The Yamaha RX-V663 thread. HDMI 1.3 upconversion, TrueHD, DTS MA decoding. - Page 363 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10861 of 11043 Old 03-20-2011, 11:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKRad View Post

Hoping to find an answer here to an issue I am seeing.

Currently have the RX-V663, connected to Directv HD-DVR via HDMI. When watching tv I have it set to PLIIx movie but on the front of the receiver it is only showing the icons for the L / R speakers lit up and not the 5.1 setup that should be lit up. But the rear speakers are playing sound like it is running 5.1.

I am making sure I am watching an HD movie as well (example SyFy HD channel)

Is there something I am missing on why the speaker icons are not lighting up on the receiver yet I am hearing sound from all the speakers. Also, when I go to DVD mode...the speakers WILL light up in 5.1 set up like it should. Any help would be appreciated

On the 663, the speaker icons indicate what the INPUT audio is. On later models they indicate what the OUTPUT audio is.

Many HD programs on the sat channels are 2-ch audio only. They are all DD, but not always 5.1.
rdgrimes is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10862 of 11043 Old 03-20-2011, 10:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

On the 663, the speaker icons indicate what the INPUT audio is. On later models they indicate what the OUTPUT audio is.

Many HD programs on the sat channels are 2-ch audio only. They are all DD, but not always 5.1.

This is absolutely correct, and also confused me at first. Especially since it indicates which speakers are connected during setup. Additionally, the PLIIx is what is making all the speakers work when you only have stereo input; that's what it does - upmixes up to 7.1.
fitbrit is online now  
post #10863 of 11043 Old 03-21-2011, 04:13 AM
Member
 
allworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a question about DOlby True HD. I ripped my movies into a folder structure onto a server and play them back through Sagetv and a Sagetv extender which is capable of streaming the following.

Audio formats supported: MP2, MP3, AAC, AAC-HE, ALAC, WMA, WMAPro, PCM, Vorbis (stereo only), FLAC, DolbyDigital/DolbyDigital+/DolbyTrueHD* (stereo down-mix or pass-through), DTS/DTS-HD/DTS-MA (stereo down-mix or pass-through)

The problem I am having is that when playing a blu ray on the extender through my 663. I can view deatailed video info and it shows Dolby True HD being played back at the extender. But my 663 only says Straight and I can not change it to True HD. All speakers lite up but I am wondering if I am getting the Trued HD when receiver is displaying Straight?

PSN : Mailman74
allworld is offline  
post #10864 of 11043 Old 03-21-2011, 04:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Use the INFO button to see what the signal is. Might be OPTION, then SIGNAL INFO as well.

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #10865 of 11043 Old 03-21-2011, 06:11 AM
Newbie
 
Rgonzalez79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a 663 about a month ago for $100 in an awesome Craigslist moving sale (love craigslist, once you get past all the nonsense thats on there).

I've been buying cables and wires and getting everything setup for the big debut. Only problem is I have no remote for the receiver.

Is there any way to bring up the OSD by using the buttons on the unit itself?

For testing purposes, I am running my XBOX 1 as a component input with analogue (stereo) audio. I am using the DVD inputs on the back of the receiver.

I am outputting through HDMI to my Phillips plasma (also purchased for $75 on Craigslist and fixed a busted capacitor thank to your guys on this wonderful forum).

These are the only cables running on the system as of now, component video in (DVD), stereo cables in (DVD), HDMI out.

I can see the video from the XBOX but no audio since I cannot adjust the HDMI settings to "other" through the OSD.

Thanks in advance for all your help guys.

My name is Danny and I am a new member of the AVR club, thanks for the welcome
Rgonzalez79 is offline  
post #10866 of 11043 Old 03-21-2011, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by allworld View Post

I got a question about DOlby True HD. I ripped my movies into a folder structure onto a server and play them back through Sagetv and a Sagetv extender which is capable of streaming the following.

Audio formats supported: MP2, MP3, AAC, AAC-HE, ALAC, WMA, WMAPro, PCM, Vorbis (stereo only), FLAC, DolbyDigital/DolbyDigital+/DolbyTrueHD* (stereo down-mix or pass-through), DTS/DTS-HD/DTS-MA (stereo down-mix or pass-through)

The problem I am having is that when playing a blu ray on the extender through my 663. I can view deatailed video info and it shows Dolby True HD being played back at the extender. But my 663 only says Straight and I can not change it to True HD. All speakers lite up but I am wondering if I am getting the Trued HD when receiver is displaying Straight?

The fact that it displays "straight" means that it's receiving a lossless signal. IIRC you can verify it's THD by going to the receiver and checking the smaller text displayed. That should ease your mind.
fitbrit is online now  
post #10867 of 11043 Old 03-21-2011, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rgonzalez79 View Post

I just purchased a 663 about a month ago for $100 in an awesome Craigslist moving sale (love craigslist, once you get past all the nonsense thats on there).

I've been buying cables and wires and getting everything setup for the big debut. Only problem is I have no remote for the receiver.

Is there any way to bring up the OSD by using the buttons on the unit itself?

