The Official Onkyo TX-SR705 Thread (FAQ in 1st Post) - Page 299 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #8941 of 8962 Old 04-11-2016, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robbiey60's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
I totally hear ya, Rob -- I feel the exact same way about my 605. It powers our room just fine, does all the decoding I need it to do and is refreshingly un-complex, unlike most of the AVRs and processors out today. Until we're ready to get into DTS:X or Dolby Atmos (which requires additional processing unfortunately) the 605 is remaining in my cabinet.

Do you have any pics of your setup with the 705 doing its thing?
Sure do, will have to wait until I get home though. To be honest I am not interested in atmos and I stream everything off my pc straight to the onkyo via hdmi so do not need anything else lol. Xt32 would be about the only thing I would want that the onkyo doesn't have but xt with separate sub eq is doing just fine!
Robbiey60 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8942 of 8962 Old 04-11-2016, 08:17 PM
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1487 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiey60 View Post
Sure do, will have to wait until I get home though. To be honest I am not interested in atmos and I stream everything off my pc straight to the onkyo via hdmi so do not need anything else lol. Xt32 would be about the only thing I would want that the onkyo doesn't have but xt with separate sub eq is doing just fine!
I, too, am on the fence about Atmos but it's just not a reality in our current room. I see you're using your 705 as a pre-pro and an amp for your surrounds...that's what I wanted to do with a new AVR, use it to power the surrounds and then add an amp for my mains and maybe center...however, the 605 really does provide all the volume we need...

Did you ever run your 705 as an amp for all your channels?

Looking forward to your pics!
Robbiey60 likes this.
IntelliVolume is offline  
post #8943 of 8962 Old 04-11-2016, 11:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robbiey60's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
I, too, am on the fence about Atmos but it's just not a reality in our current room. I see you're using your 705 as a pre-pro and an amp for your surrounds...that's what I wanted to do with a new AVR, use it to power the surrounds and then add an amp for my mains and maybe center...however, the 605 really does provide all the volume we need...

Did you ever run your 705 as an amp for all your channels?

Looking forward to your pics!
This Onkyo is the 1st upgrade I ever made in HT. I went from a Sony htib receiver to this and it has stayed ever since. I have upgraded everything around this. I had run just the internal amps for years on a variety of speakers until I got my 1st amp, the NAD.
I now have the NAD running my main L/R, an AMC 3ch amp running my center and surrounds and a Behringer 2ch amp running the subs. I did have the Onkyo running the surround back channel/s but have since dropped back to 5.1.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160120_130612.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	205.1 KB
ID:	1373522   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160120_130634.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	210.5 KB
ID:	1373530  
IntelliVolume likes this.

(2)RF-83 (1)RC-64ii (2)RF-82ii (2)RC-62ii
(2)Exodus audio tempest-x 15" subs in 200l sealed enclosures
Onkyo 705 pre/pro and rear surrounds
DSPeaker Antimode 8033 sub eq Behringer EP4000 subs
NAD C275BEE mains
AMC 2N100-3 surrounds and center
Robbiey60 is offline  
 
post #8944 of 8962 Old 04-12-2016, 02:40 PM
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1487 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiey60 View Post
This Onkyo is the 1st upgrade I ever made in HT. I went from a Sony htib receiver to this and it has stayed ever since. I have upgraded everything around this. I had run just the internal amps for years on a variety of speakers until I got my 1st amp, the NAD.
I now have the NAD running my main L/R, an AMC 3ch amp running my center and surrounds and a Behringer 2ch amp running the subs. I did have the Onkyo running the surround back channel/s but have since dropped back to 5.1.
Thanks for the pics!

Those Onk's sure are sexy, aren't they?

When you were running the 705 as a sole amplifier for all channels, how did it sound?
IntelliVolume is offline  
post #8945 of 8962 Old 04-12-2016, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robbiey60's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
Thanks for the pics!

Those Onk's sure are sexy, aren't they?

