The Official Onkyo TX-SR705 Thread (FAQ in 1st Post) - Page 298 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8911 of 8930 Old 03-10-2015, 11:10 AM
Member
 
daddyjer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bi Amping

Greetings!

I finally bought some tower speakers that can be bi amped. My question is what is the RMS per channel on this receiver utilizing 5.1 and 7.1? What will the RMS be if I use only 5.1 but bi amp the towers? Is there any benefit to bi amping? I assume so. I've estimated the RMS on just a 5.1 configuration would be roughly 20watts RMS, if Bi amp I've estimated the RMS watts at roughly 15, so in theory if I bi amp the towers the tweeters and mids will be receiving 15 watts RMS each or 30 watts RMS total versus not bi amping and just using 5.1 with the towers running off of just the front speaker posts getting 20 watts RMS. Does this sound right?
Thanks.
daddyjer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8912 of 8930 Old 03-10-2015, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Robbiey60's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddyjer View Post
Greetings!

I finally bought some tower speakers that can be bi amped. My question is what is the RMS per channel on this receiver utilizing 5.1 and 7.1? What will the RMS be if I use only 5.1 but bi amp the towers? Is there any benefit to bi amping? I assume so. I've estimated the RMS on just a 5.1 configuration would be roughly 20watts RMS, if Bi amp I've estimated the RMS watts at roughly 15, so in theory if I bi amp the towers the tweeters and mids will be receiving 15 watts RMS each or 30 watts RMS total versus not bi amping and just using 5.1 with the towers running off of just the front speaker posts getting 20 watts RMS. Does this sound right?
Thanks.
Hello and welcome. Unfortunately bi-amping off a receiver will do nothing to increase power. A receiver has 1 power supply so you are correct that the more channels you run the less power per channel is output, so that basically explains bi-amping as well. You will get twice the channels but overall output will be halved. If you have the 705 it has pre-outs, getting a decent power amp is the only way to increase power.
Robbiey60 is offline  
post #8913 of 8930 Old 03-14-2015, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,416
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 976 Post(s)
Liked: 265
I think I'm with Robbie on this one, too; I also thought about "passive bi-amping" or "bi-wiring" (which is what you're describing, when you're using a receiver's unused channels to "feed" bi-ampable speakers) as I am running massive Polk RTi12's off an Onkyo 605 (the speakers and receiver are bi-amping capable)...but as it was explained to me, and as Robbie touched on above, there's no real sonic advantage to this (I have not personally physically tried it though) because you're still tapping off the receiver's common power supply; nothing's really "getting more powerful" if you catch my drift...


The idea behind this "bi-amping" (or wiring) concept -- and what the receiver manufacturers and some outlets such as Crutchfield attempt to hype to unbelievable levels -- was that by re-purposing the back surround channels of a 7.1 receiver if you're running a 5.1 setup, your FRONT main channels can get fed more power if they're bi-ampable. As I said, I never actually experimented with this but after it was explained to me that it basically "does nothing" (you need a whole different kind of complex setup if you really want to bi-wire/amp, wherein separate amplifiers are designated to drive the high and low portions of your loudspeakers...very complex, as I said) I didn't waste my time or extra speaker cable on it.


Now -- the benefits of leaving a configuration like mine (that is, a standard 5.1 setup) alone, leaving the surround back channels idle and empty, is that, theoretically, my receiver should be able to produce more dynamic headroom per channel because it's powering five channels instead of seven; Robbie or someone please correct me if I'm wrong here...

5.1:
ONKYO TX-SR605B - oppo BDP-83 - SONY KDS-50A2020 SXRD
polkaudio RTi12 - polkaudio CSi30 - SpeakerCraft Preinstalled In-Ceiling Surrounds - polkaudio PSW350
2-CHANNEL:
ONKYO TX-8555 - marantz CC-4001 - TASCAM CD-RW900SL - Numark CDMIX 1 - Infinity PRIMUS P363BK - audio-technica AT-LP120USB
IntelliVolume is online now  
post #8914 of 8930 Old 03-15-2015, 02:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Robbiey60's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
I think I'm with Robbie on this one, too; I also thought about "passive bi-amping" or "bi-wiring" (which is what you're describing, when you're using a receiver's unused channels to "feed" bi-ampable speakers) as I am running massive Polk RTi12's off an Onkyo 605 (the speakers and receiver are bi-amping capable)...but as it was explained to me, and as Robbie touched on above, there's no real sonic advantage to this (I have not personally physically tried it though) because you're still tapping off the receiver's common power supply; nothing's really "getting more powerful" if you catch my drift...


