the "official Denon AVR-2308ci / AVR-888 owners thread - Page 29 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #841 of 865 Old 02-12-2016, 08:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
No, you should be fine. These older non-network models could only update firmware via serial interface and generally would only have an update if there was a major bug that needed fixing.
Ok, thank you!
Chuck Kelley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 865 Old 05-06-2016, 07:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,

I have a problem with my AVR-888 device.
Yesterday I tried (for the first time) to connect an analog source, in particular a CD player and a Turntable (with a MM cartridge).
Obviously I interfaced them as per manual (phone and CD analog inputs).
But, in brief: no sound from the speakers

After, I tried to connect an headphone and it was fine.
On the unit display was correctly reported H/P ON and OFF when the H/P was connected and disconnected (so I don't think that it's a contact, dust, problem).

I don't have any problem with the HDMI signals.

Is there some analog menu setting that I miss? Any idea?

I opened a ticket on Denon website and I'm waiting for their response.

Thank you in advance for the help.
Kova78 is offline  
post #843 of 865 Old 05-07-2016, 08:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,816
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12332 Post(s)
Liked: 5630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kova78 View Post
Hi all,

I have a problem with my AVR-888 device.
Yesterday I tried (for the first time) to connect an analog source, in particular a CD player and a Turntable (with a MM cartridge).
Obviously I interfaced them as per manual (phone and CD analog inputs).
But, in brief: no sound from the speakers

After, I tried to connect an headphone and it was fine.
On the unit display was correctly reported H/P ON and OFF when the H/P was connected and disconnected (so I don't think that it's a contact, dust, problem).

I don't have any problem with the HDMI signals.

Is there some analog menu setting that I miss? Any idea?

I opened a ticket on Denon website and I'm waiting for their response.

Thank you in advance for the help.
Ensure the "INPUT MODE" setting = "Analog" and then simply raise the master volume higher.
jdsmoothie is offline  
 
post #844 of 865 Old 07-11-2016, 12:02 PM
Member
 
nixon08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HD Audio / Settings / Calibration

Greetings

I've been reading this thread since 2009 when I first purchased my AVR-888. The thing is still running strong and I don't plan on replacing it anytime soon. However, since moving to my new home and rebuilding my setup, for some reason I can't get quality sound out of the DTS NEO:6 or Dolby PLII cinema settings. The sound is pretty good on matrix but I know it can sound better.

The problem is mainly with my center channel -- a Definitive CLR 2002. When set to DTS or Dolby PLII, my center channel audio sounds extremely flat and the sound from my bi-polar towers (also DT speakers) is barely audible.

I used to use the Audyssey system to calibrate my speakers but I've since lost the mic. Does this sound like a simple calibration issue that I can tackle inside of the AVR settings, or is this something else?
nixon08 is offline  
post #845 of 865 Old 07-11-2016, 01:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,816
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12332 Post(s)
Liked: 5630
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixon08 View Post
Greetings

I've been reading this thread since 2009 when I first purchased my AVR-888. The thing is still running strong and I don't plan on replacing it anytime soon. However, since moving to my new home and rebuilding my setup, for some reason I can't get quality sound out of the DTS NEO:6 or Dolby PLII cinema settings. The sound is pretty good on matrix but I know it can sound better.

The problem is mainly with my center channel -- a Definitive CLR 2002. When set to DTS or Dolby PLII, my center channel audio sounds extremely flat and the sound from my bi-polar towers (also DT speakers) is barely audible.

I used to use the Audyssey system to calibrate my speakers but I've since lost the mic. Does this sound like a simple calibration issue that I can tackle inside of the AVR settings, or is this something else?
Just buy a replacement DM-A405 mic and get back to the better audio quality you were used to.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DENON-MICROP...4AAOSw2GlXEmIL
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #846 of 865 Old 07-11-2016, 02:03 PM
Member
 
