Official Classe SSP-800 thread. - Page 197 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5881 of 5890 Old 09-17-2014, 07:46 AM
Member
 
mkaye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Ottawa, ON Canada
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
Just to clarify, it plays the LR speaker when either LR or RR signals are present. And this is true for the internal test tones and for the test disc?

What test disc are you using? Which track?

Which Config# did you set up for "2 crossed over"?

When you play the test disc, push the Info button at top of remote. Which Config# is shown?

Are you using XLR or phono outputs? Do the other outputs have the same incorrect behavior?

If you swap the RR and RL outputs, what happens?
a) The RR speaker plays for both RL and RR test tones.
b) Something else.

Have you contacted Classe? Maybe they have encountered this problem before. It appears none of us have seen it.

If you can save the backup file, I will be happy to try it in my unit, as it has the same hardware as yours (I use 3.0.2).
turned out to be a bad RCA cable...
didn't flip it at both ends

mark
mkaye is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5882 of 5890 Old 09-22-2014, 07:05 AM
Newbie
 
Koresh38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gentlemen, I guess it was discussed that SSP-800 down sampling 192 to 96K. But is it up sampling from 44.1 to 96? I listen CD from my OPPO 105D through XLR connections. SSP800 Info bar shows: digital PCM sr:96k. Struggling to find the reason... Any thoughts,please?
Koresh38 is offline  
post #5883 of 5890 Old 09-22-2014, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koresh38 View Post
Gentlemen, I guess it was discussed that SSP-800 down sampling 192 to 96K. But is it up sampling from 44.1 to 96? I listen CD from my OPPO 105D through XLR connections. SSP800 Info bar shows: digital PCM sr:96k. Struggling to find the reason... Any thoughts,please?
The display on the SSP shows the sample rate of the source as it comes into the DSPs. When it is a digital signal, it is that signal's native sample rate. When feeding an analog source, it is showing the sample rate of the SSP's A/D converter, which is 96 kHz.

If you connect the Oppo through a digital connection (S/PDIF or HDMI) the CD will display 44.1 kHz. Then it will be upsampled to 96 kHz but this will not be reported on the display.

Roger

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #5884 of 5890 Old 09-22-2014, 07:05 PM
Newbie
 
Koresh38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you.
Koresh38 is offline  
post #5885 of 5890 Old 09-24-2014, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
trans_lux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: In my theater
Posts: 974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Sorry I have not reported back sooner on my SSP start-up failure. Travel schedule has been challenging.

Official Classe SSP-800 thread.

Update: 9/24/2014
Classe wants to send out a new HDMI board to "see if this fixes the issues".
The ridiculous aspect is they want to charge $2,400 up-front and then will credit this amount when the old board is sent back.
So dealing with issues for years, my family no longer using either system, multiple trips in for service this is what they come up with!?
I'm done with Classe

I'm going to ebay them and replace the main room with a Datasat RS20i and the secondary system with an LS10. I''m also going to replace the stacks of Classe Delta amps-which also have issues of inexplicably going into to protection-for Datasat amps.

Please excuse my ranting I'm beyond frustrated.
trans_lux is offline  
post #5886 of 5890 Old 09-24-2014, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by trans_lux View Post
Update: 9/24/2014
Classe wants to send out a new HDMI board to "see if this fixes the issues".
If their previous reply is true: >>Classe's position is that these issues are inherent and not resolvable,<< then it makes no sense to try different hardware.

OTOH, if you want to try a different HDMI board, maybe rolling back to the original 1.3 version is worth a try. I still have the perfectly good HDMI 1.3 board here that I removed when doing the 1.4 upgrade. You are welcome to it. Of course it takes some effort to swap the boards and then upload the correct 2.0.6 firmware. I imagine Classe has a load of those sitting around, too, and might send them free of charge. I sense you are beyond that point in your mind. Understandable.

Short of changing hardware, if what RoubaixPro suggests is true, that the problem is related with latest firmware, you could try rolling back the firmware to 3.0.1 or even 2.9.9. I have these on hand if you want to try them.