The idea behind this "bi-amping" (or wiring) concept -- and what the receiver manufacturers and some outlets such as Crutchfield attempt to hype to unbelievable levels -- was that by re-purposing the back surround channels of a 7.1 receiver if you're running a 5.1 setup, your FRONT main channels can get fed more power if they're bi-ampable. As I said, I never actually experimented with this but after it was explained to me that it basically "does nothing" (you need a whole different kind of complex setup if you really want to bi-wire/amp, wherein separate amplifiers are designated to drive the high and low portions of your loudspeakers...very complex, as I said) I didn't waste my time or extra speaker cable on it.


Now -- the benefits of leaving a configuration like mine (that is, a standard 5.1 setup) alone, leaving the surround back channels idle and empty, is that, theoretically, my receiver should be able to produce more dynamic headroom per channel because it's powering five channels instead of seven; Robbie or someone please correct me if I'm wrong here...
Yes, in receivers the less channels running the more power is available to those channels. And yes active bi-amping requires
active xovers, multiple amps, removal or bypassing the original internal xovers and then ensuring the whole system is calibrated properly. I run seperate power amps from the pre-outs, 150 true watts rms per channel with no power drop when all channels are driven.
Robbiey60 is offline  
post #8915 of 8930 Old 03-15-2015, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,416
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 976 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Thank you, Robbie.

5.1:
ONKYO TX-SR605B - oppo BDP-83 - SONY KDS-50A2020 SXRD
polkaudio RTi12 - polkaudio CSi30 - SpeakerCraft Preinstalled In-Ceiling Surrounds - polkaudio PSW350
2-CHANNEL:
ONKYO TX-8555 - marantz CC-4001 - TASCAM CD-RW900SL - Numark CDMIX 1 - Infinity PRIMUS P363BK - audio-technica AT-LP120USB
IntelliVolume is online now  
post #8916 of 8930 Old 03-24-2015, 10:10 PM
Member
 
msloane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've put up with the dropouts for years...

...and I finally want to see if there's anything I can do about it.

I'm talking about the audio dropout that happens when the sound changes, say from a commercial coming back to the program.

There's always about a 2 second audio dropout as the receiver figures out what kind of sound it's handling. It happens constantly — I've never heard the first couple seconds of a movie I start playing.

(Ever cut 2 seconds into the 20th Century Fox logo music at high volume? That alone has taken years off my life.)

Is there ANY configuration I can make to have sound transitions happen smoothly? Failing that, is there a way to set the Onkyo so it doesn't make any transitions at all?

Any help is appreciated...thanks!

Last edited by msloane; 06-19-2015 at 08:37 PM.
msloane is offline  
post #8917 of 8930 Old 06-18-2015, 02:33 PM
Member
 
spank2223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidAdams View Post
@spank2223 , I have a similar issue. I got my 705 in 2007 and have been living with the noises for years. Sometimes it went days without making the noises, but more recently it became more frequent. I've never had any problems with video output. All my stuff is connected via HDMI. I have a Comcast/ Motorola DVR cable box, a second generation Apple TV box, and a Panasonic blu-ray player connected to a 2007 vintage Panasonic plasma. I believe the TV only does 1080i, and I know the Apple and Comcast only do 1080i. Because the noises recently got worse, I contacted Onkyo and asked for a firmware upgrade. They sent me an upgrade CD right away. I did the firmware upgrade and I don't think we've heard the noises since, but it's only been a few days since the upgrade so we're not out of the woods yet.
Well I called Onkyo finally. They wouldnt send me the firmware disc. They said it was for popping not screeching. They told me to do a master reset.

Does anyone know where else I can get the firmware upgrade?
THanks
spank2223 is offline  
post #8918 of 8930 Old 09-10-2015, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Firmware upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by spank2223 View Post
Well I called Onkyo finally. They wouldnt send me the firmware disc. They said it was for popping not screeching. They told me to do a master reset.

Does anyone know where else I can get the firmware upgrade?
THanks
@spank2223 , Onkyo sent me the firmware upgrade CD, marked "DSP:08214A 07518A 07820B". If you send me your shipping info, I can send the CD to you via UPS. I upgraded my 705 without any issue. The upgrade didn't fix my problem, but you might have better luck.
DavidAdams is offline  
post #8919 of 8930 Old 09-14-2015, 03:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi. I have a 705, had it for a while- love it. I'm just now trying to connect my Dell Latitude 7440 (2013) up to it. It's connected via HDMI- and video shows up fine. However- there is no audio. I get "No signal" on the Onkyo. Now on the laptop (Windows 7 Enterprise) when I connect the HDMI cable- a new entry shows up in the "Sound" panel and it actually says "SR 705." I'm guessing this is an issue with the laptop, but was wondering if anyone experienced something similar.

