What exactly is HDMI™ switching? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-02-2007, 06:39 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
causeofhim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is a receiver has HDMI switching what exactly does this mean? Will I be able to hook up all components using HDMI and other connections and run only HDMI to my projector?
Thanks
causeofhim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-02-2007, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gunbunnysoulja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Inverness, FL
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No, that would be transcoding (sometimes misused as upconversion, even when no scaling is being done).

HDMI switching is the same as passthrough.... ex.- 2 inputs, 1 output.
gunbunnysoulja is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-02-2007, 06:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
causeofhim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So an HDMI switching receiver will not be able to do this?
causeofhim is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 11-02-2007, 07:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Post the specific receiver and we'll let you know.

If you mean you have multiple HDMI components in to one HDMI out to the set, then you may be all set. If you need upconversion of non-HDMI component/S-video/or composite inputs it depends on the unit.

Better info in means better info out, posts are like TVs

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-02-2007, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
causeofhim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Harman Kardon HK AVR 147
causeofhim is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-02-2007, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
causeofhim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or. . .If I run HDMI and component cables to the projector, would that work?
causeofhim is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-02-2007, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gunbunnysoulja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Inverness, FL
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The 147 does not do any transcoding. What ever you connect to the inputs, you must output the same cables.
gunbunnysoulja is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-02-2007, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 108
HDMI switching only is actually a pass-through function.
HDMI processing comes @ a higher price, so switching only provides the ability of the AVR the ability to handle an HDMI source such a Blu Ray player. The HD video Out from the Blu Ray goes into the AVR via HDMI and then out to the video display via HDMI, while the audio is handled either through S/PDIF (coax or optical) or analog.

Now HD video and audio are switched together, there will be a slight drop in the audio quality but the $ cost of the AVR will be lower and more competitive if one is on a tite budget..
M Code is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-02-2007, 08:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

HDMI switching only is actually a pass-through function.
HDMI processing comes @ a higher price, so switching only provides the ability of the AVR the ability to handle an HDMI source such a Blu Ray player. The HD video Out from the Blu Ray goes into the AVR via HDMI and then out to the video display via HDMI, while the audio is handled either through S/PDIF (coax or optical) or analog.

Now HD video and audio are switched together, there will be a slight drop in the audio quality but the $ cost of the AVR will be lower and more competitive if one is on a tite budget..

There are many Manuals that discuss HDMI switching even for high end units, it's called English, do a search on high end receivers that do not only transcoding of non HDMI signals but do motion adaptive 1080i deinterlacing. My Anthem does HDMI switching and it has a high end Gennum chip, that's WHY it's important to get more information than a catch phrase. It's important to answer questions more than on a "keyword" without context. Incidentally, there are HDMI switching units that do not transcode but DO switch audio.

Please watch out for pseudo-Experts around here that talk about HDMI into displays when HDMI into video processors is the thread or make glittering generalities without basis of facts. Thanks to gunbunnysoulja for actually answering the question based on full context and not extrapolating "switching only" into the meaning.

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off