Rotel Pre - Out to McIntosh MC501 sounds weak? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-17-2008, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
theintegrator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sooo, I have a pair of Revel F12's, a James Cinema 12 sub, James S83 center, and B&W surrounds (in ceiling). I had a Rotel RSX-1058 driving the whole system, but have just added a McIntosh MC500 to power my center. Here is the issue. With the distance levels set with my Radio Shack meter, it all sounded ok. I thought this extra power from such a great amp would add more detail to my more than capable center channel. I have a tributaries interconnect going from the center 1 channel preout to the right (bridged) input of the Mcintosh, the interconnect is about 18". I am using a braided Ixos 11 AWG speaker wire and the center now sounds like it is running on half the power. I am using the -8 positive terminal and the left channel common (though I have tried the right channel comon as well with no change). The problem is that the center now lacks any kind of punch. The sound is there, but I had to set my distance level from +3 to +7(max) for it to even sound as good as it did. The sound coming from it is good, but the level seems to so much lower that my l/C/R and surrounds. Do you all see any issues with this? Where is all my power going?

Thanks,

MJB
theintegrator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-18-2008, 09:54 AM
 
DougWinsor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it the MC501 or the MC500?

Plus the interconnect/speaker cable would not matter.
DougWinsor is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-18-2008, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
chatanika's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a bridge switch that needs to turned on? I had a similar problem with a different amp until I saw the switch. Also I would use the amp to drive the mains instead of the center.
chatanika is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-18-2008, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
theintegrator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is the MC500 and the bridge switch is on. I read some othe rinformation that suggests I need to connect the two anmp channels need to be jumpered together then run to the speaker. Interesting, I am going to try it tonight.
theintegrator is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-21-2008, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
chatanika's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theintegrator View Post

It is the MC500 and the bridge switch is on. I read some othe rinformation that suggests I need to connect the two anmp channels need to be jumpered together then run to the speaker. Interesting, I am going to try it tonight.

any luck?
chatanika is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off