Official Classe SSP-800 thread. - Page 16 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 6010 Old 11-13-2008, 12:50 PM
Member
 
SheerLuck Holmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Widescreen Review" has announced an upcoming review of the ssp-800
SheerLuck Holmes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 6010 Old 11-14-2008, 05:41 AM
Member
 
Alembicjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SheerLuck Holmes View Post

"Widescreen Review" has announced an upcoming review of the ssp-800

I've been reading "Widescreen Review" for years and they do a very thorough and detailed job IMO of reviewing a product. Looking forward to all of the reviews, including any posted by forum members.

Jeff.
Alembicjeff is offline  
post #453 of 6010 Old 11-14-2008, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsmith901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 8,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I didn't know WSR was still publishing. Are they in print or just on the web?

"The truth is out there!"
dsmith901 is offline  
post #454 of 6010 Old 11-14-2008, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsmith901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 8,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by beden1 View Post

Going direct would be the death of the high end manufacturers IMO. These items need to be "sold" to customers with the deep pockets, including the display and demonstrations.


Yeah, that works best for snake oil, too.

"The truth is out there!"
dsmith901 is offline  
post #455 of 6010 Old 11-14-2008, 12:21 PM
Member
 
SheerLuck Holmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmith901 View Post

I didn't know WSR was still publishing. Are they in print or just on the web?

They are most certainly in print AND on the web with access to all backissues, reviews of dvd's, equipment etc. Its one of the most informative homecinema magazines.
SheerLuck Holmes is offline  
post #456 of 6010 Old 11-14-2008, 01:33 PM
Member
 
beden1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA & FL
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Exactly, dsmith901!
beden1 is offline  
post #457 of 6010 Old 11-14-2008, 04:13 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by SheerLuck Holmes View Post

"Widescreen Review" has announced an upcoming review of the ssp-800

Cool let us know when it is published they usually do great reviews
wse is offline  
post #458 of 6010 Old 11-15-2008, 11:59 AM
Member
 
SheerLuck Holmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For 10 years the Proceed PAV/PDSD has served my homecinema marvelously, but now I just can't wait any longer to hear the new soundformats. And hopefully the ssp-800 will land in my lounge next week
SheerLuck Holmes is offline  
post #459 of 6010 Old 11-15-2008, 02:57 PM
Newbie
 
gump2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a little point of interest for anyone that has McIntosh amps and may be considering getting the SSP-800. I have a MC-205 amp and when I tried to hook the power control trigger cable up from the 800 to the amp to enable me to power them both on/off with the processor's remote, I discovered that the amp would flash on and then the power meters on the McIntosh would go dark. This was a bit disturbing and led me to believe that the amp might be going into its' Power Guard protection mode for some reason.

Long story short, I should have stuck with the McIntosh's cable because it is a stereo cable as opposed to the Classe's cable which is the standard mono. The stereo cable is designed to turn on both the amp and the power meters on the Mc. When I switched back to the Mc's cable it worked fine.
gump2 is offline  
post #460 of 6010 Old 11-18-2008, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidadi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Lafayette, (Bay Area) CA USA
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I think the McIntosh meters can be triggered off. That may be what you experienced.

Silence is overrated!
adidadi is offline  
post #461 of 6010 Old 11-21-2008, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AndyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
For those who own the SSP 800 do you notice any degradation in the passed through video signal? Anyone using a video processor fed via the pass thru? Any problems? I don't want to upgrade my video processor to one that can pass bitstream so I'm hoping to run through the ssp 800 then run the video out to the processor. If you're doing this are you having any problems delaying the audio to match the video via the 800?
AndyN is offline  
post #462 of 6010 Old 11-22-2008, 08:44 AM
Member
 
SheerLuck Holmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From the specs it appears that there's a lip sync function. It can even be remote controlled.
SheerLuck Holmes is offline  
post #463 of 6010 Old 11-22-2008, 10:11 PM
Member
 
idomeneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyN View Post

For those who own the SSP 800 do you notice any degradation in the passed through video signal? Anyone using a video processor fed via the pass thru? Any problems? I don't want to upgrade my video processor to one that can pass bitstream so I'm hoping to run through the ssp 800 then run the video out to the processor. If you're doing this are you having any problems delaying the audio to match the video via the 800?

I own the 800, and I don't notice any video degradation. The video has actually improved since I switched from a Rotel 1069 (which was clipping the blacks - even after the scalar bypass was installed).

I don't have a video processor, so I can't offer any info about that.

