Official Classe SSP-800 thread. - Page 155 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4621 of 5844 Old 02-16-2012, 10:09 AM
Member
 
buttecreeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chico,Ca. USA
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwt View Post

The other problem Ive come across is the 3d ir signals from the projector wipeing out my xantech ir repeater system Time for a piece of tape

While looking up some info for Scott, I noticed that Xantech has three different types of IR receivers. One designed for LCD/CFL interference, one for DLP/CRT, and another for Plasma issues. Something to look at. The tape fix works as well.

http://www.xantech.com/products/soft...iver_Guide.pdf

Dave

Enjoy Listening!
Dave

I don't believe in astrology; I'm a Sagittarius and we're skeptical.
(Arthur C. Clarke)
buttecreeker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4622 of 5844 Old 02-16-2012, 09:56 PM
cwt
AVS Special Member
 
cwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: nsw australia
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by buttecreeker View Post

While looking up some info for Scott, I noticed that Xantech has three different types of IR receivers. One designed for LCD/CFL interference, one for DLP/CRT, and another for Plasma issues. Something to look at. The tape fix works as well.

http://www.xantech.com/products/soft...iver_Guide.pdf

Dave

Thanks heaps Dave ; the epson floods the whole room and Ive tried all 3 ir code modes on the oppo to no avail . Ime at the distance limit from the screen for reliable glasses synch so xantech it is
cwt is offline  
post #4623 of 5844 Old 02-29-2012, 07:23 PM
Member
 
RoubaixPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am considering buying a used SSP-800 and am wondering if it is possible to tell the difference between a factory-produced SSP-800 with HDMI 1.3 versus one with HDMI 1.4? Is there anywhere on the exterior that I can look at to tell the difference, such as a date of manufacture, model number or serial number? If there are no indications on the exterior, then is there somewhere in the menu that you can tell that it has HDMI 1.4, which I want?
RoubaixPro is offline  
post #4624 of 5844 Old 02-29-2012, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoubaixPro View Post

I am considering buying a used SSP-800 and am wondering if it is possible to tell the difference between a factory-produced SSP-800 with HDMI 1.3 versus one with HDMI 1.4? Is there anywhere on the exterior that I can look at to tell the difference, such as a date of manufacture, model number or serial number? If there are no indications on the exterior, then is there somewhere in the menu that you can tell that it has HDMI 1.4, which I want?

There is an extra hdmi port on the 1.4 version board.

McIntosh MX151 Owner's Thread

Owner, AudioXtream.
Authorized Dealer for Kef, Triad, Bryston, Auralic, Audeze, Grado, Audioquest, Marantz
adidino is offline  
post #4625 of 5844 Old 02-29-2012, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 210
The software can be seen from the front display.

Touch Menu --> Status --> Version Info
Look for Firmware:

2.0.5 is the current HDMI 1.3 FW. (Next will be 2.0.6)
3.0.1 is the current HDMI 1.4 FW. (Next will be 3.0.2)
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #4626 of 5844 Old 02-29-2012, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post

The software can be seen from the front display.

Touch Menu --> Status --> Version Info
Look for Firmware:

2.0.5 is the current HDMI 1.3 FW. (Next will be 2.0.6)
3.0.1 is the current HDMI 1.4 FW. (Next will be 3.0.2)

What's the scoop on 3.0.2? Any surprises?

McIntosh MX151 Owner's Thread

Owner, AudioXtream.
Authorized Dealer for Kef, Triad, Bryston, Auralic, Audeze, Grado, Audioquest, Marantz
adidino is offline  
post #4627 of 5844 Old 02-29-2012, 09:28 PM
Member
 
urskog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yea I'm also looking forward to 3.0.2 and need some hints on what it might include
urskog is offline  
post #4628 of 5844 Old 02-29-2012, 11:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

What's the scoop on 3.0.2? Any surprises?

No surprises.

Just some housekeeping to correct Bi-amp mode (both outputs work!), and to allow playing DD5.1 with phantom center (no center speaker) without forcing DRC on. I think there are also changes to HDMI operation to improve compatibility with certain devices, but I don't know the details.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #4629 of 5844 Old 03-01-2012, 04:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post

No surprises.

Just some housekeeping to correct Bi-amp mode (both outputs work!), and to allow playing DD5.1 with phantom center (no center speaker) without forcing DRC on. I think there are also changes to HDMI operation to improve compatibility with certain devices, but I don't know the details.

