SSP & Pre/Pros that support HDMI Audio MPCM - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 1049 Old 07-25-2008, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Eric Carroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, something concrete on Parasound.

The HTGuide New Parasound processors/receivers on their way thread claims Parasound will introduce two HDMI HBR SSPs: one in the Halo line and one in the New Classic line, plus an AVR. More details should be available around or at CEDIA.

Also an AVForums posting apparently quotes a reply from Parasound:
Quote:


We are working on a new surround sound platform for the Halo line. We hope to have this done by the end of the year or early next year. It will incorporate all the latest HDMI audio decoding. It will most likely have 5 HDMI inputs, an RF remote control, iPod dock and auto room correction.

Eric Carroll is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 1049 Old 07-25-2008, 03:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fyzziks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Altadena, CA
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Carroll View Post

Dual core on chip making for high speed inter-DSP communication to keep the audio chain delay down, for one. Higher clock speed than usual as well. There is a thread discussing this somewhere...

Actually, it doesn't seem that the clock speed is any higher - in fact the TI DSP320DA710 has a clock speed of 300 MHz, while the clock speed of the Cirrus CS497XX devices from the data sheet looks like 150 MHz. They get 300 MIPS from it, but that may be just from the dual cores.
fyzziks is offline  
post #393 of 1049 Old 07-25-2008, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Eric Carroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is why I thought it would be an interesting separate thread
Eric Carroll is offline  
post #394 of 1049 Old 07-25-2008, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Eric Carroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jason Turk of our forum sponsors, AV Science, announced today that the B&K Ref 70 will ship before the end of July.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post14367841
Eric Carroll is offline  
post #395 of 1049 Old 07-25-2008, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Eric Carroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Halcro has announced the SSP-220 pre/pro. Release is scheduled for August 2008, MSRP 11,990.00.

Notable:
  • 1080p24 support
  • video scaling
  • 10 channels
  • 4I, 1O
  • still no HDM support
Eric Carroll is offline  
post #396 of 1049 Old 07-26-2008, 02:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Cate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarketingProf View Post

Well, if your trying to save money, Kal Rubinson (Sterophile) gave a terrific review of the Integra 9.8 ($1600) for digital sources (he said it set a new bar for price/performance in the category). And my experiences are similar with the unit. Match that with a good analog preamp with HT bypass ($2500) and you've got an under $4k system (at street prices) that will be a very nice sounding system. All digital goes to the 9.8 via HDMI, and all analog through the analog preamp direct to the amps.

If you've got more money to spend, then other options open up, but IMHO you have to have significantly more money to spend to get significantly better sound.

Could someone direct me to an explanation of the circuitry involved in a Home Theater bypass. - Perhaps a simplified circuit diagram might help. - Is this a feature that is available only with recently introduced, expensive preamps? And if it involves switching the input from the preamp to the HT processor, why couldn't that function be done with inexpensive switches available from electronic supply sources. AFAIK, we are talking about relatively moderate frequency ranges and relatively low level currents. Correctly if I'm wrong, but I can't understand why I would need a $2,500 preamp (rather than three good used legacy preamps, along with some switches) to get the desired result.

Jim Cate
Jim Cate is offline  
post #397 of 1049 Old 07-26-2008, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ehlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Cate View Post

Could someone direct me to an explanation of the circuitry involved in a Home Theater bypass. - Perhaps a simplified circuit diagram might help. - Is this a feature that is available only with recently introduced, expensive preamps? And if it involves switching the input from the preamp to the HT processor, why couldn't that function be done with inexpensive switches available from electronic supply sources. AFAIK, we are talking about relatively moderate frequency ranges and relatively low level currents. Correctly if I'm wrong, but I can't understand why I would need a $2,500 preamp (rather than three good used legacy preamps, along with some switches) to get the desired result.

