the "official Denon AVR-2308ci / AVR-888 owners thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 830 Old 06-24-2011, 06:01 PM
Newbie
 
BLDG GUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can I hook up the apple tv via analog? It only has hdmi and optical outputs?
BLDG GUY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 830 Old 06-24-2011, 10:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,824
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 937
unfortunately with the ATV2 you have no analog outs, so you need to get an optical>analog converter to play it in Zone 2. (Or upgrade the 2308 to a 2809 )

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #723 of 830 Old 06-25-2011, 03:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLDG GUY View Post

How can I hook up the apple tv via analog? It only has hdmi and optical outputs?

This should do the trick for you. Connect the analog input to the same labeled analog jack as you are using for the HDMI source name and you will be able to pass the ATV audio to Zone 2.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #724 of 830 Old 07-07-2011, 09:10 AM
Newbie
 
BA Finstead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to help my brother unravel his setup. His 2308 is in his living room. His goal is to repeat the living room programs in his kitchen with no need to have separate programming for the kitchen and living room.

At this time, he sends the audio from the living room to his kitchen ceiling speakers via the 2308's Zone 2. He has video from his DirecTv DVR and his DVD player sent to the line inputs in his VHS player, with that video output sent to the kitchen TV. Yes. He cannot send his Apple TV video to the kitchen because there are only 2 line inputs to the VHS player. The television, DVR and DVD connect to the 2308 by HDMI and the Apple TV by component. The Harmony remote coordinates all. Sort of.

Given that the 2308's Zone 2 will not transfer video nor will it transfer digital audio input, can I send his video to the kitchen via the 2308's composite monitor output while the HDMI output to the living room TV is still active? If so, are there special 2308 settings? Can I send analog R/L output from the DVR, DVD, and Apple TV to the 2308 along with their current digital outputs to get the Zone 2 output? Should I lose the Zone 2 setup and just use an A/B switch with a separate volume control for the speakers into the kitchen?

Many thanks for any help!
BA Finstead is offline  
post #725 of 830 Old 07-07-2011, 09:40 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
^^
Yes. As long as your sources will output over composite and HDMI simultaneously, then you can make both cable connections to the AVR and output via both composite and HDMI monitor Out jacks on the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #726 of 830 Old 07-08-2011, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
BA Finstead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jdsmoothie: many thanks.
BA Finstead is offline  
post #727 of 830 Old 07-18-2011, 10:35 AM
Newbie
 
DEWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've recently added a Tivo Premiere XL to my 2308 and had a Cox Cable card installed. Since then my audio will work 4.0 for about 10 minutes, then a loud "pop" will occur and only the subwoofer will produce audio. This radio silence will last for approx 15 minutes and normal audio will return and last for another 40 minutes before going out again. At this point the audio will not return, save for the subwoofer. Video remains crystal clear while audio is out.

This problem is present no matter what source I have selected - DVD, FM, V. Aux, etc. Any ideas or assistance anyone may be able to provide would be greatly appreciated!

Aside from the Tivo the only other equipment hooked up to the Receiver is a Denon DVD player.
DEWalker is offline  
post #728 of 830 Old 07-18-2011, 03:03 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
Normally it would be the result of an HDMI handshake with the cable box, but if the issue is occuring with all sources it's also possibly AVR related as well. Try connecting the cable box to the TV with HDMI directly and then connect an optical cable from the cable box to the AVR and see if the issue goes away. If not, reset the AVR (see owner's manual).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #729 of 830 Old 07-19-2011, 01:50 PM
Newbie
 
DEWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good gouge, I'll give it a try and see if that works. Thanks!
DEWalker is offline  
post #730 of 830 Old 07-19-2011, 06:38 PM
Newbie
 
DEWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hooked the TV up directly as you suggested and still no joy. Reset the AVR and when I try to run the auto setup it can't even find the first speaker. I'm guessing my AVR is the problem.
DEWalker is offline  
post #731 of 830 Old 07-19-2011, 06:44 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
Before you call it a day .... power off the AVR and unplug it for 10 minutes. Then do the reset again, ensuring the front panel display flashes at least 3-4 times. Then plug the Audyssey mic in and try to run AUTO SETUP again.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #732 of 830 Old 07-19-2011, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
DEWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will do. I'll let you know how it goes.
DEWalker is offline  
post #733 of 830 Old 07-20-2011, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
DEWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unplugged for 15 minutes, gave it a good 5 flashes on the reset and the AVR still won't find the mic, or speakers when I try to run the auto setup. Video works great but I've got no audio.
DEWalker is offline  
post #734 of 830 Old 07-20-2011, 09:13 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
^^
If you're still getting the same response with no sources connected to the AVR, then it does sound like repair or replace is your next course of action.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #735 of 830 Old 07-20-2011, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEWalker View Post
Unplugged for 15 minutes, gave it a good 5 flashes on the reset and the AVR still won't find the mic, or speakers when I try to run the auto setup. Video works great but I've got no audio.
Hi DEWalker, maybe the measurement cannot be performed because AVR thinks that headphones are plugged in. This is not the normal dust bunny visit but try blowing compressed air into the headphone jack and see what happens.
JChin is offline  
post #736 of 830 Old 07-21-2011, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
DEWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's worth a try. The system has sat idle for the past 10 months due to a military deployment, so I'll give it a whirl. Thanks for the tip!
DEWalker is offline  
post #737 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 07:18 AM
Newbie
 
kies277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung PN58B650, PS3, and Directv HD receiver hooked up vis HDMI to my Denon AVR-888. I have the 2 HDMI connections going to the Denon and then the HDMI out to my TV. Everything works splendidly. Except that I ran into the following:

When I run any video from my TV, ie. Blockbuster widget, Amazon instant video, youtube, I can not get audio. I am aware that I can not get the audio to run from the TV to the Denon via the HDMI because HDMI 1.3 is not ARC capable. I ran a brand new optical cable from the TV to the Denon, but have not figured how to get it to work. I am missing something. Here is what I have tried since googling the issue:

I tried the optical cable hooked to the AUX and the DVR optical input on the Denon. I went in to the Denon menu for input settings and made sure the AUX was assigned to the AUX and the DVR was assigned to the DVR. I made sure they were both set to Digital. I selected DVR and AUX respectively on the Denon remote, so the top lineon the display read AUX or DVR respectively. I even reset the processor on the Denon. I made sure my TV was set to external speaker source. Nothing seems to work. I get wonderful video with absolutely no sound. I tried it with Samsungs Anynet (HDMI-NEC) on at first, then I turned it off. Nothing.

Any suggestions on what I might be doing wrong?
kies277 is offline  
post #738 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 07:40 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
Other than the top line of the display reading AUX or DVR, what does the display read as far as the input signal being received? What does the 888 INFORMATION menu read for the input signal? Do you have another device that accepts optical input that you can use to test that neither the cable nor TV is defective?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #739 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 07:47 AM
Newbie
 
kies277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It says AUX on top, STEREO on the bottom, and the little DIGITAL word with a box around it is on. Nothing changes when I have the cable plugged in or unplugged. When I look at the end of the cable, I do not see any light or anything when it is only plugged into the TV.
kies277 is offline  
post #740 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
kies277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, the cable lights up when I connect it to the Denon Optical output. For some reason, it appears that my TV is not sending the optical audio signal...
kies277 is offline  
post #741 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 07:55 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
Wouldn't hurt to replace the cable if you can easily do so, otherwise check what other settings might be required on the TV. You likely will need to have Anynet+ set to OFF.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #742 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 08:11 AM
Newbie
 
kies277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have it set to off. I was using the cable yesterday, before I hooked up the Denon receiver and it worked fine.
kies277 is offline  
post #743 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by kies277 View Post
II ran a brand new optical cable from the TV to the Denon, but have not figured how to get it to work. I am missing something. Here is what I have tried since googling the issue:

I tried it with Samsungs Anynet (HDMI-NEC) on at first, then I turned it off. Nothing.

Any suggestions on what I might be doing wrong?
Hi kies277, with AnyNet+ set to on ... did it display Denon as the device?
JChin is offline  
post #744 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 09:11 AM
Newbie
 
kies277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, my Anynet says no devices found when it is on. I even refreshed it with the Denon attached.
kies277 is offline  
post #745 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by kies277 View Post
No, my Anynet says no devices found when it is on. I even refreshed it with the Denon attached.
Try these steps:
- remove HDMI cable and Optical cable from tv
- power off tv
- unplug power cord (wait about 1 min)
- connect HDMI cable and Optical cable
- plug power cord
- power on tv (wait a few second to full power up)
- set tv speaker to External
- turn on AnyNet+
- set AnyNet+ Receiver menu to on
- turn on Denon receiver
JChin is offline  
post #746 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 09:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
The 888 doesn't have the HDMI-CEC feature so Anynet+ would not likely have an effect either way.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #747 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The 888 doesn't have the HDMI-CEC feature so Anynet+ would not likely have an effect either way.
Ah didn't know that, but I believe to pass audio from tv optical digital out still require these settings: AnyNet+, AnyNet+ Receiver to "On" and Speaker Select to "External".
JChin is offline  
post #748 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 09:47 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
If that's true .. then yes of course it should be ON then ... just saying why Anynet+ isn't likely recognizing the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #749 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
kies277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried all that, but still nothing. I don't know what you mean about Anynet receiver menu to "on". I have not seen that option. I got the sound to come through the RCA jacks, but still no Optical.
kies277 is offline  
post #750 of 830 Old 07-28-2011, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by kies277 View Post
I tried all that, but still nothing. I don't know what you mean about Anynet receiver menu to "on". I have not seen that option. I got the sound to come through the RCA jacks, but still no Optical.
It should be one of the AnyNet+ menu option, just below "Device".
JChin is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 888 7 1 Channel 5 1 2 Channel Independent Zone Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi I O And Ser

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off