When you were running the 705 as a sole amplifier for all channels, how did it sound?
Sure sounded good to me! The difference with the amps I find is in 2ch music with some added bass eq. The Onkyo used to run out of steam at higher levels while with my NAD I can increase the bass tone controls by +6 and have the main volume at +6 before I notice any distortion. Obviously I cannot be in the room listening at those levels but my rf83s sure do slam! They hit harder in the 40-80hz region than a lot of subs I have had/heard. Do you need this performance? No, especially if a decent sub is in the system. But it sure is nice to have the performance on tap when I choose to turn my subs off.
Robbiey60 is offline  
post #8946 of 8962 Old 04-12-2016, 11:47 PM
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1487 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiey60 View Post
Sure sounded good to me! The difference with the amps I find is in 2ch music with some added bass eq. The Onkyo used to run out of steam at higher levels while with my NAD I can increase the bass tone controls by +6 and have the main volume at +6 before I notice any distortion. Obviously I cannot be in the room listening at those levels but my rf83s sure do slam! They hit harder in the 40-80hz region than a lot of subs I have had/heard. Do you need this performance? No, especially if a decent sub is in the system. But it sure is nice to have the performance on tap when I choose to turn my subs off.
I hear you...

I never turn the volume up that high but our 605 slams just fine with ZERO distortion, even at somewhat loud levels...of course, I have a sub in the mix which relieves the AVR of stress...
IntelliVolume is offline  
post #8947 of 8962 Old 11-27-2016, 01:12 PM
Member
 
falz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My receiver recently began creating 'chirp' and 'pop' noises on occasion. It's mentioned not that many posts back on this thread (but from 2014). After a decent amount of troubleshooting and internet-ing it only happens while it's decoding DTS or AC3 audio, indicating some issue with the DSP or chip involved in that process.

Today I discovered a thread indicating they acknowledged this issue and will repair, but only for model #s that start the following year:

http://www.onkyousa.com/Support/service_info.php

Onkyo acknowledges failed units and extending warrranties until 2018

A specific Onkyo response is here that talks about this model:

Onkyo acknowledges failed units and extending warrranties until 2018

There appear to be other folks re-flowing solder on a DSP chip on the circuit board in question. Doing so requires some flux, a heat gun at 650degrees, re-flowing it, letting it cool, then adding a heatsink to said chip. I've found this 'fix' on several models after mine, but not specifically for the 705.

Curious if anyone has done this on this exact model? If not I may become a sacrificial lamb and report back.

In the mean time, I did email Onkyo per their forum post about it, we'll see what/if anything they have to say.
falz is offline  
post #8948 of 8962 Old 11-27-2016, 10:55 PM
Member
 
msloane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by falz View Post
My receiver recently began creating 'chirp' and 'pop' noises on occasion. It's mentioned not that many posts back on this thread (but from 2014). After a decent amount of troubleshooting and internet-ing it only happens while it's decoding DTS or AC3 audio, indicating some issue with the DSP or chip involved in that process.
+1 here. My 705 recently started chirping and popping occasionally too. I've also had the occasional real loud POP! after which the receiver powers down to standby.

Please follow up and let us know what (if anything) Onkyo says.
msloane is offline  
post #8949 of 8962 Unread 12-25-2016, 03:11 PM
Member
 
Pismo Dick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pismo Beach, CA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Although a frequent reader this is my first post. My 705 has been driving my HT since 2007 without any problems. I recently replaced my LCD with a 4K screen and wonder if the HDMI through-put capability on the 705 model could justify replacing my Samsung BD-P1500 blueray player with a newer 4k version. Not sure what version the HDMI is on this RX.
Pismo Dick is offline  
post #8950 of 8962 Unread 12-26-2016, 01:46 PM
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1487 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pismo Dick View Post
Although a frequent reader this is my first post. My 705 has been driving my HT since 2007 without any problems. I recently replaced my LCD with a 4K screen and wonder if the HDMI through-put capability on the 705 model could justify replacing my Samsung BD-P1500 blueray player with a newer 4k version. Not sure what version the HDMI is on this RX.
My 605 has been driving my home theater since around the same time without any hiccups either, Pismo...

Any pics of your 705 in action?
IntelliVolume is offline  
post #8951 of 8962 Unread 12-26-2016, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Pismo Dick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pismo Beach, CA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
My 605 has been driving my home theater since around the same time without any hiccups either, Pismo...

