Official Classe SSP-800 thread. - Page 198 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5911 of 5926 Old 11-30-2014, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr.SoftDome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Thanks guys for the mini feedback. I have spend a lot of this rainy day on the net doing research. I think I will be fine. Just need to dive in and start my learning curve. It will be great when I have ripped my CDs and also have the ability to buy music on demand and controlled thru my iPad. Can't wait to get started.

One additional new topic question please. Don't listen to your weak system link when intoxicated. I do a fair amount of headphone listening late night. My Senheisser phones took a crap and I purchased a stop gap pair of AKG K550 cans last year. I run these thru Musical Fidelity X-Can V3 amp and X-PSU V3. I have my Cambridge Audio Azure running HDMI into the Classe and RCAs into the headphone amp. It's worked fine but I am only able to listen to Blu-Ray and CDs.

I miss the Sennheiser sound and may also upgrade my amp. How can I move the headphone amp into the Classe chain and use headphones/amp to listen to any source i.e TiVo, my Cambridge Audio universal or my up and coming Mac Mini? I would like to be able to listen to any source thru headphones. I think this would work with tape out but that is not an option so how can I move the headphone amp into my Classe arena? I can continue to use RCAs into the amp for the Cambridge and for the mini I could use HDMI and also another digital connection into the headphone amp. Just wondering if there is a way to avoid these dual connections and have one connection to Classe and will get headphone sound no matter the source.

Thanks again

Rick

Mr.SoftDome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5912 of 5926 Old 11-30-2014, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,281
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.SoftDome View Post
How can I move the headphone amp into the Classe chain and use headphones/amp to listen to any source i.e TiVo, my Cambridge Audio universal or my up and coming Mac Mini?
If you are not currently using the Aux outputs, you can change all the existing Configs to set up the Aux1/2 outputs to Stereo Downmix. Can be fixed if you want to use the volume control on the headphone amp, or can be variable if you want to use the SSP's volume control. Feed those to the headphone amp. Fixed might be better, then you can turn down the SSP's volume so the speakers are quiet while using the headphones.

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #5913 of 5926 Old 12-01-2014, 01:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr.SoftDome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
If you are not currently using the Aux outputs, you can change all the existing Configs to set up the Aux1/2 outputs to Stereo Downmix. Can be fixed if you want to use the volume control on the headphone amp, or can be variable if you want to use the SSP's volume control. Feed those to the headphone amp. Fixed might be better, then you can turn down the SSP's volume so the speakers are quiet while using the headphones.
Hey thanks again Roger. This may work and I can use XLR amp to Classe. Great!

Appreciate the tip. May send you a PM if any questions.

Rick

Mr.SoftDome is offline  
post #5914 of 5926 Old 01-10-2015, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JustMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 2,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
CT-SSP will not boot! Help!

Greetings,

I had a friend visit today. He's here from out of the country, and really wanted to see my theater. But, the Classé CT-SSP won't boot!

I have the Classé and other audio gear connected to a UPS that has switched outlets (each piece is on its own outlet), and I turn them off when the theater isn't in use to save power. (The Classé uses 35W in standby...)

Normally what happens is that when power is applied, the blue power button on the Classé blinks blue for a minute or two, then goes solid red to indicate that it has booted and is now in standby.

What's happening today is that the button never stops blinking blue. After about 10 minutes, I cycled the outlet power, but it continued blinking blue. After another 10 minutes, I turned the hard switch on the back of the processor off, counted to 15 and turned it on again. More blinking blue.

Has anybody ever seen this symptom? Is there a way to un-stick it? I have the vague recollection that a constant blue blink is what the processor did when it was having its firmware updated, but I may be wrong about that.

Power quality is good (122-124V according to the UPS), and the UPS will boost/buck or switch to battery if it goes too far out of spec anyway.

Mike Kobb
(Formerly "ReplayMike". These opinions are mine alone, and in no way reflect the opinions of employers past or present!)
"Mike's Money Pit" Build Thread
JustMike is offline  
post #5915 of 5926 Old 01-10-2015, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,281
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Never heard of that one. There's nothing connected to the USB or RS232, right?

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #5916 of 5926 Old 01-10-2015, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JustMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 2,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Nothing connected to USB. I control the processor via serial. I can try booting the processor with that cable disconnected.