Jim Cate

It is not a new feature; it's been around for a while. You can certainly find used models with this feature. All you do is feed the signals from a couple of 2 ch sources to a preamp, along with the L+R out from your HT pre-pro or receiver to the preamp into the HT passthrough, which is just another high level input. The preamp line outs get fed to a dedicated amp (there are also integrated amps with HT passtrough - in which case the signal goes to the built in amp). When you are in HT passthrough your HT out bypasses the preamp gain stages (or maybe gets fed through the gain stages at a fixed gain of 1). You certainly don't need 3 preamps or anything wacky like that. If you are listening to a 2 ch source the HT receiver is not in the signal chain, only the preamp.

Another way of describing it is that it is the same thing as a stand-alone 2 ch music system - typical sources like a CD player or turntable, preamp, amp and two main speakers. The two main speakers are also the L+R channels of a HT system. The HT L+R signals are fed into the HT bypass channel (which is a fixed unity gain channel) of the preamp from the HT receiver, this channel, when selected feeds the 2 channel amp and the two speakers connected to it.

The reason that you see premium prices for these is that they are low volume specialty items and there is no point in using a cheap preamp that is no better than the 2 ch capabilities of the receiver you already have. It only starts making sense if you are trying to get very high quality 2 ch playback. And no, you can't get the same effect with a set of switches - you need the high quality analog processing that the dedicated preamp provides.

Theoretically you could just feed your HT out into a conventional preamp and calibrate the preamp volume control so that it matches the other channels of your HT. How much that would compromise the HT sound would have to be tested and would be dependent on the preamp model.

"Nature Abhors a Vacuum Tube" -  J. R. Pierce
ehlarson is offline  
post #398 of 1049 Old 07-28-2008, 12:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Eric Carroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have created the CEDIA 08 SSP Speculation thread to capture people's thoughts on what we might hear at CEDIA 08, which is getting closer now (and to help defend this thread's SNR).
Eric Carroll is offline  
post #399 of 1049 Old 07-28-2008, 11:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Eric Carroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Bryston SP3 development process appears to be going on pretty much out in the open on AudioCircle. Bryston has received the HD chips and has put together their first prototype.

Three models are being discussed:
Quote:


Version 1. ---1 HDMI Input - 1 HDMI Output, Video Pass-Through, Full HI-DEF Audio Processing.
Version 2. ---8 HDMI Inputs - 2 HDMI Outputs, Video Switching Only, Full HI-DEF Audio Processing.
Version 3. ---8 HDMI Inputs - 2 HDMI Outputs, Full Video Processing and Scaling, Full HI-DEF Audio Processing

james tanner
VP, Bryston

Early price point under consideration is US$6000. Release is still a long way away yet.
Eric Carroll is offline  
post #400 of 1049 Old 07-30-2008, 08:06 AM
Member
 
MORGAND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Carroll View Post

The Bryston SP3 development process appears to be going on pretty much out in the open on AudioCircle. Bryston has received the HD chips and has put together their first prototype.

They should have a prototype for CEDIA... said the boss
MORGAND is offline  
post #401 of 1049 Old 08-14-2008, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Eric Carroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread is not dead, just no news lately (and no postings lost to the crash I think).

I am awaiting CEDIA 08 for the next round of news, which I will track & post here.
Eric Carroll is offline  
post #402 of 1049 Old 08-18-2008, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Sanlanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Columbia, SC area
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tag for followup. I am very interested to see what Arcam come forward with.
Sanlanman is offline  
post #403 of 1049 Old 08-18-2008, 04:42 PM
Member
 
MORGAND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Carroll View Post

This thread is not dead, just no news lately (and no postings lost to the crash I think).

I am awaiting CEDIA 08 for the next round of news, which I will track & post here.

Hi,

The Bryston SP3 should be at CEDIA, here are the first pictures !



MORGAND is offline  
post #404 of 1049 Old 08-18-2008, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Eric Carroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MORGAND View Post

Hi,

The Bryston SP3 should be at CEDIA, here are the first pictures !

Cool, thanks.