Did they even introduce the fix where the eq is not properly applied to one of the rear surround channels?
thrang is offline  
post #4630 of 5844 Old 03-01-2012, 06:58 PM
Member
 
scott brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC area
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fixed my IR problem with the following:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...sr=8-1&seller=

http://www.amazon.com/HDTVHOOKUP-Dua...9357785&sr=1-6

thanks to everyone who suggested a xantech
scott brown is online now  
post #4631 of 5844 Old 03-01-2012, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post

Did they even introduce the fix where the eq is not properly applied to one of the rear surround channels?

Yes, I just checked and that fix is in there, too.

There was another bug I found in Config6 that messed up the time delay in the R channel. That's fixed.

Did you resolve the bass redirection matter with the center speaker?
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #4632 of 5844 Old 03-02-2012, 05:25 AM
Member
 
RoubaixPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have the following questions for you which I appreciate if you can answer:


1. Can the SSP-800 be stacked directly on top of the CA-5300 amplifier? Will there be any heat issues by doing this? I have a Salamander cabinet with a closed front, sides and an open rear.

2. Does the SSP-800 have a ICTTunnel cooling system to keep the component cool?

3. Are both the SSP-800 and CA-5300 made in China?

4. Is there a feature available in the Classe SSP-800 to switch to stereo direct mode bypasses and disables all digital processing for 2 channel analogue sources?

5. Does the SSP-800 have a DAC built-in? If so, do I still need a separate DAC like the BADA Alpha DAC/Alpha USB?

6. Can the SSP-800 be controlled by a universal remote like the Harmony One?

7. What is the warranty period for the SSP-800 and CA-5300?
RoubaixPro is offline  
post #4633 of 5844 Old 03-02-2012, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Here's some replies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoubaixPro View Post

1. Can the SSP-800 be stacked directly on top of the CA-5300 amplifier?

Yes.

Quote:
Will there be any heat issues by doing this? I have a Salamander cabinet with a closed front, sides and an open rear.

Maybe. Just putting the SSP in a cabinet with closed front/sides can be a heat issue depending on air flow. Add in an amp and it only gets worse, even if the amp is on top of the SSP.

Quote:
2. Does the SSP-800 have a ICTTunnel cooling system to keep the component cool?

No. Just passive vents. The CT-SSP has fan cooling IIRC.

Quote:
4. Is there a feature available in the Classe SSP-800 to switch to stereo direct mode bypasses and disables all digital processing for 2 channel analogue sources?

Yes.

Quote:
5. Does the SSP-800 have a DAC built-in?

Yes. 10 channels of DAC.
Quote:
If so, do I still need a separate DAC like the BADA Alpha DAC/Alpha USB?

No need, but that never stopped anyone.

Quote:
6. Can the SSP-800 be controlled by a universal remote like the Harmony One?

Yes.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #4634 of 5844 Old 03-02-2012, 12:04 PM
Member
 
RoubaixPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks for the responses Roger.

Regarding my question of whether the SSP-800 is made in China or not, I would just like to know. Even if it is made in China, I would still buy it. I would think that if it were not, then it would actually cost even more due to escalating labor and material costs along with fluctuating currency exchange rates. As long as there is proper quality control and the product is superior, than I am fine with that.

Heck, a high percentage of Linn, B&W and Arcam gear is made in China. All of Apple is designed in California and made in China.
RoubaixPro is offline  
post #4635 of 5844 Old 03-02-2012, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoubaixPro View Post

Regarding my question of whether the SSP-800 is made in China or not, I would just like to know.

I did not answer because I was not sure about the CA-5300, but I believe it is likewise shifted to China. Here's how Dave Nauber explained it:
Quote:


We will indeed be relocating final assembly to our factory in Zhuhai. R&D, admin, tech service and sales support will remain at the headquarters outside Montréal.

Our purchasing manager is moving there so he'll be responsible for buying all the same parts we currently buy. There are a few guys over there now setting up the testing stations so we can duplicate what we currently do in Montréal. The goal is to build the same product, same quality, etc. in a way that is sustainable over the long term.

Roger Dressler is online now  
post #4636 of 5844 Old 03-02-2012, 12:49 PM
Member
 
RoubaixPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Regarding this issue, I just got a response from Robert Adam, Customer Service Manager at Classe:

Are both the SSP-800 and CA-5300 made in China?