Any pics of your 705 in action?
My installation has the electronics buried in the cabinets on the left so not much visible. This includes the Onkyo TX SR705, Samsung BD-P1500 BluRay DVD, Sony C67ES 5 disk CD player, Roku player, Charter Cable tuner, Logitech Squeezebox Duet for internet music and a Logitech Harmony RF base unit for single remote operation behind closed doors. Also have a 5 port switch for Ethernet distribution and a Boston Acoustics 12" Sub in the cabinet. Left, Right and Center speaker duties handled by Axiom Audio units and surrounds are Ceiling mounted Boston Acoustics 8" CoAx drivers. Two additional Boston drivers are ceiling mounted further back in the great room driven by the zone 2 amplifier for music distribution throughout the great room. The new LCD panel is a Samsung UN60KS800DF.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CIMG0726.JPG
Views:	31
Size:	713.0 KB
ID:	1854185  
IntelliVolume likes this.
Pismo Dick is offline  
post #8952 of 8962 Unread 12-27-2016, 05:31 PM
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1487 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pismo Dick View Post
My installation has the electronics buried in the cabinets on the left so not much visible. This includes the Onkyo TX SR705, Samsung BD-P1500 BluRay DVD, Sony C67ES 5 disk CD player, Roku player, Charter Cable tuner, Logitech Squeezebox Duet for internet music and a Logitech Harmony RF base unit for single remote operation behind closed doors. Also have a 5 port switch for Ethernet distribution and a Boston Acoustics 12" Sub in the cabinet. Left, Right and Center speaker duties handled by Axiom Audio units and surrounds are Ceiling mounted Boston Acoustics 8" CoAx drivers. Two additional Boston drivers are ceiling mounted further back in the great room driven by the zone 2 amplifier for music distribution throughout the great room. The new LCD panel is a Samsung UN60KS800DF.
Thanks!

Can you grab a pic of your 705 with the cabinets open? Just like to see other enthusiasts' stuff doing their thing!

How far are you guys sitting from your new Samsung 60-incher?
IntelliVolume is offline  
post #8953 of 8962 Unread 12-28-2016, 06:36 PM
Member
 
Pismo Dick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pismo Beach, CA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
Thanks!

Can you grab a pic of your 705 with the cabinets open? Just like to see other enthusiasts' stuff doing their thing!

How far are you guys sitting from your new Samsung 60-incher?
Nothing very exciting but here it is. We're sitting about 13 ft from the screen but also view it from further bak when we're in the kitchen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CIMG0728.JPG
Views:	30
Size:	671.7 KB
ID:	1859033  
IntelliVolume likes this.
Pismo Dick is offline  
post #8954 of 8962 Unread 12-28-2016, 08:27 PM
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1487 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pismo Dick View Post
Nothing very exciting but here it is. We're sitting about 13 ft from the screen but also view it from further bak when we're in the kitchen.
Thanks!

We're 12 feet from our 50, and also watch from much further back in the dining room when eating (news and stuff).
IntelliVolume is offline  
post #8955 of 8962 Unread 12-29-2016, 01:07 PM
Member
 
Pismo Dick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pismo Beach, CA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Once again posting the question of whether anyone can comment on the capability of the SR705 to seamlessly pass 4K video from a capable DVD player through the HDMI I/O path to a 4K panel. Thanks for any help.
Pismo Dick is offline  
post #8956 of 8962 Unread 12-29-2016, 03:04 PM
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1487 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pismo Dick View Post
Once again posting the question of whether anyone can comment on the capability of the SR705 to seamlessly pass 4K video from a capable DVD player through the HDMI I/O path to a 4K panel. Thanks for any help.
I don't believe it can, Pismo; the 705 is an HDMI 1.3a-compliant device like the 605 was, correct? If so, I don't believe its HDMI ports can support 4K video passthrough...

This is why companies like Oppo are including dual HDMI outputs on their UHD players so that audio can be passed separately from video to older components (like you and I have) and that way we can still hang on to our HDMI 1.3a-capable AVRs.
IntelliVolume is offline  
post #8957 of 8962 Unread 12-29-2016, 05:59 PM
Member
 
Pismo Dick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pismo Beach, CA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
I don't believe it can, Pismo; the 705 is an HDMI 1.3a-compliant device like the 605 was, correct? If so, I don't believe its HDMI ports can support 4K video passthrough...