Thanks in advance.
Owen Manske is offline  
post #8920 of 8930 Old 09-14-2015, 04:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Attached snapshot of the Sound adapters. I upgraded the intel display audio to the latest version- as I read on some other forums that that helped some folks. No such luck with me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	38
Size:	41.5 KB
ID:	940690  
Owen Manske is offline  
post #8921 of 8930 Old 09-24-2015, 09:34 AM
Member
 
AFMan916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Had a free day and thought I'd finally try and get my old school PS2 working through my 705. I have a somewhat convoluted setup, but without going into too much detail here's the gist of my question:

I want to hook my PS2 up via the front AUX input and pass the video out via HDMI. Caveat: I have the HDMI out running through a splitter so I can have two separate screen settings for my PS4 (one for gaming, one for movies).

Also, in messing around I came to realize the OSD no longer displays on the tv; if I'm on an HDMI source and enter the menu via the front panel, I just get a flickering blue screen on my tv. Could the splitter be to blame? I have no issues viewing content/playing games/etc, and I just now discovered the OSD issue.

Any advice/guidance for either hooking up my PS2 or resolving my OSD issue would be much appreciated! Can provide input settings and the like if necessary.

Thanks!

*EDIT* If it helps at all, when I have the PS2 connected via the front AUX input and select the AUX source from the front of the 705, I can hear Guitar Hero but can't see anything on any of the sources.

Last edited by AFMan916; 09-24-2015 at 11:00 AM. Reason: Additional info
AFMan916 is offline  
post #8922 of 8930 Old 09-25-2015, 02:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Robbiey60's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Owen Manske View Post
Hi. I have a 705, had it for a while- love it. I'm just now trying to connect my Dell Latitude 7440 (2013) up to it. It's connected via HDMI- and video shows up fine. However- there is no audio. I get "No signal" on the Onkyo. Now on the laptop (Windows 7 Enterprise) when I connect the HDMI cable- a new entry shows up in the "Sound" panel and it actually says "SR 705." I'm guessing this is an issue with the laptop, but was wondering if anyone experienced something similar.

Thanks in advance.
Hi
Is your display 1080p and is your onkyo set up to pass through 1080p? I had the same issue trying to run a 720p tv off my onkyo hooked up to my laptop. For whatever reason the laptop could not identify the display when audio was sent, I either got no audio with a picture OR if I turned the tv off I got audio. I now have a 1080p tv and my pc(upgraded from laptop but laptop still worked)sends 1080p signal to Onkyo 705 which is identified as the display by the pc which in turn sends the signal through to my tv.

(2)RF-83 (1)RC-64ii (2)RF-82ii (2)RC-62ii
(2)Exodus audio tempest-x 15" subs in 200l sealed enclosures
Onkyo 705 pre/pro and rear surrounds
DSPeaker Antimode 8033 sub eq Behringer EP4000 subs
NAD C275BEE mains
AMC 2N100-3 surrounds and center
Robbiey60 is offline  
post #8923 of 8930 Old 09-25-2015, 03:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Robbiey60's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFMan916 View Post
Had a free day and thought I'd finally try and get my old school PS2 working through my 705. I have a somewhat convoluted setup, but without going into too much detail here's the gist of my question:

I want to hook my PS2 up via the front AUX input and pass the video out via HDMI. Caveat: I have the HDMI out running through a splitter so I can have two separate screen settings for my PS4 (one for gaming, one for movies).

Also, in messing around I came to realize the OSD no longer displays on the tv; if I'm on an HDMI source and enter the menu via the front panel, I just get a flickering blue screen on my tv. Could the splitter be to blame? I have no issues viewing content/playing games/etc, and I just now discovered the OSD issue.

Any advice/guidance for either hooking up my PS2 or resolving my OSD issue would be much appreciated! Can provide input settings and the like if necessary.

Thanks!

*EDIT* If it helps at all, when I have the PS2 connected via the front AUX input and select the AUX source from the front of the 705, I can hear Guitar Hero but can't see anything on any of the sources.
The flickering blue screen I think is just a byproduct of an older gen hdmi receiver. Mine sometimes fickers with a blue screen, sometimes works properly and then sometimes has no osd at all. As for the ps2 it should work although the picture quality will be bad. The 705 was not designed to up-convert composite video to hdmi. It will send it but I believe it will downscale the signal. I dont think it will work off the front aux though, I think there is specific composite inputs labeled on the back for hdmi ''up-conversion''. Probably the best way would be normal av l/r to your onkyo and composite video direct to your tv.

