Big Dolby's for my computer? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2009, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sndtrks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm wanting to set up a speaker system (I believe I still have the R, L, and Center surround speakers, though not sure) for my computer. I have for sure two large Dolby Golds. I've never set up non-computer ready speakers for my computer and am really wanting to use these for that purpose. Is it possible? What do I need to do it? ... And what's the best deal for the parts I need? (an estimated over all cost would be great too!) Thanks!

Joe
sndtrks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-02-2009, 11:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
XanderMoser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need an amp for the speakers.
XanderMoser is offline  
Old 06-03-2009, 12:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MLKstudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I searched Google for "Dolby Gold speakers" and got nuthin'.

But, there are two main types of speakers you are dealing with. Powered, with an amp built in, or "passive" without an amp. Xander is right, that if they are unpowered (passive) then you will need a separate amp. Most PC speakers are powered, or have a powered sub to connect to.
MLKstudios is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off