibley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my 2808ci hooked up today. Now I need to get me some speakers and a sub! Kinda sad I just have a $1200 2-port hdmi switch at this point. LoL.
nweibley is online now  
post #23 of 3826 Old 09-22-2007, 09:27 AM
Newbie
 
mark240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would any of you hook up the wii through the 2808CI? If so, is this a common thing to do?

I am kind of new when it comes to hooking wires up. Thanks for your help
mark240sx is offline  
post #24 of 3826 Old 09-22-2007, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
nweibley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my Wii hooked up through the 2808 and it works great.
nweibley is online now  
post #25 of 3826 Old 09-22-2007, 10:08 AM
Newbie
 
mark240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nweibley View Post

I have my Wii hooked up through the 2808 and it works great.

could you tell me where you put the wii component cables in back of the 2808? Also the audio cables of the wii.
mark240sx is offline  
post #26 of 3826 Old 09-22-2007, 01:21 PM
Newbie
 
KensKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just happened to find this forum and i have been reading posts for over two hours now. WOW I will be returning many times.

I have a situation. I am building my first Home theatre and have begun with a Panasonic 50" Plasma and found some Boston Acuostic HT speakers on sale. I need a HT headend and have been looking at the Denon line. I have read good things about the features and the sound. I have a source for the Big Box models and was looking at the 987, then the provider told me that new lines were coming out. I have been waiting patiently for the 988 to become available. It appears it is now out.
I was doing a dimension check against the 2808 and found that the 2808 is still 17+ inches wide but the 988 is listed at 20.5+ !! I have purchased a new AV cabinet with 18in. wide spaces.... uh oh. Could someone please give me a heads up if the 988 is really that wide?

Thanks,

KensKat
KensKat is offline  
post #27 of 3826 Old 09-22-2007, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
userb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KensKat View Post

I just happened to find this forum and i have been reading posts for over two hours now. WOW I will be returning many times.

I have a situation. I am building my first Home theatre and have begun with a Panasonic 50" Plasma and found some Boston Acuostic HT speakers on sale. I need a HT headend and have been looking at the Denon line. I have read good things about the features and the sound. I have a source for the Big Box models and was looking at the 987, then the provider told me that new lines were coming out. I have been waiting patiently for the 988 to become available. It appears it is now out.
I was doing a dimension check against the 2808 and found that the 2808 is still 17+ inches wide but the 988 is listed at 20.5+ !! I have purchased a new AV cabinet with 18in. wide spaces.... uh oh. Could someone please give me a heads up if the 988 is really that wide?

Thanks,

KensKat


http://ca.denon.com/AVR988_specsheet_083007.pdf
userb is offline  
post #28 of 3826 Old 09-23-2007, 01:32 PM
Newbie
 
alinbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got mine http://ca.denon.com/ProductDetails/3178.asp
Now waiting for my Paradigm speakers to come in.
alinbc is offline  
post #29 of 3826 Old 09-23-2007, 06:53 PM
Newbie
 
cohibacris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just purchased this unit today - nice box to be sure. There is one thing that I'm still unsure of one bit: video upscaling...

The component and analog upscaling is normal - it punches it up to 1080p as expected. The HDMI comes through as its original resolution - 1080i is 1080i. Is this an expected behavior from the Denon video board? My expectation is that video of common makeup (1080i/30fps) would upconvert no matter what the format. If it's an uncommon format (say 24fps, instead of the 30/60fps) it passes straight through unconverted.

Am I missing something or are the boards supposed to convert HDMI up as well as converting component/analog/etc?
Thanks,
Cris
cohibacris is offline  
post #30 of 3826 Old 09-23-2007, 09:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Troyus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my unit on Friday, and it's been absolutely brilliant...working like a charm! If anyone has any specific questions regarding it (setup, performance, etc...let me know).

My Set-up is as follows:

Panasonic TH-58PZ750U 1080p Plasma, HDMI 1.3a
Denon AVR-2808CI
DVD1940ci, 1080p upconverting DVD player
SA-8300HD PVR (Rogers Cable)
5.1 Definitive Technology Pro Cinema 1000 Speaker system
Universal Remote Control Model MX-900
...

No problems at all, and great picture quality, features and performance!


Quote:
Originally Posted by cohibacris View Post

Just purchased this unit today - nice box to be sure. There is one thing that I'm still unsure of one bit: video upscaling...

The component and analog upscaling is normal - it punches it up to 1080p as expected. The HDMI comes through as its original resolution - 1080i is 1080i. Is this an expected behavior from the Denon video board? My expectation is that video of common makeup (1080i/30fps) would upconvert no matter what the format. If it's an uncommon format (say 24fps, instead of the 30/60fps) it passes straight through unconverted.

Am I missing something or are the boards supposed to convert HDMI up as well as converting component/analog/etc?
Thanks,
Cris

From what I've read on this unit (and it may be all units, I'm not certain) is that upconversion will only occur if the input is non-hdmi (in other words, if it's analog). Right off the spec sheet, you will see that it features "Analog video to HDMI scaling up to 1080p", and only analog... HDMI signals can only be passed through, and not processed. For this reason, I used component outputs for my HDPVR, so the signal would be upconverted. I'd only use HDMI if the source was 1080p already, otherwise....use analog inputs/outputs.
Troyus is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2808ci Receiver , Denon Avr 988 7 1 Channel Multizone Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - 2808ci by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off