As Mr. Holmes alluded to, there is an audio delay feature for the 800 which can be configured on a per input basis, and works just fine.
idomeneo is offline  
post #464 of 6010 Old 11-23-2008, 10:25 AM
Member
 
bezoar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the SSP-800 allow for boosting LFE on individual inputs to compensate for the LFE bug. Right now I have my sony blu-ray player set for the LFE +10dB over the other 5 channels via the multichannel analog outputs. Some of the newer receivers allow this such as the Denons, but I can't tell how the Classe deals with this problem.
bezoar is offline  
post #465 of 6010 Old 11-23-2008, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bezoar View Post

Does the SSP-800 allow for boosting LFE on individual inputs to compensate for the LFE bug. Right now I have my sony blu-ray player set for the LFE +10dB over the other 5 channels via the multichannel analog outputs. Some of the newer receivers allow this such as the Denons, but I can't tell how the Classe deals with this problem.

There is a "trims" option that you could do a db +/- on any of the active speakers.

Why would you use the analog inputs over HDMI?

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #466 of 6010 Old 11-23-2008, 01:24 PM
Member
 
bezoar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I won't for the Blu-Ray player once I get the SSP-800. I'm doing that now as I don't have an HDMI receiver. Is it a non issue if you use the HDMI inputs, ie does the processor decode DTS-MA and True HD with the appropriate 10db boost to the LFE as all processors do with DTS and DD now? I've never had an HDMI receiver so I've never been able to check. Is the LFE bug an analog input only problem? My HTPC will still be analog output to the SSP-800 however as there is still not a very good HDMI solution yet.
bezoar is offline  
post #467 of 6010 Old 11-23-2008, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bezoar View Post

I won't for the Blu-Ray player once I get the SSP-800. I'm doing that now as I don't have an HDMI receiver. Is it a non issue if you use the HDMI inputs, ie does the processor decode DTS-MA and True HD with the appropriate 10db boost to the LFE as all processors do with DTS and DD now? I've never had an HDMI receiver so I've never been able to check. Is the LFE bug an analog input only problem? My HTPC will still be analog output to the SSP-800 however as there is still not a very good HDMI solution yet.

actually, there is...

http://ati.amd.com/products/radeonhd4800/index.html

fully hdmi 1.3

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #468 of 6010 Old 11-23-2008, 06:39 PM
Member
 
bezoar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
True, but the lossless codecs are still being downsampled by the software players even via HDMI on the 4800 series cards. I'm waiting for the azuntech home theater hd card to come out to see how that works out. I've read too many problems to pull the trigger on the asus xonar. For now I plan to stick with my x-meridian. Plus my Marantz SACD/DVD-A player is analog only (although that will be upgraded to an Oppo player soon.) So at least for now the LFE bug still presents a problem for me and I'm considering buying the SSP-800 this weekend.
bezoar is offline  
post #469 of 6010 Old 11-24-2008, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bezoar View Post

True, but the lossless codecs are still being downsampled by the software players even via HDMI on the 4800 series cards. I'm waiting for the azuntech home theater hd card to come out to see how that works out. I've read too many problems to pull the trigger on the asus xonar. For now I plan to stick with my x-meridian.

I just helped my father-in-law get an HTPC. It has been a royal PITA getting the cable cards setup and working. It generally worked for one card, but whenever attempting to use the second card, it would break. Uninstalled A/V and disabled the firewall and that seemed to help a bit. We also made the cable company run a new line to the TV.

Hopefully the software will catch up soon and quit down-sampling.

Quote:
Plus my Marantz SACD/DVD-A player is analog only (although that will be upgraded to an Oppo player soon.) So at least for now the LFE bug still presents a problem for me and I'm considering buying the SSP-800 this weekend.

You won't regret getting the SSP-800. I was one of the first to receive one and I couldn't be happier. Be sure and give it time to break in. You might have some adjusting to do as well. Its different. It is transparent beyond anything I've ever heard before. Brothers in Arms SACD sounds phenomenal. Its like you are in the vocal booth when he is laying down the VOX track.

There is a paradigm shift that some people are unwilling to accept that the DACs in the SSP are better than those in most players.

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #470 of 6010 Old 11-24-2008, 05:21 PM
 
DougWinsor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Be sure and give it time to break in.

Still going with that?

Quote:


There is a paradigm shift that some people are unwilling to accept that the DACs in the SSP are better than those in most players.

You mean just on the front channels.
DougWinsor is offline  
post #471 of 6010 Old 11-24-2008, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougWinsor View Post

Still going with that?



You mean just on the front channels.

shoo fly! don't bother me!