nixon08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Just buy a replacement DM-A405 mic and get back to the better audio quality you were used to.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DENON-MICROP...4AAOSw2GlXEmIL
I'll do that. Still, it bothers me that I can't seem to adjust the EQ manually. I mean, I can, but it makes no difference in the sound. I can jack all of the Hz up and down and it makes no difference. What gives?
nixon08 is offline  
post #847 of 865 Old 07-11-2016, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,816
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12332 Post(s)
Liked: 5630
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixon08 View Post
I'll do that. Still, it bothers me that I can't seem to adjust the EQ manually. I mean, I can, but it makes no difference in the sound. I can jack all of the Hz up and down and it makes no difference. What gives?
You'll never be able to manually do what Audyssey is capable of doing.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #848 of 865 Old 07-24-2016, 06:36 PM
Member
 
nixon08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You'll never be able to manually do what Audyssey is capable of doing.
Ok so the mic came, and I ran through the audyssey as I have in the past but for some reason when I set the amp to multi ch in or multi ch direct (this is what I want, no?), my center channel still sounds way off -- it's completely flat, no tone at all. But when I switch it over to matrix it sounds crisp and clear.

On the other hand, when on multi ch in or direct, the surround is much better.

How can I adjust my center channel, or have audyssey do that? Why isn't it automatically?
nixon08 is offline  
post #849 of 865 Old 07-25-2016, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,816
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12332 Post(s)
Liked: 5630
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixon08 View Post
Ok so the mic came, and I ran through the audyssey as I have in the past but for some reason when I set the amp to multi ch in or multi ch direct (this is what I want, no?), my center channel still sounds way off -- it's completely flat, no tone at all. But when I switch it over to matrix it sounds crisp and clear.

On the other hand, when on multi ch in or direct, the surround is much better.

How can I adjust my center channel, or have audyssey do that? Why isn't it automatically?
MULTI CH IN means the source device is decoding the DD/DTS audio to PCM. If you haven't already try resetting the microprocessor (p. 49 Owner's manual) which will restore all settings to factory default and wipe out the current Audyssey settings as well. Run Audyssey again.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #850 of 865 Old 07-25-2016, 12:51 PM
Member
 
nixon08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
MULTI CH IN means the source device is decoding the DD/DTS audio to PCM. If you haven't already try resetting the microprocessor (p. 49 Owner's manual) which will restore all settings to factory default and wipe out the current Audyssey settings as well. Run Audyssey again.
I appreciate the help. I reset to factory and ran Audyssey again. Still the same. Here's my setup, if it helps:

5.1 with Front L/R Definitive bi-polars, center ch is a Definitive C/L/R, L/R surrounds are just a pair of small Bose speakers, and the SW is a Sony, not that it matters here.

My BD is a PS3 set to output Linear PCM with all of the right 5.1 ch options selected in the audio output menu. This, I guess, is why I'm getting "multi-ch in" rather than "Dolby DTS-HD" on the Denon display.

I'm playing a bluray (Frozen -- it's what happens to be in there) which I believe is DTS-HD. When set to Matrix, the center channel is crisp and clear, but surround is not stellar. When set to multi-ch in, the surround is stellar but the center channel tone is way off.

So I go into the Denon menu >> manual EQ and notice that the Audyssey Flat settings are a bit odd. The DB +/- seem good for all speakers but the center, where 1kHz - 16kHz is at 0.0. And when I adjust those which are 0.0, even all the way to +6.0, there is no audible difference.

So, the few facts that I do have are...

-Nothing wrong with speaker or speaker wiring (I don't think) since it sounds good on Matrix
-Nothing wrong with Audyssey since it does seem to be working
-Nothing wrong with PS3 settings

Any ideas?
nixon08 is offline  
post #851 of 865 Old 07-25-2016, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,816
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12332 Post(s)
Liked: 5630
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixon08 View Post
I appreciate the help. I reset to factory and ran Audyssey again. Still the same. Here's my setup, if it helps:

5.1 with Front L/R Definitive bi-polars, center ch is a Definitive C/L/R, L/R surrounds are just a pair of small Bose speakers, and the SW is a Sony, not that it matters here.

My BD is a PS3 set to output Linear PCM with all of the right 5.1 ch options selected in the audio output menu. This, I guess, is why I'm getting "multi-ch in" rather than "Dolby DTS-HD" on the Denon display.

I'm playing a bluray (Frozen -- it's what happens to be in there) which I believe is DTS-HD. When set to Matrix, the center channel is crisp and clear, but surround is not stellar. When set to multi-ch in, the surround is stellar but the center channel tone is way off.

