set-up Karaoke system at home - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 06-28-2010, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I am a newbie who just moved to a new house.

I have a HDTV and a DVD player (they are connected via HDMI cable). I have also a bunch of karaoke DVD discs. So I want to set up a karaoke system in my entertainment room. I know I am going to purchase a microphone. But I was told that I must also have a mixer AND a receiver (don't even know what they are) and a set of speakers to make everything work. Is that true?

Also, since my DVD player is connected to the TV via HDMI cable, how do I get the sound to come out on the speakers?

I am not interested in speaking a lot of money. Any advice would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 07-01-2010, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter

BTW, I have figured out that I connect the DVD player to the receiver using a HDMI cable and the receiver to the TV with another HDMI cable. This is probably the easiest to ensure the best video and audio quality.

It is my understanding that if I have a karaoke mixer, I connect it between the DVD player and the receiver. But I have not seem any mixer to be connected via HDMI. If not using HDMI, I don't know other ways I can make the connection to ensure the highest quality for both video and audio. If you know, please let me know! Thanks.
post #3 of 8 Old 07-01-2010, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 224