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #472 of 6010 Old 11-29-2008, 05:54 PM
Member
 
dcrna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of you who have the SSP 800, can you tell me how difficult it is to set up without room correction. I am very close to getting one, but I dont have any experience with room setup in a processor.

Thanks!
dcrna is offline  
post #473 of 6010 Old 11-29-2008, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifisponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 7,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcrna View Post

For those of you who have the SSP 800, can you tell me how difficult it is to set up without room correction. I am very close to getting one, but I dont have any experience with room setup in a processor.

Thanks!

It's pretty intuitive really. The only thing that is different about it is that you assign 1 of 6 "configurations" to each input. This allows you to set-up one config for 2ch and another for multichannel if you like. You can keep it simple though and just use one config for everything.

The room EQ should be left to a professional unless you have the equipment for and know how to measure your in-room response and set parametric EQ filters.
hifisponge is offline  
post #474 of 6010 Old 11-29-2008, 07:22 PM
Member
 
dcrna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not sure that there is anyone near my town that can do this. Guess I need to look at another solution.

Thanks!
dcrna is offline  
post #475 of 6010 Old 11-30-2008, 06:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
owl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gump2 View Post

Just a little point of interest for anyone that has McIntosh amps and may be considering getting the SSP-800. I have a MC-205 amp and when I tried to hook the power control trigger cable up from the 800 to the amp to enable me to power them both on/off with the processor's remote, I discovered that the amp would flash on and then the power meters on the McIntosh would go dark. This was a bit disturbing and led me to believe that the amp might be going into its' Power Guard protection mode for some reason.

Long story short, I should have stuck with the McIntosh's cable because it is a stereo cable as opposed to the Classe's cable which is the standard mono. The stereo cable is designed to turn on both the amp and the power meters on the Mc. When I switched back to the Mc's cable it worked fine.

So the SSP 800 can trigger the MC to turn off? I've had a bear of a time attempting to get this to work with my current interim pro the Pio elite 94txh. Going to pick up an 800 as soon as they support all the bitstreamed lossless codecs. I got my Mc207 seconhand and there is no control cable. Any places to sort a stereo trigger cable you suggest? Can't wait to hear the 800 on this system.
owl1 is offline  
post #476 of 6010 Old 11-30-2008, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AndyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I just realized I didn't ask the right question. Can the ssp 800 pass thru the video without it being touched by the video portion. I noticed in the specs it has a video "decoder". But I assume this does nothing more than pass video through. BUT it will convert analog to digital HDMI out if you want. No scaler. Correct? This is what I'd want.
AndyN is offline  
post #477 of 6010 Old 11-30-2008, 03:06 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyN View Post

Can the SSP-800 pass thru the video without it being touched by the video portion

That is correct the video is unaffected there are no scaler of any sort in this processor. With Blu Ray you don't need any video processing 1080p/24fps

And with good DVD player

- Oppo DV-983H
1080p Up-Converting Universal DVD Player for ( $399) or

for ten times more?

- Denon DVD-5910CI A/V
Progressive Scan DVD Audio/SACD Player with Realta T2 HQV ($3999)
wse is offline  
post #478 of 6010 Old 11-30-2008, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AndyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

That is correct the video is unaffected there are no scaler of any sort in this processor. With Blu Ray you don't need any video processing 1080p/24fps

($3999)

Thanks wse.

Actually are the 2 HDMI outs video only? Or are they both audio and video? From the HTGuide forums I believe it's a true repeater so audio and video on the HDMI's right?

Now all I have to do is find one locally. Both shops don't have one to audition. I'm trying to time everything to get the Denon AVP and the ssp800 in the house at the same time.
AndyN is offline  
post #479 of 6010 Old 11-30-2008, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifisponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 7,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyN View Post

Thanks wse.

Actually are the 2 HDMI outs video only? Or are they both audio and video? From the HTGuide forums I believe it's a true repeater so audio and video on the HDMI's right?

Now all I have to do is find one locally. Both shops don't have one to audition. I'm trying to time everything to get the Denon AVP and the ssp800 in the house at the same time.

The HDMI out outs on the SSP-800 do carry audio as well as video.
hifisponge is offline  
post #480 of 6010 Old 11-30-2008, 07:17 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyN View Post

Thanks wse. Actually are the 2 HDMI outs video only? Or are they both audio and video? From the HTGuide forums I believe it's a true repeater so audio and video on the HDMI's right? Now all I have to do is find one locally. Both shops don't have one to audition. I'm trying to time everything to get the Denon AVP and the ssp800 in the house at the same time.

Welcome, the HDMi carry everything audio and video. Let us know if you canb get both at the same time I don't think any one has been able to compare them at the same time
wse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Classe

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off