The Yamaha RX-V663 thread. HDMI 1.3 upconversion, TrueHD, DTS MA decoding. - Page 369 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11041 of 11059 Old 08-31-2014, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
velvet396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by BioSehnsucht View Post
3D for Xbox 360 games at least is going to be side by side or top and bottom, and thus no different than your usual 720p/1080i/1080p frames. PS3 I think may be the same but I'm not sure.

Xbox One as I've discovered today, needs real 1.4 and the receiver chokes on it. Can't even shove my DLP checkerboard converter in front of the Yamaha because the resulting EDID the converter sees doesn't match the TV exactly and it refuses to convert to checkerboard... good thing I still have my trusty standalone 3D BD player that does checkerboard on it's own.
I'm going to have to check out checkerboard cause I have no idea what you mean. But yeah after the X1 update, no chance the receiver will pass it. I don't want lower quality audio so I'm not willing to run to TV and output optical back to the receiver.
velvet396 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11042 of 11059 Old 09-08-2015, 07:07 PM
Member
 
asagala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Htr-6180 and niles si-1230

Hi,

New to this forum. Looked around but cant seem to find an answer to my problem.

I have a yamaha htr-6180 acting as my main 5.1 surround system as well as my main volume control. What I want to do is to tie the htr-6180 to the niles si-1230 in the basement that powers 4 pairs of speakers in the house. I have wall volume control for all speaker pairs. I cant seem to get high volumes from my setup. I connected the si-1230 to the surr. back preout of the htr-6180 that is bi-amped so its send front signal to surr. back preout. Is this the way to do it? Yamaha manual says to not use fromt preouts if front speaker terminals are used. Thats the initial way I had it setup.

Is there another way to do this? I am getting low volume even when niles si-1230 volume is set to max as well as volume controls.
asagala is offline  
post #11043 of 11059 Old 09-09-2015, 04:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dbldare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Broomfield, CO USA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
First off, welcome to AVS Forums!

Without having a good chance to dive deep into each component, my guess is you may need a mic-pre between the Yami and the Niles. Something like the Behringer Mic2200: http://www.behringer.com/EN/Products/MIC2200.aspx

They run about a hundred bucks online. I run one out of my sub out (Yamaha 663) to my "pro" amp setup and it makes a huge difference to the signal going into the amp (in your case the Niles).

Hope that helps,
dbl
dbldare is offline  
 
post #11044 of 11059 Old 09-09-2015, 06:00 AM
Member
 
asagala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbldare View Post
First off, welcome to AVS Forums!

Without having a good chance to dive deep into each component, my guess is you may need a mic-pre between the Yami and the Niles. Something like the Behringer Mic2200: http://www.behringer.com/EN/Products/MIC2200.aspx

They run about a hundred bucks online. I run one out of my sub out (Yamaha 663) to my "pro" amp setup and it makes a huge difference to the signal going into the amp (in your case the Niles).

Hope that helps,
dbl
Thanks for the help!

What about the bi-amp setup. Should I switch back to using the front preouts and front speaker outputs even if the manual says to not do it? Or is using the bi-amp to power front speakers and the feed to the niles-SI1230 ok?
asagala is offline  
post #11045 of 11059 Old 09-09-2015, 07:07 AM
Member
 
asagala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbldare View Post
First off, welcome to AVS Forums!

Without having a good chance to dive deep into each component, my guess is you may need a mic-pre between the Yami and the Niles. Something like the Behringer Mic2200: http://www.behringer.com/EN/Products/MIC2200.aspx

They run about a hundred bucks online. I run one out of my sub out (Yamaha 663) to my "pro" amp setup and it makes a huge difference to the signal going into the amp (in your case the Niles).

Hope that helps,
dbl
So the Behringer Mic2200 is a preamp? I would I connect my amp to this one? It doenst have any RCA jacks...

Last edited by asagala; 09-09-2015 at 09:02 AM.
asagala is offline  
post #11046 of 11059 Old 09-09-2015, 05:28 PM
Member
 
snyper99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston,Tx.
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have the RX-V663 and I have started to get this message" Your TV does not support this program's content protection"
I have an HD Directv box and it just recently started displaying the message. From what I have read, its time to upgrade my receiver. Is there anything I can update to alleviate this?
snyper99 is offline  
post #11047 of 11059 Old 05-02-2016, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
tts42572's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Anybody know if this receiver supports ARC?

This receiver has been great for me...Currently have a PS4 and HD cable box running to it and just running one HDMI cable to my TV. So I've been using the receiver to basically control my 5.1 setup and do all switching of inputs.

However, have a new TV coming and wondering if this receiver will still work for me. The new TV is a Samsung KS8000 with the one connect mini. I'm assuming with the new TV I'll want to connect everything to the one connect box and have the TV controlling my setup. I'm guessing I'll probably have to run optical audio from the one connect box back to my receiver.

