the "official Denon AVR-2308ci / AVR-888 owners thread - Page 26 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 830 Old 07-29-2011, 03:59 PM
Newbie
 
kies277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still no luck. I have RCA jacks going from the TV to the VCR input of my Denon receiver and I get audio from that. The TV is still not sending audio through the optical though.
kies277 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 830 Old 07-29-2011, 04:43 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
Unless you want to get the TV repaired, just use the analog connection and let DD PLII on the AVR simulate 5.1 audio from the stereo audio.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #753 of 830 Old 08-12-2011, 12:32 AM
Newbie
 
smalbenet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have a problem with my AVR-2308, i have one dvd player and a htpc connected to the hdmi (with good supra cables). The problem is that after about one hour the screen goes black, when im watching a movie from the dvd or the htpc. And after a secon or two it comes back again. I think that the HDMI board has a bad soldering? Anyone else with this error?

Regards

Henrik
smalbenet is offline  
post #754 of 830 Old 08-12-2011, 03:55 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
You might want to try replacing the cables anyway as that would certainly be the cheaper alternative to repairing the HDMI board. As you're out of the warranty period, you could pop the top and visually inspect if you can see any issues. If it's dusty, you could try blowing out the dust, possibly even reseating cards/boards with the unit unplugged.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #755 of 830 Old 08-12-2011, 04:09 AM
Newbie
 
smalbenet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the answer, i will replace my cables tonight, and take the cover off and remove the dust. Could it be just a problem with the heat?

//Henrik
smalbenet is offline  
post #756 of 830 Old 08-12-2011, 04:12 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
Certainly possible, but if it's been well ventilated, not likely as Denon AVRs usually don't get that warm.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #757 of 830 Old 08-12-2011, 04:22 AM
Newbie
 
smalbenet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, its well ventilated, so...i will get back with results...
smalbenet is offline  
post #758 of 830 Old 09-06-2011, 04:14 AM
Newbie
 
smalbenet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried now, changed my hdmi cable to the tv, and i also opened the 2308, and checked "all" the contacts. Now its working! Maybe it was the Supra cable, but im not shure.....
smalbenet is offline  
post #759 of 830 Old 09-09-2011, 10:58 AM
Member
 
7TRTCHALLENGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a problem with my 2308ci since my house got hit with lightning.

The Front Right Channel has a serious CRACKLING noise cominig from it whenever you turn the volume down it becomes apparant. Only on the Front Right Channel....???

Any Ideas? Will a hard reset fix this? It's probably toast I know...Right???


Charlie~
7TRTCHALLENGER is offline  
post #760 of 830 Old 09-09-2011, 11:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921
Probably toast but might as well try the reset and see, you'd get a more definite answer than from some guy on the internet.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #761 of 830 Old 09-11-2011, 04:16 AM
Member
 
7TRTCHALLENGER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well after work I went home and reset it and the noise is gone!!!

Thought I would share with you................Thanks for the encouragement!

Charlie~
7TRTCHALLENGER is offline  
post #762 of 830 Old 09-11-2011, 08:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921
awesome! disaster averted!

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #763 of 830 Old 09-13-2011, 05:06 AM
Member
 
ToddnMiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been having issues with my AVR-2308ci and I gave up until I had more time . . . this 3-day weekend I played some more and have more details to add hoping someone may have a suggestion on a repair. Any input appreciated (FYI, I bought an Onkyo for now but would like this one for my game room if it can be fixed).

System Seup:
* Game-room setup is 5.1 (5 in-celing speakers and a sub); these work fine with the Onkyo and are currently working with a REALLY old Sony STR-DE925
* BluRay Player is a PS3, Cable Box connected HDMI and from there its going to a Samsung 55" LCD, all using HDMI.

Issue/Notes:
* The last time it was working I was using sound via an Optical connection and when I switched back to HDMI it stopped. I thought maybe it was a setting but I've reset the microprocessor several times and tried every setting (including auto-setup) I could think of using.
* When I tried the automatic setup with the Denon mic and it played static through the Left/Front and Rear/Right speakers and the mic did not recognize any speaker being setup. The speaker static sound didn't change when I tried to manually adjust them either even though they changed (different one blinked) on the onscreen setting.
* The video plays fine through the TV while this static is happening.
* In HDMI setup if I switch to "TV" instead of "Amp" the audio plays fine though the TV.
* I can get 2-channel audio from an iPod on the CD option, but if I start playing with the speaker options (e.g. setting them to small and adding the subwoofer I lose audio).

Any/All suggestions greatly appreciated.

Cheers!
Todd
ToddnMiss is offline  
post #764 of 830 Old 09-13-2011, 06:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^
The AVR has a 2 year warranty and if you purchased with a credit card, your card may add an additional 1 year to the warranty. If you're inside that timeframe, then get it to a repair center pronto. Otherwise, if not, replacing the HDMI board will likely cost roughly $500 so replacing it would be your best option.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #765 of 830 Old 10-17-2011, 07:09 PM
Newbie
 