Interestingly Bryston plans three versions:
1. 1I/1O HDMI audio only option
2. 8I/2O video switching option
3. 8I/2O video processing with optional processor board.

Volume control is digital control of a on-chip resistor network.
Eric Carroll is offline  
post #405 of 1049 Old 08-20-2008, 02:42 PM
Member
 
Pezlion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Carroll View Post

Cool, thanks.

Interestingly Bryston plans three versions:
1. 1I/1O HDMI audio only option
2. 8I/2O video switching option
3. 8I/2O video processing with optional processor board.

Volume control is digital control of a on-chip resistor network.

Any pricing information? I'd love to find something like option 2.
Pezlion is offline  
post #406 of 1049 Old 08-21-2008, 05:25 AM
Member
 
MORGAND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pezlion View Post

Any pricing information? I'd love to find something like option 2.

They are "trying" to stay under 6000$ (for version 2) and the version 3 should have a Gennum VXP scaler...
There won't be any upgrade possible for owners of the SP1.7 or SP2, but a "trade in" program will allow them to switch to the new SP3.
This SP3 should be ready in a 6-8 month delay !
MORGAND is offline  
post #407 of 1049 Old 08-26-2008, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin C Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
None of Bryston units will work the way that I want an SSP to work. I have 4 dedicated HDMI inputs on my display. I want an SSP with audio only HDMI that has 4 in/4 out. No video processing or switching, just pull the audio off. Oh well... Maybe somebody someday will do this correctly.

If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ... Something old and something new :-)

Kevin C Brown is offline  
post #408 of 1049 Old 08-26-2008, 07:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pining for the Taiga
Posts: 12,792
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 85
This is the way the tact audio will work.
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #409 of 1049 Old 08-27-2008, 02:18 AM
Senior Member
 
jdc115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin C Brown View Post

None of Bryston units will work the way that I want an SSP to work. I have 4 dedicated HDMI inputs on my display. I want an SSP with audio only HDMI that has 4 in/4 out. No video processing or switching, just pull the audio off. Oh well... Maybe somebody someday will do this correctly.

I never heard of any AV product doing what you describe. I understand not wanting the video processing but do you believe that having the processor have to switch your 4 inputs to a single HDMI output will have a negative effect? Perhaps it does, but I just never heard of anybody trying this approach, usually multiple HDMI outputs is so can run the same source to different displays.

I think it will be a rare company that does this, I see the reply mentioned Tact Audio, is it in relation to this feature?
jdc115 is offline  
post #410 of 1049 Old 08-27-2008, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Eric Carroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Eric Carroll is offline  
post #411 of 1049 Old 08-28-2008, 01:10 PM
Member
 
Markov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Rotel has announced the RSP-1570 with HDMI 1.3 & HBR Decoders to be shown at CEDIA. Note that this is part of Rotel's entirely new '15' series line up.
http://blog.svconline.com/briefingro...io-components/
Markov is offline  
post #412 of 1049 Old 08-28-2008, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Eric Carroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome, our first CEDIA announcement! Thanks!
Eric Carroll is offline  
post #413 of 1049 Old 08-28-2008, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Eric Carroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Theta Digital announces the much rumoured Casablanca III HDMI HBR Upgrade:

Quote:


Theta Digital Debuts Casablanca III HDMI 1.3b Upgrade

Theta Digital (booth 469) is introducing an HDMI 1.3b upgrade for its acclaimed Casablance 3 Music and Cinema controller, which now supports HDMI 1.3b audio and video signals. Capitalizing on the flexible, card based architecture of the Casablanca 3, the HDMI 1.3b compliant hardware and software will provide four 1.3b inputs and one HDMI 1.3b output.

New formats such as Dolby TruHD and DTS-HD Master Audio are now able to be accessed, leveraging Theta’s legendary expertise in D/A conversion technology, providing the highest levels of performance possible. The Xtreme D-2, Superior II and Premium DAC cards for the CB3 are already capable of processing signals of this caliber – yet another indication of Theta’s forward thinking designs.

