Marantz AV8003 and MM8003 - Page 116 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3451 of 3466 Old 07-05-2013, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
sbradley02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hood River, OR
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Considering the other issues I have seen with the AV8003 and using the Network feature, I am unlikely to get this to work, but figured I would try here before I give up.
First I tried upgrading the firmware. I get a can't contact server error, despite the fact that my UD8004 on the same hub has no issues.
Firing up network on the AV, I can see the DLNA server, but it can't access any files. This is true for multiple DLNA servers so this pretty much has to be on the Marantz side.

Any ideas?

Thanks
sbradley02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3452 of 3466 Old 12-31-2013, 09:22 AM
Member
 
darcraver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My SR8002 blew a couple of weeks ago and I've picked up a AV8003 and gone the separates route with separate amps. The SR8002 was struggling a little driving all speakers with the fronts being 4 ohms.

I picked up a AV8003 mainly for the great reviews I've read on the sound quality of this machine. I listen to a lot of SACD's and CD's via the analog connections. It's nice that it is also a decent processor for watching movies and has an ok DAC for playing music files from the PC (via HDMI) smile.gif. At a later date I might add a separate DAC and possibly even a separate preamp, but this machine will do for now.

Still reading through some of the older posts. There is some useful information there - so thanks to previous posters. I'll add anything if I can.
darcraver is offline  
post #3453 of 3466 Old 01-01-2014, 09:00 PM
Member
 
mlb585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up an 8003 processor for my 6.1 setup. I configured everything but had a question regarding the 6.1 setup. Since I am only using one surround back channel, I configured the processor (via On screen display) in speaker set-up that I am using 1-channel. Per the manual, it indicates if you're doing this configuration (for 6.1) to use the SB left pre-out connection.

What I really want to know is will I hear a true surround back in this rear center channel when playing blu rays with 6.1 DTS-MA/6.1 Dolby TrueHD with these settings? Also, what will come through that speaker when I play a 7.1 Dolby/DTS disks that have discrete/lossless formats?....will it be a matrixed Surround Back track through that center rear channel? Any help or assistance would be greatly appreciated!
mlb585 is offline  
post #3454 of 3466 Old 01-02-2014, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 400
FWIW, some people have reported that having a single surround-back speaker centered behind them can result in a strange sonic illusion, such that some sounds which should be coming from behind seem to be coming from in front.

Otherwise, yes: 6.1 channel audio is designed to use a single rear speaker, while 7.1 channel audio has both of its rear channels mixed together into the single rear speaker. The type of discrete encoding is irrelevant. It's not "matrixing", though. That's the process used to blend multiple audio tracks into fewer in a way such that they can be separated out later. In this case, they're just blended together into one channel that'll never be separated.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #3455 of 3466 Old 01-02-2014, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
sbradley02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hood River, OR
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

FWIW, some people have reported that having a single surround-back speaker centered behind them can result in a strange sonic illusion, such that some sounds which should be coming from behind seem to be coming from in front.

Otherwise, yes: 6.1 channel audio is designed to use a single rear speaker, while 7.1 channel audio has both of its rear channels mixed together into the single rear speaker. The type of discrete encoding is irrelevant. It's not "matrixing", though. That's the process used to blend multiple audio tracks into fewer in a way such that they can be separated out later. In this case, they're just blended together into one channel that'll never be separated.

I have an AV8003 (hopefully soon to be replaced by an Emotiva XMC-1) in this configuration and the surround works quite well, with proper tracking around and front to back.
sbradley02 is offline  
post #3456 of 3466 Old 01-14-2014, 08:20 PM
Member
 
darcraver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to increase the brightness of the display on the front of unit?
darcraver is offline  
post #3457 of 3466 Old 01-17-2014, 09:41 AM
Member
 
mlb585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbradley02 View Post

I have an AV8003 (hopefully soon to be replaced by an Emotiva XMC-1) in this configuration and the surround works quite well, with proper tracking around and front to back.

Thanks for the info about this!
mlb585 is offline  
post #3458 of 3466 Old 01-17-2014, 09:45 AM
Member
 
mlb585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how to access the service menu or service commands area of the av8003? Marantz tech provided me power on/off commands for remotely controlling a Marantz MA700 mono block amp from the av8003... but they never told me how I could access that command/service area of the av8003. Can anyone provide any help or assistance with this?
mlb585 is offline  
post #3459 of 3466 Old 02-07-2014, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Fastnbulbous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have an old Panny plasma that came with the condo that's 10+ years old and works perfectly fine, except it does not have HDMI input. So I currently use both HDMI (sound) and RCA component cables from cable box and Blu-Ray into the AV8003. That works, but I'd like to upgrade the Blu-Ray to a wireless model in anticipation of Netflix eventually pulling the plug on disc service. I'm pretty limited for selections that still offer component outputs. I keep thinking there should be a way for the 8003 to just convert the signal from the HDMI to the component output, but no luck so far. Suggestions, other than buying a new tv?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Fastnbulbous is offline  
post #3460 of 3466 Old 02-07-2014, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 400
HDIM to component video converters are available. You could connect everything to the pre/pro and convert its output to drive the TV. An example is http://www.monoprice.com/products/product_print.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011410&p_id=8125

Bear in mind that there is a lot of wireless interference in some environments which might cause problems when watching streamed video. Dropouts which don't cause problems for file transfers can be quite aggravating when they affect video or audio streams.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #3461 of 3466 Old 02-07-2014, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Fastnbulbous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That link is dead but I know what you mean, have considered it. I guess this means the 8003 cannot switch HDMI to component.

It would be an added cost on top of getting a new player. My best bet looks to be a used/refurbed LG BD670, as none of the current models have component. I can't believe old Oppo BDP-93 still sells for $350. Insane.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Fastnbulbous is offline  
post #3462 of 3466 Old 02-07-2014, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Unfortunately, receivers don't translate HDMI to component or composite video. Apparently that restriction is in the licenses the manufacturers have to sign before they're allowed to incorporate HDMI into their designs.

Another provision in the HDMI license is the "analog sunset" clause which prevents high-resolution component video outputs being provided in current generation players. frown.gif Even Oppo has had to eliminate them.

Older Oppos maintain their prices because they're premium units with high reliability and the features people want.

I don't understand why the link doesn't work for you: it was provided to me by Google just now when I searched for
hdmi composite convert
But there are other sources, of course. One of the things to look for is whether or not the converter outputs high resolution analog video. Many only output standard resolution video signals.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #3463 of 3466 Old 07-05-2014, 07:19 PM
Newbie
 
art_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ne pa, usa
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up a used AV8003 and having a weird issue with HDMI input 2. Getting sound but no video. All others work fine. Doesn't matter what device or cable is plugged in.
art_z is offline  
post #3464 of 3466 Old 07-06-2014, 04:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Have you tried doing a system reset several times in a row?

Audio and video are transmitted over the same wires (audio is sent during the video's "vertical retrace interval") so getting one without the other suggests a setting or firmware problem rather than a hardware problem.
art_z likes this.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #3465 of 3466 Old 07-14-2014, 07:09 PM
Newbie
 
art_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ne pa, usa
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
System reset fixed it. Thanks!
art_z is offline  
post #3466 of 3466 Old 07-15-2014, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Great! You're very welcome.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Av8003 Networking Preamplifier , Marantz Mm8003 Power Amplifier
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off