Denon 788/1908 + PS3 2-channel PCM = no DPLII layer? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-17-2008, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mariachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't seem to be able to layer DPLII on 2 channel PCM sources coming from the PS3. Is this something that can't be done or am I missing something?

-Vic
mariachi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-17-2008, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's something that can't be done easily. The ps3 encapsulates 2 channel audio inside a 5.1 or 7.1 multichannel pcm signal. It's not much of a solution, but if you disable all the multichannel modes, you can force it to output 2 channel pcm.
kplex is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-17-2008, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mariachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, i think I see what you are saying... the only reason I was asking is because the downloadable movie trailers are 2 channel only and when I was using the optical I could just use DPLII, but when using hdmi, all I'm getting now is sound from the two front channels. I guess I'll just have to put up with it.
mariachi is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-17-2008, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LOL.

Open the flip side of the remote, and choose your poison (Neo6, DPL2x) etc.. There's even a game mode.

Also check your HDMI audio settings in the PS3.

No animals were harmed in the creation of this sentence.
eightninesuited is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-18-2008, 05:52 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mariachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightninesuited View Post

LOL.

Open the flip side of the remote, and choose your poison (Neo6, DPL2x) etc.. There's even a game mode.

Also check your HDMI audio settings in the PS3.

Nope. that's the problem. Even when pressing those, the sound still only comes from the front L, R, speakers when there's a 2 channel PCM signal coming from the PS3. Basically, you can't apply any of the surround modes. When there's a multi channel PCM signal, I'm good as it's already 5.1 so I don't have to do anything.

-Vic
mariachi is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-18-2008, 05:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 665 Post(s)
Liked: 720
The problem is with the PS3. It should output only 2 channels when playing 2 channel content. Instead it still sends out a 7.1 signal even when the content is only 2 channel. The 360 doesn't suffer from this problem.
And the PS3 should have never had this problem to begin with. Maybe one day Sony will fix it but I wouldn't hold my breath.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off