How to use Tag Mclaren Av32R to control Proceed AMP 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-13-2001, 02:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adrian Low's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having AV32R (no EX install) and Proceed Amp 5. Proceed AMP 5 come with RJ45 communication port which support PHAST Intercomponent Communication Protocol and 1/8" mini jack with the presence of 5-12DC will turn on and absent of voltage will turn off. The AV32R is Phast and Crestron certified. How can I make use of them so that I can use my AV32R remote control to control the Proceed Amp 5 to turn-on and turn-off.
Adrian Low is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-13-2001, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Buzz Goddard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 1,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The cleanest and simplest way is to get the EX instal done and use the prgrammable switches that come as part of the upgrade.

------------------
Buzz Goddard
TAG Mclaren Audio

Buzz Goddard
GoddardGroup

Buzz Goddard is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-14-2001, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adrian Low's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear Buzz, I'm staying in Singapore, the shipment cost will be at least 30% of my EX upgrade cost. I hear that the will be another hardware upgrade coming soon. I feel that it is more worth to upgrade more things at one time because I can save on shipment cost. Can you confirm with this ?
Adrian Low is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-14-2001, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Buzz Goddard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 1,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Soon, is a very relative term. I have no time frame, but it will be measured in months, not days. It would of course be simple if you were using a 100x5R, that can be triggered via the TAGtronic bus or via simple IR. Here in the states there are devices (from, for example, Niles) that can sense the difference in current draw between on and off on the processor and then trigger a power strip. There are also optical sensors which can detect the display turning on and in turn trigger a power strip. Neither method is fail-safe and neither method is inexpensive.

------------------
Buzz Goddard
TAG Mclaren Audio

Buzz Goddard
GoddardGroup

Buzz Goddard is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-15-2001, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adrian Low's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your advise.
Adrian Low is offline  
Closed Thread Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off