So I go into the Denon menu >> manual EQ and notice that the Audyssey Flat settings are a bit odd. The DB +/- seem good for all speakers but the center, where 1kHz - 16kHz is at 0.0. And when I adjust those which are 0.0, even all the way to +6.0, there is no audible difference.

So, the few facts that I do have are...

-Nothing wrong with speaker or speaker wiring (I don't think) since it sounds good on Matrix
-Nothing wrong with Audyssey since it does seem to be working
-Nothing wrong with PS3 settings

Any ideas?
Try setting the PS3 to "bitstream" instead.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #852 of 865 Old 07-25-2016, 01:10 PM
Member
 
nixon08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Try setting the PS3 to "bitstream" instead.
When I do that, I get no audio. Also, I thought that the PS3 (not an original model, I think I have a slim, but it's about 7 years old) would not output bitstream to the 888?
nixon08 is offline  
post #853 of 865 Old 07-25-2016, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,816
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12332 Post(s)
Liked: 5630
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixon08 View Post
When I do that, I get no audio. Also, I thought that the PS3 (not an original model, I think I have a slim, but it's about 7 years old) would not output bitstream to the 888?
Although the PS3 slim can output both bitstream HD DD/DTS audio, the 888 cannot decode it; however, it can decode standard DD/DTS.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #854 of 865 Old 07-25-2016, 01:34 PM
Member
 
nixon08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Although the PS3 slim can output both bitstream HD DD/DTS audio, the 888 cannot decode it; however, it can decode standard DD/DTS.
But it isn't standard DD/DTS audio I want. It's HD DD/DTS audio. Forgive me for asking, but why would I set my PS3 in such away that would prevent the 888 from outputting HD audio?

Besides, I tried it and get no audio from the blu-ray unless it is set to PCM.

I really feel like this is a tone issue, specifically on the center channel. Why, when I adjust my center channel settings via the manual EQ, does it make no difference in the sound output?

Perhaps more puzzling is why channel tones vary from Matrix to Multi. Why does the center tone sound great on Matrix but not on Multi?
nixon08 is offline  
post #855 of 865 Old 07-25-2016, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,816
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12332 Post(s)
Liked: 5630
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixon08 View Post
But it isn't standard DD/DTS audio I want. It's HD DD/DTS audio. Forgive me for asking, but why would I set my PS3 in such away that would prevent the 888 from outputting HD audio?

Besides, I tried it and get no audio from the blu-ray unless it is set to PCM.

I really feel like this is a tone issue, specifically on the center channel. Why, when I adjust my center channel settings via the manual EQ, does it make no difference in the sound output?

Perhaps more puzzling is why channel tones vary from Matrix to Multi. Why does the center tone sound great on Matrix but not on Multi?
You obviously wouldn't, rather simply trying to suggest you test bitstreaming standard DD/DTS to see if the same issue presents.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #856 of 865 Old 07-25-2016, 04:29 PM
Member
 
nixon08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You obviously wouldn't, rather simply trying to suggest you test bitstreaming standard DD/DTS to see if the same issue presents.
Ah, ok, I'll try that out and report back. And if it does (or doesn't)?
nixon08 is offline  
post #857 of 865 Old 07-25-2016, 06:19 PM
Member
 
nixon08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixon08 View Post
Ah, ok, I'll try that out and report back. And if it does (or doesn't)?
Ok so I'm a dummy. After all of this, my center speaker was only half-wired. I'd forgotten but it has 4 terminals. Whoops. Thanks though!
nixon08 is offline  
post #858 of 865 Old 01-04-2017, 09:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy Channels drop at times

Hi,
been using my 2308CI since I bought it in 2007. It's been moved three or four times in its life, but its been stable here since at least 3 years. When I mean use I mean power-use the $#$ out of it; I believe there is not that many inputs/outputs not currently plugged in - and most of the inputs are being hacked at in both analog & digital. (You know, trying to keep all your nostalgia consoles + the current ones, and Chromecast, and tvbox, and BD, etc.)

ANYHOW,
since the last year, I've been witnessing a drop of the right channels from time to time, no matter the input. (Well, can't say that I,ve witnessed it on all inputs, but deffo on the digital ones). Sometimes it drops only under a certain volume - but cranking it up again won't revive it.

