5.1/6.1/7.1 placement questions for fairly small room - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 01-21-2009, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi everyone,

I am a total newbie when it comes to home theater and surround sound, and am currently installing my first surround setup ever. So far I have purchased 2Polk Audio Monitor 50s for my fronts, Polk CS1 for my center, and 2 Polk Monitor 30s for my side surrounds. I don't really need any help w/ components to buy....what I do need help with is how best to place everything in my small room (once I get a sub and a receiver, of course).

My room is roughly 16 feet long by 11 feet wide, with a ceiling of about 7.5 feet. The room is very rectangularish. Currently I have a 32-inch 720p HDTV in there, and I prefer to watch it with the tv placed along the shorter 11-foot wall....this way I have more space in front of and behind my viewing position, and much less space on the left and right sides. This is done mainly b/c it just gives me more room to walk around freely.

Is it better to have the tv+front and center speakers along/near the 11-foot wall, or the longer 16-foot wall? If I leave things the way they are now, I think I would have plenty of space behind me to accomidate rear surround speakers for a 6.1 or 7.1 setup.....If I set things up the other way, I would have tons of space to the sides of my viewing/listening position, but not as much space in front of and behind me. I might not have enough room to put in some rear surrounds behind me if I do things that way, and if given a preference of a 5.1, 6.1, or 7.1 setup, I would prefer at least a 6.1.