Denon 3808/4308/5308 Firmware Tracking Thread - Page 129 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3841 of 3859 Old 03-02-2015, 10:57 AM
Newbie
 
Shivanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New feature update link

Found this automated site. Worked for my 3808 in sweden.

4308-3808-a1.denon-upgrade.eu/en/upgrade-s1.html
Shivanti is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3842 of 3859 Old 03-06-2015, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,875
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladc77 View Post
I found that the best way is to communicate with customer support over the internet.


1. Create account with Denon Customer Support - http://denon.custhelp.com/
2. Go into the receivers menu and do the following to retrieve the Upgrade ID.

Manual Setup
Option Setup
Add New Feature

You will see the Upgrade ID appear on your TV.
3. Request politely for enabling access to the upgrade and provide the Upgrade ID.
4. They will enable you access
5. Go into the receivers menu and do the following to retrieve the Upgrade ID.
Manual Setup
Option Setup
Add New Feature

Initiate upgrade.

This is pretty much what you'll need to do. I hope it helps.
My Upgrade ID did not appear, until I updated firmware. After the FW update, OSD showed my Upgrade ID.

Thank you very much for this.

----------------------------------------------
Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #3843 of 3859 Old 07-05-2015, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
MTAtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladc77 View Post
I am wondering if New Feature update is purely software update. I called to Denon and the person I was talking to told me that this update is not available anymore and required some hardware upgrade for avr 3808ci. I am not sure if that it is case. Can anyone confirm? Thank you in advance!
I upgraded mine firmware last night. I did it through my PC by typing the 3808ci's IP address in Internet Explorer. Went to Manual Setup, Option 3, which looks like this:



While the firmware checked and was able to update, the New Features found no updates.

UPGRADE STATUS -Rhapsody Direct -SIRIUS Ready -Audyssey Dynamic EQ -Audyssey Dynamic Volume -HDMI Control
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Denon_3808ciMan_Setup.JPG
Views:	280
Size:	86.9 KB
ID:	813226  

Last edited by MTAtech; 07-05-2015 at 05:41 AM.
MTAtech is offline  
post #3844 of 3859 Old 10-02-2015, 01:41 PM
Newbie
 
TyBreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where to find firmware for Australia?

Hi, I have an AVR-4308 and would like to bring it up-to-date but it isn't connected to the net so I'm hoping I can download it to USB and update it from there?

The links on the front page of this thread don't appear to work anymore. Can someone tell me the URL where I can find Australian firmware please?
TyBreaker is offline  
post #3845 of 3859 Old 10-03-2015, 01:18 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 61,608
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9359 Post(s)
Liked: 4317
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyBreaker View Post
Hi, I have an AVR-4308 and would like to bring it up-to-date but it isn't connected to the net so I'm hoping I can download it to USB and update it from there?

The links on the front page of this thread don't appear to work anymore. Can someone tell me the URL where I can find Australian firmware please?
Better option would be to take it to a friend's house that has an internet connection.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3846 of 3859 Old 10-03-2015, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Hello, have had the 3808CI for years, and now passing down to my son. A key issue we can't figure out, is how to play an iPhone through this receiver. We don't have an iPod dock, and tried the USB input, but no luck. Any suggestions?
cdnscg is offline  
post #3847 of 3859 Old 03-07-2016, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Lovejoy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladc77 View Post
I found that the best way is to communicate with customer support over the internet.


1. Create account with Denon Customer Support - http://denon.custhelp.com/
2. Go into the receivers menu and do the following to retrieve the Upgrade ID.

Manual Setup
Option Setup
Add New Feature

You will see the Upgrade ID appear on your TV.
3. Request politely for enabling access to the upgrade and provide the Upgrade ID.
4. They will enable you access
5. Go into the receivers menu and do the following to retrieve the Upgrade ID.
Manual Setup
Option Setup
Add New Feature

Initiate upgrade.

This is pretty much what you'll need to do. I hope it helps.
I'll make this as short as possible.

I survived a 4 year old ordeal with cancer and am now in remission, and just outta bed getting my life back together. I bought my 3808 about 2 weeks before my diagnosis back in 2012 and never really even got to use, errr, enjoy it. My sister packed all my stuff and made me move in with her so she could take care of me. First thing I did when I finally got to get out of bed for good was unpack my unit and put it to use (yeah, I was VERY SICK for 4 years). On the puter that same day, I came across this topic and am now wondering if i'm completely screwed. I see and understand the directions. I also finally found my original receipt for this Beast. I emailed Denon 4 days ago about this firmware and they haven't responded which means they won't. I've been a registered customer using their products for over 25 years and this is what happens when they don't want to tell their customers "NO" in writing, lol! The phone is even worse. Am I to know believe that there's no way at all I can get these features now? I was thinking an authorized dealer and mentioned it to them probably 10 times but each time I would they'd say, "I wouldn't know that sir. You would have to call one and ask them."


So, does anyone have any advice that might help me?
Lovejoy83 is offline  
post #3848 of 3859 Old 03-07-2016, 09:47 PM
Member
 
Lovejoy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovejoy83 View Post
I'll make this as short as possible.