For testing purposes, I am running my XBOX 1 as a component input with analogue (stereo) audio. I am using the DVD inputs on the back of the receiver.

I am outputting through HDMI to my Phillips plasma (also purchased for $75 on Craigslist and fixed a busted capacitor thank to your guys on this wonderful forum).

These are the only cables running on the system as of now, component video in (DVD), stereo cables in (DVD), HDMI out.

I can see the video from the XBOX but no audio since I cannot adjust the HDMI settings to "other" through the OSD.

Thanks in advance for all your help guys.

My name is Danny and I am a new member of the AVR club, thanks for the welcome

Would buying a low end Harmony or other universal remote be out of the question? Check Craigslist.
fitbrit is online now  
post #10868 of 11043 Old 03-21-2011, 06:29 AM
Newbie
 
Rgonzalez79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitbrit View Post

Would buying a low end Harmony or other universal remote be out of the question? Check Craigslist.

Thanks fitbrit. I was thinking the same thing but the wife is getting a little curious as to where the funds for these miscellaneous wires/cables/speakers are coming from (I got an Insignia 5.1 system also from CL for $50).

So there's no way to access it without the remote? If not, would the Harmony 520 be compatible.

Thanks again
Rgonzalez79 is offline  
post #10869 of 11043 Old 04-13-2011, 02:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
TViewer2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKRad View Post

Hoping to find an answer here to an issue I am seeing.

Currently have the RX-V663, connected to Directv HD-DVR via HDMI. When watching tv I have it set to PLIIx movie but on the front of the receiver it is only showing the icons for the L / R speakers lit up and not the 5.1 setup that should be lit up. But the rear speakers are playing sound like it is running 5.1.

I am making sure I am watching an HD movie as well (example SyFy HD channel)

Is there something I am missing on why the speaker icons are not lighting up on the receiver yet I am hearing sound from all the speakers. Also, when I go to DVD mode...the speakers WILL light up in 5.1 set up like it should. Any help would be appreciated


Make sure your Directv box is set to output DD. There are two settings: off and on.

PSN ID: Onedropshot
TViewer2000 is offline  
post #10870 of 11043 Old 04-20-2011, 08:20 AM
Newbie
 
slim2fattycake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me how to output stereo audio through HDMI to all the channels? Basically for parties. It won't let me change the sound field. It is stuck on straight.
slim2fattycake is offline  
post #10871 of 11043 Old 04-20-2011, 08:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by slim2fattycake View Post

Can anyone tell me how to output stereo audio through HDMI to all the channels? Basically for parties. It won't let me change the sound field. It is stuck on straight.

Button on the remote that says "stereo". I think you want "7-channel stereo". Push that button twice.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #10872 of 11043 Old 04-28-2011, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
waynehend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My remote has started misbehaving: The volume won't change until the remote buttons (up or down) are held for a couple seconds. Then the dial will move normally, although my flashing orange indicator on the dial has quit also. All other remote buttons appear to work normally, and the batteries are fresh.

I examined the remote output by shining it into my blackberry camera, to be able to see the light. Sure enough, all the buttons produce light immediately except for the volume buttons, which give the delayed response. This is maddening.

Is there a way perhaps to "flash" or reset the remote? The code reset "9981" had no effect on the volume button issue.

UPDATE: I'm getting the sinking feeling that the problem is the buttons themselves - perhaps they need cleaning, or are getting worn out? Anybody know how to pop this thing open?
waynehend is offline  
post #10873 of 11043 Old 05-26-2011, 03:42 PM
Member
 
octapuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone using pure direct for their listening pleasure. I have finally switched from 7 chanell enhancer or pII music. I am digging it. Does it sound better to you?
octapuss is offline  
post #10874 of 11043 Old 05-26-2011, 03:49 PM
Member
 
mrfranc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by octapuss View Post

anyone using pure direct for their listening pleasure. I have finally switched from 7 chanell enhancer or pII music. I am digging it. Does it sound better to you?

No artificial flavoring.
mrfranc is offline  
post #10875 of 11043 Old 05-26-2011, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
straight enhancer all the way for me.

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #10876 of 11043 Old 05-26-2011, 04:59 PM
Member
 
octapuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caper_1 View Post

straight enhancer all the way for me.

i know it is all about what sounds good to ones ear.

but for fun, what is the reciever doing in the straight enhancer mode? What makes it sound good to you?

This is my biggest hobby, messing around with the settings, always thinking there is a setting i havent tried yet.
octapuss is offline  
post #10877 of 11043 Old 05-26-2011, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
compressed music enhancer, in theory, recreated missing harmonics. I think basically, to my ears, it is like a bit of EQing in the extreme low and high end. I experiment from time to time with all the settings, and it always sounds best when I cycle through.

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #10878 of 11043 Old 05-26-2011, 06:55 PM
Member
 
Wallboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The enhancer modes do sound better for music, but don't you guys notice the weird distortion coming through your subwoofer in this mode? I wish you could use the enhancer mode for your mains, and use a default straight mode for the sub, then it would be perfect.
Wallboy is offline  
post #10879 of 11043 Old 05-27-2011, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
zero distortion in my sub, and I run it very hot for music at low to medium high levels....