brafin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been enjoying my AVR-888 for about 2 years now and haven't had a problem with the unit until now. I just got back from a week long trip and now my AVR is acting up. Before I left I had no problems with them receiver, but now, through every source/channel/etc, all I get through all channels of the system is white noise. There is no other sound except for the white noise. My housekeeper was the only person in my house, so something might have been bumped while she was dusting, but the unit would not have been on. I would love some insight into a solution for this problem I am having.
brafin is offline  
post #766 of 830 Old 10-17-2011, 07:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
First try unplugging the AVR for about 10 minutes and if still no joy, then look in your Owner's manual and follow the Reset the Microprocessor instructions.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #767 of 830 Old 10-18-2011, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
brafin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks JD. I reset the microprocessor and I am still only getting white noise. Obviously this is not a setting issue. Any other clues as to what this might possibly be?
brafin is offline  
post #768 of 830 Old 10-18-2011, 05:50 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
Confirm all cabling is securely in place. Does the TUNER work? Do other non-HDMI sources work? You may be looking at repair if you're still inside the 2 year warranty (if purchased from an authorized reseller) or if you purchased with a charge card, your provider may add an extra year to the warranty.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #769 of 830 Old 10-25-2011, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
Cheyenne57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to hook up my old avr-2308ci at brothers house. He has a non-HDMI Dish satellite box that I wired to Denon using RCA audio and S-Video cables. I connected into the TV/CBL inputs. Using HDMI cable out to TV. I have sound thru the Denon but no video to the TV. I suspect that it had something to do with the Input Assign function and I see no selection for S-Video in. Please help!
Cheyenne57 is offline  
post #770 of 830 Old 10-25-2011, 11:50 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
Make sure that the video is also plugged in to the TV/CBL S-video jack as well as that the TV/CBL Video Convert (p. 36) setting is set to ON. The i/p Scaler (p. 28) setting should be set to "AtoH" as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #771 of 830 Old 10-25-2011, 03:01 PM
Newbie
 
Cheyenne57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Make sure that the video is also plugged in to the TV/CBL S-video jack as well as that the TV/CBL Video Convert (p. 36) setting is set to ON. The i/p Scaler (p. 28) setting should be set to "AtoH" as well.

The i/p Scaler was set correctly and when I set the Video Convert to ON, I got a picture instantly.

Thank you ever so much!!!!

PS: I'd have thought that a better tag for a Floridian would be something like "jdmojito".
Cheyenne57 is offline  
post #772 of 830 Old 10-25-2011, 03:10 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
What can I say ... I'm a health nut ... and don't like rum.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #773 of 830 Old 10-26-2011, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
Boclive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hooked up in my living room and used it everyday for the last 4 and 1/2 years. It is a mystery and a puzzle. I get a lot out of it (50" plasma, Klipsch surround/w sub, zone 2 speakers in the garage, out at the pool, on the back porch, in the master bath, etx).

I've never set up the Audigy (surround sounds ok, so I never took the trouble).

Of course it doesn't have enough HDMI inputs, so I've added a 3 into 1 pigtail input into one of the inputs - with very little success. Either I get video on the "chosen" device and no sound, or sound and no video, or no sound and no video. The pigtail is supposed to be intelligent, and it appears to work, but if the DVD (blu-ray) player is connected (doesn't have to be on) nothing works except that player. This is a big mystery to me, but...

that is not my main problem. My zone two works for audio for most inputs. Lately, I can view and listen to for example music over the Apple TV input on Zone one (5 channel stereo, and other modes, not simply "stereo"?) but I cannot simultaneously get the audio from that input source over Zone 2?

I really need a cheatsheet for the users manual AND the main remote.

Am I missing something elementary? I'm probably missing something elementary.
Boclive is offline  
post #774 of 830 Old 10-26-2011, 03:34 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
Only analog sources will pass to Zone 2 so in addition to the HDMI cable, if you have an ATV1 connect an analog cable as well .. if an ATV2, then connect an optical to analog converter.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #775 of 830 Old 11-06-2011, 08:19 AM
Newbie
 
Boclive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry I could't thank you sooner. In addition to being challenged to the point of failure by the remote control and the user's manual I immediately failed to set a password properly on this forum. Thanks again for the "reminder" that zone two input must be analog.

Now if I could just learn how to use the remote PARTICULARLY the "SOURCE CONTROL" settings on the bottom... how is it that it has a "Ipod/Network" setting (even as I ask this I confess that I have the wireless Denon Ipod Dock connected)? I've never gotten anything from that wireless network connection... and how is zone 2 a source?
Boclive is offline  
post #776 of 830 Old 11-06-2011, 11:09 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
Not sure what your issue is with the iPod/Network setting other than it must be selected to use the iPod dock. Also, the Zone 2 setting is not a "source" setting, rather, once set, it allows the a source that is selected to be assigned to Zone 2.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #777 of 830 Old 12-25-2011, 11:01 AM
Newbie
 
akajaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in need of help. I have a very simple set up with my AVR - 888. I use a PC as a single source of all media coming into the Denon. The signal is delivered via an HDMI cable. I have recently bought Sony digital cordless headphones with an optical input. Having connected them to the optical out on the Denon, I get no signal. Could anyone please suggest a solution. Thanks in advance
akajaga is offline  
post #778 of 830 Old 12-25-2011, 11:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921
HDMI audio is never "converted" to another output format, so your plan will not work as currently configured. You would need to add an optical input plugged into the corresponding OPT-2 input (DVR). If your computer cannot output HDMI + optical simultaneously you are kind of SOL.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #779 of 830 Old 12-26-2011, 02:10 AM
Senior Member
 
pixelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: GSP
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This box would fix the problem, and convert the HDMI to optical, but its another $170...

Or another work-around would be to use the RCA input on the Sonys with a couple of monoprice boxes. This HDMI splitter, output to both your screen and to and this HDMI > composite/rca converter to the headphones... Ugh, hopefully your PC simply can output both HDMI & optical, or an add-on X-Fi card might help, I dunno.
pixelman is offline  
post #780 of 830 Old 12-28-2011, 08:33 PM
Newbie
 
akajaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Many tanks for the replies. Does this mean that if I were to plug in a DVR with no HDMI I would also be out of luck?
akajaga is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 888 7 1 Channel 5 1 2 Channel Independent Zone Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi I O And Ser

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off