Just wondering if this is really the only option I have or if there is a better way to connect things. Or if it's time to upgrade the AVR as well.
tts42572 is offline  
post #11048 of 11059 Old 05-03-2016, 06:22 AM
Senior Member
 
boostm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by tts42572 View Post
Anybody know if this receiver supports ARC?

.

It does not.

Television: Vizio M70-C3
A/V Receiver: Pioneer Elite VSX-90
Subwoofer: BIC Acoustech PL-200
Front Stage: Klipsch Reference series
Surrounds: Polk Audio OWM3 satellites
Streaming: Chromecast Ultra
boostm3 is offline  
post #11049 of 11059 Old 05-03-2016, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
tts42572's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Can anybody help with recommendation on how to connect the RXV663....

I had previously had an older Panny 1080P plasma TV, HD cable box and PS4. I had all items connected to the AVR with one HDMI cable running to my TV. So everything was passing through the AVR and was using that for all switching.

However, I've now purchased a new 4K Samsung with smart apps and all and not sure how I should hook things up. I'm thinking I might want a different approach now since I'll be needing audio from the TV when using smart apps and the Yamaha will never pass through 4K video.

With this setup, would you just connect everything to the TV and then run optical audio out from the TV back to the AVR? I think I've been told the TV does output 5.1 but it probably doesn't handle all the various codecs.

Or is it time to upgrade the AVR to a newer version that will pass 4K video. Although, even if I did that I'd probably still need to run optical from the TV to the AVR for smart apps.

Just not sure what I should be looking to do...
tts42572 is offline  
post #11050 of 11059 Old 05-03-2016, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Smart tv apps tend to suck. Slow and buggy. I'd use a separate device. Then run hdmi direct from that to the tv and another line from the device to the receiver for audio. Though the best solution is a new receiver.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield TV, 2x Roku 3's, 1st and 2nd gen chromecast, Amazon Fire TV stick 2nd gen, Apple TV 4, xbox 360, xbox one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung(don't recall model #)
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
Retired - HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver
archer75 is offline  
post #11051 of 11059 Old 05-03-2016, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
boostm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 80
To get sound from anything emanating from the tv, ie smart apps, etc, just run optical from the tv to the receiver.
tts42572 likes this.

Television: Vizio M70-C3
A/V Receiver: Pioneer Elite VSX-90
Subwoofer: BIC Acoustech PL-200
Front Stage: Klipsch Reference series
Surrounds: Polk Audio OWM3 satellites
Streaming: Chromecast Ultra
boostm3 is offline  
post #11052 of 11059 Old 05-03-2016, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
tts42572's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 31
When I do that, will there be settings or anything on the receiver that I'll need to change? How will the receiver know that all audio input is coming optically and not be looking for HDMI input?

Currently I have Scene 1 set as cable TV watching and that's connected to my cable box....And scene 2 is DVD/PS4 which is connected to my PS4. If I pull the plugs on those and run them from the sources to the TV with just one optical audio out running back to the receiver....Will the receiver just automatically spit out the audio?

I know there is a setting on the TV where I'll have to choose optical audio for the inputs....Think there is a setting somewhere for the receiver also?

Quote:
Originally Posted by boostm3 View Post
To get sound from anything emanating from the tv, ie smart apps, etc, just run optical from the tv to the receiver.
tts42572 is offline  
post #11053 of 11059 Old 05-03-2016, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
boostm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Its been awhile since I did this, but you have two optical inputs in your receiver.. One is labeled DVD and one DTV/Cable. You would have to plug your optical cable into one of those two, and then turn your input selector knob to that... Not sure what happens when you plug your cable box into HDMI 2 and and your optical cable into Optical 2. What I think I did was run my optical from the tv into Optical 1 in the receiver which is labled dvd.. I then selected DVD on the receiver's input selector. As I said, its been awhile so this might not be exactly right, but it will give you an idea.. Experiment with it a little.. Youll get it.
tts42572 likes this.

Television: Vizio M70-C3
A/V Receiver: Pioneer Elite VSX-90
Subwoofer: BIC Acoustech PL-200
Front Stage: Klipsch Reference series
Surrounds: Polk Audio OWM3 satellites
Streaming: Chromecast Ultra
boostm3 is offline  
post #11054 of 11059 Old 10-09-2016, 04:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 6
hio, for owners of this receiver too.
if i get it correctly, for newer TVs (4K-HDR-3d etc) the solution is to have the TV output audio back to the receiver via optical cable?
Since the TV is propably the main source of media (mkv files, or other digital content, that is how it works now, i dont believe in BR discs etc).

However this means that no DTS sound will be available, right?
Can the TV output the audio, via an HDMI cable so you can play DTS?