"They are ‘assembled’ in China, the development, design and final testing are all done in house at Classé, the components are from thesame suppliers we have been using for years, boards are done here in Montreal."
RoubaixPro is offline  
post #4637 of 5844 Old 03-03-2012, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoubaixPro View Post

7. What is the warranty period for the SSP-800 and CA-5300?

5 years.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #4638 of 5844 Old 03-18-2012, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just Got my A1 universal BD player back from repair and reconnected it and am using the HDMI 1 input of the SSP-800. I played a couple of m/c DTSMA and Dolby True HD bluray discs and When I hit the info button on the SSP-800 remote it's showing for the audio (Digital PCM sr:48k). Shouldn't it show DTSMA 5.1 or Dolby True HD 5.1? since I am going the digital route wouldn't that mean the SSP-800 is doing the decoding/processing? My A1 is showing DTSMA 3/2/1. I thought I remember seeing this previously on the SSP-800 before I had to take my A1 in for repair? I am pretty sure I connected everything the same way as before. Any info on this would be much appreciated
mt14942 is offline  
post #4639 of 5844 Old 03-18-2012, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Make sure your player is set bitstream the hd codecs

McIntosh MX151 Owner's Thread

Owner, AudioXtream.
Authorized Dealer for Kef, Triad, Bryston, Auralic, Audeze, Grado, Audioquest, Marantz
adidino is offline  
post #4640 of 5844 Old 03-19-2012, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

Make sure your player is set bitstream the hd codecs

I do have the digital out set to bitstream. I am pretty sure I am hearing m/c DTSMA and my A1 is showing that when I push the audio button on the remote. I just seem to recall seeing that confirmed on the SSP-800 when I push the info button on the remote. I played the Leonard Cohen's Songs From The Road" Bluray disc and the SSP-800 this time showed digital PCM sr: 96k. So it is showing the higher resolution just not the actual audio codec, in this case Dolby True HD. This is what I expect the SSP-800 to show if I was using the m/c analogs and not the HDMI connection.
mt14942 is offline  
post #4641 of 5844 Old 03-19-2012, 08:47 AM
Member
 
RoubaixPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am planning to get an SSP-800 for home theater use but also want to listen to two channel audio using a computer audio setup. I was initially planning to just connect a music server using a separate USB to S/PDIF converter and DAC to the SSP-800.

However, when I visited a Classe dealer, he recommended getting the SSP-800 for home theater use and the CP-800 stereo preamp processor for computer audio use. Regarding the CP-800, my understanding that this has both a stereo analog/digital preamp and an asynchronous USB DAC contained in one component. This means that I can plug an Aurender S10 music server into the CP-800 using a USB cable and output to the SSP-800. The CP-800 accepts PCM data streams up to 24bit/192kHz sampling frequency. The dealer said that the DAC in the CP-800 was far superior to the one used in the SSP-800.

Does anyone have experience using the CP-800 for computer audio use and if so what is the sound quality like compared to a high quality CD player? Classe claims that when playing computer audio files, the CP-800 surpasses the sound quality of a good CD player.

The dealer also said that Classe products are price protected and that he could not sell them below the list prices. Is it true that there is no room for negotiation on the list prices for new components? Can the dealer lower prices on only demo items?
RoubaixPro is offline  
post #4642 of 5844 Old 03-19-2012, 09:56 AM
cwt
AVS Special Member
 
cwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: nsw australia
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt14942 View Post

I do have the digital out set to bitstream. I am pretty sure I am hearing m/c DTSMA and my A1 is showing that when I push the audio button on the remote. I just seem to recall seeing that confirmed on the SSP-800 when I push the info button on the remote..

Your A1 is certainly decoding lossless to pcm mt14942 given the sampling rate shown by the ssp . Another possibility is bd live is active and is being downmixed by the player which means lpcm is a requisite; bitstream selected or not
cwt is offline  
post #4643 of 5844 Old 03-19-2012, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt14942 View Post

I do have the digital out set to bitstream. I am pretty sure I am hearing m/c DTSMA and my A1 is showing that when I push the audio button on the remote. I just seem to recall seeing that confirmed on the SSP-800 when I push the info button on the remote. I played the Leonard Cohen's Songs From The Road" Bluray disc and the SSP-800 this time showed digital PCM sr: 96k. So it is showing the higher resolution just not the actual audio codec, in this case Dolby True HD. This is what I expect the SSP-800 to show if I was using the m/c analogs and not the HDMI connection.

The m/c analogs will not display a sample rate.

Make sure the A1's secondary audio option is turned off.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #4644 of 5844 Old 03-19-2012, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoubaixPro View Post

Does anyone have experience using the CP-800 for computer audio use and if so what is the sound quality like compared to a high quality CD player? Classe claims that when playing computer audio files, the CP-800 surpasses the sound quality of a good CD player.

If the dealer says it sounds better, then why not let him show that to you with an in-home demo, and hence earn his full markup?

Quote:


This means that I can plug an Aurender S10 music server into the CP-800 using a USB cable and output to the SSP-800.