Mike Kobb
(Formerly "ReplayMike". These opinions are mine alone, and in no way reflect the opinions of employers past or present!)
"Mike's Money Pit" Build Thread
JustMike is offline  
post #5917 of 5926 Old 01-10-2015, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JustMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 2,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Well, that didn't fix it, but I may have fixed it nonetheless. After trying to reboot with the RS-232 disconnected, it occurred to me that I have had occasional problems with sync between the Classé and the Lumagen scaler (which feeds audio to it). I disconnected the HDMI cables from the Lumagen and from the Sony 4K player, and now the processor boots.


I will continue to try to isolate the issue.

Mike Kobb
(Formerly "ReplayMike". These opinions are mine alone, and in no way reflect the opinions of employers past or present!)
"Mike's Money Pit" Build Thread
JustMike is offline  
post #5918 of 5926 Old 01-10-2015, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JustMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 2,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
With all cables reconnected, the processor boots normally now and appears to be working fine. I have to assume that unplugging one of the cables that I pulled allowed a component to get out of a bad state, and cleared whatever condition was preventing the processor from booting up.

Thanks for replying, Roger. Your question led to the solution.

Mike Kobb
(Formerly "ReplayMike". These opinions are mine alone, and in no way reflect the opinions of employers past or present!)
"Mike's Money Pit" Build Thread
JustMike is offline  
post #5919 of 5926 Old 01-10-2015, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,281
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Glad you got it to come back to life. HDMI is funny people.

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #5920 of 5926 Old 01-26-2015, 08:16 PM
Member
 
hipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: thornhill, ontario, canada
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
question on modes playback. My source is DTS 3/2.1 according to the Classe Info. If favourite multichannel process is set to Dolby pro logic iix and the source is dts 3/2.1 is the Classe steering each discrete channel to each speaker in a 5.1 setup? Also why are the DTS neo modes greyed out?
hipp is offline  
post #5921 of 5926 Old 01-26-2015, 11:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,281
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipp View Post
question on modes playback. My source is DTS 3/2.1 according to the Classe Info. If favourite multichannel process is set to Dolby pro logic iix and the source is dts 3/2.1 is the Classe steering each discrete channel to each speaker in a 5.1 setup? Also why are the DTS neo modes greyed out?
In a 5.1 setup with 5.1 source, the sound is not processed by PLIIx or any other mode. It passes through same as discrete mode. I would think that Neo and PLIIx modes would both be greyed out in the Mode menu, as they cannot do anything.

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #5922 of 5926 Old 01-27-2015, 05:23 AM
Member
 
hipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: thornhill, ontario, canada
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the explanation. The prologic is greyed out altho the dolby pl ii is not. It is interesting that the classe shows the favourite processing when the volume is changed, rather than the actual processing method which as you explained can be affected by the source. However I understand the processing now.
hipp is offline  
post #5923 of 5926 Unread Yesterday, 06:47 PM
Member
 
JDEATON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've recently joined the Classe family. I first dipped my toe in Classe waters with an over the Holidays purchase of slightly used CA-5300 amplifier. Today I pulled the trigger on a pre-owned 1.4 version HDMI SSP-800. Can’t wait for it to arrive.

At the moment I’m using the pre-outs of my Arcam AVR600 to feed the CA-5300. It sounds great but expect will be even better when the 800 arrives. If all goes well, the Arcam will soon go up for sale.

I've wanted to own Classe Delta series products from the first moment I viewed the beautiful curved extruded aluminum face plate. (I've been in the aluminum extrusion industry for 37 years now BTW)

This past summer I upgraded my trusty but 18+ year old Def Tech BP10’s and BPX’s to a one prior owner pair of Usher CP-8571’s. (Upgraded with Diamond DMD tweeters) I then added a new Usher Be616 center, and a pair of S-520’s for the surrounds. Other components include an Oppo BDP-105D (anxious to hear two channel through the balanced outputs and my DVD-Audio/SACD multi channel collection through the 7.1 channel analog input.)

Downloads from HDTracks stored on a tiny form factor yet 1 TB Lenovo PC feeding a Meridian Director via USB to stereo analog inputs on the SSP should sound really awesome.

After subscribing to and years and years of reading Stereo Review, Audio, Home Theater, Sound and Vision, The Absolute Sound, The Perfect Vision, Wide Screen Review, and Stereophile and generally being an audio enthusiast for well over 40 years, I have finally joined the high end community.

