Using a component video cable for subwoofer cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-11-2008, 02:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
snappy_phd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After switching to HDMI cables for my video applications, I find myself with a lot of component cables. Is there any problem using component video cables as subwoofer (LFE) cables? At least it will give me some use for them...
snappy_phd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-11-2008, 02:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sivadselim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: CO
Posts: 16,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by snappy_phd View Post

After switching to HDMI cables for my video applications, I find myself with a lot of component cables. Is there any problem using component video cables as subwoofer (LFE) cables? At least it will give me some use for them...

Will work just fine. They're probably ideal, actually. They're simply 75ohm cables.

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."
sivadselim is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-11-2008, 02:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
FoSheezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I bought some nice component cables specifically for my 2 subwoofers and buttkicker amp.
Cheaper in most cases.
They work perfectly.
FoSheezy is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 07-11-2008, 03:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Yeah, there's nothing special about component video cables. They're just three composite video cables bundled together, which are also digital coaxial, which are also marketed as subwoofer cables, etc., etc.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-30-2008, 02:17 PM
Member
 
cognitive77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thought I'd piggyback onto this. Just recently got my Klipsch RW-10d sub in and tried using my component (blue cable) as a sub cable. But am not getting any sound out of the sub.

My receiver is a Yamaha 663.

Any thoughts?

nm, I'm retarded. Fixed now.
cognitive77 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-30-2008, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by cognitive77 View Post

Thought I'd piggyback onto this. Just recently got my Klipsch RW-10d sub in and tried using my component (blue cable) as a sub cable. But am not getting any sound out of the sub.

My receiver is a Yamaha 663.

Any thoughts?

nm, I'm retarded. Fixed now.

Helps to turn it on, eh?

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off