Setting up AV receiver + integrated amp - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 06-28-2008, 11:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm pretty new to hi-fi and serious home theater, and I haven't been able to figure out how this would work. I'd like to set up an AV receiver for movies and a stereo integrated amplifier for music, both driving the same set of speakers.

Which component does the speakers connect to? Are they always all connected to the A/V receiver, or are the fronts always connected to the integrated amp? Or, do you have to simply unplug one and plug into the other when you want to watch a movie or listen to music? (It seems like there has to be a better way than that...)

For example, with all the speakers plugged into the receiver, is there a way to bypass the receiver completely (using both the pre-amp and amplifier sections on the integrated, essentially turning the receiver into an extension of the speaker cable)?

Or is the solution to keep the fronts connected to the integrated amp and use the pre out on the receiver to feed the front stereo signal to the integrated? It seems strange to use two separate amplifiers while you're watching a movie...the integrated for the fronts and the receiver for the center/surround/sub.

Any light that anyone can shed on this would be most helpful!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 06-29-2008, 12:38 AM

Liked: 12