Long HDMI cable - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 41 Old 07-21-2008, 06:31 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
britdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK. Yes may squares are different colors but they are "large" squares rather than pixel size which it sounds like is what I would see if it was HDMI signal quality issues. In fact the squares I'm talking about, I have seen occasionally before I even had this long HDMI cable and they look like the same "squares" you see on bad satellite reception.

In fact I thought your same "all the same color" comment was referring the pixel-dropout sparkles rather than macroblocking.
britdiver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 41 Old 07-22-2008, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
KurtBJC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah...okay, now I see. And yes, typically (though not necessarily) when one sees pixel dropouts, they will all be the same color as one another. My suspicion would be that this is because in any marginal failure there's a good chance that two of the three data channels are getting through just fine and the third is failing. How that renders will then depend on issues like what the colorspace is, and how the display behaves in the face of corrupted data.

Kurt
Blue Jeans Cable
KurtBJC is offline  
post #33 of 41 Old 09-07-2008, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
britdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just realized that I never really thanked you Kurt. That's great customer support and I appreciate that. By the way everything is looking great. A few days after we started this posting, I had a problem across the border with my cable. So it was all a signal issue. Looks great now.

Thanks again.
britdiver is offline  
post #34 of 41 Old 09-12-2008, 12:42 PM
Member
 
Jacobisthe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by britdiver View Post

I need a long (about 100 feet probably) HDMI cable. I found this cable http://sewelldirect.com/Accell-Ultra...I-Cable-35.asp
They even have a longer version. Has anyone tried these cables?
Thanks.

I think the limit is usually around 50 feet for really good cables. Monoprice.com has a converter that extends it like 50 meter (150 ft) over 2 cat5 cables, it will be cheaper that way also. I don't think that you can go that far with 1080p (shorter range) but if you are doing 1080i or 720p it should be fine. I think they are like 100 bucks and a 100ft cat5 cable should be like 10 or 15 each.
Jacobisthe is offline  
post #35 of 41 Old 11-03-2008, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
peterpioli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kurt,
Are there any unamplified, 30ft, Category 2, HDMI cables made?
peterpioli is offline  
post #36 of 41 Old 01-26-2013, 08:53 AM
Newbie
 
pmichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,

Equipment:
Samsung 6000
Denon 2313ci

Need a 50' hdmi cable to run from my av closet to the tv. Cable will be run through the floor to the crawl space under the house, back up through he floor to the tv. 50' will give me a couple of feet of slack on each end.

Please recommend a high quality hdmi cable. Is BJC recommended? Does temperature affect anything?
pmichael is offline  
post #37 of 41 Old 03-20-2013, 11:40 PM
Newbie
 
techguy1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you considered using a HDMI extender? It runs a HDMI signal over cat5e ethernet cable. You can run it over 100m of ethernet cable. This way you will only need one short length of HDMI cable to plug into the receiver, one short length of HDMI cable to run into the extender, and an ethernet cable to join the two units. A lot of HDMI devices such as bluray players, PS3 etc recommend that you only use up to a 15m length of HDMI cable. The signal quality can be weak on the longer lengths unless its a really good quality HDMI cable.
techguy1975 is offline  
post #38 of 41 Old 03-21-2013, 04:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 13,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by techguy1975 View Post

Have you considered using a HDMI extender? It runs a HDMI signal over cat5e ethernet cable. You can run it over 100m of ethernet cable. This way you will only need one short length of HDMI cable to plug into the receiver, one short length of HDMI cable to run into the extender, and an ethernet cable to join the two units. A lot of HDMI devices such as bluray players, PS3 etc recommend that you only use up to a 15m length of HDMI cable. The signal quality can be weak on the longer lengths unless its a really good quality HDMI cable.

I've got some hands-on experience with HDMI extenders. For doing 2048x1080 video the circa-$120 boxes I used would not work with 150 feet of CAT5E. They would work at lower resolutions. They were fine with 50 feet and would probably go a little further than that.

As I understand the technology, it is very important to get the lengths of the two pieces of Ethernet cable exactly the same length.
arnyk is offline  
post #39 of 41 Old 03-21-2013, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nyal Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Personally I use Fiber Optic HDMI cables for this kind of thing. I've found them to be more reliable than the lower priced CAT5/6/7 based extenders. The new ones from Celerity also have detachable ends for an easy wire pull.

Master of Minions, Acoustic Frontiers. We specialize in the design and creation of high performance listening rooms, home theaters and project studios for discerning audio/video enthusiasts.
Nyal Mellor is offline  
post #40 of 41 Old 03-21-2013, 08:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 13,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyal Mellor View Post

Personally I use Fiber Optic HDMI cables for this kind of thing. I've found them to be more reliable than the lower priced CAT5/6/7 based extenders. The new ones from Celerity also have detachable ends for an easy wire pull.

Neat package, but at a price!
arnyk is offline  
post #41 of 41 Old 03-21-2013, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nyal Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnyk View Post

Neat package, but at a price!

Sure but also avoids any ground loop issues if the TV / projector is plugged into one outlet and the equipment is on another since the fiber optic connection is not a direct electrical connection like the type you get with a normal HDMI cable.

Master of Minions, Acoustic Frontiers. We specialize in the design and creation of high performance listening rooms, home theaters and project studios for discerning audio/video enthusiasts.
Nyal Mellor is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off