I survived a 4 year old ordeal with cancer and am now in remission, and just outta bed getting my life back together. I bought my 3808 about 2 weeks before my diagnosis back in 2012 and never really even got to use, errr, enjoy it. My sister packed all my stuff and made me move in with her so she could take care of me. First thing I did when I finally got to get out of bed for good was unpack my unit and put it to use (yeah, I was VERY SICK for 4 years). On the puter that same day, I came across this topic and am now wondering if i'm completely screwed. I see and understand the directions. I also finally found my original receipt for this Beast. I emailed Denon 4 days ago about this firmware and they haven't responded which means they won't. I've been a registered customer using their products for over 25 years and this is what happens when they don't want to tell their customers "NO" in writing, lol! The phone is even worse. Am I to know believe that there's no way at all I can get these features now? I was thinking an authorized dealer and mentioned it to them probably 10 times but each time I would they'd say, "I wouldn't know that sir. You would have to call one and ask them."


So, does anyone have any advice that might help me?
I found the answer to my problem today concerning the Firmware update though a local authorized seller of Denon. Easy as pie if anyone else needs the info this late in the game.


https://usa.denon.com/us/product/hom...vers/avr3808ci

That's your huckleberry.
Lovejoy83 is offline  
post #3849 of 3859 Old 03-08-2016, 11:23 PM
Member
 
Music's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
Hello, have had the 3808CI for years, and now passing down to my son. A key issue we can't figure out, is how to play an iPhone through this receiver. We don't have an iPod dock, and tried the USB input, but no luck. Any suggestions?
You need some accessories for this (assuming your iphone is newer model with lightning port):

1) iPhone Lightning Dock With Audio Line-Out

or

2) Bluetooth receiver (better with digital out, i.e., toslink or coaxial)

or

3) RCA to 3.5mm Cable (worst quality out of three options)

Hope this helps!
Music is offline  
post #3850 of 3859 Old 03-08-2016, 11:26 PM
Member
 
Music's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovejoy83 View Post
I found the answer to my problem today concerning the Firmware update though a local authorized seller of Denon. Easy as pie if anyone else needs the info this late in the game.


https://usa.denon.com/us/product/hom...vers/avr3808ci

That's your huckleberry.
My 4308 has been sitting idle for 2 years. Nowadays I play music like this:

iPhone/iPad -- lightning USB --> portal DAC -- lineout --> Marshall portable Bluetooth speaker (not using the bluetooth most of the time though)

My content is all digital file and streaming.

What a change in technology and lifestyle...

Anyway wish you all good health!
Music is offline  
post #3851 of 3859 Old 03-09-2016, 05:57 PM
Member
 
Lovejoy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Music View Post
My 4308 has been sitting idle for 2 years. Nowadays I play music like this:

iPhone/iPad -- lightning USB --> portal DAC -- lineout --> Marshall portable Bluetooth speaker (not using the bluetooth most of the time though)

My content is all digital file and streaming.

What a change in technology and lifestyle...

Anyway wish you all good health!
My Denon 3808ci, driving a pair of Infinity Alpha 50'a, Infinity SM 3 CC, a couple of Infinity SM 62's, and a pair of Infinity RS 152 reference speakers ------- I'd love to see the look on your face when comparing yours to mine. Of course that's all digital meaning that the frequency is FIXED, until I switch over to my Nakamichi 680ZX. I prefer tape to digital anytime. Yeah, I'd LOVE to see it.

Last edited by Lovejoy83; 03-09-2016 at 06:03 PM.
Lovejoy83 is offline  
post #3852 of 3859 Old 03-09-2016, 06:07 PM
Member
 
Music's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovejoy83 View Post
My Denon 3808ci, driving a pair of Infinity Alpha 50'a, Infinity SM 3 CC, a couple of Infinity SM 62's, and a pair of Infinity RS 152 reference speakers ------- I'd love to see the look on your face when comparing yours to mine.
:-)

My Denon 4308 is driving a pair of PMC LB1, KEF Cresta C, Velodyn active bass, Bose passive bass, Bose rear satellite speakers (left, middle, right) which form a 6.2 setup. And I also biamp the LB1 (true biamp without the bridge) via eight outputs from 4308 for better stereo music performance. Again, they sit mostly idle for 2+ years...

My last source player was an Oppo BDP-83 (sold long time ago). Now I have a PS3 for blu-ray and Netflix.

Since I have kids, I trade off all these for convenience and simplicity. I hope that I can pick them up again after I retire... haha

Last edited by Music; 03-09-2016 at 06:18 PM.
Music is offline  
post #3853 of 3859 Old 03-16-2016, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Exclamation

Hi there,

I upgraded my Denon AVR-3808A here in Europe via Ethernet and I got the following:

Main Ver = A2.04
Sub Ver = 01.11
DSP1 Ver = 36.61
DSP2 Ver = 39.49
Ethernet IMG = I200909030022
Ethernet BL = B200707020733-0A
Ethernet CNE = C20090903
WEB = W200908260504
GUI FPGA CONFIG = A080719A
GUI PRG = 00007621
GUI DAT = 37750020
DGTL PLD = 00.50

All seemed well, but when I played some Blu-ray disc on my Denon DBP-4010UD, I understood that my receiver cannot decode BD audio stream correctly anymore. Whatever I choose on the disc audio menu - Dolby True HD, DTS-HD, Dolby Digital or DTS, everytime the receiver shows PCM MULTI CH IN - no digital stream decoding.