Powering down & powering up the unit usually brings it back. This mornin though, Both channels were down. At first I thought my kids had messed with a param (like A/B, analog, Z2, etc.) but no... it really wasn't outputting anything (while pretending to be.)

Again, a power down & power up brought it back but... I fear for its life now. Sad thing is I have no desire for now to upgrade it, I'm fine with stereo (yeah, my surround years are behind me - was way too much into the useless pro logic when it started, worked my way up to 5.1 but now couldn.t care less. Maybe when the kids will be older, and we finish that basement... ) Its basically, for me, a stereo amp but with a kickass HDMI/opt/analog avr switch & upconverter.)
------------

What do you guys think ?
I have no technical reasons to back it up, but my 'feeling' is the pre-amp is going away. Or I guess it could be the power amp.(lol) Being digital, I can't really play with the pre-amplified input volume.
I'm thinking some kind of 'relay switch' doesn.t activate anymore under a certain level of volume...if that makes any kinda of sense.
I obviously will try to mend it on my own, after a few suggestions from your side (electrical engineer here, but haven.t played inside an amp in ages, let alone a digital one.) I mean I can swap a few caps or two, but I won't characterize & overhaul the whole thing like I did on my good ole analog sansui. Anyhow, I assume that everything's mostly handled by a set of ic chips.

ALSO-
I'm only mentioning this for the sake of giving all the info && because I have seen someone mentioning something about PQ.
In the last months, the picture has become grainy as F*. I mean, like if the sharpness controls went to 200% and full backlit, no noise cancellation (a bit like a very robust 'game mode'). I always thought it was my TV that was going out (its 5-6 years old, plasma) - I had resetted it, played with all the controls, but to no avail.

Any solid surface shows signs of grains, as if it was snowing (well it is snowing currently, but outside )

Anyways - ANY comments appreciated (even if making fun of me)
djbono2 is offline  
post #859 of 865 Old 01-06-2017, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
zimdba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbono2 View Post
Hi,
been using my 2308CI since I bought it in 2007. It's been moved three or four times in its life, but its been stable here since at least 3 years. When I mean use I mean power-use the $#$ out of it; I believe there is not that many inputs/outputs not currently plugged in - and most of the inputs are being hacked at in both analog & digital. (You know, trying to keep all your nostalgia consoles + the current ones, and Chromecast, and tvbox, and BD, etc.)

ANYHOW,
since the last year, I've been witnessing a drop of the right channels from time to time, no matter the input. (Well, can't say that I,ve witnessed it on all inputs, but deffo on the digital ones). Sometimes it drops only under a certain volume - but cranking it up again won't revive it.

Powering down & powering up the unit usually brings it back. This mornin though, Both channels were down. At first I thought my kids had messed with a param (like A/B, analog, Z2, etc.) but no... it really wasn't outputting anything (while pretending to be.)

Again, a power down & power up brought it back but... I fear for its life now. Sad thing is I have no desire for now to upgrade it, I'm fine with stereo (yeah, my surround years are behind me - was way too much into the useless pro logic when it started, worked my way up to 5.1 but now couldn.t care less. Maybe when the kids will be older, and we finish that basement... ) Its basically, for me, a stereo amp but with a kickass HDMI/opt/analog avr switch & upconverter.)
------------

What do you guys think ?
I have no technical reasons to back it up, but my 'feeling' is the pre-amp is going away. Or I guess it could be the power amp.(lol) Being digital, I can't really play with the pre-amplified input volume.
I'm thinking some kind of 'relay switch' doesn.t activate anymore under a certain level of volume...if that makes any kinda of sense.
I obviously will try to mend it on my own, after a few suggestions from your side (electrical engineer here, but haven.t played inside an amp in ages, let alone a digital one.) I mean I can swap a few caps or two, but I won't characterize & overhaul the whole thing like I did on my good ole analog sansui. Anyhow, I assume that everything's mostly handled by a set of ic chips.

ALSO-
I'm only mentioning this for the sake of giving all the info && because I have seen someone mentioning something about PQ.
In the last months, the picture has become grainy as F*. I mean, like if the sharpness controls went to 200% and full backlit, no noise cancellation (a bit like a very robust 'game mode'). I always thought it was my TV that was going out (its 5-6 years old, plasma) - I had resetted it, played with all the controls, but to no avail.

