Toslink only passing 2.0 stereo through tv. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-31-2010, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pretsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NKY
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I currently have coaxial plugged directly into the back of my tv Sony KDL-32S510 from there I have toslink cable from tv out going to my receiver Sony HT-SS360 to tv in. It will only pass 2.0 stereo through the receiver on my digital/hd channels, the standard def channels are fine in 2.0. I have same setup in the other room with a samsung tv and hts and it passes the DD through the local HD/digital channels just fine. I've tried numerous options through the receiver and tv that I could think of but nothing is working. Only option has been to manually change from stereo to PLII to convert it which isn't the best. Only other thing connected is ps3 to receiver through hdmi and hdmi out from receiver to hdmi1 on tv. TV manual states it can do pcm through the optical out. Any insight or help to fix the issue why it won't output DD on the hd/digi channels would be great. thanks
pretsam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-31-2010, 03:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,638
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Check settings in the TV audio setup and set to "raw", "bitstream", "auto" or "both".
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-31-2010, 05:30 PM
 
ChrisWiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
it may not support DD/DTS 5.1 out. If it states it only supports PCM out, then that's all you're going to get is 2-channel PCM. Many TVs are like this. You'd need to get a cablebox that supports 5.1 out, or a different TV.
ChrisWiggles is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 07-31-2010, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
I don't see an online manual at sonystyle.com for the KDL-32S510. There's one for the KDL-32S5100 and it says the optical output is for equipment capable of handling PCM. It appears the set does not output DD 5.1.
BIslander is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 08-01-2010, 07:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,638
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 313
It would think that it does since it's newer model TV with an internal ATSC/QAM tuner.

Also, the spec sheet states:
"Dolby®: Dolby® Digital (for broadcasting)"

Here's the link:
http://www.docs.sony.com/release/spe...S5100_mksp.pdf
Ratman is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 08-01-2010, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pretsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NKY
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Yeah, I guess if that is the case of it only doing PCM then I will only be getting 2.0 then. You'd think with a lil newer tv they'd show a little love. Kind of a bummer. Thanks for thelp.
pretsam is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 08-01-2010, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pretsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NKY
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Oh well, couldn't pass it up for the deal I got it for. Does the "Dolby Digital for Broadcasting" refer to the hdmi you think or misprint. I never saw anything in the HTS manual stating it's optical in supported DD but I am sure it does. I checked in audio settings of the TV as well to look for raw, bitstream etc but it was pretty much TV Speakers or Audio System you select.
pretsam is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 08-01-2010, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by pretsam View Post

Does the "Dolby Digital for Broadcasting" refer to the hdmi you think or misprint.

I believe it means it can decode DD signals on broadcast channels. You get usuable audio on channels with DD 5.1 soundtracks, confirming that it can do the decoding. But, that doesn't mean it will pass a DD signal out the optical port. In fact, here's what it says in the specs on p22 of the manual:

DIGITAL AUDIO OUT
(OPTICAL)
PCM optical signal

Quote:


I never saw anything in the HTS manual stating it's optical in supported DD but I am sure it does.

That seems almost certain.

Quote:


I checked in audio settings of the TV as well to look for raw, bitstream etc but it was pretty much TV Speakers or Audio System you select.

The manual doesn't show any of the specifics contained in the Sound menu. It just says "The Sound Menu allows you to customize your sound settings to suit your audio preferences. You can also set the settings to enjoy the sound from your connected audio system." Is there simply an option to output audio to a sound system, but no choices to control the type of audio?
BIslander is online now  
post #9 of 11 Old 08-01-2010, 12:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,638
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Hey... y'all could be correct. But again, I find it very strange that a "newer" TV with an ATSC/QAM internal tuner doesn't pass DD via the optical out. MAybe that's why it was a "deal".

My OLD F38310 from 2002 passes DD.

FWIW, Maybe the OP should try contacting Sony and verify the capability(s).
Ratman is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 08-01-2010, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

I find it very strange that a "newer" TV with an ATSC/QAM internal tuner doesn't pass DD via the optical out.

Me, too. But, given what the OP observes and what the manual says, that would appear to be the case. I agree that a call to Sony is in order.
BIslander is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 08-03-2010, 10:40 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pretsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NKY
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Yeah, I can try giving them a call. I also found a thread on here for the specific model of the tv where someone did call Sony and they gave them a explanation also. Don't have the link with me to it on here its on the laptop an its downstairs. But Sony explained something to why it was only passing 2.0.
pretsam is offline  
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off