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #10880 of 11043 Old 05-27-2011, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
yankeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SOUTH FLORIDA
Posts: 2,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 246
I am having a weird problem. The sound sometimes is perfect, but sometimes what should come out of the front speaker jumps to one of the side speakers and gets much lower, and the way i "fix" it is to raise the volume of sound.

I usually listen around -24, and i find if i raise it to around -14 or so, i will hear a little "pop" and the sound will get loud and return to the main (front) speaker and i can then drop back to my -24 or even lower, and it works fine for awhile. This is totally intermittent, and i can go days without it happening, but then it might happen many many times in one day.

At first i thought it might be a problem with my cable company's signal, but it has now happened on my bluray player also.

I have tried using the different settings for sound output, and sometimes the front speaker sound disappears completely, i find the best setting where this happens the least is 7.1-Enchanced, so i am forced to use that right now, although on my bluray player is use STRAIGHT and it happens much less on the bluray than on the cable tv, but it does happen on both.

I am using HDMI cables for everything, and have Bose Acoustimass speakers and subwoofer attached.

Any ideas on whats going on?

never take life seriously
yankeeman is offline  
post #10881 of 11043 Old 05-27-2011, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Wallboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caper_1 View Post

zero distortion in my sub, and I run it very hot for music at low to medium high levels....

Really? I know there was another guy on here having the same problem I am. If you play say a 40hz sine wave in enhancer mode and switch to just straight, you can hear the difference a lot better. It's almost a wobbling sound in enhancer.
Wallboy is offline  
post #10882 of 11043 Old 05-27-2011, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallboy View Post

Really? I know there was another guy on here having the same problem I am. If you play say a 40hz sine wave in enhancer mode and switch to just straight, you can hear the difference a lot better. It's almost a wobbling sound in enhancer.

I have some tones. Will test it out.

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #10883 of 11043 Old 07-02-2011, 03:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric-t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have a schematic to look at on how the two sub pre-outs are connected internally? I'm trying to diagnose something and want to know if the sub pre-outs are tied together just before they exit the rear or somewhere else on the circuit board. I know they are not independent and have to be joined at some point.
eric-t is offline  
post #10884 of 11043 Old 08-28-2011, 04:53 PM
Member
 
jstutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kind of a thread resurrection.

What has everyone been upgrading too? I think its time to upgrade my 663

Thanks
jstutman is offline  
post #10885 of 11043 Old 08-28-2011, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just got RX-V671. Sold my 663 for $50 less than I paid for it

The one generation older RX-V867 is on awesome deals and is a GREAT deal!! Use froogle.com

"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

cavu is offline  
post #10886 of 11043 Old 08-28-2011, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 358 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavu View Post

Just got RX-V671. Sold my 663 for $50 less than I paid for it

I thought you were using the 663 pre-outs, but I guess not.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #10887 of 11043 Old 08-29-2011, 09:11 PM
Member
 
jstutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ack. I am not ready for a new reciever when this one works wonderfully. The only thing I am changing is I purchased a new 50GT30.

What do I need to do differently now, to get video output to my TV from the blu-ray player and the audio to the reciever?
jstutman is offline  
post #10888 of 11043 Old 08-29-2011, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstutman View Post

Ack. I am not ready for a new reciever when this one works wonderfully. The only thing I am changing is I purchased a new 50GT30.

What do I need to do differently now, to get video output to my TV from the blu-ray player and the audio to the reciever?

Do you have a 3D Bluray player?

If not: Player->AVR->TV (via HDMI)
If yes: You probably need a BD player with dual HDMI outputs or a splitter. Or you could connect it the same as above but you won't be able to do HD audio + 3D.

To answer your earlier question:
I "upgraded" from an 863 (no official thread for it so we piggyback here) to an RX-A3000 (although I've had it for almost a year and have yet to take it out of the box). The A3000 is not replacing the 863, just going in a different room.
vladd is offline  
post #10889 of 11043 Old 08-29-2011, 09:35 PM
Member
 
jstutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a PS3 and just ordered a BDT210

right now it goes to a monoprice switch which is compatible with 3d.

I have been told that I can send the video to the tv, and the audio out via optical. As I have replaced optical with hdmi, do I loose any audio by doing it this way? I honestly dont remember the bandwidth limitations on the optical line

*Oh, I guess the 210 does not have optical
jstutman is offline  
post #10890 of 11043 Old 08-29-2011, 10:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 38
You don't lose any audio going from optical to HDMI. Optical will not carry HD audio (not enough bandwidth) so you lose that by going HDMI -> optical.

You can use optical to the 663 and HDMI to the TV. This will give you 3D but regular DTS/DD5.1 (no HD Audio). The PS3 is incapable of HD Audio + 3D anyway. The BDT210 would need a splitter on the HDMI if you wanted HD Audio + 3D.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jstutman View Post

*Oh, I guess the 210 does not have optical

Sure it does (right hand side of the pic)





The BDT310, however, adds a second HDMI port so that you wouldn't need a splitter.
vladd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off