Best optical cable switch box? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-21-2010, 12:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pakostevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's my best option to be able to plug in 3-5 optical cable into my receiver?
Ideally I want it to sorta blend in with the rest of my setup (not some plasticy toy looking thing) and be loss-less.

These are the only 2 I've been able to find.

http://www.google.com/products/catal...9984895721237#

http://www.audioauthority.com/produc...ital_Audio/5/1 - this ones too expensive probably lol
pakostevens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-21-2010, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
HawaiianHDaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This one is pretty ugly but you can't beat the price http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...t=1#largeimage
HawaiianHDaddict is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-21-2010, 12:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
clicky

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-13-2012, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eaadams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What did you end up using and was it successful?

------------------------------------
eaadams is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-14-2012, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pakostevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ended up using this one http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10423&cs_id=1042302&p_id=2946&seq=1&format=1#largeimage it is bulky and ugly but it's dirt cheap and just rests behind my tv stand. have 2 xbox360's and ps3 plugged into it.
pakostevens is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-30-2013, 12:26 PM
Member
 
tony1381's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm curious on if your optical switch still works, as the many reviews on Amazon indicate it stops working after a few months.
tony1381 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 09-09-2013, 09:21 PM
Newbie
 
rossdunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought that piece of crap and it never worked to any extent I would call worth even $1. Stay away from it! Just my two bits. I have yet to find one I like but I will do my best to post here when I find it.

Have anyone of you guys found a setup you like?

Ross
rossdunn is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 09-09-2013, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossdunn View Post

Have anyone of you guys found a setup you like?

Ross

Hi rossdunn, Cable To Go #28731 switch box has worked great for me, even has a remote which I programed into my Harmony remote.
JChin is offline  
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off