(2)RF-83 (1)RC-64ii (2)RF-82ii (2)RC-62ii
(2)Exodus audio tempest-x 15" subs in 200l sealed enclosures
Onkyo 705 pre/pro and rear surrounds
DSPeaker Antimode 8033 sub eq Behringer EP4000 subs
NAD C275BEE mains
AMC 2N100-3 surrounds and center
Robbiey60 is offline  
post #8924 of 8930 Old 11-22-2015, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
No sound in certain channels

I have had my 705 for about 8 years and it's performed well. My LCD went out and I had to hook up a non hdmi plasma to it for a while. I now have a new LCD but I cant get sound when watching cable. I have my PS3 hooked up and everything is working fine. When I watch satellite I get only muted bass from the sub. I finally got sound from the TV working but not through the receiver. I hope it's just a setting I messed up as I am long out of warranty. Any thoughts and assistance are greatly appreciated. Thanks
Branson24 is offline  
post #8925 of 8930 Old 11-22-2015, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Robbiey60's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Branson24 View Post
I have had my 705 for about 8 years and it's performed well. My LCD went out and I had to hook up a non hdmi plasma to it for a while. I now have a new LCD but I cant get sound when watching cable. I have my PS3 hooked up and everything is working fine. When I watch satellite I get only muted bass from the sub. I finally got sound from the TV working but not through the receiver. I hope it's just a setting I messed up as I am long out of warranty. Any thoughts and assistance are greatly appreciated. Thanks
What are your connections from satellite to receiver? May be an incorrect digital input setting on the onkyo
Robbiey60 is offline  
post #8926 of 8930 Old 11-22-2015, 02:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hdmi in from both PS3 and satellite. Then hdmi out to TV. If it's a setting I can't figure it out.
Branson24 is offline  
post #8927 of 8930 Old 11-22-2015, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,416
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 976 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Branson24 View Post
I have had my 705 for about 8 years and it's performed well.

...as has my 605, Branson. Since the day I got it.

5.1:
ONKYO TX-SR605B - oppo BDP-83 - SONY KDS-50A2020 SXRD
polkaudio RTi12 - polkaudio CSi30 - SpeakerCraft Preinstalled In-Ceiling Surrounds - polkaudio PSW350
2-CHANNEL:
ONKYO TX-8555 - marantz CC-4001 - TASCAM CD-RW900SL - Numark CDMIX 1 - Infinity PRIMUS P363BK - audio-technica AT-LP120USB
IntelliVolume is online now  
post #8928 of 8930 Old 11-22-2015, 04:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Fixed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Branson24 View Post
I have had my 705 for about 8 years and it's performed well. My LCD went out and I had to hook up a non hdmi plasma to it for a while. I now have a new LCD but I cant get sound when watching cable. I have my PS3 hooked up and everything is working fine. When I watch satellite I get only muted bass from the sub. I finally got sound from the TV working but not through the receiver. I hope it's just a setting I messed up as I am long out of warranty. Any thoughts and assistance are greatly appreciated. Thanks
So after reading a "commonly made mistakes" post I realized I had my speakers hooked up wrong. I only have 5 speakers and I had them hooked up in the 7.1 slots as surround and surround rear. I put them where they should be and voila! It's just weird that they worked like that before. Anyway, thanks for reading.
Branson24 is offline  
post #8929 of 8930 Old 11-22-2015, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Receiver + PS3 + Netflix English 5.1 = feedback

When I watch Netflix through the PS3 which is hooked up to the receiver by hdmi I get crazy feedback/popping noises. I can change the setting of the show in Netflix from English 5.1 to English and everything is good. Unfortunately Netflix does not have a way for me to make this a permanent setting. Is there a setting on the receiver that will help me here? I haven't found anything on the Sony forums. Thanks
Branson24 is offline  
post #8930 of 8930 Old 11-28-2015, 04:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Robbiey60's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Branson24 View Post
When I watch Netflix through the PS3 which is hooked up to the receiver by hdmi I get crazy feedback/popping noises. I can change the setting of the show in Netflix from English 5.1 to English and everything is good. Unfortunately Netflix does not have a way for me to make this a permanent setting. Is there a setting on the receiver that will help me here? I haven't found anything on the Sony forums. Thanks
I think its a fault in decoding dolby digital bitsream as mine makes horrible popping noises but only when bitstreaming dd. I swapped it to lpcm and no noises. Too old to bother about fixing and not really an issue for me anyway
Robbiey60 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Sr705 Receiver



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off