Anyone in central ny to help with ht set-up? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 01-03-2010, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello...I've been piecing together my Home Theater system since August. I am almost finished buying, but since I am new to this, I really need someone with set-up knowledge to visit my home and suggest where my audio equipment and speakers should be placed, maybe connect everything for me.

Since this system is taking up part of my finished basement, the floor is level and smooth concrete that has been painted. I was told that if I have concrete, I should buy these maple speaker base stand plinths??? This way the speakers get off the hard floor and sound better. Plus, I have Definitive Technology speakers and it says in the manual that the fronts should tilt upward a bit for best sound. And, the manual talks about connecting my speakers a bunch of different ways, LFE, etc, and I do not have a clue what all this means.

Any help, or anyone that is in or comes to Central NY near Utica and Syracuse that can help a stressed out novice, please let me know.

Thanks

Dave
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 01-04-2010, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member

That's a little far for me from LI, but you can gert some great help here...
Concrete floors, indeed any hard floors, can present problems acoustically... any chance you'd be amenable to carpeting? Any time someone suggests something made out of a certain wood for sound improvement sounds like snake oil to me, but you do want SOMETHING to keep the speakers off the concrete...I think run-of-the-mill rubber feet would do the trick... my speakers are on spikes, but they came with the speakers and my floor is carpet which the spikes won't ruin...
As for angling the speakers up, I've never tried Def Techs, so try it both ways and see how you like it...