We are left with little options, needing an upgrade...right?
George Spyros is offline  
post #11055 of 11059 Old 01-19-2017, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
waynehend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post
This behaviour was on all the Yamaha models from the same year as the 663, but Yamaha eventually released a firmware update to fix it for the RX-V1800 and RX-V3800. Unfortunately they never fixed the problem for the 663.
Before this thread goes to the great forum graveyard in the sky, I wanted to confirm that this is still true. The last firmware upgrade for this model that I know of was the same one I documented here: The Yamaha RX-V663 thread. HDMI 1.3 upconversion, TrueHD, DTS MA decoding.

Was there ever anything more?

I'm also curious about the history of the BTB issue in the last decade. I'm guessing today's equipment no longer suffers the clipping exhibited by these few Yamaha models?

I still use mine every day and enjoy it a lot. My biggest beef after all these years is with the remote. Some of the buttons don't work. I've opened it up and cleaned the pads with isopropyl alcohol, but that made barely any improvement. I believe it's the pads because with enough manipulation the bad buttons will occasionally work. It's not like the remote is incapable of sending a particular signal. The receiver responds just fine to a Harmony remote I got for the wife.

One last question that's probably been covered: If we upgrade to 4K, we cannot use this receiver to switch the HDMI, correct? Is there a way to still get uncompressed audio fed to the Yammy from the 4K TV?
waynehend is offline  
post #11056 of 11059 Old 01-19-2017, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,870
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1216 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Send a message via Yahoo to ChromeJob Send a message via Skype™ to ChromeJob
The Yamaha RX-V663 thread. HDMI 1.3 upconversion, TrueHD, DTS MA decoding.

Addressing the third question ... uncompressed audio from 4K tv to the 663. What kind of output does the TV offer? Generally, S/PDIF is limited to DD 5.1 and PCM 2.0, if memory serves.

If you're now watching 4K content, you will want to look at the RXV-779 or later, which I think is the lowest model that supports final 4K standard at 60Hz.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

“He couldn't sign his name any faster than he could duck.”
Are ya new here? Please read FAQs and forum stickies. Like posts that help you. Don't ask a question and then disappear. You will RTFM, even if I have to shame you into doing it.
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen.

Last edited by ChromeJob; 01-19-2017 at 01:19 PM.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #11057 of 11059 Old 01-20-2017, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 665 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynehend View Post
Before this thread goes to the great forum graveyard in the sky, I wanted to confirm that this is still true. The last firmware upgrade for this model that I know of was the same one I documented here: The Yamaha RX-V663 thread. HDMI 1.3 upconversion, TrueHD, DTS MA decoding.

Was there ever anything more?

I'm also curious about the history of the BTB issue in the last decade. I'm guessing today's equipment no longer suffers the clipping exhibited by these few Yamaha models?
...

I've never heard of any newer firmware for the 663. Today's equipment should be fine, although the clipping issue was mostly just a nuisance when doing video calibration (since test patterns use full range), rather than watching movies.

I investigated fixing the clipping for my 1800 before Yamaha eventually did it, but don't really want to say I'll do it for the 663 at this late stage as there are probably so few still in use (and it would still be some effort, even though most of the work figuring out the firmware format is done).

As for 4K, I'm in no hurry for that. But if I were I might go the same route as I did for 3D with my 1800: get a player with two HDMI outputs so the audio can go to the receiver while the video goes directly to the display. I'm still using the 1800 that way (although I hardly ever watch 3D moves as I usually prefer 2D).
waynehend likes this.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #11058 of 11059 Old 01-20-2017, 03:32 PM
Member
 
04ctd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
one more... my 663 got hit by lightning via the HDMI cord, and I "assume" it ONLY took out the HDMI card, which is ~$100 on eBay.


would you put a new HDMI card in it, or just go buy a new receiver?


I kinda need the 663 to move out to the garage play some tunes in there.....so what you do? problem is a new HDMI receiver now is very $$$
04ctd is offline  
post #11059 of 11059 Old 01-21-2017, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,870
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1216 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Send a message via Yahoo to ChromeJob Send a message via Skype™ to ChromeJob
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04ctd View Post
one more... my 663 got hit by lightning via the HDMI cord, and I "assume" it ONLY took out the HDMI card, which is ~$100 on eBay.


would you put a new HDMI card in it, or just go buy a new receiver?


I kinda need the 663 to move out to the garage play some tunes in there.....so what you do? problem is a new HDMI receiver now is very $$$
Um .. not really. You could pick up a 775 (my model) or similar at that site I think is Accessories4less. PRices of refurbs and outdated models, shouldn't be much more than that card.

Newer AVRs offer newer and more refined features than the 663. If the 663 won't play anything, I'd send it to consumer electronics recycling-land.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

“He couldn't sign his name any faster than he could duck.”
Are ya new here? Please read FAQs and forum stickies. Like posts that help you. Don't ask a question and then disappear. You will RTFM, even if I have to shame you into doing it.
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen.
ChromeJob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off