Official Classe SSP-800 thread. - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 5819 Old 01-29-2009, 03:49 PM
Member
 
idomeneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by owl1 View Post

Have 2 JL Audio Fathoms so it's pretty obvious when they're NOT kicking in
There is almost no low bass on DTS MA and Dolby TrueHD tracks. It's only giving me strong bass on LPCM out of my PS3. I have a Sony 550 and Pioneer Elite BDP-05 to play with and seems to be consistent across the board and on a Comcast box as well. My subs are set to auto so I can see when their green lights come on. They only light up with LPCM signal is feeding the processor.

Also, unable to configure the aux outputs for the subs - it won't select that sub option when I ask it to.

IDOMENEO : that's great news, I'm happy to hear that the new FW is almost ready - do you know what it's fixing?

I noticed the lack of LFE on some discs with firmware version 1.0.0, i.e. Iron Man. That's definitely been fixed in 1.0.2.

Other things that I know were fixed since 1.0.1:

1. Loss of audio on blu-ray discs encoded with Dolby Digital or TrueHD when played on a Sony BDP-S550.
2. Drop out of audio for 3-4 seconds when changing to a new digital source. This included starting a new track on a CD or changing channels with digital cable/satellite.
3. Volume control has been tweaked a little bit more to start off slower to allow for changing volume by .5db (I think it's just about perfect now).

owl1, what version does your unit have? I know there were a lot of fixes from 1.0.0 to 1.0.1, so you may want to check the Classe website for that list as well.
idomeneo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 5819 Old 01-29-2009, 05:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
owl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by idomeneo View Post

for changing volume by .5db (I think it's just about perfect now).

owl1, what version does your unit have? I know there were a lot of fixes from 1.0.0 to 1.0.1, so you may want to check the Classe website for that list as well.

1.0.1 Just got it a couple weeks ago... I really like #2

May just wait for the new firmware before I call out the dealer. Seems like some of my problems are similiar to 1.0.0 issues, no?
owl1 is offline  
post #723 of 5819 Old 01-29-2009, 08:57 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by idomeneo View Post

I noticed the lack of LFE on some discs with firmware version 1.0.0, i.e. Iron Man. That's definitely been fixed in 1.0.2.

Other things that I know were fixed since 1.0.1:

1. Loss of audio on blu-ray discs encoded with Dolby Digital or TrueHD when played on a Sony BDP-S550.
2. Drop out of audio for 3-4 seconds when changing to a new digital source. This included starting a new track on a CD or changing channels with digital cable/satellite.
3. Volume control has been tweaked a little bit more to start off slower to allow for changing volume by .5db (I think it's just about perfect now).

owl1, what version does your unit have? I know there were a lot of fixes from 1.0.0 to 1.0.1, so you may want to check the Classe website for that list as well.

1.0.2 is coming out and will fix the problem
wse is online now  
post #724 of 5819 Old 01-29-2009, 09:20 PM
Member
 
idomeneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by owl1 View Post

1.0.1 Just got it a couple weeks ago... I really like #2

May just wait for the new firmware before I call out the dealer. Seems like some of my problems are similiar to 1.0.0 issues, no?

Sounds like you do have some 1.0.0 issues.

1.0.2 is big improvement, though. So I agree, if I were you, I'd try 1.0.2 before calling the dealer.
idomeneo is offline  
post #725 of 5819 Old 01-30-2009, 05:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by idomeneo View Post

Sounds like you do have some 1.0.0 issues.

1.0.2 is big improvement, though. So I agree, if I were you, I'd try 1.0.2 before calling the dealer.

I also concur. 1.0.2 seems to fix all of the bugs in the system I have found.

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #726 of 5819 Old 01-30-2009, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
owl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How does one upgrade FW? Can't find a thing in the manual or website. Seems like a few of you already have 1.0.2...
owl1 is offline  
post #727 of 5819 Old 01-30-2009, 03:03 PM
Member
 
idomeneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by owl1 View Post

How does one upgrade FW? Can't find a thing in the manual or website. Seems like a few of you already have 1.0.2...

