Any way to connect headphones to LCD monitor with audio in only? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-14-2009, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Samsung77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I was wondering if anyone out there can kindly give me any advice on how to connect headphones to my lcd monitor. I have a 21.5 acer H213H lcd monitor that I connect to my playstation 3 through hdmi.

This monitor only has an AUDIO IN hole, but has some weak speakers inside the monitor which I can adjust volume through the monitors touch screen controls on the bottom of the frame.

I went to best buy today and the worker told me to buy a simple 10.00 headphone splitter audio cable for mp3 players,

However, when I plug in the headphone splitter audio cable into my acer monitor, there is still sound coming from the monitor itself. And when I put my headphones into the audio cable splitter, same thing. Maybe I need to disable sound on my monitor first because even the audio jack that came with my monitor doesnt stop sound coming from the monitors internal speaker.

Anyways, any help would be appreciated. I am trying to find a way to connect headphones to this monitor so when I play ps3 games through my hdmi to monitor I dont disturb my girlfriend. Thanks in advance to any replies.
Samsung77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-15-2009, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Katy, TX USA
Posts: 2,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samsung77 View Post

This monitor only has an AUDIO IN hole, but has some weak speakers inside the monitor which I can adjust volume through the monitors touch screen controls on the bottom of the frame.

I went to best buy today and the worker told me to buy a simple 10.00 headphone splitter audio cable for mp3 players,

The headphone jack on an MP3 player is an amplified audio output. The "AUDIO IN hole" on the TV is a line-level audio input. You can't get anything from headphones by plugging them into an input.

Basically, you need to send the monitor's audio outputs to an audio receiver or amplifier of some kind that has a headphone jack. If the monitor doesn't have an audio output, then you can use the ones from the playstation.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Wayne A. Pflughaupt is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-14-2009, 12:32 AM
Newbie
 
carolin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do make my lcd hd monitor work as my tv? I have the westing house l2410nm lcd monitor, i would like to use it as my tv as well, how do i go about doing this?
___________________
market samurai ~ marketsamurai ~ marketsamurai.com
carolin is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-15-2009, 05:19 AM
Senior Member
 
GFelizardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lakewood, WA
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
[quote=Samsung77;17002903]Hi, I was wondering if anyone out there can kindly give me any advice on how to connect headphones to my lcd monitor. I have a 21.5 acer H213H lcd monitor that I connect to my playstation 3 through hdmi. QUOTE]

You will not be able to hook up headphones directly to the monitor. The easiest way I've found is to use some powered computer speakers with a headphone out jack. The audio from the PS3 is sent via red/white RCA cables to the speakers, which you then hook up your headphones to. Depending on the speakers, you may need an adapter to go from RCA to
1/8th inch input jack.
GFelizardo is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-15-2009, 05:31 AM
Senior Member
 
GFelizardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lakewood, WA
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by carolin View Post

How do make my lcd hd monitor work as my tv? I have the westing house l2410nm lcd monitor, i would like to use it as my tv as well, how do i go about doing this?

Your monitor does not have a TV tuner. You would need something like a cable box, digital TV set top box, DVD recorder with tuner, or something along those lines. It appears your monitor has composite (yellow plug), S-video, component, and HDMI, so you have compatible inputs.
GFelizardo is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off