This is why companies like Oppo are including dual HDMI outputs on their UHD players so that audio can be passed separately from video to older components (like you and I have) and that way we can still hang on to our HDMI 1.3a-capable AVRs.
Yes, you're correct. The 705 does have an HDMI 1.3a compliant ports. Guess it's time for plan B.
Pismo Dick is offline  
post #8958 of 8962 Unread 12-30-2016, 08:18 PM
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1487 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pismo Dick View Post
Yes, you're correct. The 705 does have an HDMI 1.3a compliant ports. Guess it's time for plan B.
I'm in the same boat, so believe me I understand; however, because I'd simply have no budget for a new receiver on top of a new 4K display and player, I am holding onto my Onkyo 605 for the near future and plan on sending audio and video separately from a new UHD disc player.
IntelliVolume is offline  
post #8959 of 8962 Unread 12-30-2016, 11:39 PM
Member
 
Pismo Dick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pismo Beach, CA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
I'm in the same boat, so believe me I understand; however, because I'd simply have no budget for a new receiver on top of a new 4K display and player, I am holding onto my Onkyo 605 for the near future and plan on sending audio and video separately from a new UHD disc player.
Yeah, that's the practical and certainly the most economical way to deal with it. I note that as you said, a lot of the new UHD DVD players have two HDMI outputs to connect as you describe. Unfortunately for me, that means I have to fish another HDMI cable through the wall to get from the player to the panel - not a trivial task at this point - but it's doable.
Pismo Dick is offline  
post #8960 of 8962 Unread 12-31-2016, 01:32 PM
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1487 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pismo Dick View Post
Yeah, that's the practical and certainly the most economical way to deal with it. I note that as you said, a lot of the new UHD DVD players have two HDMI outputs to connect as you describe. Unfortunately for me, that means I have to fish another HDMI cable through the wall to get from the player to the panel - not a trivial task at this point - but it's doable.
I totally get and understand your challenges of fishing the cable through the wall; dealing with new cabling is something I DO NOT enjoy.

But yes, the new UHD players do include the two HDMI outputs so we can connect gear the way we discussed.

(Also, just as a side note, they're not "UHD DVD players," they're more "UHD Blu-ray" or just "UHD disc players." )

Happy New Year to you and your family; if you have any additional questions, please let me know!
IntelliVolume is offline  
post #8961 of 8962 Unread 01-08-2017, 03:13 PM
Member
 
DaGou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Southern Virginia
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I posted the below in the 850C thread, but there was little or not help there.

First my components: 850C, DirecTV, PS3(my former blu-ray player, still my game console), a shinny new Oppo UDP-203, and an aging but okay Onkyo SR705(it has HDMI 1.4 so Dolby TrueHD). New MediaBridge HDMI cables everywhere.

The Oppo has two outs, a main for video that goes directly to the TV on HDMI 1, and an audio only to the SR705. My cable box (DirecTV) goes directly to the 705. The output from 705 goes to the 850C on HDMI 3. All receiver assignments checked and double checked.

Okay figure this out.
I have the cable box running and a 4k Blu-ray in the Oppo. I go to HDMI 3 on TV and have the receiver set to Cab/Sat, no problem. I switch receiver to DVD and I hear the sound track from the Oppo as I should. As soon as I switch the 850C to HDMI 1 I get the picture as I should but the sound goes away! If I pull the HDMI cable from the 850C, HDMI 3 that is from receiver I get sound back. If both HDMI cables are installed, 1 and 3. I cannot get sound from the Oppo. I worked on it for three hours checking assignments and cables and nothing I could do would fix it.

Everything works great except when I want to hear the sound track from the Oppo I have pull a cable from the TV that should have no effect. I can have the cable box and the PS3 powered down and still no sound from the Oppo until I pull the main video output of the Onkyo that goes into HDMI 3 on the TV.
DaGou is offline  
post #8962 of 8962 Unread 02-03-2017, 12:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
iamkoza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My 705 is having trouble with analog signals.

HDMI in --> HDMI to TV - no issues
Analog in (composite or component) --> HDMI to TV - get a blue screen with no source video or audio... not even the receiver menu will display on TV
Composite in --> component to TV - get a blue screen with no source video or audio
composite in --> composite to TV - signal is "dirty" but I get a usable video and audio
component in --> component to TV - signal is very "dirty" but usable video and audio

curious if perhaps one board has failed and perhaps the system could be salvaged if I can find the correct used part. Would love to keep my 705 with my basement TV with several of my older video game systems hooked up to it.
iamkoza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Sr705 Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off