So, now I am seeking a way to revert to the factory firmware and would be grateful if someone can help.
chess11 is offline  
post #3854 of 3859 Old 03-16-2016, 10:44 PM
Member
 
Music's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chess11 View Post
Hi there,

I upgraded my Denon AVR-3808A here in Europe via Ethernet and I got the following:

Main Ver = A2.04
Sub Ver = 01.11
DSP1 Ver = 36.61
DSP2 Ver = 39.49
Ethernet IMG = I200909030022
Ethernet BL = B200707020733-0A
Ethernet CNE = C20090903
WEB = W200908260504
GUI FPGA CONFIG = A080719A
GUI PRG = 00007621
GUI DAT = 37750020
DGTL PLD = 00.50

All seemed well, but when I played some Blu-ray disc on my Denon DBP-4010UD, I understood that my receiver cannot decode BD audio stream correctly anymore. Whatever I choose on the disc audio menu - Dolby True HD, DTS-HD, Dolby Digital or DTS, everytime the receiver shows PCM MULTI CH IN - no digital stream decoding.

So, now I am seeking a way to revert to the factory firmware and would be grateful if someone can help.
It seems that your Denon DBP-4010UD has decoded the audio to PCM and send to your 3808A. Have you checked that your Denon DBP-4010UD has set to output bitstream? And at Denon 3808A you have not chosen EXT-IN mode?
Music is offline  
post #3855 of 3859 Old 03-17-2016, 01:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Music View Post
It seems that your Denon DBP-4010UD has decoded the audio to PCM and send to your 3808A. Have you checked that your Denon DBP-4010UD has set to output bitstream? And at Denon 3808A you have not chosen EXT-IN mode?
Thank you for your care & help. Yes, the player is set to BITSTREAM and the receiver is set to INPUT - HDMI. There is only a HDMI cable between the two components. I am a sort of familiar with these digital formats and for 7-8 years this configuration worked OK.

I replaced the HDMI cable, tried another HDMI socket on the receiver - no result. Whatever BD disc I play, whatever audio option I choose, I see only MULTI CH IN and the receiver "Audio input signal monitor" shows a 48kHz PCM 3/2/.1 signal is coming in.

Resetting the both units to factory defaults and manually configuring them did not help either.

This fault is present only with Blu-Ray discs. All other audio and video discs and digital audio formats work OK - DVD discs in DTS 5.1 or DD 5.1, Super Audio CD, DVD Audio, DTS audio CD, etc.

Today I will test a friend's Blu-ray player with my receiver, hoping that my 4010UD player got somehow faulty and the receiver is OK.

Up to now it seems one of the following:
1/ The 3808A receiver cannot decode anymore Blu-Ray audio signals.
2/ The 4010UD player cannot send anymore bitstream Blu-ray audio stream to receiver.

Less worse (and less expensive) option is 2/, of course.

I'll post results after the tests with another BD player.
chess11 is offline  
post #3856 of 3859 Old 03-17-2016, 12:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Smile

I am quite happier now - the player is wrong, the receiver is OK!

When testing with another BD player, all worked just fine - I saw at last Dolby TrueHD and DTS-MA shining on my receiver's display - nomore PCM Multi Channel In!

I don't know... recently I cleaned the player lenses and maybe something went wrong with Blu-ray lens.

All in all, it is much easier to replace a player than a receiver!

So, it appeared that the posted above new Denon 3808A firmware is OK - no faults found.
chess11 is offline  
post #3857 of 3859 Old 03-17-2016, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Except you are hearing the exactly same thing you did with multi.
Gary J is offline  
post #3858 of 3859 Old 03-19-2016, 07:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Except you are hearing the exactly same thing you did with multi.
Yes, you're right, but that's not the point. In fact the player keeps on decoding and doesn't send a bitstream signal to the receiver when playing Blu-rays, whatever I set as an audio option. This is not a proper behaviour.

Anyway, I'll post the problem in the appropriate DBP-4010UD section.

UPDATE: Problem solved. A small neglected MODE button on the player remote was the reason. It was in default Mix Audio option (meaning bitstream is off). Changing it to HD Audio sorted it all out and Hi-Res Audio bitstream is back on.

This MODE button has no equivalent in On-Screen Setup, so one can simply forget about it (as I did)...


Last edited by chess11; 03-19-2016 at 04:08 PM.
chess11 is offline  
post #3859 of 3859 Old 03-19-2016, 08:31 AM
Member
 
maxmonty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did some searching and it seems like others had the same issue I'm having. No video after the update. I've tried the hard microprocessor reset and the firmware reset, but it's still the same. Has anyone been able to fix this? Is there anything else to try?
maxmonty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3808ci Receiver , Denon Avr 4308ci Receiver , Denon Avr 5308ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off