Having done a bit of reading on the subject it is difficult not to recognize the stature of Roger Dressler. The fact that Roger has been a regular contributor to this thread only serves to reassure me the Classe brand will provide about as good and accurate a sound as can be had today. John Atkinson’s glowing review of the CA-M600 where he states “The Classé CA-M600 and CT-M600 offer superb measured performance. It doesn't get any better than this.” may very well have been the nudge that pushed me over the edge in terms of deciding on Classe.

I realize I’m late to the party but I’m expecting great things!
JDEATON is offline  
post #5924 of 5926 Unread Yesterday, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,281
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Welcome to the Classe cadre. As I sit here basking in the glory of SSP-800 sound, I want to thank you for the kind words. I feel confident you will not be disappointed in the new gear. Let us know!

How do you find the Ushers? I've only heard them once, soon after they had the tweeters upgraded. They struck me as sizzling hot, but I had never heard them before the change. No matter, the SSP has some PEQ that can be used if needed.

Talk about late to the party, I've just received my first media PC. Will soon have access to HD tracks and will also rip some of my favorite test discs and demo clips. Planning to use JRiver Media Center. Or is there something else I should consider?

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #5925 of 5926 Unread Today, 06:28 AM
Member
 
RoubaixPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
Welcome to the Classe cadre. As I sit here basking in the glory of SSP-800 sound, I want to thank you for the kind words. I feel confident you will not be disappointed in the new gear. Let us know!

How do you find the Ushers? I've only heard them once, soon after they had the tweeters upgraded. They struck me as sizzling hot, but I had never heard them before the change. No matter, the SSP has some PEQ that can be used if needed.

Talk about late to the party, I've just received my first media PC. Will soon have access to HD tracks and will also rip some of my favorite test discs and demo clips. Planning to use JRiver Media Center. Or is there something else I should consider?

I have all my CD's ripped using dBpoweramp CD Ripper in "uncompressed FLAC" format and use JRiver Media Center for playback and control using my iPad mini with the JRemote iOS app.


https://www.dbpoweramp.com/cd-ripper.htm
http://www.jriver.com/
http://www.jremote.net/

All my music is stored on a remote NAS server (Synology DS412+) using Western Digital 3TB RED drives designed specifically for NAS use.
I have a dedicated music PC running Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit for playback connected to the NAS server.
It works but remember that you have to deal with potential buggy and constant software update issues related to any Windows PC.

I find this maintenance quite irritating so if I had to do it all over again, I would just buy a NAS server (Synology DS412+) and use the upcoming Aurender N100 digital music player with its dedicated iOS control app.
The Aurender N100 would be connected to my Classe CP-800 DAC using a Wireworld Platinum Starlight 7 USB 2.0 1m cable. The audio bypasses through my CT-SSP and power comes from CT-5300.


http://www.aurender.com/page/n100
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aure...426081239?mt=8
http://www.wireworldcable.com/hi-res...tml#digitaltop


If you don't want to hassle with a separate NAS server, the other option is to get the Aurender X100 digital music player with built-in hard drive(s) for music storage and playback in one unit.
http://www.aurender.com/page/x100


The nice thing about a NAS server like the one I have is that it can hold up to 4 separate hard drives. I have 2 HD that are mirrored for music only storage/backup and 1 HD for my PC backup so it can cover several uses.

Last edited by RoubaixPro; Today at 07:16 AM.
RoubaixPro is online now  
post #5926 of 5926 Unread Today, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
Welcome to the Classe cadre. As I sit here basking in the glory of SSP-800 sound, I want to thank you for the kind words. I feel confident you will not be disappointed in the new gear. Let us know!

How do you find the Ushers? I've only heard them once, soon after they had the tweeters upgraded. They struck me as sizzling hot, but I had never heard them before the change. No matter, the SSP has some PEQ that can be used if needed.

Talk about late to the party, I've just received my first media PC. Will soon have access to HD tracks and will also rip some of my favorite test discs and demo clips. Planning to use JRiver Media Center. Or is there something else I should consider?
Roger, if you had to give up a processor, would you give up the Classe processor or the ATMOS processor? In other words, does the great hi fi sound of the Classe trump the latest ATMOS sound of the Marantz or does ATMOS trumps quality sound?
gbaby is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Classe

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off