Lastly, as I have the same hardware as you, I would be happy to install your settings backup file to see if that tells us anything. It's a long shot as we have different equipment attached. But it's free.

As for me I have added 4 ceiling speakers for Atmos so my affair with the SSP-800 is also winding down.

Quote:
I'm going to ebay them and replace the main room with a Datasat RS20i and the secondary system with an LS10. I''m also going to replace the stacks of Classe Delta amps-which also have issues of inexplicably going into to protection-for Datasat amps.
Be advised the RS20i has an audible cooling fan, just in case the unit would sit within earshot. If not, then no problem. Make sure to hire someone well qualified to do the Dirac tuning.

As for the amps, unless you need the cooling fan and input switching facilities of the Datasat, you can save some money by buying the AT6007 amp (same performance) or even the AT2007 from the OEM maker of the Datasat, ATI. In fact the AT2007 is also sold as the Outlaw 7700 for much less. All solid performers.

Roger

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Roger Dressler; 09-24-2014 at 12:14 PM.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #5887 of 5890 Old 09-24-2014, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
trans_lux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: In my theater
Posts: 974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Roger thanks for the info and offer.
I do have a 1.3 board as well but am done with Classe.

The rack for the RS20i and amps are isolated from the room

ATI makes excellent amps. The cost delta between the RA7300 & AT6007 is significant. Something to consider.
I'm also considering Lab Gruppen

I do like the active cooling and back panel layout on the RA7300


It also looks pretty cool from the front

trans_lux is offline  
post #5888 of 5890 Old 09-24-2014, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by trans_lux View Post
Roger thanks for the info and offer.
I do have a 1.3 board as well but am done with Classe.


Quote:
The rack for the RS20i and amps are isolated from the room.


Quote:
ATI makes excellent amps. The cost delta between the RA7300 & AT6007 is significant. Something to consider.
I'm also considering Lab Gruppen
Before you decide, compare all the specs between the LG and the ATI. Even the Outlaw 7700 beats the particular LG I looked at, as attached.

Click image for larger version

Name:	LG vs Outlaw.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	123.3 KB
ID:	278297

Roger

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #5889 of 5890 Old 09-25-2014, 04:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
trans_lux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: In my theater
Posts: 974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Roger
The outlaw looks very impressive and very reasonably priced.

I'm looking at the FP series from LG. Looks like the performance is going in the other direction.
I had a FP-10000 driving my subwoofer-single at the time.
All I can say is wow! I thought I was going to do structural damage.
http://labgruppen.com/view-model/fpseries/fp-10000q

The new D series and PLM have excellent performance.
The integrated Lake DSP is amazing but potentially superfluous in combination with Dirac.
I certainly don't need Dante capabilities.
trans_lux is offline  
post #5890 of 5890 Old 09-25-2014, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Patrick Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hi Trans_Lux,

Sorry to hear about your unresolved issues. I had reached out to you three weeks ago via a private message to see if I might assist in solving your problem, but haven't heard back. I'm guessing your travel schedule has been very hectic.

Regards,

Patrick Butler
B&W Group USA
Bowers&Wilkins/Classé Audio/Rotel


Quote:
Originally Posted by trans_lux View Post
Sorry I have not reported back sooner on my SSP start-up failure. Travel schedule has been challenging.

Official Classe SSP-800 thread.

Update: 9/24/2014
Classe wants to send out a new HDMI board to "see if this fixes the issues".
The ridiculous aspect is they want to charge $2,400 up-front and then will credit this amount when the old board is sent back.
So dealing with issues for years, my family no longer using either system, multiple trips in for service this is what they come up with!?
I'm done with Classe

I'm going to ebay them and replace the main room with a Datasat RS20i and the secondary system with an LS10. I''m also going to replace the stacks of Classe Delta amps-which also have issues of inexplicably going into to protection-for Datasat amps.

Please excuse my ranting I'm beyond frustrated.
urskog likes this.
Patrick Butler is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Classe

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off