Official Classe SSP-800 thread. - Page 198 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5911 of 5919 Old 11-30-2014, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr.SoftDome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Thanks guys for the mini feedback. I have spend a lot of this rainy day on the net doing research. I think I will be fine. Just need to dive in and start my learning curve. It will be great when I have ripped my CDs and also have the ability to buy music on demand and controlled thru my iPad. Can't wait to get started.

One additional new topic question please. Don't listen to your weak system link when intoxicated. I do a fair amount of headphone listening late night. My Senheisser phones took a crap and I purchased a stop gap pair of AKG K550 cans last year. I run these thru Musical Fidelity X-Can V3 amp and X-PSU V3. I have my Cambridge Audio Azure running HDMI into the Classe and RCAs into the headphone amp. It's worked fine but I am only able to listen to Blu-Ray and CDs.

I miss the Sennheiser sound and may also upgrade my amp. How can I move the headphone amp into the Classe chain and use headphones/amp to listen to any source i.e TiVo, my Cambridge Audio universal or my up and coming Mac Mini? I would like to be able to listen to any source thru headphones. I think this would work with tape out but that is not an option so how can I move the headphone amp into my Classe arena? I can continue to use RCAs into the amp for the Cambridge and for the mini I could use HDMI and also another digital connection into the headphone amp. Just wondering if there is a way to avoid these dual connections and have one connection to Classe and will get headphone sound no matter the source.

Thanks again

Rick

Mr.SoftDome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5912 of 5919 Old 11-30-2014, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,238
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1062 Post(s)
Liked: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.SoftDome View Post
How can I move the headphone amp into the Classe chain and use headphones/amp to listen to any source i.e TiVo, my Cambridge Audio universal or my up and coming Mac Mini?
If you are not currently using the Aux outputs, you can change all the existing Configs to set up the Aux1/2 outputs to Stereo Downmix. Can be fixed if you want to use the volume control on the headphone amp, or can be variable if you want to use the SSP's volume control. Feed those to the headphone amp. Fixed might be better, then you can turn down the SSP's volume so the speakers are quiet while using the headphones.

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #5913 of 5919 Old 12-01-2014, 01:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr.SoftDome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
If you are not currently using the Aux outputs, you can change all the existing Configs to set up the Aux1/2 outputs to Stereo Downmix. Can be fixed if you want to use the volume control on the headphone amp, or can be variable if you want to use the SSP's volume control. Feed those to the headphone amp. Fixed might be better, then you can turn down the SSP's volume so the speakers are quiet while using the headphones.
Hey thanks again Roger. This may work and I can use XLR amp to Classe. Great!

Appreciate the tip. May send you a PM if any questions.

Rick

Mr.SoftDome is offline  
post #5914 of 5919 Old 01-10-2015, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JustMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 2,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
CT-SSP will not boot! Help!

Greetings,

I had a friend visit today. He's here from out of the country, and really wanted to see my theater. But, the Classé CT-SSP won't boot!

I have the Classé and other audio gear connected to a UPS that has switched outlets (each piece is on its own outlet), and I turn them off when the theater isn't in use to save power. (The Classé uses 35W in standby...)

Normally what happens is that when power is applied, the blue power button on the Classé blinks blue for a minute or two, then goes solid red to indicate that it has booted and is now in standby.

What's happening today is that the button never stops blinking blue. After about 10 minutes, I cycled the outlet power, but it continued blinking blue. After another 10 minutes, I turned the hard switch on the back of the processor off, counted to 15 and turned it on again. More blinking blue.

Has anybody ever seen this symptom? Is there a way to un-stick it? I have the vague recollection that a constant blue blink is what the processor did when it was having its firmware updated, but I may be wrong about that.

Power quality is good (122-124V according to the UPS), and the UPS will boost/buck or switch to battery if it goes too far out of spec anyway.

Mike Kobb
(Formerly "ReplayMike". These opinions are mine alone, and in no way reflect the opinions of employers past or present!)
"Mike's Money Pit" Build Thread
JustMike is offline  
post #5915 of 5919 Old 01-10-2015, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,238
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1062 Post(s)
Liked: 465
Never heard of that one. There's nothing connected to the USB or RS232, right?

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #5916 of 5919 Old 01-10-2015, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JustMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 2,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Nothing connected to USB. I control the processor via serial. I can try booting the processor with that cable disconnected.

Mike Kobb
(Formerly "ReplayMike". These opinions are mine alone, and in no way reflect the opinions of employers past or present!)
"Mike's Money Pit" Build Thread
JustMike is offline  
post #5917 of 5919 Old 01-10-2015, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JustMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 2,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Well, that didn't fix it, but I may have fixed it nonetheless. After trying to reboot with the RS-232 disconnected, it occurred to me that I have had occasional problems with sync between the Classé and the Lumagen scaler (which feeds audio to it). I disconnected the HDMI cables from the Lumagen and from the Sony 4K player, and now the processor boots.


I will continue to try to isolate the issue.

Mike Kobb
(Formerly "ReplayMike". These opinions are mine alone, and in no way reflect the opinions of employers past or present!)
"Mike's Money Pit" Build Thread
JustMike is offline  
post #5918 of 5919 Old 01-10-2015, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JustMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 2,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
With all cables reconnected, the processor boots normally now and appears to be working fine. I have to assume that unplugging one of the cables that I pulled allowed a component to get out of a bad state, and cleared whatever condition was preventing the processor from booting up.

Thanks for replying, Roger. Your question led to the solution.

Mike Kobb
(Formerly "ReplayMike". These opinions are mine alone, and in no way reflect the opinions of employers past or present!)
"Mike's Money Pit" Build Thread
JustMike is offline  
post #5919 of 5919 Old 01-10-2015, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,238
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1062 Post(s)
Liked: 465
Glad you got it to come back to life. HDMI is funny people.

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Classe



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off