DD 5.1 audio without cable box possible? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2010, 04:34 PM
Newbie
 
skynsunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepblueNC View Post

Ratman,

A sony authorized technician will come to my house on Wednesday and check the TV. I believe that the TV's tuner is defective. I'll figure this out on Wednesday.

I know that in my area TV stations broadcasts in DD 5.1. Also I confirm that other people are able to get DD 5.1 without cable box from clear QAM channels. So, the problem is not TV stations or Time Warner.

According to Sony tech people, my TV should output DD 5.1 only when the source is TV's tuner.

I'm guessing that the TV passes DD5.1 out the optical when using an external source via HDMI, because of the Bravia sync. Both the TV and receiver are Sony and they are synced.

deepblueNC - what was outcome of this? any luck getting DD 5.1 via OTA
skynsunny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2010, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Kyuu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Necropolis
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by craig john View Post

As I said 2 posts before yours, run the signal directly to the receiver.

Craig, the OP stated that he does not have a cable box. He is taking unscrambled cable directly into the TV's internal tuner and then hooking an optical cable from the TV's optical out to the receiver.
Kyuu is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off