Here's the link. It has the software and the directions. Those of us who have been talking about 1.0.2 actually have the pre-release version. The official version is not out yet, and is not posted on the website.

http://www.classeaudio.com/downloads...FTWARE/SSP-800
idomeneo is offline  
post #728 of 5819 Old 01-30-2009, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by owl1 View Post

How does one upgrade FW? Can't find a thing in the manual or website. Seems like a few of you already have 1.0.2...

you'll have a harder time finding an RS-232 cable than you will updating the SSP. Oh, and you'll need windows as well. There isn't a Mac updater. There is a USB connection on the back of the processor, but I have not tested it, so can not comment on how well it will work.

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #729 of 5819 Old 01-30-2009, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifisponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 7,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikoniko View Post

you'll have a harder time finding an RS-232 cable than you will updating the SSP. Oh, and you'll need windows as well. There isn't a Mac updater. There is a USB connection on the back of the processor, but I have not tested it, so can not comment on how well it will work.

I use the USB and it works without a hitch.
hifisponge is offline  
post #730 of 5819 Old 01-31-2009, 06:39 AM
Member
 
Happy Rabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any Chance Someone could post 1.0.2 by accident.....plz


Dwight
Happy Rabbit is offline  
post #731 of 5819 Old 02-01-2009, 05:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy Rabbit View Post

Any Chance Someone could post 1.0.2 by accident.....plz


Dwight

It will probably be publicly available in the very near future. this week or next would be my guess.

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #732 of 5819 Old 02-02-2009, 10:33 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifisponge View Post

I use the USB and it works without a hitch.

Does the USB port in the back of the SP-800 allows you to plug-in flash drive and play music

That would be really cool especially with Flash drive becoming cheaper every the day 64GB for $100
wse is online now  
post #733 of 5819 Old 02-02-2009, 12:13 PM
Member
 
idomeneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Does the USB port in the back of the SP-800 allows you to plug-in flash drive and play music

That would be really cool especially with Flash drive becoming cheaper every the day 64GB for $100

No, it's the wrong type of USB plug. It's like the plug you find on a USB printer. Plus, there is no menu item in the SSP-800 interface that would allow you to read music from the USB drive.
idomeneo is offline  
post #734 of 5819 Old 02-03-2009, 11:54 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by idomeneo View Post

No, it's the wrong type of USB plug. It's like the plug you find on a USB printer. Plus, there is no menu item in the SSP-800 interface that would allow you to read music from the USB drive.

Oh that's too bad?
wse is online now  
post #735 of 5819 Old 02-03-2009, 12:23 PM
Member
 
idomeneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Does the USB port in the back of the SP-800 allows you to plug-in flash drive and play music

That would be really cool especially with Flash drive becoming cheaper every the day 64GB for $100

One other option would be to get an Oppo DVD player, as they do support USB drives. You could connect the USB drive to the Oppo, it would read the music from the USB drive and send it to the SSP-800.
idomeneo is offline  
post #736 of 5819 Old 02-04-2009, 10:17 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by idomeneo View Post

One other option would be to get an Oppo DVD player, as they do support USB drives. You could connect the USB drive to the Oppo, it would read the music from the USB drive and send it to the SSP-800.

Will the BDP-83 also allow you to do that?
wse is online now  
post #737 of 5819 Old 02-04-2009, 10:29 AM
Member
 
idomeneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Will the BDP-83 also allow you to do that?

I see there is a USB port on the back of the BDP-83, so I'm assuming it will.
idomeneo is offline  
post #738 of 5819 Old 02-13-2009, 05:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
owl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by idomeneo View Post

I see there is a USB port on the back of the BDP-83, so I'm assuming it will.

Any news on the new firmware update? It's going on a couple of weeks now...
owl1 is offline  
post #739 of 5819 Old 02-13-2009, 07:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
panzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I am not sure if this has already been asked, does classe offer a upgrade from the ssp600 to the 800, or possibly a trade up, thanks
panzer is offline  
post #740 of 5819 Old 02-13-2009, 09:13 AM
Member
 
idomeneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by owl1 View Post

Any news on the new firmware update? It's going on a couple of weeks now...

I haven't heard anything more.
idomeneo is offline  
post #741 of 5819 Old 02-13-2009, 09:16 AM
Member
 
idomeneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by panzer View Post

I am not sure if this has already been asked, does classe offer a upgrade from the ssp600 to the 800, or possibly a trade up, thanks

You'll have to ask youf dealer about this. I know someone who was considering an ssp-600 now and has been offered full value on his ssp-600 to trade up to the ssp-800 at a later date.