This HDMI 1.3b upgrade will also allow the CB3 to switch and pass full HD video signals from sources to to a display device at resolutions up to 1080p with no artifacts or degradation.

True to Theta Digitals long-standing tradition of providing upgrade paths, owners of previous generation Casablanca I and Casablanca II units can upgrade to Casablanca III, to gain access to this HDMI 1.3b option.

Thanks to Ash Sharma for the announcement transcription.
Eric Carroll is offline  
post #414 of 1049 Old 08-29-2008, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Classe has updated the status of the SSP-800 to "now shipping".

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #415 of 1049 Old 08-29-2008, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Eric Carroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
B&K, Rotel, Classe and Theta added to the list.
Eric Carroll is offline  
post #416 of 1049 Old 09-02-2008, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rydenfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sarasota, Fl
Posts: 3,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Check it out! A new NAD Masters Series pre that will bitstream all the codes. Very cool!

http://avforum.no/avnytt/showproduct.php/product/1648

It's in norwegian though, and I'm not sure if that will help you much.

The shortlist:

10bit Gennum VXP videoprocessor (2048x2048 capability)
MultEQ XT with Dynamic EQ
Bitstreams all HD audio formats
Expected release date early 2009
It will look identical to the M15, but be called M15HD
rydenfan is offline  
post #417 of 1049 Old 09-02-2008, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pgwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by rydenfan View Post

Check it out! A new NAD Masters Series pre that will bitstream all the codes. Very cool!

http://avforum.no/avnytt/showproduct.php/product/1648

It's in norwegian though, and I'm not sure if that will help you much.

The shortlist:

10bit Gennum VXP videoprocessor (2048x2048 capability)
MultEQ XT with Dynamic EQ
Bitstreams all HD audio formats
Expected release date early 2009
It will look identical to the M15, but be called M15HD

I've always liked the look of NAD gear. Hopefully they'll release some details.

Builds: Maelstrom 21 Ottoman Build, Dual Opposed MFW's x 2, Statements, SEOS-12/TD12M x 5. 
pgwalsh is online now  
post #418 of 1049 Old 09-02-2008, 02:57 PM
 
CETA1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rydenfan View Post

Check it out! A new NAD Masters Series pre that will bitstream all the codes. Very cool!

http://avforum.no/avnytt/showproduct.php/product/1648

It's in norwegian though, and I'm not sure if that will help you much.

The shortlist:

10bit Gennum VXP videoprocessor (2048x2048 capability)
MultEQ XT with Dynamic EQ
Bitstreams all HD audio formats
Expected release date early 2009
It will look identical to the M15, but be called M15HD

Thanks for the info. This is pretty darn good info.

I have the current NAD Masters that I bought before I updated my speakers to a higher performance level. To be honest, since I upgraded my speakers I have sort of convinced myself that I need to upgrade my Masters to a higher performance level.

The more I listen, the more I tell myself BS. This combo sounds really sweet. What is your problem??

The logical choice for me would be to keep my eye on the new Masters and perhaps a dedicated stereo pre with HT bypass if I really feel a need to upgrade stereo although the Masters is pretty dang good.

I have said on several occasions I feel the NAD Masters did not get the attention they should in their price range. They are excellent and this is a great step forward for the product line.

Thanks for the heads-up.

Rick
CETA1 is offline  
post #419 of 1049 Old 09-02-2008, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by CETA1 View Post


I have said on several occasions I feel the NAD Masters did not get the attention they should in their price range. They are excellent and this is a great step forward for the product line.

Rick

The only reason they didn't was because of the lack of HDMI audio which was strange for the time they put the product out to market.
rnrgagne is offline  
post #420 of 1049 Old 09-02-2008, 04:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,494
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnrgagne View Post

The only reason they didn't was because of the lack of HDMI audio which was strange for the time they put the product out to market.

Yup.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off