If ultimate purity is the goal, you can run the L/R of the SSP thru the CP in bypass mode so that the CP talks to the amps more directly. That may pose a problem for the subwoofer, if you use it with the CP, however.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #4645 of 5844 Old 03-19-2012, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwt View Post

Your A1 is certainly decoding lossless to pcm mt14942 given the sampling rate shown by the ssp . Another possibility is bd live is active and is being downmixed by the player which means lpcm is a requisite; bitstream selected or not

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post

The m/c analogs will not display a sample rate.

Make sure the A1's secondary audio option is turned off.

Thanks to both of you, I did not think about that. I did try re-initializing the player recently to try to repair an issue I was having so maybe that's the culprit.
mt14942 is offline  
post #4646 of 5844 Old 03-19-2012, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sharp1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern Calif
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoubaixPro View Post

I am planning to get an SSP-800 for home theater use but also want to listen to two channel audio using a computer audio setup. I was initially planning to just connect a music server using a separate USB to S/PDIF converter and DAC to the SSP-800.

However, when I visited a Classe dealer, he recommended getting the SSP-800 for home theater use and the CP-800 stereo preamp processor for computer audio use. Regarding the CP-800, my understanding that this has both a stereo analog/digital preamp and an asynchronous USB DAC contained in one component. This means that I can plug an Aurender S10 music server into the CP-800 using a USB cable and output to the SSP-800. The CP-800 accepts PCM data streams up to 24bit/192kHz sampling frequency. The dealer said that the DAC in the CP-800 was far superior to the one used in the SSP-800.

Does anyone have experience using the CP-800 for computer audio use and if so what is the sound quality like compared to a high quality CD player? Classe claims that when playing computer audio files, the CP-800 surpasses the sound quality of a good CD player.

The dealer also said that Classe products are price protected and that he could not sell them below the list prices. Is it true that there is no room for negotiation on the list prices for new components? Can the dealer lower prices on only demo items?



To me it sounds like the typical dealer crosstalk.The CP-800 is a newer product and he needs to sell the units he bought to remain a Classe dealer. "The dealer said that the DAC in the CP-800 was far superior to the one used in the SSP-800" I would ask him/her what exactly makes it"superior" to the SSP-800. Try and listen to both units carefully with the same material. I would personally just buy the SSP-800 as it sounds pretty darn good in stereo playback.Do you need both units in your system? It's your money being spent not ours, been there done that already! My SSP-800 replaced an Audio Research LS-25MKII which is a "superior" sounding hybrid tube/SS preamp. If the SSP-800 had not lived up to my expectations I would have sold it by now, but I still enjoy it every time I listen to it. I've never heard about price protection from Classe. I'm having flashbacks to when Martin Logan did that to their dealers to try and control product. I visited two different dealers and the second dealer gave me a great price on my SSP-800. Yes the dealer can sell the demo at a reduced price.The dealer didn't buy it for list price did they? Trying to make a profit.
Sharp1080 is offline  
post #4647 of 5844 Old 03-19-2012, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post

The m/c analogs will not display a sample rate.

Make sure the A1's secondary audio option is turned off.

Thanks again Roger, when I read your reply I went right away to check it out and sure enough that was the problem.
Mike
mt14942 is offline  
post #4648 of 5844 Old 03-19-2012, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sharp1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern Calif
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Roger is "the man" when it comes to audio and the SSP-800!
Sharp1080 is offline  
post #4649 of 5844 Old 03-19-2012, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharp1080 View Post
Roger is "the man" when it comes to audio and the SSP-800!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharp1080 View Post
"The dealer said that the DAC in the CP-800 was far superior to the one used in the SSP-800" I would ask him/her what exactly makes it "superior" to the SSP-800.
Not sure what makes it better, either, but the description about "Single Clock Structure" on p.5 of the CP-800 White Paper makes a good case wrt clocking.

Could also be a newer DAC chip, but I have not heard what is used. Anyone know?

 

CP-800_White_Paper.pdf 409.6669921875k . file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf CP-800_White_Paper.pdf (409.7 KB, 0 views)
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #4650 of 5844 Old 03-19-2012, 08:49 PM
cwt
AVS Special Member
 
cwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: nsw australia
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Very enthusiastic review from a ssp800 owner ; nice bass management options and the usb is asynchronous

http://www.audioadvice.com/audio-adv...00-for-a-spin/

Wolfsohn 8741 dacs Roger ; upgradeable with ethernet for a price

http://audiophilereview.com/preamps/...o-pay-off.html
cwt is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Classe

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off