Can I connect two amps to the same speaker? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 11-20-2007, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kirkwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Yamaha RX-V659 surround receiver and a Yamaha M-85 power amp that I use for 2-channel listening. I would like to use my Def Tech BP-20s for my fronts in surround and as my mains in 2-channel. Can I connect both amps to the same terminals on the speakers? I would set each amp's speaker select to 'none' and turn it off when using the other amp. I have a pair of Def Tech BP-2s that I use for my surround 'presence' speakers and I'd like to be able to connect them to the M-85 'B' output so I can have both sets of speakers going in 2-channel.
kirkwilson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 11-20-2007, 09:54 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Do so at your own risk...It is NOT advisable to connect 2 amps to 1 speaker...
Splicer010 is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 11-20-2007, 10:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
kulims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why not.
kulims is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 11-20-2007, 10:10 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
For obvious reasons...
Splicer010 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 11-20-2007, 10:51 AM
Member
 
zero-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You stand the risk of running current driven by one amp into the output side of the other amp, something that isn't intended by any stretch of the imagination...

Got $$?
zero-R is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 11-20-2007, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
usp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DOes your receiver have pre-outs? If so, you could use the preouts for the front LR from your receiver and plug them into your power amp and then use the power amp to drive your fronts for both HT and music. You would of course have to route your 2ch music through the receiver in that case.
usp1 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 11-20-2007, 11:08 AM
Member
 
webdevsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its like crossing the streams, you just don't do it. It would be bad. Try to imagine all life as you know it stopping instantaneously and every molecule in your body exploding at the speed of light. Total protonic reversal.
webdevsam is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 11-20-2007, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Calcvictim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
don't try to reinvent the wheel, use google
http://www.hometech.com/audio/spswitch.html
Calcvictim is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 11-20-2007, 12:04 PM
Member
 
eklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't even try it. Just run pre-outs for the front left/right to the amp and use it for both surround sound and 2 ch. I don't understand why you would want to use the receivers amp for surround sound and the external amp for 2 ch. music.
eklinger is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 11-20-2007, 02:43 PM
jhe
AVS Special Member
 
jhe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lexington, MA, USA
Posts: 1,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can do it. But you must get a dual voice coil speaker. Not even sure if those are still made. I've seen them only on woofers.
jhe is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 11-20-2007, 09:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kirkwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not sure and I'm not an engineer but I think there's something called 'reverse breakdown voltage' rating for power transisters. Until the voltage reaches a certain level there is no reverse current so it doesn't damage anything. Anyway I saw the error of my ways and it certainly makes more sense to switch the low-voltage inputs instead of connecting the high current outputs. Thanks for the response- I'd hate to think I caused any 'total protonic reversal' that led to the end of the audio paradisical universe we are now experiencing!
kirkwilson is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 06-30-2010, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spivonious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA, USA
Posts: 1,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Major thread necromancy here, but this question recently came up and I wasn't sure what to say.

Surround sound AVR and a very nice tube setup (separate pre and power amps). He wants to use the same front L/R speakers with both amps without switching the speaker wire each time.

Would a simple a/b switch work? This way it would be impossible for them both to be connected at the same time, and therefore avoid any backflow on the amplifiers.
spivonious is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 06-30-2010, 07:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by spivonious View Post

Would a simple a/b switch work?

Yes.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 06-30-2010, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,380
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 303
An A/B switch will work but get the "break-before-make" variety if you can to keep from momentarily shorting the amps (most speaker switches are already designed that way). Also, not all amps are stable into an open load, and tube output transformers in particular may get warm. A double-pole, double-throw relay or switch would be best, with a load (can be fairly light, like 16 or 32 ohms) to keep the "off" amp happy. That said, tube amp outputs are generally more forgiving of brief shorts and the like due to their transformer isolation.

Edit: Kal gave the short version of my answer.

As for why not connect the wires together, the amps are not always in phase, and many amps have floating outputs that really don't want to see anything except a load across their own two terminals and nothing else. That means that, despite appearances, the amps are not always (or even at all, if the phase on one is reversed from the other) going to be working together in parallel. There are also load-sharing effects, stability issues, etc. Think about taking a power cord from the wall, putting a plug on the other end, then plugging it back in, backwards. Or, jump-starting a car with the positive and negative cables backwards on one vehicle. Don't try this at home, folks...

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-01-2010, 07:09 PM
Newbie
 
Arnold_Layne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Niles Audio makes a the switch you need.

http://www.nilesaudio.com/product.ph...ecordID=Source Switching Systems&categoryID=Switching Systems&catcdID=10&prdcdID=FG00003
Arnold_Layne is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off