Denon 788/1908 + PS3 2-channel PCM = no DPLII layer? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2008, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mariachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't seem to be able to layer DPLII on 2 channel PCM sources coming from the PS3. Is this something that can't be done or am I missing something?

-Vic
mariachi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2008, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
It's something that can't be done easily. The ps3 encapsulates 2 channel audio inside a 5.1 or 7.1 multichannel pcm signal. It's not much of a solution, but if you disable all the multichannel modes, you can force it to output 2 channel pcm.
kplex is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mariachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, i think I see what you are saying... the only reason I was asking is because the downloadable movie trailers are 2 channel only and when I was using the optical I could just use DPLII, but when using hdmi, all I'm getting now is sound from the two front channels. I guess I'll just have to put up with it.
mariachi is offline  
 
Old 02-17-2008, 10:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 29
LOL.

Open the flip side of the remote, and choose your poison (Neo6, DPL2x) etc.. There's even a game mode.

Also check your HDMI audio settings in the PS3.

My Dad once said to me: "Son, quality over quantity - always"

Of course he was referring to girlfriends after high school, but the same applies to subs - which, if you are in this forum is the girlfriend we have an affair with for a running time of 2 hours in one session.
eightninesuited is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mariachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightninesuited View Post

LOL.

Open the flip side of the remote, and choose your poison (Neo6, DPL2x) etc.. There's even a game mode.

Also check your HDMI audio settings in the PS3.

Nope. that's the problem. Even when pressing those, the sound still only comes from the front L, R, speakers when there's a 2 channel PCM signal coming from the PS3. Basically, you can't apply any of the surround modes. When there's a multi channel PCM signal, I'm good as it's already 5.1 so I don't have to do anything.

-Vic
mariachi is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 06:58 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 29,699
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5220 Post(s)
Liked: 3123
The problem is with the PS3. It should output only 2 channels when playing 2 channel content. Instead it still sends out a 7.1 signal even when the content is only 2 channel. The 360 doesn't suffer from this problem.
And the PS3 should have never had this problem to begin with. Maybe one day Sony will fix it but I wouldn't hold my breath.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Samsung UBD-K8500--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off