This is not a Classe program, but rather a dealer who is willing to make a deal.
idomeneo is offline  
post #742 of 5819 Old 02-13-2009, 12:19 PM
Member
 
idomeneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware 1.0.2 has been posted to Classe's website. It's a big improvement over previous versions, so I suggest that you upgrade to this version.

http://www.classeaudio.com/downloads...FTWARE/SSP-800
idomeneo is offline  
post #743 of 5819 Old 02-14-2009, 01:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
owl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Awesome. Nice update.
owl1 is offline  
post #744 of 5819 Old 02-15-2009, 08:39 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by idomeneo View Post

You'll have to ask youf dealer about this. I know someone who was considering an ssp-600 now and has been offered full value on his ssp-600 to trade up to the ssp-800 at a later date.

This is not a Classe program, but rather a dealer who is willing to make a deal.

Sounds like a great dealer I wished mine was like that
wse is online now  
post #745 of 5819 Old 02-18-2009, 07:14 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikoniko View Post

I don't want you explaining anything to me until you produce a phd in electrical engineer and years of experience that we can verify.
If you think you can build something better and cheaper, I suggest you do it. Until then, you will never have any credibility. now shoo!

How dare you Windsor question the GOOD CLASSÉ!!!!!

From the horse's mouth:
"The only 192kHz source material that we are currently aware of are 2 channel DVD-As and the SSP-800 is capable handling them. In terms of multichannel audio, the SSP-800 handles 8 channels at 96kHz, which is Blu Ray's maximum capability.

The Dual DSP will be able to handle 192kHz, because this is the bitrate for the encoded bitstreams.

We are fully aware of the technology being deployed by our competitors. Very few chips are available that can decode the HD bitstreams and we are courted by their manufacturers. Furthermore, Dolby keeps us regularly updated as new chips become available.

We have to make judgments based on the chip performance and selected the TI platform because we consider it the best. We could have selected other chips in order to attain decoding capability at launch but were unwilling to accept the performance sacrifices that this would have involved.

If you are willing to accept a performance sacrifice to have decoding capability now then you may want to invest in any of the brands you list below.

If you are looking for ultimate performance and decoding capability, then you will regrettably have to wait.

Please be assured that we want the dual DSP as much as you do."

Denon AVP1
wse is online now  
post #746 of 5819 Old 02-18-2009, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

From the horse's mouth:
"The Dual DSP will be able to handle 192kHz, because this is the bitrate for the encoded bitstreams."

Hmmm, 192 kHz isn't a bitrate, it's a sample rate. A Classe guy wrote that?
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #747 of 5819 Old 02-19-2009, 12:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
There is some 5.1 24/192 ,material available, I have Divertimenti from here:
http://www.2l.no/

It has 5.1 24/192 LPCM, TrueHD and DTSHD-MA. Excellent soundquality and worth it as a reference and test disc even if classical isnt your fave.
Krobar is offline  
post #748 of 5819 Old 02-19-2009, 02:36 AM
Member
 
SheerLuck Holmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by idomeneo View Post

Firmware 1.0.2 has been posted to Classe's website. It's a big improvement over previous versions, so I suggest that you upgrade to this version.

http://www.classeaudio.com/downloads...FTWARE/SSP-800

I feel uncertain about downloading new software to my Classe ssp 800.
Will someone write a "recipe" - that is, exactly what do you do?
Thanking you
SheerLuck Holmes is offline  
post #749 of 5819 Old 02-19-2009, 09:45 AM
Member
 
idomeneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SheerLuck Holmes View Post

I feel uncertain about downloading new software to my Classe ssp 800.
Will someone write a "recipe" - that is, exactly what do you do?
Thanking you

Here are step by step instructions written by Classe. That's how I did the update. They are clearly written, and they work!

http://www.classeaudio.com/downloads...I%20V1%207.pdf
idomeneo is offline  
post #750 of 5819 Old 02-19-2009, 09:58 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post

Hmmm, 192 kHz isn't a bitrate, it's a sample rate. A Classe guy wrote that?

Yes a Classé employee
wse is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Classe

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off