Any solid surface shows signs of grains, as if it was snowing (well it is snowing currently, but outside )

Anyways - ANY comments appreciated (even if making fun of me)
I think you need to plug the source directly into the TV to make sure that it IS the Denon causing the issue. See if you can go source to TV over HDMI, then optical to the Denon. If there's no change in your issue then it's clearly the Denon. You'd have to decide your path from there.

--
zimdba
zimdba is offline  
post #860 of 865 Old 01-09-2017, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks,
yes I had tested before - it's definitely not the source
(swapped sound card, swapped hdmi cable; virtually swapped L&R channels,etc)
its definitely the AMP that craps out at times.
djbono2 is offline  
post #861 of 865 Old 01-13-2017, 02:02 PM
Member
 
nixon08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys, quick question. Will the AVR-888 work with a 4k BD player? If not, can you think of any other areas where the 888 could be hurting my viewing experience? Wondering if it's time for something new. FWIW I own a Samsung 65" JS8500, a Sony BPD-s6700, and my Fios HD box. I play 100% of my 4k and HDR content straight from my TV using Netflix or Amazon, and connect it to the AVR for surround using an optical cable.
nixon08 is offline  
post #862 of 865 Old 01-14-2017, 02:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,816
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12332 Post(s)
Liked: 5630
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixon08 View Post
Hey guys, quick question. Will the AVR-888 work with a 4k BD player? If not, can you think of any other areas where the 888 could be hurting my viewing experience? Wondering if it's time for something new. FWIW I own a Samsung 65" JS8500, a Sony BPD-s6700, and my Fios HD box. I play 100% of my 4k and HDR content straight from my TV using Netflix or Amazon, and connect it to the AVR for surround using an optical cable.
1. Yes, it will work as long as the BDP has dual HDMI outputs ... one passing video to the TV (as only 2015 and newer models can pass 4k/HDCP 2.2 video through the AVR) and one passing the audio to the AVR.
2. Your audio experience is limited to only DD 5.1 using the optical cable from the TV, whereas if the TV is able to pass DD+ from Netflix over the HDMI(ARC) connection, a newer model AVR (ie. 2010 and newer) that also has HDMI(ARC) would be able to receive the DD+ audio from 4k Netflix videos.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #863 of 865 Old 02-28-2017, 07:59 PM
Newbie
 
patrickfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, I take i guess to explain my problem here first. I own this receive 2308ci since 7 years and having this problem.

Sometimes sound don't go out from center and right speaker. When I use the test tone, I can get sound from these speaker if I put up volume, then it work for sometimes.

I don't know where to check. How to explain this ? Any idea ?
patrickfx is offline  
post #864 of 865 Old 03-01-2017, 05:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,816
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12332 Post(s)
Liked: 5630
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickfx View Post
Hello all, I take i guess to explain my problem here first. I own this receive 2308ci since 7 years and having this problem.

Sometimes sound don't go out from center and right speaker. When I use the test tone, I can get sound from these speaker if I put up volume, then it work for sometimes.

I don't know where to check. How to explain this ? Any idea ?
Check for loose speaker wire connections, otherwise, could be amps are beginning to fail. Try swapping the FL/FR speakers and see if the issue presents on the swapped speaker indicating an amp issue. Good time to upgrade to a more current model, especially if planning on buying a 4k TV.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #865 of 865 Old Today, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
patrickfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Check for loose speaker wire connections, otherwise, could be amps are beginning to fail. Try swapping the FL/FR speakers and see if the issue presents on the swapped speaker indicating an amp issue. Good time to upgrade to a more current model, especially if planning on buying a 4k TV.
Thanks for the answer. I make attention to simple but sometimes effective solution you mention. Without any result unfortunately, but happy someone try to help me.

I the continue my investigation. I figure for strange reason the "Mult-zone setting with the amp assign option" was to "Direct / Stereo - multi 5.1". I then change to "Multi 5.1 - Zone 2", the setting number #3 in the manual.

Then, my stereo work again for both speaker.

hummmm! I have the feeling it's not fix for ever but for now, it work.

Thanks again.
patrickfx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 888 7 1 Channel 5 1 2 Channel Independent Zone Home Theater Receiver With Hdmi I O And Ser



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off